(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Sanrio
I just called the PD over phone this afternoon...he thinks that although Jonas is slow in speech but since he can react to our instruction, it's not so bad (despite it is considered as slow speech progress) and we can still wait & see for another 2 months more if there's any improvement. He also suggest for us to buy some 'Baby Can Talk' VCD to let him watch...Hmmm...I was thinking now then we get such VCD for him, wonder if it's too late since he has already watched so many other interesting children's shows on TV and he probably won't find such VCDs interesting? :p

Anyway, if he says it's also fine and up to me if I want to consult a speech therapist to do the test at this point...he can refer one to me...

Cheezel
I think my boy's situation is the same as your friend's kiddo...both me & hubby working and my MIL (the caregiver) is busy with housework...so I think he watches TV (normal TV programmes) alot!

I knew Javen is a brave & sociable little boy...and so chatty...he sure got no problem at school...well, but sad to say tis' not the case for my boy. Haizzzz...

BlueBlue / Sgn
Thanks for your encouraging words...will try to talk more to my boy ...but can only do it after work & dinner (which is not much time actually) for weekdays. :p

smalldreams,
I have also done that open-door thingy before too. My girl will purposely open the door. Then I will say 'help mummy to close the door.'. then she will say, 'dont want, open'. and open the door even bigger. grr...

springdance,
dont worry too much. just be more talkative starting from today.

I think i also very talkative. u know even when playing with toys, you can also talk to them.

smalldreams
yup not planning to send her to CC. chloe seems to be extremely sticky to me lately. when she sleeps, she'll bury her face in my chest and will hold on to me tightly. can only remove her hands when she is in deep sleep. also she keeps calling me non stop and will ownself answer 'yes?' and laugh. hehe

re:bathing
i hv to bathe with the door open. at times, she will still fuss coz she doesnt want to be alone

wonder_baby

so sweet lah yr chloe, but sometimes does it get stressful if she's uber sticky to ya? I would. And now that adam's not really well, he's really uber sticky to me...

is chloe attending any toddler class? I intend to start adam on one, maybe GUG (gotta check out the programme first though) coz it's near my office. At least on saturdays, adam's dad can send him there while I clear some work if needed.

Janet, Wonder_baby

terrible hor, must bathe with open doors. guess this happen only when we're alone with the kids. If I put him in cot also he'll yell. Aiyoh this boy.

Janet

Do you like the GUG programme?

smalldreams,
my girl and i love GUG. learning thru singing. IT would be good if Adam loves music. they also teach phonic. I have the e-brochure, which i got from them previously. if you want, i can email to you. i think pricing still the same.

poor me. at this age already, still have mumps. just seen the doctor. i hope my girl will not get it.

we had a very eventful day yesterday!

I didn't feel very right about my maid yesterday and I went home to check through her things. I found a handphone. This is over and on top of another hp that she had hand over to us for safekeeping. Aft i checked the call history, I realised she had that phone all this while! And she pretended like she was really good!!

extremely disappointed over this. and the greatest irony was that the sch's principal commended her for being engaging with Josh!! HAHA!..

I fired her immediately last night. So we went home really late and had to eat takeout food for dinner...

so it's back to my maidless days...only now I have to work extra hard, waking up early to prepare dinner food, send Josh off to sch, go to work, cheong like mad at work and come home early to do some cooking first then go and fetch Josh..

but Josh is doing very well in sch. The principal just called me and said he didn't cry!!

nellu

u're so strict! Was there any suggestive words you found in the phone? Anyway good to know that Josh is doing well. one load off yr mind.

smalldreams

yap still the same place. want to meet for lunch?

springdance
just talk anything under the sun lar. once i pick ky from nanny's place i will ask him 'have u been a good boy, kiss ma ma, where's the cat blar blar.....' ha ha ha...

nellu
well, that's life of a FTWM welcome back!

sgn
I also same like u, pick ryan from nanny. Play with him at home. Talk and talk....cos they like to listen and talk in their manner. one day they will speak like us.

Do u guys find the kids like to help out chores now? ryan likes to throw his diapers into dustbin, help to put his shoes properly, knows how to put his dirty clothes into pail. Think he sees us doing it, will follow. so funny.

smalldreams,
the issue with the maid was more than just the phone. She lied abt her employment history, her knowledge of mandarin and many other things. Last night at the agent's ofc, she pushed the blame back to the agent's staff..yup..and I know full well which staff was it that was in cahoots with her! Stupid pple had photos as evidence...hahaha....

