(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

hi blline,
Yes I spoke to Clara also.. I can't make it for Thurs class cos my boy has kidsloft in the morning

you are only keen on Thurs class?

Everybody in Kidsloft! Actually I've been writing to them but it's always FULL!

I'm still thinking...haha.

Jesse is getting more strong-willed...I really don't know if he can sit for an hour. Some teacher told me today that he wouldn't sit still in class and everything they ask him to do, he'll say "no" or "dun wan". Actually, he's like that in the gym class also but I'm around for that to keep him "in check".

Cindy,

Where is Kidsloft located? I cannot find their website ;p How is their programme like?

Which slot is your gal in at Little Neuro Tree at Parkway?

Pgal,
Kidsloft is at 192 Turf Club Road.. near Turf City. It's 1.5 hours programme.. There's free-play, story-time, arts & craft, snack, phonics and then music. My boy enjoys it very much

blline,
just occurred to me that I can make it if it's 9am Thurs.

btw, all the timeslots I put up are for new classes. All their current classes are full and for LNT to open up a new class, they need min 2 kids.. And the kids must be of the same age (within 6-month age band). Don't think I 've met you b4
.. Am I correct to presume your child is April 2007?

Mrs Chia,
I'm quite new to this thread. So far only met mummy cindy(alcin) and mummy gacc through little gym trial. Yup, my boy is Apr 07 child.

Thurs 9am would be good. Only thing is that I can only start in the new term in Oct as I'm goin overseas in Sept. Is this ok with you?

bbline,
ok, let me have a think over.. cos this means my boy will have a super-packed Thurs morning.. not sure if it's the best schedule for him. Don't want him to get very cranky and defeat the purpose of the classes.

Mrs Chia...
wow...J will really have a super pack Thurs morn! I think spreading the lessons out will work better!

Blueroti...
Yap, i find teachers do make a diff. And I would also be in a dilemma if Cait really still enjoys the lessons like A. She is getting a bit bored already...

Mrs Chia,
It's okie, i juz thot Thurs would be more worth it coz the sessions more complete, but if it is too pack for your boy also no good. Friday is also fine for me. If Fri, what time is good for you?

Mrs Chia,

not that I should be a factor, but Thursdays are out for me cos Jesse has another class in the morning.. :p

I still don't know...but I'm known to procrastinate about such things...if only there were a trial class... do you know if they open on Sat and Sun? Might only sign up then, if I do...

Actually, at $30+ per lesson, it's the average cost of lessons anyway. What are the two "PH" dates? We're traveling also!

Hi blline, D, Cindy
think Friday 10:30am is best.. 9am is prob too early.. too much of a rush for me and J. Yes, think Cindy is right. Two lessons in one morning for J may be too much for him to fully absorb and enjoy.

Bbline- you ok with Fri 10:30am then? D- how abt you?

Mrs Chia,

what are the two PH dates? One is Sept 20th? The other?

I'm travelling as well, so we might end up only going for 8 classes! We'll see...

hi D,
The 2 PH are for the new 12-week term starting on 9th Oct.. so looking at my table calendar.. should be 27th Nov (Hari Raya Haji) and 25th Dec (Christmas).

I called LNT- Bugis again- found out for the new term they have a class on Friday at 5pm with 3 vacancies.. so think I'll just sign up for this class. D, Blline, Min- you all interested? can sign up also?

Also, asked abt their fees- clarification on Fri class fees.. the orig cost is $550.. after less one lesson, it's $504.20.. then after the 44% off, it's $282.40.. then add on the $50 reg fee.. total $332.40.. think it's not too exp and 10 lessons also not too draggy

Didn't realise the 12-week term actually stretch till Christmas !! so might as well end lessons on 18th Dec... holiday mood liao

D,
Yes , LNT have lessons on Sat and Sun but didn't ask abt those classes.

Think Min says she has attended trial class at TPY branch.

still procrastinating?

Oh...wow, didn't know it goes on till Christmas either....no wonder I couldn't figure out the other PH.

Anyway, Fri, 5pm isn't good for me but I'm glad you found a class!
Sounds like Min and Blline (looking for late afternoon class) may be able to join you too.

Mrs Chia,
Ok, will join the Friday 5pm class too. Do we need to call them up to reserve 1st? When will you be going down to make payment? Maybe will c u there..keke.
Min,
Will u be joining?

Cindy,

I don't get u ;p Which day and what is the time your daughter is attending at Little Neuro Tree again?

Please advice. Thanks

PGal,

I'm very curious about you and your questions...why does it matter to you which class Cindy and her daughter are in? Do you intend to join the same class as her even if it's a weekday class? Or do you want to know for the sake of knowing?

Some times it could be for safety reasons some information is with held or taken "offline". This is an open forum afterall.

I will say that I find you very persistent in your quest for information. I guess I could be that way too so let me share the advice I got: the rule of thumb is "ask two times, if you still don't get your answer, let it go. That person probably doesn't want to reply" and we just need to respect that.

