(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Mich,

I do, but I haven't been going.

Okay, Cindy, any opinions? Guess we'll have to do it before Mich "blows"! hahahah... I think Cait has something on one of the days, right?

ya, I mentioned that to the person. He said, Do that until they are 2.5years then switch. But for trial, we're all under 2.5, right?

They're starting with a mini-term from 2 Aug - 5 Sept (so till then all still <2.5yrs). It's $250/once a week and there's annual membership fee of $55.

My take is go for trial first and see if want to sign up.

Okay, stop asking questions. hahah... I might kenna something I can't answer :p But that's all I know and I think is useful to know at this stage anyway.
You know I'm not "details" person.

D
Little Gym is same as MyGym? only 45 min? and let the kids play around on their own or there will be a teacher/instructor?

Leo
my D hv yet to take Flu Jab.

Min,
it's not the same. yes. parent assisted class.
check out their website at www.thelittlegym.com.sg or call them for more details.

btw, my observation only...the only similarity I see so far is that it's run by Filipinos. Didn't know it's a cultural thing. hmmm...

D, just checked my schedule - thurs would be very tight for me as I have to be in the office in the afternoon; means i will have to rush back to my parent's to drop off C then go to office... so thurs is no good!

otherwise, friday lor... if the morning slot is not too late for jesse.

Cindy is not a morning person though so she might prefer the afternoon slot! :p

on 2nd thoughts, even if i'm keen to sign C just after the trial, my 'situation' doesn't really allow leh. so shd i still go?

leo, C took hers when we went australia last year - i think 'no use already'? too long ago!

augleo
jboy did his flu jab .. tink kids tis age needs 2 jabs. 2nd jab suppose to be anytime after 1 mth (if i rmbr correctly). My doc says we can do jboy's 2nd jab sometime ard the 11th mth, so he get 1 more year protection.

D, you know - my schedule this month is crazy! there's just so many things i need to do! all the thurs are bad for me (i can only do 30 july); i have so many meetings &amp; trainings to clear before i pop. if not tues, then fri? i can do 10, 24 &amp; 31 july.

Mich,

Friday is fine with me too :) (End of the week, in general)...the afternoon one?

If you're really too busy then don't stress about it lor...it's just "one of those things". I can always go on my own...no worries.

okie...so we'll call separately? I don't know what kind of details they want. I'll call them tmr morning
At in laws' place now.

hey D, michele
you guys toking abt the little gym class? we went for a few lessons last year. the instructors are mostly filipino and quite nice.
my girl enjoyed herself v much during the 1st class. for the subsequent class, she was ok. but guess most kids would enjoy running, jumping around nevertheless.

blueroti,

not that I'm complaining...but my boy still can't jump. haha.

The last time we signed him up for My Gym cos at 14 months he still wasn't walking...and that I wanted him to do.

He must've still remembered the lessons cos these few weeks he has been trying out his front tumbling skills again...quite funny when he doesn't get it right and ends up sideways.

Anyway, not keen on him to start jumping..though I can see he needs an outlet.

halo D
my girl can't jump too, it was more of lifting one foot up! hehehe but she did enjoy running around and climbing all over the gym apparatus than follow what the teacher was doing. the only takeaway fr the lesson for her is also the front tumble!

D
take heart.. mine still can't jump too!
cannot even climb up and down steps independently.

sometimes still need to go down on fours!

Min, blueroti,

Heh...as long as he can walk, I'm easy about the rest of it.
He's a super-climber though (like me when I was young). Actually, I don't want him to jump so soon...it'll just be more work/more things to look out for...because of that, I'm hesitant about sending him for gym class. selfish, right?

Leo: Lele got his jab last week. Is it protection? Yes, I guess... not against H1N1 definitely but against other more common strains of flu. DH was the one to urge me to do it for all 3 of us. His rationale:

-Lele still going classes and going many public places regularly hence his chances of catching flu bugs considered high. In the case he (touchwood) catches some flu, at least we dun have to play guessing game. Can be quite sure flu not caused by the bugs we vaccinated against.

-DH works with kids lots and he is considered high risk. Hence it felt wise for him as well as us to get some protection.

-At $29 per jab at a private clinic. Not too expensive. Also not much side effects.

