(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Hi MTBs,
just saw this thread and thinking of joining in.. :p saw many interesting mums here.. hehe.. :p
jsut a short intro, im having my first child and is now at 13 weeks..

Fen,
u are seeing Dr Ho? is he from Mt A?

me also spent alot on maternity wear, mostly bought from Raffles Place..quite ex though..each time easily spent about $100-$200 on clothing.. xiong man!! :p

hi page up

my fren was 35 when she had her 2nd kid. she didn't do the oscar scan too.

n i bumped into a colleague the other day at TMC n his wife was there to do the triple blood test. think she's also in her 30s, but not 35 yet.

mayb your gynae doesn't see a need for u to do any tests.

Hi J&R

welcome to the thread! i'm pretty new too. and yeah, maternity clothes are really not cheap! =op

Hi J & R,
Ya i am with Dr Ho at mt alveria lei.. he is good lor.. not bad...
Hi mummy,
i have go for my Nt scan, gynae havent recommend me for the oscar scan but will be doing the triple test on coming 18.. Nt test result was ok hopefully my triple test will be ok also.. As for malay massage i think it will help cos my colleague did dat and let it stay throughout the night... and she manage to lose the weight dat she have gain

blueroti,
me also fat lei.. me now i think abt 60kg liao.. think my height play a parts also lor..

my abdomen starts to itch.. been applying anti-stretchmark cream to soothe the itch.. i really find mummies are great.. so many sacrifices.. btw, in my 14th wk now, my MS seem to hv 'faded'.. i'm feeling better now in the evenings (can eat alot!!) when previously i always felt nauseous during dinner time.. hmm.. hope won't come back..

Hi ixora,

Great to know ur ms fading, its really gd news isnt it..mine is still hovering ard me... Cham.... I m in my 13th week. My constipation is killing me. Go poo poo only once aweek and only can do it with the help of prune juice... Really torturing...

Anyone has the same problem. Really worried leh...

twinkle, all along i got constipation and with pregnancy i couldnt take the nuts that i used to take which help constipation. So now i got to rely on laxative like glycerine enema and senokot else cannot go toilet. and now i am in week 17 i feel the need to empty bowels at least 2 times a week else very cramped since uterus is expanding.

did u talk to ur gynae about it? try not to force else get piles then jialat.

hi belle,

btw, what type of nuts helps with constipation? Me also interested cos all along I also got constipation.

My gynae quite adament abt givin me laxatives and ask me to eat more natural food but really cannot... I drink lots of water and try taking more fruits, so bloated my tummy. Maybe really have to talk to him. He did advise me to take fybogel but I tried also not useful...

Twinkle,

if u can take nuts then u can buy this tub of mixed nuts called "Breakfast" or something from a chinese provision shop in serangoon gardens. it is in one of the shop houses near to the turnaround.

they mix the nuts such that it helps in relieving constipation. i got chronic constipation and when i took them, it worked!

ya fybogel like not useful.

Hi all Mummy,
me also like dat lei... gt constipation lei.. i eat lots of fruits nw.. at least two or 3 types ebery days.. cant help to go toilet very days but maybe twice a day like dat lor

hi twinkle,
hope your ms will go off soon.. as for constipation, u r not alone.. me too, need prune juice too.. i try to eat fruits and veg whenever i can..

I also got constipation and was given essential fatty acids and papaya enzymes to take.

Went to the gynae today. BB is ard 11 weeks. Edd changed to 30th april. measuring at 48.1mm

Went for check up yesterday and the placenta is not causing any bleeding anymore. However doc did mentioned that its slightly low so have to continue to montior.

very excited to see the baby during the ultrascan, they can be so active, moving around and i even saw it scratch its leg with its hand hehehe. Just make all these temporary inconvenience and discomfort all so much bearable. Doc say i am 13week and baby is 70+mm.

by the way, i spoke to the doc about the Oscar test and she mentioned that woman below 40 are low risk group, usually they will not require any testing as long as the NT is normal (she mentioned that below 6mm is normal). But its optional if i want to take the blood test to be sure. Again she highlight that the test does not proof DS but indicate some ratio that highlight the probability. Not sure if i should take the blood test just to feel more assured or leave it since the doc did not mentioned the need to the test.

I did ask my gynae if i need do the OSCAR test based on the NT Scan estimation. He just said is optional and up to me to decide. I understand the cut off ratio for NT Scan itself is 1:300. Thus, i'm thinking opt out for OSCAR.

