(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

my bb sleeps better with cereal at night compared to milk lei...if drinks milk, sometime in the middle of the night, she will still make some sounds...but sleep back too lah...no night feeds. but with cereal, no sound at all.

since so many mothers also said night cereal not good, maybe i will give fruit puree instead...should be easier to digest than cereal.

bb also calls all men papa, and all women mama...i also correct her...i think it is ok lah...they are still young, i quite sure they will not be like that when schooling age.

cheezel,
it's quite simple.
1. i track josh's night wakings every night. I noted that most nights he wakes up abt the same time. Checked with PD before plus my reading, if bb wakes up the same time every night, it's out of habit. If the waking is erratic (eg. last night is 2am, the night before last was 12nn), it's usually hunger.
2. i tried to observe Josh's cries when he wakes. usually wait a min or two before going into his room. Sometimes it's just some grunting noises and he stops abt 2-3mins aft. If he continues and the cries get louder, then I go and attend to him. Sometimes he stops the moment he sees me. So this is definitely not hunger.
3. if he cannot stop crying then i try to offer him water.
4. if he dun want water, then i enlist hubby to make the milk.
..hahaha long process, by then the boy probably figured it's too troublesome and will quit the habit.

If you find that Javen is eating alot during the day and still asks for milk at night, it's very likely it is a growth spurt but i think it should not last longer than 2-3days. Maybe you can also modify the things that he eats. give him more proteins perhaps? it'll keep him full longer. I think quality of food is more impt than quantity.

RE: josh's eating.
hahaha yes i think on the whole he eats well. He's a born foodie, takes aft me. but since he turned one, he's become a little more picky. there are days when he will refuse to eat too.

Now he wants to eat our food but i try to feed him his first then later give him some of ours cos I find that if i just feed him adult food he eats alot less and then he'll not sleep well.

abt milk feed being very close, erm..actually i have no idea how we evolved to this...it used to be 2-3hours apart from the solids too. maybe it's cos i find that he gets more relaxed with the bottle and would go down for nap/bed aft milk..so i modified his feeds this way.

RE:Naps
if the kiddos start to miss their morning naps sometimes, they are probably beginning to want to nap once only...I had that problem since josh was 11mths. Somehow it wasn't that difficult to manage ..maybe it's cos we were on holiday...hahaha... the longer day in the northern hemisphere sort of facilitated this? I just got Josh to nap later and later for his morning nap, and put him down earlier for bed...eventually the naps just merge and viola! i get my 2hrs break!!

sanrio,
josh naps abt 1230-230pm...sometimes to 3pm..we'll see how it goes? can arrange to meet up..

SpringD,
i think he's kinda steady like that cos I made it a pt to really train him. I make everyone in the household do the same thing for everything that we do with Josh. There is a lot of consistency. Tough in the beginning to do all this but once everyone gets the hang of it, it's really great cos there is a lot of order in our lives plus Josh is happier cos he knows what's happening with his day. Even just now for lunch, when he had almost finished his lunch, he pointed to the TV indicating that he had finished and wanted to watch his "My Baby Can Read" VCD. This is the routine activity i do with him aft his lunch everyday!

smalldreams,
pasta -- i used to put it in the slow cooker. The end result aft abt 2hours is really soft. But now i just boil as per normal, maybe a little more cos Josh is into chewing.

cool daughter,
agree. I find that the more I stop Josh from touching something the more he wants to do it. So i let him explore abit. only scold him or take him away if he tries to meddle with wires and sockets...so far no problem. He's been well trained.

smalldreams,
doc only gave oral med to clear the nose n to prevent itch. KKH juz call me 2dae n say only need to go back in 2wks, dunno y so long leh.

taro,
kelly loves soup and all her porridge broth is cooked wif wolfberry, red date, etc. mayb too heaty liaoz. will cut down on dat.

nellu

if they wake up out of habit, how do you correct it le? last time javen used to wake up ard the same time. but now these days, he wake up at 11 plus, 12 plus or 1plus to 2 for milk then 3plus, 3 plus or 5 plus for milk. could it be growth spurt? but it has been like this since last weekends le.

what other food contains protein beside fish, beancurd, cheese??

ya...i also find that the more you try to stop them from doing soemthing, the more they want to do it. sometime i just leave it and let him explore. only stop him if he meddle with electrical applicances, things made of glass, or attempt to climb up stools etc.

smalldreams,
the pasta can cook as normal in a pot...just cook longer than usual until soft soft.

cheezel,
hehe i'm still looking for a solution on that. We did ask the PD once. The PD said don't bother with them and just leave them alone..but you know, most of us sure cannot tahan one cos baby will cry and cry and cry right? I also cannot tahan, but i have taught myself to step back a bit and observe his cries then act. it helps leh..aft some time the bad habit sort of improve. Instead of waking up like 3-4 times, it's reduced to once. still working on this one.