Anyway, i'm really glad it's over..cos I've been cracking my head over the last few months thinking of how to redesign her job scope aft Josh is settled in sch and I at work....

sgn,
yup! life of a FTWM! my neighbour wakes up at 5am everyday to get her kids ready for sch, cook lunch and dinner for them, get breakfast, then go to work..aft work come home, make dinner, wash up, put her youngest to bed, then she goes to bed at around 11pm-12mn.

last nite I slept at 1am. Woke up today at 615am.

springd
dun hv to wait till after dnr mah .. can start e moment u rch hm. For me, usually start when i pick jboy fm IL hse. .. ask him gd boy anot, eat anot, who make dnr for him etc etc .. .. Than dnr time can cont tok .. ask him wanna eat, show him e dishes, tell him which is e fish, meat etc. After dnr cont tok .. tok tok tok all e way till bed time .. hehe :p

nellu
so u not getting another maid?

CoolD,
nope. NO more stupid maids for me...buay tahan all the nonsense!

SD,
yes like what other mummies say, just keep talking to him. and talk to him in adult/proper language. The sch principal was amazed that we talk to Josh like an adult all the time. and she thinks that is a great idea because he will pick up his language faster and his comprehension skills will be stronger as well.

nellu,
must be very tiring. another trick is to have dinner at your parents place...haha, then u dont have to rush home to cook...like me..

smalldreams, will email to you shortly.

blueblue
oh my boy loves to swept the floor! sometimes he also likes to water the plants.

janet
ur gal also sticky to u too huh!
that's a good way to get things done and can have meals without worry. that's why i chosed to stay with in laws!

nellu
i used to sleep in such hours, after i started work office hrs, i get to sleep like 11pm and wakes up 6.45am everyday. sleep is very impt to me.

janet,
my parent's plc v hard to have dinner cos the dining table there v small cannot accommodate everybody. Plus got no proper chair for Josh to sit on to eat....my mum also doesn't like to be 'restricted' by this commitment.. hahaha...

SD,
baby can talk can b a bit 'boring' for now. cher prefers others too thou she still watches this once a while. u can try: www.starfall.com cher likes this n learns many words fr there.
perhaps can wait abt 2mths like wat pd said, somtx they jus suddenly' kai1 qiao4' one :p
meantx , talk to him a lot, prompt (but not force) him to speak. can jonas blow whistles? is a gd training for jaw muscle development. ash did lots of blowing as part of his speech therapy, they hv different types of whistles n different levels of difficulty. n many other exercises which ash has to do at hm.

sanrio, SD,
totally agree with sanrio. Josh is one of those kids who like 'suddenly' kai qiao kind of kids. But it's more cos he's a keen observer. He probably practises in his head, then one fine day when he's more confident he will do his 'thing'!

blowing helps really! I started to get Josh to do a lot of blowing in Dec. Then now he's saying more words..CC also helps..btw, josh can blow out candles liao! yippee!! next bday he'll blow his own candles!

Million Thanks and greatly appreciated for your supportive words & advices.

Sorry for the late response as me kinda busy with work these days...part of a project team for a international event in Singapore this year..so need to handling zillions of emails everyday. Quite stressed and eyes/brain getting abit confused liaoz.....Hiaz....

By the way, I 'curiously' called up a speech therapist about the cost of doing a assessment and she says a one hour session cost $350...I was like "Errr...ok thanks will consider". Well, like you gals say, I dun think Jonas's situation is that bad...probably just abit slow in speech development (or plain stubborn to learn) and will "Kai Qiao" with more conversations with him.

Will continue to try my best to be a chatty mummy!

SD,
jia you!..perhaps can consider letting jonas go playgroup...it'll help a lot. Josh became v chatty over the last few days aft going to cc! I'm amazed!

we should meet for lunch soon??

mommies
its the third day for javen in sch without me. today no cry liao. he oonly cry for me when he saw me peep at him fr the vdoor in the beginning...n i shout to him "mommy wait here, u go play with friends"n he nod his head n stop crying. phew!! later must go on time to fetch him back.

blueblue
think me n ur fren miscommunicate. hahaha... i was there early so told her i wait for her at the entrance to pass tic to her. she came only abt 5-10mins b4 showtime n call me saying she is outside. n i tot she is on her way in fr outside so i told her ok i wait for her. who knows, she mean she is already outside at the entrance. end up we go in at the dot. have to sit at the side cos the centre mostly occupied liao.
Javen only like the ox and the animals.