D...

Dun think Lil' Neuro Tree has free trials leh...unless they have some promo which I believe they had before. If not, the parkway branch charges $150 for 3 trial lessons.
Yes, they do sit behind the desk for the whole hour but becos there are so many activities (singing, flash cards, puzzles, eye movement, memory game etc) going on during that time, they wont even think of getting out of their seat. There's nothing in the classroom to distract them either. So I am sure Jesse will be able to sit there for the entire class. If Cait can do it, so can he. She's one active girl, remember? Its best to go for the trial to see for yourself if you/Jesse likes it. Anyway, I do hope Cait is getting something out of the classes cos at $50/lesson, I find it pretty ex!

As for JG, their mandarin classes for tods their age are combined with English class (PlayClub)...so no point sending him for it next year as I don't think he will pick up very much Mandarin as compared to Berries which is conducted fully in Mandarin. And although they say PlayClub is for 18mths to 3.5years, most of the kids in the class are usually less than 2.5yrs. There's PlayNursery for 2.5yrs and above, but that's a everyday thing. So yes, you are not missing out anything by not considering them.

Hope the above info helps! Think sending them to Mandarin enrichment classes are a good idea...I will most likely enrol her for Mandarin classes too.

Little Gym
D, Mich...
I have to see how for next Fri. Just remembered Fridays ain't very good for me cos its the day I have to pack up to return to the East. Let you know again! I am interested to go for the trial but most likely won't sign up cos she's already brimming with energy climbing, running and jumping around at home, no need to pay money for her to do more of those! ahahahaha!

augleo...
chloe took the flu vaccine when she is around 19mths. the flu jab is for protection agst those common flu. flu jab will 'last' only for a year...need to take the jab annually...

Cindy,

So which do you like best - JG, Little Neuro Tree or Kid's Loft? Are the similar or does each one bring something different?

thks for reverting on the flu jab.
thot JK is the only one (here) din get the vaccine

milo n Kate,
thks for the info. din know hv to take the jab annually.

hello everyone!
just popped in to say hi!
I've not been surfing this website for a long long time..
Hippo recently cut his chin during a fall in school. Had the cut glued in A&amp;E.
He is still wearing his XL diapers..tried toilet training him but failed.
Speaking more nowadays..in Singlish with improper grammar/tense.
My ah mei is alr 9mths old but still weighs 7+kg.
Fussy eater and wakes up 4-5 times every night to look for my nipple...

So who's preggie here? I'm lost...

mich, delivering soon right? exciting!

leo, u preg? boy or girl? Congrats!

sandwich, is #2 boy/girl? when's ur edd?

D, Hi!

Hello Traz,

I can't say I can answer your questions but great to read your update

Err...Mrs Lai gave birth to a boy via c-sec on Jun 20. That's abt all I know...don't know the name. Last heard it was "Valentino" (working title).

Oh, Rina is pregnant too, due Dec/Jan.

s/w doesn't want to tell us the gender of #2 so it must be a boy. haha

Leo hasn't said anything about gender either...maybe she'll be secretive like s/w!

Yup, that's pretty much ALL I know

D,
how r u and jesse?
oh so everyone's secretive abt bb's gender...haha
i hv this preg colleague whose #1 is a girl.
was told #2 is a boy at 13 and 16 weeks.
then she packed all her girls' clothes and gave them away...detailed scan at 21 weeks suggested that it could b another girl! And it was confirmed a girl only at wk 24!
She was very happy to get another girl and hubby was very disappointed..
and she is banging agt the wall now for giving away all the oshgosh/GAP/zara dresses!

Traz,

we are doing fine, thank you for asking. He's still in diapers because I'm too lazy to train. But in the last month, I did manage to buy more underwear (hopefully in his size). so...one day, we'll start. I love him in diapers though so, it's hard for me to start.

Overall we're doing okay...you know it's all good when I tell you the "thing" I'm "stressing" about it "when to go for our next vacation."

Jesse is getting more opinionated and so it gets a little harder to deal with him but still controllable.

Physically, he's status quo in ht and wt. Loves running and climbing. Can't jump. LOVES sun, sand, sea or pool. Enjoys adult food.