But i think it also has alot to do with how they fall asleep in the beginning. I feel that if they can learn to go to sleep on their own then there will be less night wakings which require our attention. so i'm trying my darndest now to sleep train josh...very very tough process and i always cave in..

the timing that they sleep and their wind down process and their daily activities have alot to do with their sleep too.

protein foods
do you feed javen other meats like chicken or pork? or even beef? eggs are also good. We don't eat much red meat at home so josh only gets chicken and fish. occasionally he gets beef but he still doesn't like it. He also doesn't like egg very much.

Nellu
Oh ya...I just recalled that you mentioned about training on eating...that you will just take the food away if Josh dun wan or take too long to eat. Good that you can be so firm in cultivating the right habit.

Hmmm...you dun give Josh pork or beef? For egg, you can just beat it up and pour into the porridge which I think taste quite nice and Josh will probably like it?

SpringD,
josh does get beef but no pork at all cos :p i dunno how to buy or cook pork. Don't eat much pork mah...

as for egg, sounds like a good idea..will try it out. recently he's more receptive and will eat scramble eggs..

want to teach good habits must have strong will leh..i dun think i have but i just keep trying... good thing that my hubby is supportive and is willing to do it together with me.

nellu
javen likes egg. i give him egg quite often. he take chicken too. beef only once in a while when we dine out at pizza hut...hehe....he take the pizza with beef. actually Javen eat most of the food we give him. but he dun really like sweet stuff....prob a good thing too cos he dun like those packet drink we take, ice cream etc. but he likes fruits. funni hor.

hmm.....Javen has learn how to fall asleep on his own now. b4 sleep, normally he will watch some VCD like Hi5, or nursery rhymes or read story books....then after tat i let him switch off the light himself and lie on bed....then he will toss here n there.....sing n talk to himself b4 he doze off. now he fall asleep in 10 mins....last time when i first started..it took me 1 hr. shack man!

but he still wake up at night le. dunno is it habit or he really hungry...or just craving for milk...

now i will wait a while to attend to him when he cry in the midnight. initially will go back sleep..but then he keep fidgetting and make noise...then after a few mins, he will cry and ask for milk.

cheezel/ nellu
the pass few nites ky had been waking up crying too, wonder he is teething or kena scare during day time. maybe start to look for mummy n his bed during the nite, last nite wake up 1am went back to dsleep at 4am!

cheezel,
i'm wondering when it will be when josh will just fall asleep in 10mins...i'm still at the 1hr stage...

looks like you might just have to continue to give Javen milk for some time and see how. in the meantime, maybe can look at how he's eating during the day?

sgn,
there was a period that Josh was also like that. Very very siong for both hubby and myself. If you know what the cause is, just deal with the cause. Eg. if it is teething, give him teething gel and probably that will make him feel better.

during that time it was so bad that both of us got so tired we just lie down in the same room with Josh and let him just toss around in his cot. We slept together in his room...aft some time, somehow the prob disappears.

nellu
look like no choice ba. last night he wakes up at almost 11 for milk after his 5pm dinner cos he rejected milk at 8 plus. then almost 3 wake up for milk again. 6am when i wake up to wash up, by the time i go back to the room, he's wide awake with my hubby holding his milk bottle. my hubby seldom feed him nor make him sleep at night....dunnno if its cos he see my hubby n relate to playing time...so 6am wake up liao. buay tahan.

sgn
Javen reject teething gel...no choice....tat time his molar coming out...keep waking up at night. very tired. n keep chewing on his pillow n bolster n pacifier

cheezel, nellu

It appears that my kid is awake several times a night out of hunger... but my gut feel still thinks its out of habit & comfort. Coz he falls asleep the moment I latched him on.