SD
$350 for an hr session? tats exp. i have lots of baby can read VCDs. i started Javen when he is 3 months old. If u wan, can lend it to u to try though i agree with sanrio....may be a bit boring for them now. I going to start with my younger boy soon....

cheezel, springdance
hey baby can read was a bit boring for ky ley even when he was younger. what i mean was he prefer those singing VCDs then bb can read. now he can sing a long when i play the vcd. my boy likes to talk but can't really pronouce clearly on certain words.

350 bucks for speach therapist too ex bah, how about KKWCH? can try calling maybe cheaper or get OPS write a referral letter could be cheaper.

SD, sgn,
yes $350 is d mkt rate for pte speech therapist assessment. per 1hr therapy session is abt $120-$150. n there are not many pte speech therapists in d mkt n gd ones are in hot demand tat they even hv to reject u. so i was tellg hb, since cher so chatty, next tx can consider to study such related field :p

sgn,
if get referral fr polyclinic n refer to kkh, d speech therapy wait is super long unless is an urgent/obvious case eg: my frd's son cant 'speak' n they tot it was ok all along. they only sent to kkh for assessment when boy was turning 5 yrs old n d boy has a developmental delay including speech n as he wa salready 5, they need to intervene n get him 'treated' asap.
imagine ash's follow-up was all along in kkh n we cld not even get a slot for speech therapy in kkh then n they recommended us to go to pte therapist.

SD,
no wori, jonas looks fine to me. i remb tat tx i met him, i said hi to him n he smiled at me

i send chatty cher n ash to go talk to him :p

cheezel, nellu,
wah! ur boys are doing so well in school. if i wld to send cher to cc now, she wld sure cry non-stop. so clingy to me oso cos she is still direct bf, dun noe how to wean her off. i m still tinkg of returning to work (hopefully my ex-boss can still take me n allow me flexi) in yr 2010.

sgn/SD
yeah. personally i think baby can read also boring...hahah...but i still carry javen in front of laptop and let him see when he 3 months old. the website www.starfall.com is a good site for learning....Javen can read or recognise most of the alpabets, animals from there. he learn almost everynight except weekends

i also have no peace when i bathe or go toilet. if i lock the door, she will cry......wonder when we should stop letting them see.

blueblue
wow, ryan is picking up on chores. you'll have help soon. :p sophie also likes to sweep the floor with the mosquito swatter. but she doesn't know how to put her clothes or diapers away. hmm....maybe should train her.

SD
sophie likes my baby can read. i think she pick up quite a bit from there. but it's more suitable for younger children. you have brainy bb? got some suitable for 1yr onwards. sophie also likes bee smart series. build up her vocab. but it's quite boring because repetitive.

cheezel
javen can use the computer? i tried using the laptop but i find it's quite straining on the eyes, and my screen saver is distracting. agree that starfall is not bad, but i have to click for her.

lynn
no la. if Javen knows how to use the PC, then i will be happy till over the moon liao. hahha....i always beside him to teach him n he always request me to on the laptop and show him the characters fr the site. it will only be abt 20 mins...not too long cos he cant conc too long n also i observe that he learns better the 1st few mins.

mommies
time flies...and i will be back to work tomor. sien! haiz

cheezel,
i know that feeling. This whole week i felt really weird..The whole experience of going back to work is a bit 'out of body' for me..one year leh!! i'm super rusty at my work. What I used to take 20mins to complete, i'm taking x2 the amt of time now...sian...

btw, i'm in HK right now. So tired because have sacked the maid. I wonder how hubby is coping with Josh alone tomorrow and tuesday morning...

cheezel
heheh, when our kids know how to use the computer, they will not want to talk as much to us liao. so it's good that you can spend time learning with him. i tried the letters on sophie, she concentrate for a while then dunno i click too slow or what, she got distracted.

wow, so fast going back to work. i'm just back to full time work this week and my boss is throwing things for me to do left right centre. i was so stress i broke down twice.

was also worried abt sophie's first week at cc. but that went well. she din want to go home! when my hubby went to fetch her on the first day, she said wait.....the teachers were laughing. :p and her appetite is super good. had 2 bowls of rice and wants milk whenever she see other kids drinking. got to tell the teachers to go easy on the food. she doesn't sleep so well though, fretful sleep and only an hr. probably need to adjust more and the place is not so quiet as home. :p

janet,
how long do you intend to send her to gug? i'm not sure if i want to continue next term, because she has started cc. but i feel it's shame to stop when she's enjoying the class.

i'm thinking of starting another jshopper spree because there are new arrivals and they have inner shirts i want that was oos last time. the new designs are not bad. will use for her cc. only $4+ per piece. also thinking of getting a dress.