There is another test called DS Screening (60%) at 16weeks. Of course, if u hv done the OSCAR test, u don't need to go for this DS Screening.
Anyone has done this test before?

What is tripple test? When to go for the test?
How much it cost? My gynae never mentioned abt this test to me. Please share...Many thks!

twinkle,

I hv constipation problem since many years ago & b4 my pregnancy. As part of the pregnancy planning, i must ensure that i overcome this problem naturally before i get pregnant.

I'm taking an E.EXCEL Evernew product, a natural wholesome beverage made from banana, pineapple, vegetables. Since that, i can go to poo-poo everyday!

Hi twinkle,
sorry.. typo error.. should be 2 days once.. keke

Hi jmonster,
have u try the two massage lady that u have mention ? i have two massage lady in mind also.. 1 is intro by my colleague.. quite expensive 7 x for 550 but she lose weight very fast.. the other wan is susi she charge 10 x 500 wif two free facial if i am nt wrong.. cheaper of course is susi but dun noe hw good is her.. Wonder which is good..

Jollysheep,
i will be going for the triple test only on the 18.. No doubt NT scan result was ok but nurse recommend to go for the test.. reasons to ensure dat baby is ok and both husband and wife are free from all those HIV all dat lei..

Cost is Abt 300 plus.. nt so sure.. cos both of us will be doing the test.. if i 1 ppl take the triple test i think should be 100 plus lor. think is better for u to call up the clinic to check wif them

Hi All Mummies To Be,

For me, to overcome constipation, drinking prune juice is most effective & immediate. Used to have this prob even b4 pregnancy & fren recommended me to take papaya enzyme but think this is more of a longer term basis, cos I can only see the effect after some time. But my mummy said cannot eat bananas leh, dun remember the reason, will go ask her & let u gals know again.

Btw JollySheep, I have been pestering my gynae to do the various test for me since my 1st visit. According to him, he said dun have to worry too much if the NT Scan is okie & the next level will be the Triple Blood Test. He said not necessary to do the Oscar Test if the Triple Blood Test result is fine. He will only do the Triple Blood Test for me when I'm into at least my 18 weeks.

If I din ask, my gynae oso dun intend to tell me. He always said that we pregnant ladies shldn't worry unduly. If there is any need for any test, he will let me know. If not, no news is gd news. :p

Hi snowflakes,

your gynae seems to be the same kind as mine. Maybe some of us are more "gan chiong" so we preferred to be informed. I realise i always have to ask my gynae a lot of question but she always assure me that everything is ok and there is a reason why she is doing something or not doing something. E.g. i ask her why i am not taking urine test during all the visit, she told me the urine test is to check for protein and if blood pressure is ok then no need for that. i read in the maternity book that they will always do urine test. What can i do, insist or just do what the doc recommend?

hi Fen,

I hv not tried the 2 massage ladies but i guess the 1 whom my cousin recommended to me was good cos my cousin loosed all the weight and even looks more slimmer than b4 & dun look like a mother of 3. if i m not wrong, her pkg is 10x for $500.

then the other one was recommended by my Malay colleague, she said she started massage even b4 gave birth cos she got muscle cramps and she just wanna be relax, she got the pkg. but not sure how much lah.

Fen,
your triple test so EX? i took the test together with my hb on my 1st visit. like u said, the results tell us BB red blood cells count, HIV, Hep B, any abnormal blood cells, etc. i remember i only paid for <$100 at KKH.

hi snowflakes,
i asked my Mum and MIL and both of them said that all bananas are fine except 1 type call Qing1 Ya2 Jiao1 i.e. it looks longish and normally can be found at Supermarkets.. its effect same like pineapple, watermelon and those 'cool' type of fruits. those normal bananas which can be found at neighbourhood shops and looks a bit shorter are fine loh.

hi christine,
i do the routine urine test whenever i visit the gynae leh. the nurse told me the purpose is for testing the sugar level in our urine plus how much protein. then after the urine test followed by blood pressure leh.. hmm, wonder how come our procedures are diff.