Maybe one night i'll try give formula again..but past experience tells me he rejects formula when he gets up at night. He only wants direct latch...

cheezel,

i went to the prosthodontist yday to do my final crowning. So i took the opportunity to ask him whether toddlers will wake up at nite screaming or crying due to teething. He said no. He said if they wake up, it is not due to teething. And he advised against using dentinox or any teething gel. He said during day time if we see their gums swollen, juz give ice popsicles.

i think javen could be just purely hungry?

nellu
i think i knew how to deal with ky, i apply teething gel n let him sleep on his mattress within 10 mins he fell asleep last night. never wake up till 7.30am

cheezel
poor thing u preg should be resting more yet got to wake up so many times to attend to javen.

Lovedogs
During the day can give ice popsicles…but what abt night le? Cant possible give ice popsicles right.

Sgn
Ky no reject teething gel? How u coax him to apply? U use clean barehand to apply or with a wet hanky?

Cheezel
Jonas also dun like ice-cream…strange! I tot all kids love ice-cream….even weirder, he likes “Kiam Soon Tee”!

Your efforts to train Javen sleep on own sure pays off…..wonder when my boy can do the same….if he dun fall asleep while drinking milk, we will need to carry & rock him to sleep…like man-made sarong.

The only thing that is fast about Jonas is the growth of his teeth…all 4 sides of his molars already sprouted and so, he has got 12 pearlies now.

Smalldreams/ Sgn
Dun know is it that I am being sensitive or just a mindset, but it seems like Jonas has higher tendency to wake in the middle of the nite since 7th month started.....hmmm.....

springdance
Javen aslo like kiam soon tee le...haha....think Javen and jonas can gbe good good fren...haha

Javen has 4 front teeth upper and lower...then strangely, uppper molar comes out leaving some gap at the side....those haben come out le...tot like will grow in a row to the back.

Jonas has 4 molars..then eat solid must be very easy liao....

SpringD,
we used to put Josh to sleep the same way as you do with Javen. Damn tiring but the process doesn't take us more than 15-20mins. Then there came a period when he decided he didn't want us to carry him. So we put him in the cot. I was over the moon abt this cos I really got no strength to carry and rock him anymore. But then (!), now he takes 1hour to fall asleep...sianz...

abt 7th mth, hahaha i also got a bit sensitive..cos last night while attending to josh at 130am, i thought i heard someone said "baby" in the room....could be Josh himself...but then it's kinda weird..hahaha

lovedogs/cheezel,
i think can try cold washcloth... my friend froze baby carrots for all her kids and gave them when they were teething. She gave me this tip to try but Josh ended up just fooling around with the carrots. ahaha...

cheezel,
from 11pm to 3am is not too long leh..can't be that Javen is hungry by 3am aft a full milk feed at 11pm right?

what time does Javen usually wake up? Yes i think if your hubby seldom feeds or puts Javen to bed and only plays with him, he'll unlikely cooperate by going back to bed. But then sometimes kids might just cooperate with the parent that spends less time with them. They tend to test the parent who's the main caregiver, and this is what Josh does at home. I'm the one suffering like mad with all his tantrums and everything, while my hubby gets it easy...grr..so unfair!

smalldreams,
a friend of mine used to offer her gal formula at night cos her daughter loved to comfort suck. She just kept doing it until one day her gal just gave up and went to sleep. Her daughter still comfort sucked at that time even aft weaned from BM!! Now her 3yo daughter sleeps from 7pm-7am..no night wakings at all! amazing hor? but it's a really tiring process...

Springdance/nellu,
I also used to rock and pat javen to sleep when he younger….its really super tiring and I always got muscle ache after tat. Like josh, at abt 6-7months, he don’t want us to carry him to sleep so I let him lie down on bed to sleep. Initially I make him sleep with light on and patting him to sleep. Then when he learn how to crawl and walk, I had difficulty keeping him in bed. So I switch off the light and he fuss when I did that for several night. So now I carry him and bring him to the switch and ask him to switch off the light himself and he always say “no more” when the lights r out. Then slowly I stop patting him and just sit beside the bed and let him toss ard till he doze off by himself. Now I say good night to him and he can say “night night” back to me and after a while he doze off. Now trying to sit further away and see if he can sleep on his own.

