(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

jmonster,
The bananas that u r referring to is Delmonte bananas which r very cooling for preggies.

blueroti,
Maybe ur hormones r changing, that's y u feel that ur nose is getting bigger.

fen,
Me also have pimples on my forehead. Guess, the main culprit is the haze. Try doing scrub, mask & apply some pimples cream. It helps (at least in my case) :p

No need to feel guilty over ur nasi lemak supper lah. During my 1st preggie days, every weekends I'll hv prata & teh halia for supper hor. So far so gd leh.

I also drive when I'm pregnant. Hmm ..... driving a manual car needs a lot of strength one meh ? Ur inlaw very kang cheong over their grandkkid hor :p

DW,
Agrees that breast feeding is gd for bb. Gd that u r determined to bf despite of ur mil's comments. I only bf my elder gal for 1mth+ (too stressful) & younger gal near to 2.5 mths. In comparison, the younger gal's immunity system is stronger than her sis.

fong,
I'll go for pedi & mani as a treat for myself for being preggie

Angela,
Wow, u so lucky to be full time chauffeured leh. So nice. Most of us hv to squeeze into the crowded trains wif those ABNN. Eeeeee ....... Those smell ....... Yucks !

I also hv eczema & seems to get worst recently due to the haze. I can scratch like a monkey day & night. Hahahahhahahahahahahaha

those having no. 2 or more, can share whether you had epidural for your previous labours? i'm thinking abt it right now. whether to go drug free. if it's possible at all.

Some personal updates :-

Into 16 wks & gynae can see the birdie liao. Hb so happy as we already hv 2 gals. Be4 the scan, we were joking abt if I'm having a gal, I'll get an IWC watch. But if it's a boy, I'll get a Patek Phillipe watch. Hahahahhahahahahahaha, PP here I come :p

For the past pregnancies, I only did a blood test (for bb's red blood cells count, HIV, Hep B & any abnormal blood cell) + Fetal Assesment during the 5th mth. The much discussed NT Scan, Triple test & Oscar r relatively new to me as it wasn't introduced then. Heng-ah, I save all those monies :p

Anyway, I've decided to skip these test (NT Scan, Triple test & Oscar) & proceed wif Aminocentesis ($800, $400 deductable from medisave). Scheduled at TMC on 25 Oct. Anyone doing this soon o have gone thru already ?

Dlim,
u can get bra extension fm any lingerie dept in major dept stores.. i got mine fm Robinsons, Sorella.

anyone still able to wear their usual clothes like skirts? i still can wear leh.. except gotta wear it higher, above the tummy

as for maternity pants.. my personal opinion is that i find the ones with criss cross band infront is more comfy esp for expanding tummy.. think Perfect Mum's pants are of these cutting. and u can also adjust the elastic band inside

I bot a mat. jeans fm Spring which is those high band type.. i don really find it comfy...
my personal views

ValC,

It depends on how well u can manage/tolerate the pain level.

I nvr had the chance. Had c-sect, epidural cos 1st was a breech bb. Gynae advised on c-sect for 2nd bb so I go along wif it. In fact, the 2nd op heal faster than the 1st round. Not sure y, probably psychologically ? Anyway, I was really scared during round 2 cos u r aware that wat is gonna happen next. So this time, I might opt for general instead.

If u r asking abt side effect, I only shake uncontrollably.

speaking abt shopping for baby. I'm thinking of buying the changing table (the one which can be converted to a cabinet) from ikea. Not sure if it is worth buying.

hi valc,

I didn't have epidural when i delivered my boy..It was very painful but not totally unbearable.
I think whether to go drug free or not depends on situation lah. If the labor is going to be long, I think I will still opt for it, so as to leave enough strength to push the baby out during stage 2 of birth. By the way, my previous labor was only 3 hours.

wow 3 hrs!! so lucky. any tips on how to achieve that? for 1st preg & labour, was on epi, cln't feel a thing, no urge to push, can't push at all.

changing table, i got the $49 one from ikea. abit short but still using. cheap changing mat also $10 and inflatable. it's the 2 layer shelve type.