Hi Jmonster,
okok.. i am still considering which is good lei... my colleague dat recommend me is good i can said.. cos she slim down very fast.. but is abit expensive la.. 7 x 550 wheras the other wan i am nt so sure heard many positive remarks from others.. i wonder if we are talking abt the same $500 for 10 x.. keke...

sorry.. my mistake.. triple test was told by the nurse 300 plus cos she go and add the consulation plus scan.. triple test and my husband blood test is abt $200 like dat onli.. sorry hor.. keke
Hi christine,
my procedure also same as jmonster lei.. i was told dat every visit must do the urine test plus the blood pressure things lei

Hi Jmonster,
isizz possible to get from ur cousin the name and contact no of the massage lady.. i think if we wan them to massage for us after birth must book wan lei..

hi christine, jmonster, fen

yeah, same here - i always do urine test on every visit and apparently this is standard practice. but my gynae doesn't chk my blood pressure tho'.

so christine, u may want to chk with your gynae.

hi all mummies

my nose seems to be bigger now, anyone has similar experience? my colleague was the 1 who pointed it out to me. she said it's strange coz' usually it only happens in the last trimester. so m wondering if it's my imagination???

Hi blueroti,
for my case all these simple test was done by the nurse instead of the gynae lei.. nose bigger ar? i also nt sure.. i onli know my whole body is expanding lei..

I am 15 weeks liao. Got to buy new clothes liao. So sad. Most old stuff dun fit already, feel so fat!

RE; Breastfeeding
I saw a discussion which i have missed in the archive. Just like to add my contribution. When i delivered my boy, I had super high blood pressure, So i cannot bf immediately. It was only after 5 hour under observation that i gotto carry my baby. By the time, he did not want to latch liao. I tried with all the help of the lactation specialist of the hospital but still cannot make it. My paed also very anti breastfeed one. He alwasy say to feed fm first til the milk comes in. and for 1st time moms, milk comes in around day 5. So in the mean time, I was in hospital feeling depressed but after 3 days of starvation for my bb, I decided to supplement. But i have't given up yet. I still hand express colostrum and collect with a syringe. express 1 hour only 5ml-10ml. then syringe feed my screaming baby. Then day 5 milk comes in and breasts hurt a lot. I pumped out and fed my baby my milk instead of fm. Everyday I also try to latch him on but he'll scream bloody murder everytime he came near my breasts. So for 1 month and a half, I never achieved a direct latch. Then finally at b4 he reach 2 mth old, he was playing with those baby gym and was distracted long enough for me to lie beside him and he latched for the first time. It is not a full feed but it is still a start. Then after that i bf him til he is 8mths old. I think to be fair,the starting always the hardest. btu once established, it is always a breeze. Even if dunhave direct latch, can always pump and feed. That was what i was going to do if i never got a latch. I was going to pump and latch him for at least 6mths. That's basically the gist fo the story but i also have a ot of horror story to tell too.

Till this date, my gynae never do a urine test for me. But he did check my blood pressure for all my visits. My gynae is Dr Ang. Anyone else here is under his antenatal care?

Hi mummy,
just want to vexed my anger here... really cant stand those neighbour which are so inconsiderate de.. i wash my clothes and hung out to the sun... my neighbour actually put all her wet T-Shirt outside and resulting my shirt to be wet as i notice earlier... for that resaon when i know dat her clothes fall to mine i was so angry and just throw down.. i know is nt right just very angry with their behavious.. they should have ensure dat there is no other ppl clothing before they put their wet clothing out rite??? i think i will need to get one dryer after birth in order to prevent all dis from happening again.. sign.. having dis type of neighbour

Hi jollysheep,
isizz doctor ang from sun plaza.. before being recommend to Dr ho my present gynae i tot wanna get him.. his fee is cheap.. and every x go there also dun need to pay de as his package start early &amp; would it be his package doesnt include urine test.. maybe u wan to let him know dat u are interesed in the urine test to ensure dat u are ok.. jz let them know dat u are willing to pay see if Dr ang can let u have the urine test anot

hi fen

actually it's not my gynae who does the urine test for me. usually on my visits, i'll be asked to go collect some urine sample for the lab technician.

anyway, i went for a fren's wedding today n most of my frens could tell i was pregnant! n 1 of them also commented that i looked different now and my nose is bigger! so guess it's true - my already huge nose has grown even bigger!!!

hi wenthena

thanks for sharing. i've also seen this program on TV last week n this woman also shared how frustrating it was not being able to BF her baby. BF sounds really tough!

Hi there !

I'm now 13th weeks and got twins with 2 separate placentas. Doctor said I have higher risk of miscarriage and during my 8th weeks and 13th weeks, I had bleeding.

I was so scared and luckily the bleeding was not much and it stops when I rushed to 24 hrs clinic at KKH.