Nellu
I think javen will aslo play with the carrot le cos I tried giving him cut carrot and he only put it into his mouth once and then start playing with it

Dunno le. I also think the interval fr 11pm to 3 am not very long but he only settle down when I give him milk. Else he keep fidgetting and making noise. Or prob I try giving him 7 oz of milk when he wake up for milk at 10-11 tonight and see how. Prob he still not tat full after 6oz. he normally wake up at 7 or 7 plus.

Javen is like tat lo. He never regard my mil who is his maincaregiver. He throw tantrums at her and she always give him. Too pamper him liao. but when I’m ard, he’s more guai. When I say no he wont do it. But then he dun really listen to my hubby too le….my hubby sometime need to use the harsher method like scolding him or stop him physically from doing something by carrying him away etc.

Springdance

Ahh... or maybe it's also warmer these nights...so he might feel rather uncomfy?

Nellu

Yeah, I think comfort suckling is a problem i'm facing. I just hope he's getting enough rest! I passed him pacifier, but he'd really prefer me. Let's see if I get lucky like yr friend did. For now, Adam only sleeps around 10, and gets up by 8 plus latest. Finish lah..no rules in his life for now heheh

cheezel,
javen is regarding your mil as his main caregiver. That is why he will throw tantrums at her but will be more guai with you. Josh throws tantrums when he's with me but not with my maid or my hubby. so sian hor...

I get Josh to say "bye bye" to his story books and the light before putting him into his cot..hehehe at least now he gets the idea that he's supposed to sleep!

smalldreams,
if you want to solve the problem, you'll have to be very determined and get hubby to support you on it. if you act as a united front, the chances of succeeding is much higher cos the kid will know that he can't get his way with either one of you and will just comply aft a while. Training them is a LOT of hard work if you ask me and really needs an iron will....

I think my friend did that for close to a year then she succeeded. Cos you know sometimes will get softhearted or get too tired and cave in mah...

abt rules, i think this is abt the right time to start, but of course will meet with a lot of "NO" from the kiddos. Really really tough period. Even though Josh cannot talk, he's having tantrums too. Last night he screamed and screamed and screamed over i dunno wat for nearly 30mins. He was so loud and so hysterical that my neighbour asked me abt it this morning.

nellu
prob ba. Cos I FTWM. Mil helping out but she also super pamper my boy. Anything aslo give in to him cos she scare he will cry or throw tantrums. So now, my boy dun really listen to her and basically climb over her head at times.

Nellu / Cheezel
Hmm...seems like there was some point in time your boys dun wanna be carried to sleep...my boy didn't show these signs lei...guess he still likes to be a baby! Probably that's also why he still refuse to walk on his own ..always must hold onto something or our hands...

Nellu
haha...It's alrite about the name...I know you were referring to Jonas.

Cheezel
Jonas climbs all over me!! I am the least he is afraid of rather than his caregiver (my MIL)..he's most afraid of my hubby...just a stern "No!" from him and he will freeze there.

By the way, although our boys have similar liking for preserved fruits but not for ice-cream, they have great difference in the intake of milk though. Hahaha! :p

Smalldreams
That's a good point! Weather is damn hot these 2 weeks.

cheezel
he a bit resist the action but i think he feels good when i put my finger into his mouth (waiting to bite my finger)! ha ha ha.

springdance
i also ever think about 7th month thingy but treat it as teething then u will feel better if not it will always hunt u with that thoughts!

nellu/ cheezel
i also make it a point for my boy to say nite nite to PIL b4 he sleeps but not making ky sleep is challenging. used to be only 15-30mins n now 45mins -1hr, last sun even broke record 2hrs!

cheezel,

what he said was crying at nite not due to teething...i mean, that is based on expert lah... i am not sure. and he said do not use teething gel...

nellu,

i actually nvr bother abt her teething...i juz let it be. her lower inner gums were so swollen for the last 2 weeks...but finally the lower molars erupted then not so swollen liao... her upper gums i din notice...next i know got 4 new teeth...total 8 on top now...

SpringD,
i had thought that the day would never come. Cos i really got no strength to carry Josh. Many a times i toyed with the idea of a real serious drastic sleep training programme, but always abandon plan. Until now..at least i don't have to carry him. Just sit in the room with him for 1hour..but still 1hour is too long...