I didnt hv epidural when i delivered my girl too. Luckily for me, my labour is short too..abt 3hrs+. If you are going to have a long labour, I think it is better to go for epidural.

Ma22

I'm doing the amnio test on 27 oct. So you will go through it before me. hehehe

Hi Page up and Baby love

when u say ur labour was 3 hours, when do u start counting? the minute u are in the hospital or delivery ward or when u start getting the contractions?

BabyLove,

Not sure y the nurse schedule me on 25 oct leh. Maybe, she wants me to rest after that ? Imagine 3 days mc + weekends. 5 days straight, shiok ah :p

Gd luck to u too :p

blueroti,
me also went for BBQ session last weekend tot will gain weight lei.. just went back from my blood test.. weight myself onli heavy by 0.1g lei.. haha
ixora,
me also expereince losing of appetite and feel like vomitting after food only after 1st trimster lei.. nv have bad MS till nw just started.. maybe the reasons y weight have nt gain for the past 2 weeks...

hi angela,
me also chauffer lei.. but nt full x wan.. haha... my hubby brought a weekend car so every night after i off work when me nt so tired will go and fetch him from work...
Hi Ma22,
okok.. then i feel ok lor.. nt as bad.. during 1st trimster i eat supper almost everyday lei.. but nw gt control liao.. dun wanna gain so much weight n find myself hard to lose weight in the end.. i also dun noe lei.. feel so funny wan.. then i tell them ok la.. still can drive... if my stomach bigger then i stop lor

HI JL,
i still wear normal clothing for my top, my bottom already started to wear maternity pants liao..

Hi baby Live,
when ur next appt to Dr Ho? me will be seeing him on 2 nov lei.. after dat will be on package liao..
by the way, his clinic ok le.. dun need to walk here and there liao.. keke

Hi Belle

The minute I stepped into hospital until I deliver..abt 3hrs. I waited abt 1hr+ before I head for hospital.

Ma22,

I think they schedule you on 25 Oct cos you are exactly 16th wks on that day? For me the nurse schedule me on 27 Oct cos I will be exactly 16th wks that day. She said too early or later than 16th wks is not so ideal. Best is do on 16th wk itself. My gynae give 2 days mc only. But since I'm doing on a fri, I only hv one day mc..hehhe

Fen

My next appt is 27 oct (Fri). I will be doing amnio test that day. Glad his renov is done..at least I'm more comfy in his old clinic.

Previously we can sign package at 16th wks, now we can only sign package at 20th wks. I thk can only sign package ard end Nov.

Are u attending the childbirth education class? I attended that before. I find it quite useful for first timers.

HI Baby Love,

ok.. wish u best of luck for ur test ok.. Ya i think my package onli can start at last week of Nov as he adjust my EDD to 14 April instead of 7 April..
Childbirth Education is for what de? My hubby need to go with me ma? Cos he working as sales, he onli gt one day off per week quite difficult to go if need to go for twice a week..

Hi Valc,

I thought they can adjust the flow of the anesthetic so that you can feel a bit of the contraction?

hi belle,

my 3 hrs start from first feel of contaction till birth. The time from reaching the hospital to birth was only 1/2 hr. If I were there any later, I would probably be given birth in the car
kao_scared.gif

Valc

Hmm.. guess I'm one of the lucky ones with short labour.

Maybe you can try drinking coconut water at 36th wks onwards. Think it helps to soften the cervix.

Hi PAge up,
Can check with u did u actually walk alot dring the pregnant period??? my colleague told me dat walking a lot will make u easily to give birth wonder hw true isizz?
U sound so easy giving Birth lei.. how i wish i will be like u.. keke

Hi All mummy,
anyone intend or taken any studio photo when gt baby inside them? me tot of taking it maybe during my 6 or 7 mths..haha

Fen

Some info on the childbirth education class.

http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/pdf/MA_Childbirth%20Edu220705.pdf

Basically it is to help first time parents to prepare themselves.