ANYONE WANT TO JOIN JSHOPPER SPREE?

Nellu
Yupz...lemme know when you are available for lunch..you got my mobile no. rite?

Oh ya..if you got chance to talk to Grace (kids)..can with with her if she can refund us poor mummies (me & Cheezel) the 100bucks deposit please??

Cheezel
Oh....maybe that's one of the factors why Javen is so good in speech... HAIZZ....I should have get those VCDs for Jonas to see when he was young. Now too late liaoz...

Lynn
I dun have any of those VCDs lei...Jonas been watching JimJam channel on SCV all these while...not really healthy. :p

Sop is doing so good in CC....you really can "Fang Xi Le!"...

Hey Nellu

how's HK! Have you called home to check on how those 2 boys of yrs are doing? Hehe.

Cheezel

Welcome back to the workforce! Hope you'll have a good, easy week this first week

Springdance

I also didn't get those Baby can read DVDs for adam. THink if i get them for him now, he'll fall asleep watching them. It may not be as good than educational dvds, but I let adam watch Barney & thomas train quite a bit. My mom also teaches him reading at times, and I read to him. he does talk at times but I'm not expecting him to talk too much. Wait a bit more...hehe..

Janet

I brought Adam for a GUG trial last Sat morning! Adam was shy but he behaved better than I expected, phew. He was actually able to sit still and listen to the teacher. But towards the end (after break) he got a bit restless and started heading for the door to look for his dad. Not sure if I'll sign up for now though.

What impressed me was that, most of the girls could say some words & respond to questions. But the boys, not quite. And the boys were about 20 to 22 mths. So Springdance, not to worry for now k dear? Guess Javen is really advanced for a 20 mth old boy

springdance
just dun worry lor..my boy went to CC for abt 2mths liao..still cannot really speak...his words are only limited to like less than 10...but these days he start babbling alot in his bb languages..i take it as another milestone for him to start speaking in human language..

SD/Smalldreams
i guess prob javen also take after his daddy ba. His daddy more chatty and likes to talk. prob he also like his daddy and likes to talk. i find that he can told me the story of the storybook which i read to him...e.g. a lost sheep looking for its mother....then Javen will always take the book and tell me "sheep sheep find mi mi (mommy)".

but then i dunno y...he likes to use hand to beat, push others. today teacher told my hubby that he likes to push others and even things like table. he only started behaving like this few weeks ago. haiz...told him many times he cant do that but he still do...dunno y le...anyone encounter this??

lynn,
i may just stick on to GUG for another term and that is it. Yes, I agree. my girl also likes her teacher at GUG alot.

so Sop is taking CC well. Maybe that time i will join the same cc. the teacher good? did u also hide in one corner to look at Sop?

smalldreams,
good that you enjoyed the class.

SD,
not entirely true that when the kiddos watch Your Baby Can Read, they'll talk earlier. Josh had been watching everyday since he was 8mths. He hasn't been saying much. The only real great result we got from the series is that Josh CAN actually read/recognise words that were taught in the videos.

the last time I checked with the PD abt speech, she said only when they reach 21-24mths and if we do not see an increase in their vocalised vocabulary then we'll have to worry abit. O/w for now it's pretty ok.