Cheezel/SpringD,
I don't dare give Josh preserved fruits or ice cream or other processed/junk food leh. If we wanted to eat all these things, we'll wait until he's asleep. He's such a foodie lor so I'd better not expose him to it. But he is totally in love with yoghurt. He also doesn't mind eating sour grapefruit!

lovedogs,
generally I don't bother much with Josh's teething either, cos he really doesn't fuss much and this teething thing doesn't really seem to affect him much.

nellu/cheezel
guess what i just put ky to sleep at 9pm n he fall asleep after 15mins by himself! i just lie next to him on his mattress watching tv, he just filp here n there a few times n asleep.

nellu
u went busybuddies today? i'm planning to bring ky n my friend with her son there tomorrow. just check with u the charges there. tks

SpringDance

Hehe, think you're gentle with Jonas but he knows his daddy is stricter so can't bully :p

sgn, nellu

I've yet to send Adam to any of these playgym classes but I'm really quite curious to see how he'll react in them and also would be quite fun seeing him in action (as if I dn't have enuff at home already).

I'm taking half day leave today..so tired of working! SIghs..actually supposed to work from home in the afternoon but really really sian... Thinking of bringing him out to one of those pay-per-session play. Any suggestions? Preferably somewhere in the east...coz no transport today.

Re : Strollers

So tempted to get one from the BP! Cheap! Anyone using a Maclaren? which is better - Techno XT or Quest Mod? Maclarens look soooo cool, compared to my combi now..ehhe

Smalldreams,
I’m using maclaren techno XT. So far still ok ba. I brought it along when we go aust for holiday and still manageable. But if I go out alone with javen, normally I dun use stroller cos stillneed to fold back and set up. Very troublesome esp when he’s younger I still need to carry him. But now I think its looks abit small when Javen sleep in it le. Anyway, now he doesn’t like to be in stroller. Even when sleep, he also wan to be carried or he will be running ard. Let himi sit in stroller he make lots of noise.

Nellu
Sit in the room one hour is certainly long….maybe I’ll be the one who fall asleep instead! Hahahah……my dun have this patience niah…would rather go living room sit and watch TV. This mummy can’t make it… :p

Talking about eating yoghurts… what brand do you give Josh? Any idea if we must stick to those for kids type only or it’s alrite to feed all kinds of yoghurt?

Smalldreams
Maybe you can bring Adam go see horsies at Pasir Ris again? Or go East Coast Park ride bicycles.

Sgn
Off day tomorrow? BusyBuddies is the one at GWC is it? You know about this Grace kids event there on 16 Aug?

nellu/ springdance
oh change of plan my friend suggested to go explorerkids at downtown east.

smalldreams
want to join me?

aiyo last nite was easy to make ky sleep but he woke up 1am, 4 am n 7.30am this morning!
i apply teething gel for him at 1am, 4am he wanted milk when i asked him. so tired....

Was travelling along AYE this morning when I saw the big sign SINTEX warehouse sale. 7 to 11-Aug-08 (10 to 6pm) Special coupons are also available on newspapers. Just thought you mommies might be interested.

I gave ice popsicles to my kids too...bought some from Isetan supermarket. Apple juice and grape juice type....they loved it. But didn't want to fatten them up with all the sugar so only give when necessary.

Don't know if I had too much crabs when I was pregnant (old folks at home told me so)...but my kids have the habit of pinching and grabbing my hands and arms to soothe themselves to sleep. Lucky I only have 2 kids...else not enough hands to go around...haa...

sgn

what time u going?

Is there free play at busybuddies? if yes i'm quite keen!

I PM ya my no soon

What an irony, my office is just 2 bus stops away from UE...

MommyPoh
Hahah, the crab myth is actually applicable to me too! My mom said I ate crabs during pregnancy, so Adam just CAN'T keep still! He can only keep still for 1 minute, then off to play elsewhere...

SpringD,
haha just realised... you interested in grace kids' programmes too? Josh is now in Rhythm in Me class on friday, run by the boss herself. I find it pretty good. A bit more crazy and fun..not so serious...

yoghurt -- i give Josh the petite miam ones. They come in pack of 6 small pots cost abt $5.10 at NTUC (when not on offer!) But when we went to France, Josh had the normal types. Over in Europe they have all sorts of yoghurt, even organic ones.. he's so in love with yogurt that he refused to share the adult portion with me...