You can choose weekday class or weekend classes. Weekend classes are more expensive and it is usually quite crowded and you need to book early if you are opting for weekend classes. You only need to attend the class once a week. There will only be 6 sessions.

You can register from 24th wks onwards.

hi fen,

I don't know if my daily 20 mins walk between mrt station to work place and bet home and mrt station can be considered a lot or not. But I did exercise in the form of prenatal yoga regularly. Perhaps that also contribute to the quick delivery.

But frankly, I think my last fast delivery was rather scary, no time to get mentally prepared for it.
My friend who visited me later in that evening said I looked like I was still in the stage of denial...hehehe

page up, so u didnt take epidural i suppose since no time to administer? was it bearable to u?

i also want to have a quick labour like urs, get it over and done with =P

Hi Page up,
usually i need to walk here and there during working.. then my colleague tease me lor.. say walk more good next x easy to give birth dun noe how true but sound interesting lor.. keke

My first bb- Induce labour. Labour last from 9am to 3.30pm. Did not take epidural cos wanted to see my treshole of pain. But rem to eat b4 u head to hospital cos my friend didnt eat and was totally exhausted...

hello everyone,

i took epidural also for my boy. but my labour was fast too. abt 4 hours. i'm a scaredy cat lah... i think think this one i will take epi also. but i almost didn't get the epi cos the anesthetist took his time coming to my suite. he was whistling when he sauntered inside! i was so ready to throw the gas mask at him!! they didn't expect me to dilate so fast; i was almost 7cm when i got the epi. actually by then a little too late already, but i was in such terrible pain... ha ha.. i'm a scaredy cat lah.... but i am really glad i took the epi cos i dilated v fast, but i was quite weak, so pushed for 1.5 hours before my son was vacuumed out. actually thank God i opted for epi cos my gynae had to give me an episiotomy for the vacuum and then had to stitch me up. one of my friends said that the stiching was quite painful (she garang, no pain relief, then after that she said was pretty bad); so i felt nothing... but sometimes the epidural might not let you feel the contractions. another one of my friends said that her gynae told her she was pushing upwards instead of downwards!

pageup: respect respect!!!

Valc: my mom also gave me coconut water to drink from 36 weeks onwards. dunno if that contributed to the fast labour. according to my mom's colleague, the coconut very smooth, so the baby will glide out easily. so funny right?? but i enjoyed the drink cos v refreshing, so i drank it quite willingly.

twinkle, i thought usu if labour is induced it's more painful once the drip is administered. at least it is for me. excruciating. very scary. very painful. almost went out of mind. 12hr labour. lucky for epidural. hahaha

Fen,

Wa, such a lovely wife. Pick ur hubby after wrk. No wonder u tend to go for supper lah. Now I noe y liao.

DW,

So funny when u describe "ur anesthetist whistling when he sauntered inside! i was so ready to throw the gas mask at him!! " Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

Kudos for all those who have gone thru natural. Such a shame that I'm not able to & won't understand the pain that women have gone thru during child birth.

I salute to my mom who has given birth to me, a breech bb thru natural birth ! She lost a lot of blood & nearly didn't make it. Those days in KKH, they don't hv scans where the nurses will scold u if u scream abit louder (according to my mom).

Baby Love,

No leh. I'll be 17 wks on 25 Oct. Anyway, watever it is I'll still hv to go for Amnio. Haiz ......

Re : Coconut water

From wat I noe, drinking only the coconut water (not eating the flesh) during the last trimester is to reduce jaundice in newborn. Not sure whether it helps during labour.

Gd idea for bulk purchase of coconut during our last trimester ya.

Valc,

YEs it was very painful. But I kept my mind thinking that there was no other pain control relieve except gas and the jab. Think its a psycology lor, cos if u knw there are alternative ie epidural, u will tend to opt for it when u feel the pain.:p

Hi Fen, Ma22

Ya full time chauffer cos full time housewife mah.. so is "bo bian"... actually being working for 14yrs straight wout rest so quit in Feb to be full time housewife. But still think working women is beta and look more beautiful. Not working like slowly becomng stupid.... hahaha!! Esp now pregnant like getting more and more slow and forgetful.