I asked doctor what actually caused the bleeding and doc just said, it's sometime do happened to some ppl.

Anyone have same experience?? Any advice??

HI blueroti,
one of my friend also married yesterday.. wonder if we are talking abt the same brides anot.. but i didnt manage to attend the wedding as my parent abit pang tan lei.. dun let me go..

olk, wow twins!! your 1st preg? good luck. it's tough in the beginning even with 1 bb. gotto be strong.

the bleeding, it's common among pple in 1st tri i think. and some pple get it due to infection.

I am into my 15th weeks. But so far gynae only prescribe me with folic acid. Worrid that i am undernourished. Anyone taking neurogain? I heard it's good.

My tummy is getting bigger already. When shd we start to apply stretch mark cream? Any recommendation on which brand to buy?

Lately, also noticed quite alot of discharge. Anyone hv the same symptoms? Is this normal?

Sorry for posting so much questions. First time MTB and alot of things to learn.

look like urine test is quite common for most of you. I am coming back to Sin this week, will check with the Sin Gynae and ask her if urine test is actually necessary or is taking blood pressure more important. I am living overseas so the doc way of doing things might be slightly different from Sin. For example, she always make sure i take ultrasound on every visit, she used it to monitor baby development, placenta, heart beat etc. I like it cos i get to see the baby hehehe.

OLK, good news that the bleeding stop. It's true that bleeding happens to some ppl but the doc should be able to give you a reason for the cause of the bleeding. If they are not able, i suggest that you get a second opinion because spotting/bleeding is nature way of telling us something is not going on right so just be extra caution. My bleeding was due to the placenta issue and blueroti was due to some infection.

rainbow: Hi, I am in my 15th week too. I do have heavy discharge too but apparently that is normal. I am put on omega, iron, calcium and frolic since week 12. Initially was so unused to the ritual of taking so many pills in the morning but now am used to it. I have also asked my gynae for stretch mark cream and she says actually nothing special really works. So if I find my skin dry, can just apply johnson baby lotion. Hope the info helps. At the end of the day, if you feel uneasy should always clarify your doubts with your gynae for a peace of mind.

Olk,
in fact me also gt spotting and bleeding in my week 8.. could be weak or liang lor..

Hi rainbow,
actually u can start to apply stetch mark cream nw as tummy is growing.. DUN wait till the mark appear then u apply then too late liao.. presently i using claire stretch marks cream.. not bad.. is $78 per bottle can last for abt 3 mths.. if u wan i can help u get it cos i can entitle to 10% discount. where u staying?

Hi mummy,
any one of u who are 2 or 3 mummy who have try any postnal massage before? any good recommendation on dat?

anyone experience outbreak of pimples recently?

hi fen,
me!! i hv pimple breakout recently.. more on my back, some on breasts, some on abdomen.. and some on face.. what a sacrifice!!

hi blueroti,
i oso attended a fren's wedding last sat.. everyone could tell i preggy.. no big nose yet thou..

hi christine,
r u seeing gynae fr Mt E? how long will u be in Spore?

hi wenthena,
tks for sharing on bf.. my fren had a similar experience.. she was totally stressed out..

hi fen and ixora,

Me too, have pimples outbreak recently. Lots on my forehead. I thought it is due to the haze - dirty air.

hi wenthena,

lucky you. at least you are still able to pump out the BM. For me, I changed 3 breast pumps in the short period of 2 months but the supply kept going down. I remembered I can only pumped out miserable amount of 90ml after 1hr, which is not enough to meet my son's demand. He drank abt 150ml per feed at age of 2 months.

Anyway to all first time mummies, my advice is to take things easy, just do what your instinct tells you is right. I think it is rather stressful to always want keep up with what others perceived as the best for the child. From what I learnt from my first child, regardless of BM or FM, my kid still grow healthily, so thinking back, I was quite silly to get stressed over not able to bf. hee hee

hi fen,

me too have pimples outbreak recently and lots on my forehead!!

hi rainbow,

you can try this brand " Palmer " stretch mark cream also. heard is not too bad too..

hi fen,

ok will ask the name and contact from my cousin and update you...

hmm, taking abt pimples, no pimples found on my face... *touchwood*

I saw this in another forum. Anybody interested?

Event: Modern Traditional Chinese Medicine and Pregnancy

Date: November 11, 2006
Time: 2.30pm - 5pm
Venue: HDB Hub Convention Centre Auditorium (Basement 1)
Fee: $10 per person (Inclusive of door gift and light tea)
Ticket price exclude booking fee of $1.