D
well said!

Mrs Chia
doubt i wanna go bugis branch.. wat a pity
gotta give it a miss

Leo
wow your kueh really huat leh!

anyway.. now its 7th month.. my D very cute.
he saw kueh with joss stick on it by the road side.. he look at it for a while then started singing 'happy birthday'!! *faint*

LNT: I called tghe TP branch last week, was supposed to go for trial this week but V sick again. I won't be continuing JG lah ... similar to GUG although the teachers here are more fun (but yes class damn big).

If I remembered correctly (blueroti quick take out your credit card), OCBC platinum cardholders get i think 15% discount off the fees. Do call and check and confirm hor.

I called the bugis branch was supposed to go for trial last sat hehe but my hubby too tired and gal gal was sniffing, so we called it off also. I'll prob missed out on the 44% discount liao. Was originally aiming for the friday 5pm class as well. dunno who i spoke to also.

V's down with flu i guess, and I has blocked nose ... and I am like a zombie since V is staying at home again for now ...

Leo...

I still have my packet of huat kueh...still wondering what to do with it.

Eh, did you use the whole bag to make 4? I'm just curious about how many I'll end up eating if I open the bag and if it's edible! Knowing my family, I'm the only one eating...hehe.

ixora,

you're still here! hahaha. :p How's Jo? Some times when we drive pass, Jesse still says, "Go Joanie's house?" *sigh*

Don't worry Leo, he also asks for JK... funny boy...

This morning, a girl (with her mom) went to the same playground we were at. The moment the little girl walked in, he walked over and held her hand! Maybe he felt threatened cos another little boy was eyeing her too...

Min,

D is very funny!

d,
for your case, can consider using 100g of powder. i used 200g of powder, and made two kuehs that were about the size of leo's. but i had to throw away one kueh since i'm the only one eating too.

on the topic of girls, kaizer announced one day in the car that "i like rachel". after me and husband finished laughing at him, he added "very much". hahaa, so funny! he's quite "possessive" about his friends. he'll get worked up if papa claims that he's friends with so and so (using the names of kaizer's classmates). but if papa has friends with unfamiliar sounding names, then it's perfectly legit to kaizer.

s/w,

that's soooo funny. I think I would crack up if I heard it too!

Jesse hasn't gotten to the "I like so-and-so" stage yet, but then he hardly sees any of his peers. For now, he seems to like boys as much as girls but shows knowledge of differences...and takes after me in being non-possessive. Though, if I pay attention to his stuffed toys or food, he gets jealous. haha

HAHAH..Min...D's so funny!!!

D,
U can be a psychic! HHAHHAAHHAAHA. Thanks!

S/W...
Kaizer and Cait can shake hands..they r both so possesive!

Cindy, Leo and whoever can help

you've been to HK with your child, right? Did you use a stroller? Would it be useful to bring?

Going to do a half day around the city, wondering if I should bring a stroller (ie how's the pavement condition, MTR stairs or lifts, things like that...)

for the stroller, u cn try bringg a umbrella type stroller - so no hassle cos its light. won't be super comfy to slp in, but beter than nthg =P .

if i m nt wrong, alot of the mtr has escalators gng up but when gng down, its by stairs.
shopping wise, if u are the ladies st type of shopper (like me) - dont think strollers are wise
Bigger malls are access frenly so no worries

D,
Wld advise to bring a super light stroller.
Stroller - coz dun nid to always hold/carry your child and can also load kid's water, nappies etc and your shopping.
Lightweight - coz lotsa stairs at MTR, esp going down. Also, most smaller malls don't have lift, only escalators, which usually stop after 9.30-10pm.

The last tym we were there, stayed in a hotel juz above MTR. Need to take abt 4 flights of escalator. Convenient la, but when we came back after 10pm 1 night, the escalater stop le and we have to carry the stroller, shopping, sleeping baby and barang barang... No joke wor! Face turn green by d tym we were finally at hotel lobby.

D,

I used the Quest. I even used it when we went to Lady's Street shopping! But really a little troublesome when we ate at those tiny cafes...had to fold the stroller. But whatever it is, I will die without the stroller! And like what Bbline said, it's good for holding all the barangs.

To get to those underground MTR stations, its usually the stairs. Thank goodness my HB is big...so he can carry the stroller down n up himself. Once in the station, there will be lifts to the trains.

Pavements, shopping malls all ok with stroller. SO BRING! Happy Hols!

d,
do you have an ultra light stroller? i actually have one (brand is geoby) which i got from kiddy palace, but am not using anymore. not sure if you remember, but kaizer slept on the stroller when we were having a late lunch at waraku many many months ago. anyway, we've used it for a couple of times only (less than 10 times?) before he "outgrew" strollers. do you need it? it's yours for free if you want it because it's just collecting dust at my place ... we definitely don't need it for #2 because the 2nd hand stroller which i recently bought is very light too.

cindy,
i read your blog entry about caitlyn acting up because faith held cherelle's hand. caitlyn must have decided that cherelle shouldn't really have other friends than herself, hehee.