Javen's just really advanced...so dun stress yourself and Jonas out. He can feel your stress and disappointment and that will hinder him further.

or can seriously consider sending him to playgroup or half day cc. Josh and his classmate both picked up a lot of language since starting cc. His classmate didn't speak any english words, and say only v few chinese words when he first joined. Now he can say a lot more english words. Josh said only his few words before starting, now his vocab has expanded a bit (just within a week). He also started to string words like "papa kick ball", "papa eat bread" sometimes it's meaningless like "papa kick car"!

cheezel,
occasionally, josh also has some weird behaviour that isn't very desirable. Since Jonas can talk abit, are you able to perhaps ask him why he does it? he probably doesn't understand why he can't do it. For Josh i always use the ignore tactic which works very well. Give him neither positive nor negative attention. aft some time, he'll stop. but if he does shove another kid or snatch toys, i usually does stop him and explain to him.

lynn,
thanks. I'll check and let you know. Sophie's cc got no uniform is it?

by the way, she's adapting to cc really well eh? good leh.. I was really thankful that Josh also like going to CC, cos it sort of sealed my decision to fire the maid. if he was still difficult at cc, I would probably have to tahan the silly maid a little more until he's completely settled.

smalldreams,
we always use skype or msn to call/reach home. normal phone is too expensive for us.

talk abt GUG, i'm quite regret for not letting Shernise to continues the class. I found that GUG covers lot of things like story telling, singing songs, games, and teaching phonics.

serene
that's why i find it a waste to stop. but now that i'm back to full time work, it's hard to find time and energy to send her there.

nellu
got uniform but only used for school trips which is not so soon. so i told them i will choose the size when she needs to use. :p sending josh to cc is definitely better than having a maid. at least he gets to interact with other kids.

janet
the teachers are ok. she has one chinese teacher and one english teacher. the english teacher is quite experienced. chinese teacher is ok. taught for 5 yrs. they have other teachers to help out if cannot cope cuz first few days got a few crying kids.

i have yet to determine if the curriculum is good. but i think she's picking up some mandarin which is what we want her to. she loves kindemusik class.

food was ok. she's not so exposed to outside food yet. so i have some concerns with their meal choices. but they always have porridge standby if your child doesn't eat what they prepare.

she doesn't really sit down to listen to storytelling, and it's hard for teachers to force her. i tried also cannot. sign of ADHD?

i did peep from the door but it's open so only can show my head. she don't even bother to look out for me. :p

serene,
is shernise on any other class now?

Lynn,
my girl also quite picky with food. I hope she will not suffer when she goes cc. i guess if really hungry just have to eat right?

janet
no lor. actually she was with GUG (when she is 14 mths), but i didnt let her continue because that time i think she still young lor. I want to let her start classes this year instead.

this morning, i called GUG and check whether if I want to let my daug to continue again, will they charge me any registration fee again. me lah, itchy backside.

serene
yes i'm working full time. and some weekends. so i send sophie to gug on sunday mornings. janet is in the afternoon class.

if you're continuing another term, you should not need to pay registration fee again. i asked them before, they said 1 yr before you need to pay again.

janet
i saw some kids refuse to eat so the teacher will try a few methods. if not they give alternative choices of food.

nellu
i try to ignore him a few times but i scare he will thought that beating, pushing pple is acceptable le. now he likes to say the opposite things....like do you like to eat...he will say no......do you like to play sand, he will say no...or he will say no like mi mi (which is me). dun know why he say tat le...very heartpain. but sometime, he will be very nice...he will play, hug me...ask me to carry him...then when ask, he will say he like mi mi. he also do say he dun like gor gor, jie jie , friends, ah ma etc.....really headache.

cheezel,
cannot take the NOs too seriously. The kids are at the age of testing limits. Just yday, Josh started to throw a big ball at my mum's dog and even kicked the dog. He did it again today but I had to smack him...really hard on the thigh, where it hurts most. I explained to him but he thought it's a game but aft the smack then he stopped. Occasionally I do smack him when he's extremely mischievous and refuse to listen.

lynn,
the maid wasn't required to do much childcare in the first place. The only difference with the maid around is that my housework is done lor...that's all only!

btw, Josh also doesn't sit still for storytelling. in fact he doesn't really sit still for anything except food...so er...ADHD?? nah...too early to tell...

my boy oso dun really sit still for storytelling..unless maybe the teacher put him on her lap..then he probably no choice...as for food wise..i think dun hv to worry lar..once they are hungry..they dun like oso must eat..otherwise u can prepare some more milk or biscits lor..

cheezel
heard abt this phase that they will go thru. i have friends whose kids abt 21 mth say dun love mummy, or beat mummy. heart pain.

nellu, zhuzhu
relieved to hear that sophie's not the only "distracted" one. Even if the teacher put her on her lap, she will also struggle out. i see other kids sitting down quitely. she's the only one walking around and not really listening. like in a world of her own. a bit worrying.