Early Bird Special! Sign up before October 17 and enjoy special rate of $15 per couple! Book your tickets through SISTIC now!

Do you know which Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) treatments help to improve the chances of conception? How does TCM help in strengthening both the mother and baby's well-being during pregnancy? Curious to uncover the facts versus myths of confinement practices?

MediaCorp TV Channel 8 is organizing its first Mandarin seminar on TCM and Pregnancy. Have an early head start into motherhood and learn more about the benefits of TCM treatments on Pregnancy today!

1) Pregnancy Through TCM

Infertility is not uncommon these days. Many seek alternative treatments such as TCM to strengthen and prime their body ready for conception. Understand why some women face more difficulties in conceiving than others, and how does TCM treatment work in this area.

Physician Zhou Yan
Eu Yan Sang Specialist TCM Centre
(Camden Medical Centre)

2) The Delicate 10 Months of Pregnancy

Chinese believe in "" which means the settling of the baby in the womb during the early stages of pregnancy. Our TCM specialist will be advising on the appropriate TCM treatments for settling the baby (). At the same time, she will be dispensing useful tips on healthy diet and physical exercises which aid in strengthening both the mother and baby's health.

Physician Zhong Xi Ming
Eu Yan Sang TCM Centre for Reproductive Health
(Paragon Medical Tower)

3) The Confinement Dos and Don'ts

To shower or not to shower? Is it necessary for mothers to consume ginger and sesame oil during confinement? What are the nutritious foods recommended for confinement? Our TCM specialist will be addressing some of these commonly-asked questions and uncover some of the facts vs. myth of confinement practices. Our celebrity mum Vivian Lai will also be present to share her personal confinement experience.

Professor Wang Xiao Lan
Institute of Chinese Medical Studies

Seminar Programme
2.00pm Registration
2.30pm Talk: Pregnancy Through TCM
3.00pm Talk: The Delicate 10 Months of Pregnancy
3.30pm Tea Break
4.00pm Talk: The Confinement Dos and Don'ts (Special guest Vivian Lai)
4.30pm Q &amp; A session
5.00pm End

Hi everyone...

i'm 13wks pregnant and have not started using anti-stretch cream yet..
wondering if there's a difference between normal body cream and anti-stretch cream as the main thing is juz to moisturize your skin...

havent start buying maternity clothes yet but cannot fit into my pants already. so juz wore my skirts... i think it's too early to start investing in maternity clothes in the 1st trimester right? cos u prob will grow more during later stage.. and maternity clothes are so expensive!
i love the thyme maternity stretch pants - gives more life span then the normal maternity pants but they cost $95!

Hi ixora , page up &amp; angela
me gt pimples all over the face.. most found at forehead and side of the face.. so sian.. look so ugly...
Jmonster,
thanks and happy for u.. tot happy cos first trimster no pimples scali recently pop like no body biz so sian..

Page up,
i think the talks is useful but i scare i might fall asleep during the sleep.. if wan maybe go in abit late maybe abt 3pm for The Delicate 10 Months of Pregnancy

Hi rainbow,
Me too has heavy discharge - sometimes like yellow/green/white but luckily no odour...I had it for quite a while already and was treated by doc once but the condition didn't improve...I also don't know to worry or not...

With regards to stretch mark cream , I using both the Palmer cocoa butter and Clarin body treatment oil (plant extract) cos' kiasu..hahaha..Clarin one smell very aromathraphy, I like. Fen, is your Clarin or Claire??? I bought Clarin brand at DFS recently it cos only $58.50...

Pageup,
Thanks for you advice on breast feeding...I agreed sometimes we compare to much with other on what's good for bb that we stress out for not doing those things.

Oh the TCM talks looks interesting, may consider.

Oh, I couldn't resist the pineapples that my HB was deliciously eating and had some too yesterday, luckily feel alright after!!! heee..

hi fen,

i touchwood 1st... i dun want any pimples.... kekeke

but i think it depends. my SIL dun hv any pimples througout the whole pregnancy process leh..

stileto,
though i m not craving for pineapples, but i was like u i.e. craving for something we cant really take

i've been craving for watermelon since the pregnancy starts. then finally ate 1 small &amp; very thin slice from the bento set i ordered last Friday.. ..so yummy! lucky nothing happened.