(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

*mich*
i nvr sample the mooncakes fm them so can't give comment. but their normal durians or crepes are quite good
and also 4season durian can try

anyway coz Home's favourite got long q thats why i buy..

My hubby tried Goodwood park durian mooncake at work yesterday and Home Favorite durian mooncake at home...he thinks that Hm fav's durian is more fragrant and the snowskin is thinner...

anyway, juz now lunch at Tamp Mall .. saw Home favorite thot wanna go n sample. But it's all sold out. No even taking orders anymore. Looks like it's really 'favorite' :p

hey min
thanks for the recommendation! i juz tried home's fav mooncakes and i bought 3 boxes! 1 box of the D24 and 2 boxes of the black durian! they don't even have the black durian truffle wh i wanted!

Min / blueroti,

I didnt manage to buy the black durian truffle as well. Went down on sunday evening & bought
1 box of D24 & another box with mixture of black durian & D24.

Cool_d,
So fast out of stock! Maybe u want to try taka..

coolD
so fast?? and it only early of the week. no wonder i told the Sales ppl that i will come down on wkday to buy the black ones. and they told me may not even hv stock as they are many customers whom order in advance and collect later

dlim
nvm la .. as i said, i m not a durian pdt lover. I prefer the fruit itself
Was juz tinking of sampling since I see soo many good review here. But I tried the 717 one tho' .. not bad. Nicer than the marriot ones.

tried the goodwood park hotel durian snowskin mooncake...filling ok but the skin is too thick and dry!

want to buy the home fav durian mooncakes..u think compasspt still hv??

halo dlim, min
i like the black durian ones better. it's really yummy! i wonder if the black truffles ones are as good. i told my colleagues abt the mooncakes and some of them wanted to get it but when i went down to collect in the evening, they said sold out. they were left with 3 (1 mooncake had a little "dent" so they were not selling it) and i asked if they can sell it to us too. my colleague almost bought it but coz they said they don't have the round boxes anymore, so my colleague dropped the idea. the boxes r really nice, a fresh change from all the squarish boxes that you see in the market. but like me, all my colleagues have never heard of home's favourite before.

Blueroti
I think it's the first year that Home Favorite set up "exhibition" stalls....probably they were just "a hidden gem" in Joo Chiat previous years ba... Judging from the name, it seems that they sell cookies during non-festive times.

halo springd
yeah, i think so too. i came across a thread on homes favourite CNY cookies spree in this forum the other day. told my colleagues abt it and they are considering ordering cookies fr them as corporate gifts for next year's CNY! but so far, i drew blank looks every time i mentioned homes favourite.

cheesecake,
i think the goodwood park ones are over-rated. homes favourite has alot of outlets - you can go to http://www.homesfavourite.com/promotions.htm
to chk it out.

i think its first time i see Home Fav setting up stalls for mooncakes festival. and also surprised to see long q

i share same sentiments on GOodwood snow skin. bit thick and filling not that shiok

Anyone watch Fann wedding? do you think her WG for her banquet is disappointing? can't see much detail coz covered by the sari.. and i wonder why she wear sari over her hair when she march in

coold,
Quite surprised that they sold out so fast! My frd staying nearby wanna try to buy from tamp mall & I
told her its not guarantee she may get it.

Blueroti,
I have not try the black one yet. Last nite tried the normal durian & it was so yummy! Is it bitter? The sales girl
mentioned that it will taste abit bitter cox of the snow skin. This is the 1st time i heard of home favourite too but i think
they are doing very well for their durian mooncake...

Min,
I watched it last nite! So disappointing!! I dun like that sari thing & i agreed all cover up! Its not elegant at all.
Then the short story of the "Biscuit" thing got no meaning at all.. Anyway, I still prefer Michele's gown...

I supposed the sari that Fann wore last night have all the jewelleries sponsored attached. It is to show all the jewelleries that she is wearing that worths a lot of $$ ;p

dlim
yah i also agreed Michelle chia gowns are stunning well.. she got the figure to show off.
but then Fann's wedding is a dream type of wedding to have like going to Maldives for photo shoot. her morning look and her WG is still much nicer

for those with kids in the CC
D's teacher told me that majority of the kids in CC are coughing, incl D but then he is on road to recovery. is this happening to any of the CC also.. just curious

and then D spread his virus back home as well. though I'm almost ok. but my hubby and MIL kena cough virus last week
and then my SIL starting to hv flu.

aiya.. as much as i wanted to cut down his time in CC but i realise staying at home also not ideal as we hv so many adults not in good health also

re: fann's wedding

i never like fann, think she is very pretentious and 'act cute and sweet'

didnt watch the wedding last night cos i was giving tuition. but saw the pic today in Life! section...agree..the sari is very disappointing, no "wow" factor at all..

min
hippo's playgroup always have at least one or two kids coughing and having mucus running down the nostrils..

eh dlim
i didn't find the black mooncakes bitter but then again, i always like my durian to be more bitter. but i really think it's yummy! my boss went down to taka to buy 1 box today but they didn't have the black ones so she bot the d24 ones instead.

i just saw fann wong's wedding pics on channelnewsasia. yah, the veil is really quite ugly looking. almost as if she's trying to cover up as much as possible. but the same dress actually looked quite alright in the 8 days cover. hee, maybe the 8 days cover has been heavily photoshopped. christopher lee looked good on his wedding day though ... a lot better than his nonsense ROM look.