Hey Ma22

congrats for having a boy.. for me boy or girl is all right as long as he/she is healthy. But my hubby, mom, dad, sis, bro all hope is a princess as we have 2 nephew oredi so they reali long for a girl... keeping my finger cross.. hee!!

twinkle you must have very strong will. so you had the pethedine and gas?

i think according to some shettle's theory i'm having a girl. hehe let's hope so.

Angela,

Thanks! Yes, like wat u say, boy o gal r fine. As compared to those who can't have kids, we r really fortunate. But of course, if we can hv both boys & gals, that would be perfect lah.

Talking abt stop wrking, doubt i can afford it. I still hv to help support my parents leh
Guess, I'll hv to wrk till lau-kor-kor liao lor.

hi ma22

CONGRATS!!! on having a baby boy! and your PP!!! hehe
anyway, some people say my nose is bigger coz' of water retention but i thot noses will only grow bigger in the last trimester! = o P

hi fen

according to my fren, what u eat now will only be visible 2 weeks later! for eg. if you eat alot now, u'll only notice the weight gain and feel it 2 wks later! think it's quite true!

hey page up

would like to ask u - where did u go for your prenatal yogo class?

HI Roti,
isizz? then i will experience weight gain on next visit liao lor.. haha..

MA22
congrats on ur baby boy... my In law also hope for a baby boy but for myself and hubby is ok whether is boy or girl lor.. as for fetching my hubby No choice lei if nt he will take taxi home de..bcos b4 we gt car he usually take taxi home.. therefore we decide to buy a car .. as for supper nt everyday go eat de la.. some x hungry then eat lor.. he off work at abt 8pm normally will come home for the 9pm show after dat then proceding to supper.. not everyday la.. if nt i die lei.. keke.. YA ma22 me also hope to have a gal and a baby boy hopefully as nw no bb whichever come first also ok.. most impt baby must be healthy lor

Hi MTBs,
heard the coconut water is for the baby to look nicer when they come out..as they are inside out bodies, they tend to be abit heaty..thus somestimes when they come out, their face might not be that smooth.. this is where the coconut water comes in as they cool down their temp.. dunno how true, but this is what i heard lor.. hehe.. :p usually drink on the last trimester...

as for the natal class, i dun think i will be going as i know i will be on my own.my hubby's course and exams crashes with the whole period of my preg..so sad.. but i heard from my friend, if you have partner to go with you better.. else somtimes they will ask you to go to find a wall to lean against..very sad right? anyway wat is most important is that they will teach you how to bath baby when the bb is born..and the breathing techniques they taught you usually no need to make use of..cos by that time, you will be busy with the pain that everything will be forgotten.. hehe..so i tot i will give that a skip.. :p

Hi fen,
your edd very close to mine leh.. maybe we can see each other at Mt A.. hehee.. :p

anyone here drink bird nest during their preg? i heard my friend says those who drink all the way, the baby will have pinkish cheek and very nice complexion..as well as the mum.. me already starting to drink bird nest concentrate (from Lao Hang Jia) everday.. hope it helps.. bought it in JB though.. cheaper by about S$40..cos bought it via proomotion..me bought 6 bottles in advance, which can last me for the next half year.. :p

if you all interested, will inform you if there is any promotion.. :p you all can share and buy ma.. more worth it...heehehe.. :p

j&r
i took lao hang jia's bird nest for my 1st child starting on my 2nd trimester until birth... he was quite dark at birth, oni becomes fairer from 4th mth onwwards... he dun hv pinkish cheek but his skin is quite smooth... kekeke... i've oso starting eat bird nest for this bb... a treat for myself leh... j&r, if u got lobang must lemme know cos i intend to buy from lao hang jia again...