D, well said!

anyway, we didn't bring a stroller to HK... dh used the Ergo instead. at disneyland, we rented the buggy though - it was FOC if i remember correctly. i think J is quite independent and walks quite a bit right? so should be ok lah. C always wants to be carried by daddy so ergo was easier for dh plus when we went, it was rather cold so being in the ergo keeps her warm!

Hey Mummies!

Thank you for all your advice.

Ya, the stroller I had in mind would be the Quest. I have two strollers now collecting dust at my place! haha. (Finally took the Quest out of the car cos...and we haven't used it in ages.)

s/w,
thanks for the offer
Of course I remember it but I really don't know how Jesse would fit in it. He's almost outgrown his carseat as we speak! I just stuff him in there anyway. Many moons ago, when we were at Michele's place, he wanted to sit in M's Jeep stroller and it was already a tight fit. If I'm not wrong, her Jeep and your's are about the same size...so thank you but I think we'll have to pass.

Michele,
I just loaned my Ergo out! I haven't used it with Jesse for even longer (than the strollers! Since I wanted to lend it to Gene last year!) Perhaps it's his "size" or independence, the last time I used it, he just kept wanted to jump out of it...*sigh*

Actually, this is out plan... I'm not much of a shopper mind.

We'll be staying at Disneyland but am thinking of visiting Citigate outlets the day we land (so might need stroller there).

The next morning, (mostly cos in laws are coming along and want to see some HK), I kind of planned a "Hong Kong Transportation Day" trip - MTR to TST, take Star Ferry to Wan Chai, take Ding Ding tram to Central. At Central (check out the shop that sells ELC - if HB "allows") and have lunch. Then, go back to Disneyland.

The rest of the time, we'll be at the resort until we leave.

Actually, the more I look at the Park map, it seems like I need more than one day there? Or is the "map" just an exaggeration? We've been to the CA one before but HB and I didn't have to go back to take a nap. So I think we did it in one day then.

Anyway, thank you for your advice! I'll bring it to my HB and make a more informed decision
The Quest isn't hard to bring but if it were for carrying shopping...I'd use the other stroller that isn't so prone to tipping over! haha.

D
when you going HK? no worries ok .. i'm not gonna follow you hahaha..
coz we are planning to go yr end but Hubby left me to plan

so may need to ask you for hotels etc.. too when we firmed up the dates to travel

ergo is good for winter countries when we went Korea last yr coz hubby ergo D and then zip his jacket (must be big enuff to contain D).. so D was snugly inside.

now i nvr use ergo liao.. switch back to sling if i forsee lotsa traveling up and down buses.

Haha...Min, you can stalk me all you want :p

My HB just reminded me that we have a bagpack carrier (Kelty) that we could use as well...ooh, so many choices.

Anyway, our trip was supposed to be a "Disney" trip so for hotels it was just between the Disneyland Hotel and Disney Hollywood Hotel. We're staying at Disneyland Hotel. We bought the premium annual pass for free upgrade to suite (if you pay std rate for the kingdom club room). And then when I called to make the reservation, I bought another value annual pass cos the discount on the second room makes it worth it. (For this hotel and the room we want, travel agents don't "do it" and it's cheaper booking on our own)

If you wanna stay in the city, I heard that Panda Hotel or Novotel (dunno which one) is okay too...

I'm going towards year end (end Nov) too but next few months I'll be busier so doing the planning now. I love planning anyway so all I need from HB are the "dates" and I'm happy to do the rest. I get a "high" from planning our trips. haha.

heard over the radio today that club med's having a "2nd person stays free" promotion. i went to the website to do a calculation, and the prices are really very attractive! have to book by 31 august 2009 and travel by 30 april 2010. http://www.clubmed.com.sg/cm/startOffers.do?PAYS=362&LANG=AE

i am super super tempted to at least make a trip to bintan with the two kids while i'm still on my maternity leave ... cos below 6months old very travel friendly, just have to feed milk and change diapers. don't need to offer solid food or entertainment, hahaa.

Hi hi Mummies,
Thought being back at work means I can drop by the forum more often, but I was so wrong!

D and Min,
A coincidence! Am planning to visit HK Disneyland this year too.

Btw D,
saw your question regarding epidural/GA. I went through GA for both childbirths. The 2nd time was a breeze, I was pretty awake soon after they woke me up for the rest of the day (my ops in the early morn). No side effects for me whatsoever. I underwent GA for minor surgeries prior and like you, recovered pretty ok.

D/ Min/ Cherryteq
Just sharing from my own experience not too long ago, if going to HK, can consider extend stay to Macau..stay at Venetian Macau...they have got very nice spacious suites.. quite "shiok"!