(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

DLim,
its in Hortpark, the recent GardenTech show.
show you some more collages that i made for that day.

2829901.jpg

2829902.jpg

michele,
how are claire and chace now? you're getting sufficient rest yourself?

i'm 35 weeks today. 5 more weeks to go!! oh, and will most prob be getting the bunk bed after all. don't think the person sleeping on the top will fall off cos there's a railing. and even if he/she really falls, the fall is from a single mattress (at the top) onto a queen mattress (at the bottom). so i guess it'll prob be safe enough. if i order tomorrow, maybe it'll come by weekend then i can try an alternative sleeping arrangement soon!

kaexin,
keira looks sooooo happy on the ride. i didn't even know that there was a show at hort park. the last time we were there in my first trimester, we promised kaizer that we'll bring him back to the playground at hortpark. but we've yet to honour our word.

s/w
any chance of the baby coming out earlier?

I'd still think it'd be frightening for the person falling down.

Actually, what if your HB sleeps on top then you and the kids and take the bottom bunk with Kaizer near the wall (if it's against the wall). That way easier access for you to move around also.

Unless the bed is very stable, I suspect it might move when you climb up and down...or maybe that was the workmanship years ago.

I wanted to get a bunk for J and he seems really competent on it but the store said it's only recommended for 4 and up.

All I remember is, I moved a lot when I was a kid and fell off the (normal single) bed every night. Slept right through it all...just always finding myself on the floor in the morning. hehe.

Michelle,

where is this Hort park place? Must really look it up on the map...looks fun

sandwich,
last week there was an exhibition, so they prepare the rides for the kids. i had trouble getting keira fm the playgrd to the rides coz the rides were all the way in. some of the other kids went quite like the rides, one even took the train rides for 5x.

D,
hortpark is at Hyderabad road, its actually off alexandra road nearer to Gillman Heights @ Depot road. u can see the henderson waves there.

Takashimaya Baby Fair
Thu 27 Aug to Sun 13 Sept

Calling all mums, get the best deals on all the baby necessities from diapers to strollers to baby clothing and toys for all mums and mums-to-be. What’s more with every *$50 same-day purchase (maximum of 3 combined receipts), made at Babies’ Section, Children’s Department, Level 3 and / or Takashimaya Square, B2 and stand a change to be one of the lucky winners in our Baby Fair Lucky draw and walk away with the following prize:

1st Prize: S$3,000 worth of Baby Products
2nd Prize: S$2,000 worth of Baby Products
3rd Prize: S$1,000 worth of Baby Products

s/w, we are adjusting - chace has been really good so far; sleeps much longer hours than claire when she was that age so i don't have to wake up that much in the night SO FAR.

D's suggestion about ur hb sleeping on the upper bunk is a good idea... at least he's less likely to fall off (though if he does, he will probably squash whoever's on the queen bed!) but definitely not a good idea for kaizer to fall off lah!

i'm so excited for you! hehe...

mrs_lai, thanks for the update on taka fair - i've been wondering when it is! wanna stock up on some essentials.

d,
baby #2 is not engaged yet, according to the gyn whom i saw yesterday. so no chance of being early =)

michele,
i'm excited but not prepared yet. planning to pack my hospital bag this/next weekend. and planning to wash baby #2's laundry after i visit the taka fair.

diane,
thanks for the info on the fair. i've got myself $220 worth of taka vouchers to spend at the fair!! yipee, planning to get an avent breast pump, avent breastmilk storage bottles and a stroller pad at the fair. hopefully aprica has a booth so that i can get the pad from their booth. couldn't find a stroller pad on the aprisin website that d and moxi recommended.

piscesgal,
i just ordered the bunk bed online! it's super ugly, hahaa ... from this website www.beds.sg. telling myself not to mind about how it looks as long as it can serve it's purpose of enabling me to have a good sleeping arrangement until my new house arrives. will prob post a pic on my blog of how the bed really looks when it arrives on wed.

s/w, i still have some brand new avent bottles & storage cups... u wanna take over (i'm not pumping... Claire is my pump!) - sell u cheap cheap! :p

stroller pads dun need to be from aprica one lah - as long as they serve their purpose. i have one from kiddopotamus - http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2299911. that fits both car seats & strollers and also a couple of others that i got from taka last time for claire

and oh, chace was engaged from week 37 or 38 but he's still late lor. haha...

Quick Question
==============

Epidural or GA?

I'm sure some of you would've had either or both, right?

What side effect did you experience?

If you had to choose again, what did you get last time and what would you choose this time?

Everyone's physiology is different but I wonder if there are some common side effects among you.

I've only been on LA (wisdom tooth, minor surgery, etc) so...I've no idea with the above two.
(and I generally take well to drugs... ;))

Have a great weekend!

s/w,

was Kaizer early/late/on time? I'm just curious. It's different for every child so it doesn't matter what your first answer is. haha. Unless the mother has an underlying condition like an incompetent cervix or not so competent "soft" cervix. heh.

Never used stroller pads but I realise it's quite the thing to use here. Have you tried calling aprisin? I always call them before I visit them, it's easy to get through.