Blueroti,

I will give the black a try tonite..
Do u like yam mooncake? Ocean yam mooncake quite nice too..

sandwich,
Did kaizer dress up for today theme?

hey dlim
my black mooncakes kinda melted coz' i put them in the fridge instead of freezer. it was so soft when i ate it juz now but the durian was still good. yum! yum! i luv orh nee too but i didn't manage to get the ones fr peony jade. think i'll give it a miss this yr coz' had too much mooncakes to-date! BURP!

HF durian mooncake

i went to parkway and all durian mooncakes are sold out...so i went to their joo chiat bakery (head office) to try my luck. They are not baking the black skin ones anymore..i was deciding between the D24 ($54/4pcs) and the golden skin ($88/4pcs!!!)...and bot the golden skin ones...

I'm so tempted to eat one now...

dlim,
we made a crown for him to wear to school today to follow the theme. but i didn't let him dress in special clothes. i heard from my husband that jayden went to school in shirt and tie. must be very cute =)

durian mooncake,
i have one from bengawan solo sitting in the fridge now. husband got it for me when he went to NUH to see doc just now. think it'll be nowhere near the quality of the branded ones, but since i'm not super picky abt my mooncakes, i'll just eat it for breakfast tomorrow. oh, and i've never seen black mooncakes before. the skin contains black colouring?

s/w
i also blurr abt the black skin...it's called "charcoal snowskin", but cant possibly contains charcoal lah..
eating durian during confinement..wow..ur bm will hv durian flavour wor...

wondering if any one is interested in taking over a class(18months to
3 years old) at amk hub on sat 945am to 1045am on this sat,3rd of
october?can treat it as a trial class,$26.75,thanks a lot,i signed up
for 1 term but cant take it on this sat,if interested,please pm me

PG,
I have replied yr pm.

blueroti,
Actually soft also quite nice to eat. I saw the peony jade mooncake advertise in the WoBao newspaper today.
Looks good...somemore the yam confections from the "former crown price hotel". Must b very good. Im
going to collect my ocean from taka this evening..

Traz,
I also expect all CC to close on Children's day but Jayden CC is as usual..
Wow..u bought the golden skin.. taste any different? I heard the sales said there is one truffler chocolate
in the center?

SW,
After I posted in the thread, I went in to your blog & saw the crown u made for Kaizer.. so cute!
I dun have any special clothes for Jayden too so juz let him wear shirt with tie to school for fun..
I wanted to take a pict of him in the morning but then he was sleeping so end up no photo for me..

DLim /Traz
My boy's CC close on Children's day lei...last month Teacher's day, it's also closed...so i guess I kinda "lugi" in that case. Hmmm...:p

Traz
Wow...gold skin mooncakes...how do they taste?

do u know if Deepavali's eve is a public holiday?
rec'd memo from JK's PG = no class on that day. meaning no class on 16 n 19 Oct.
Why 2 days huh???

dlim/springdance
i too tam jiak...the mooncake was stored in the freezer. Supposed to bring it out ti defrost before eating, but i just couldnt wait, ate it while frozen...in the end it tasted just like durian ice cream??? Good but not like "WOW!" kinda feeling...not choc truffle leh...
still hv 2 in the freezer...shall be more patient and wait for it to defroze b4 eating..

leo
no leh...asked my CCC, principal said centre closed only on 17 oct itself.
19 oct not hol in lieu.

unless ur CCC applied the "off days" using their 5.5 days off per year quota...

which is why some centres were still opened yesterday although it's children's day...cos those centres are using the day off on another day...for curriculum planning/spring cleaning/staff retreat etc..

leo
our CC is closed on 16 oct bcoz of K2 concert.
but then i dunno if PG also got 5.5 off days anot as CC are entitled too

perhaps teachers are just using this as an excuse to take a break!

SpringDance/Traz,
Our CC closed on Teacher's Day too. Coming 30 Oct - close for spring cleaning.
Dec - 2 days close for planning 2010 and concert day. In total, the school will have 6 off days.

can i check if CC organise excursion and then you do not want your child to tag along will they still allow us to send child to school i.e there still be teachers to look after them

today D's CC organise a trip to Jurong SAFRA.. and teachers talked to me and advised me not to allow D to go as he just recovered but then i hv to keep him at home and can send him in the afternoon.

i'm actually fine with keeping him at hm since I'm not working. but then i'm thinkin if i'm working then which is quite inconvenience

michele,
i'm going to vivo to meet some colleagues for lunch later. at the rate i'm going to vivo, i think i'll be bored of the place by end of october, hahaa!