fen,
i took a couple of photos when i was abt 8mth preggie at one of the studios... some studio will recommend that u take at 9mths cos the purpose is to show your tummy at its biggest mah... i hv plans to take a family one this time round wif my son and hubby when i'm ard 8 mths too...

i oso took epi for my son... my labour was abt 10 hrs!!!! envy those wif short labour... i struggled for 3 hrs insisting no epi but by then i was sooo exhuasted... fighting every wave of the pain... how to hv strength to push when its time for delivery... so opted for epi and rested for 6 hrs, watching tv n sleeping... my dilation was very slow but wat the rest of the mummies say, i dun hv any urge to push and cannot feel the bb coming out... but i guess i got no regrets taking epi as I dun think i can struggle for 10 hrs with tt kind of pain... salute to those who go without epi!!! n i think the part abt walking helps labour is true cos my actual delivery (pushing) was oni less than 10 mins then bb out liao...

hi belle and DW,

Yup, it was too late to administer epidural, so it is not by my choice. I was already 9cm dilated when I was in the delivery suite. I managed to stay calm throughout the labor until they told me I can't have epidural. I started to scream and curse at the midwives... hehehehe.. so actually, don't think I'm brave as compare to mummies who choose to go drug free.

Congrate Ma22 for bb boy.

valc, I also hope mine will be a girl. One boy and one girl will be perfect for us. Can close factory liow

blueroti, I went to lavidaloft for yoga. It is now located at red dot traffic building

wanna ask.. will we know in advance if we gonna hv short or long labour??

Sweatcorn.. wanna check with you if lao hong jia's birdnest expensive anot? they sell per bottle huh? like those Brands's birdnest? Dunno if i shd spend $ on instant birdnest as i doub MIL will boil (she nvr mention) and i m hopeless in the kitchen

Recipe for home brew birdnest.

Ingredient:
Birdnest - abt one pc will be more than enough for one serving
Rock sugar
Water.

1)Prepare the bird's nest by soaking it in cold water for several hours or overnight.
Rinse well.
2)Go over the nests and pick out any loose feathers or dirt.
3)Bring a pot of water to boil and simmer the bird's nests for about 5 minutes.
4)Again rinse well and squeeze dry.
5)Place the bird's nest in the pot and add 2 cups of water. (You can also try double boil, which people believe will be better)
6)Bring to a boil and simmer until the bird's nest are quite soft.
7)Add the rock sugar, stirring to dissolve.
8)Serve the soup hot.

my hb did some market research lately on birdnest.

he found that Zhen Zhong Ping's (ZZP) birdnest are better than Eu Yan Sang (EYS). he only compared these 2 and not with other brands, so dont know much abt Lao Hang Jia's birdnest. But it's his personal views.

after my hb did the comparisons, he said ZZP's concentrated birdnest is thicker than EYS one.

the type of ZZP's birdnest which he did the comparison was called Dong Yan. now having promotions buy 5 bottles get 1 bottle free. Each bottle costs $38.

the other type from ZZP is Guan Yan which is finer than the Dong Yan and also having promotions (buy 5 get 1 free) at $50/bottle.

as for EYS, he said it has more water, looks diluted and more Ex. 6 bottles at $300 plus.

so he decided to buy the Dong Yan's one from ZZP, then in between he will buy the dried one and boil for me.. kekekeke.... looking fwd to my BB's beautiful skin

wah jmonster,
very detailed research ur hb did.. clap clap!!

hi Carousel,
i think i saw a branch at plaza sing.. along the stretch fr Carl's Jr burger..

Hi pageup

thanks! is lavidaloft good? i was thinking of going to shambhala initially. anyway, my gynae said must go to a yoga teacher who's experienced in prenatal yoga.

all mummies

my fren told me to take more soya bean drink coz' her sis-in-law took alot n her baby has nice, smooth skin and is very fair!

Hello everybody,

can you all help me with this? All throughout the pregnancy, I have been experiecing cloudy urine. All tests for infection are negative. Very puzzling. My gynae says probably cos' mixed with vaginal mucous. I'm curious if any of you have the same experience?