Ya hor...couldn't you get Kaizer to be your pump as well? Or is he completely off breastfeeding? oh wait...he goes to school. Having never bfed before, err...do you need "the pump" only at certain times of the day (night) or throughout the day?

Oh, should clarify, I'm not pregnant just kaypoh and waiting for J to wake up so that we can go out!

michele,
i certainly dun mind getting the avent bottles and cups from you if you're selling them cheaply =) ideally, i'll need 10-15 bottles in 125ml capacity, maybe 5 in 260ml capacity. all the old ones that i used to store kaizer's EBM, i've thrown them away once they've been used for more than a year. do drop me a mail when you're free to let me know the quantity that you're selling, the capacity they hold, etc. i'll only need them in a couple of months actually, when i go back to work. cos don't intend to express at all within the first three months unless #2 has to stay in hospital because of jaundice. i've started thinking about my post-birth leave plans today. i will be definitely out of the office from sep - dec. then coming back to work in jan on a 1/2 day basis until about middle of 2010. what's your leave plans like?

d,
kaizer was 2 days ahead of EDD. i suppose that means he's relatively "on time". never called aprisin before. doesn't matter, will just check out the taka fair. i'm sure there'll be a suitable pad to get there since michele said don't have to get the same brand. kaizer was forcibly weaned off the breast when he was about 23 months old ... that's about 1/2 year ago. i only need the pump when i go back to work. i won't bother pumping at certain times of the day (during my maternity leave) to increase my supply because i'll be too lazy to wash the pump parts, too lazy to sterilize the bottles and too lazy to heat up the EBM. oh, plus i do not know how to bottlefeed a baby at all!

augleo,
i bought a small bag of huat kueh mix at lunch time. i also bought some cupcake paper holders to pour the mix into prior to steaming. can i check with you about the cross shape on top of the kueh ... am i supposed to use a knife to draw the cross on top of the mix before the steaming process starts, or halfway through the steaming process?

haha... s/w, u're just like me! i hate to sterilize the pumps & parts... too much work! i tried pumping when the milk came in and gave the bottle to claire - its so funny that she has no idea how to drink from the milk bottle!!

ok, will email u about the bottles & cups.

s/w,
i didn't do any cutting just pour the mixture into the casings as per instructed.
It will HUAT!!!! = accordingly!
kekekeke!

Happy wknd to all

Michele,

I used ready-to-feed...no tricks involved either...in the beginning (first few weeks), I just attached the teat to the (RTF) bottle and feed. Then I bought the bigger ones...only then need to use our own milk bottles. As for sterilising...I use a microwave steriliser so just 4 minutes in the morning (once and day) and that was it. I stopped sterilizing since six months so don't even remember it anymore.

But I will give it to you that I think breastfeeding (once everything is "settled", esp for new mothers/bfders) it is supposed to be more cost effective and convenient)...which is why, IF I can try it next time round, I'll give it a shot...esp since now, I can do the rest of the "caring" already. heh.
Hmm...maybe Jesse takes after me, never quite thought of it, but he's very cautious and likes to do things in baby steps. I call him "chicken" but maybe he's just really cautious about "change" like me.

augleo,
mine huet kueh didn't huat very well =) thanks for the recommendation though, cos me and kaizer had a lot of fun preparing the batter in the morning! but my end product wasn't tasty. kaizer and husband only took one bite each, and didn't want to take more bites, hahaa. i had to finish one portion myself, while i threw away the other one. luckily, didn't prepare so much cos for today's experiment i only used 200g of the mix.

augleo,
mine huet kueh didn't huat very well =) thanks for the recommendation though, cos me and kaizer had a lot of fun preparing the batter in the morning! but my end product wasn't tasty. kaizer and husband only took one bite each, and didn't want to take more bites, hahaa. i had to finish one portion myself, while i threw away the other one. luckily, didn't prepare so much cos for today's experiment i only used 200g of the mix. i think i still have enough mix to try for the next two weekends!

long time not posted here.. how is everyone?

Wanted to ask if anyone is interested in LNT? I've been hearing abt them and thought I'd check them out and found out they are having a 44% off promotion for the month of Aug.. BUT it's only at their Beach Rd branch and it's only for weekday classes.

They need min of 2 kids to start a class.. and I'm keen on Friday 12noon.

Details here..
Day and Time: Friday 12 noon (29th Aug)
Duration: 1 hour with parent attending
Cost $128.30 (after discount) for 5 lessons. Reg fee $50. Total cost $178.30
Venue: 101 Beach Rd #02-01.. think the nearest MRT is Bugis.

The 5 lessons are for the remaining number of classes for this term.. if we sign up for next term the total cost is $308 + $50 Reg.. for 10 lessons (cos there are 2 public hols)

Think Cindy is attending with Caitlyn... you think it's a good deal?

oh and if we sign up for next term.. starting on 9th Oct.. then class timing can be at 10:30am.. which is a better timeslot I think.

D- you keen?
Sanrio- keen?

anyone?

Cindy,

how's Caitlyn taking to the lessons? Can she still sit still for the duration of the class? I'm really skeptical that Jesse can do it! haha.

Anyway, Mrs Chia, the 44% discount also applies for the new term?

mrs chia
i'm keen .. i oredi attended trial at TPY branch and was intending to sign up for next term for wkend class

incl me if its confirm.

D
sure can sit down one. even my D manage to sit still for 1 whole hr becoz pace is very fast.. and got hands on activities.

anything he get restless is when class is conducted in Jap and chinese

Mrs Chia,

I am thinking of going for a trial at Bugis for Little Neuro Tree. Therefore, if u can organise a weekend class do include me too. I am considering too :p

Hi Min, Hi P-Gal,
LNT's 44% off is for weekDAY class.. not weekend..

Min, D is attending CC now? do you think you want to consider LNT Friday class at 10:30am.. then after lesson, D can go to CC for lunch?

Mrs Chia,

It sounds like quite a good deal to me! But you have to sign up now for the new term to enjoy the 44% disc too issit? If not, should actually go for the remaining 5 lessons first and see if J enjoys the lessons and if the you find the class good.

D...
Cait still enjoys the lessons. But she seems to be getting a little restless now...I think after going for so many of the classes, she's getting a little bored cos she knows what to expect, unlike b4 when everything was new to her. So may not be signing up for the new term.

Cindy,
The 44% off is for the 5 remaining lessons and the new term.. but of course must pay now.. cos the promo till end Aug.

Cindy,

isn't Bugis at 10:30am too early for you? haha.

Anyway, is it FUN?

I asked my HB and he asked me "what do they teach?" So I went to the website and read it out to him...as usual he was skeptical and so am I lah. Finally, the bottom line was just even if it's not useful, is it fun? haha. So, Is it fun?

Mrs Chia,
heh, let me think about it a little bit more and see what others say. I've always been skeptical about such classes and anything to do with "right brain". But we'll see...
I'll let you know...soon. 31st Aug is end of this week hor... Friday, 10:30am is okay for me. Have you been there? Is it far to walk from Bugis Junction?

The location is the main deterrent...next is the timing! ahahaa!

Yes, it is pretty fun actually. The materials and methods they use to "teach" the kids certain concepts are pretty interesting. And the teachers are able to capture the kids' attention.

But then again, I don't think the class is able to train their right/left brain very much..it doesn't work wonders...or maybe it does but i just dunno! Heehee. Ohhh..and we can actually do most of the activities at home if we are hardworking enough! ahahha. My aim is really to expose Cait to diff languages actually.

Mrs chia
oh yah you reminded me abt his CC. need to think abt it.. or can do a late afternoon class?

cindy is right. actually the activities there are things we can do at home but I am lazy to do it so i tot of signing D up.

Hi Mrs Chia,
Is the fees of $308 for next term same regardless Thur/Friday class? I'm keen to sign up their promo pkg for next term but was given the impression that Fri class not very worth it coz will lose out 2 lessons due to PH wor.

D , juz to let u know . u dun hv to travel to bugis . zac is attending at hougang branch , quite near to our sengkang area. but there is no promo , except i heard that if use ocbc card , can be entitled to 10% disc ( i am not sure abt this , coz i signed up weeks ago)

caicai,

Did u sign up right from the start of the new term at Little Neuro Tree at Hougang branch? What timing is it? Is it good?

Hi bbline,
good Q-- the lady told me cos there are 2 PH, they refund one day, that's why orig fees is $550 (for 11 lessons).. don't know if Thurs class is same fees or more?

Class time-the lady says only these class times are avail-
Thurs 9am and 12 noon
Fri 9am, 10:30am, 12 noon and 2 pm

Min- no late afternoon slots

s/w,
visited ur blog.
din HUAT nicely mayb is the amt. of water u added....lead to tastless cakes too?
glad that K is enjoying in the preparation.

So far, JK n BK (my hb) still like the cake. usually for b.fast/snack.
try again, they will HUAT nicely = 4 corners will UP UP UP

Hey Cindy
Is Caitlyn still going for her JG classes? am thinking if we should stop coz her English teacher (who's really good) will be leaving end of this term.

mrs chia
think i hv to give this LNT promo a miss. coz location is impt too.. as TPY branch is preferred choice for me. wonder why they don't extend this disc to other branch

PG,

She goes to the Parkway Branch.

Blueroti,

I am pulling Cait out of JG after this term. The class is getting crazy...so many kids..its just chaotic! And i think she is getting bored after 3 terms there. ANd she prefers kidsloft anyway!

halo cindy
yeah, kidsloft is more fun! i wanted to pull my girl out a few weeks ago coz' i also feel that there are juz too many kids! but my girl seems to enjoy the class more this few weeks so i'm in a dilemma. but with the english teacher gone, it's not going to be the same.

Mrs Chia,
I think $550 is the normal course fee for weekday (12 sessions) wor, after 44% discount is $308. I spoke to a lady Clara last wk, she mention only Friday class left unless she open new class, but coz its Friday, we'll lose out 2 weeks due to PH lor. If this is the case, do you want to consider Thur instead?