Ya, the new "in" thing is to be secretive. haha.

Hippo is also getting very stubborn nowadays.
Really a go-getter when he fights with gorgor over the toys.
Food wise he is eating lesser and lesser..dislikes bread, meat, veg and chocolate! Drinks lots of milk and survives on biscuits.
Mealtimes are esp stressful cos all my 3 kiddos are fussy eaters...

Traz,

I was about to say (cooking now...) Jesse is doing well, healthy, healthy appetite and healthy amount of rest. He does try to be naughty like when he sees the food is finishing, he'll suddenly say, "don't want to eat". But of course, he doesn't get away with it when I'm around (unless he's sick or I cook more). He eats what I give him or he doesn't get anything to eat at all. Haha, tyrant mummy.

Cannot imagine having to deal with more than one child!!

As long as they are growing well and are healthy, maybe they just have small appetites. I was a fussy eater until I was 10 years old...look at me now! *grin*

So are you back at work? still working? Maybe my question should be, "how come today have time to check in on us ah?"

leo
my cousin's daughter is non-fussy eater before 1 yo. after that she now hates fruits and veg!

i think its normal for kids to dislike veg.

Traz
saw Hippo injured chin in FB. he is a brave boy!
give him time to toilet train.. mine took 3months.
Key thing is patient !

Hello Traz...
Hope Baby Hippo is alright now!

D...
Actually I dunno which one I like best...JG and Kids Loft I guess. But Cait likes them all! Hard to say which one is the best too cos each has its own good points. And I like it that she is attending 3 different schools...so she is exposed to the diff teaching methods.

Cindy,

hmm...I guess...we'll see then. haha. Good that Cait likes them all!

Today, Jesse is watching Hi5 for the first time...just wanted to see if he likes it.

Cindy...

hmm...I think he doesn't know what to make of it. haha. He prefers his usual Steve Green "MTVs". heh. I find it a little noisy and I'm not sure I want him to learn the aussie accent.

traz,
hello!! yah, secretive is the "in" thing, hahaa! d missed out caicai, she's expecting #2 too, though hardly see her online now. i haven't embrked on potty training too. not anxious to start until he specifically tells me he wants to.

augleo,
mine didn't go for the flu jab. but i did earlier on in the year (during my first trimester) cos company offered free jab, free transport to jab. no reason not to take. didn't know i was preg then. about fussy eating: mine had problems eating/drinking milk before 1.5 years old. but eats like a pig nowadays when he gets meat and rice. he doesn't mind that i mix about 6 leaves of green leafy veg into his dinner every night, but must be accompanied by a lot of meat. no prob with fruits at all. that said, he's not an "experimenter" when it comes to food, prob because we always tell him that he eat so and so (diary, eggs, nuts) will get tummyache.

d,
i haven't tried hi-5 before. but our latest craze is to watch pooh and thomas in different languages. this past week, we've tried spanish, portuguese, russian and japanese. i don't understand anything at all, but they're cute to watch still.

s/w

hehe...I have never watched Thomas... I wonder if they have sesame street in different languages.

Oh ya, caicai is due in Oct?

d,
i'm sure they'll have it in spanish. kaizer likes a couple of elmo clips. fav is when elmo sings with norah jones, followed by india aria and then andrea bocelli.

hmm...never seen those before. I guess you watch them on Utube so you wouldn't know if it's available in DVD, right?

anyway, I'm going slow on the whole tv watching thing. only when I want some time alone (like ironing or surfing the internet haha)
he does get to watch it whenever he goes to ah-mah's place.

D, u know i also hate to let C watch unless i have no choice - recently i realised that she goes into this 'zombie' stage when in front of the tv which i really dislike!

michele,

thankfully, Jesse only does that at Ah-Mah's place. At home, he'll watch for about 10 minutes and then play toys or want my company or start doing something else (with one eye on the tv).

But I just don't feel "right" letting him watch tv...strange right? I'm okay with him climbing here and there, eat keropok but tv/computer/sweets I rather delay for as long as I can. Maybe because those are his potential "addictions" based on family history. haha.

halo diane!

how did u guys get ian (actually valentino sounds better! hehe) to prop himself up? i thot that pix of him is really cute! and the pix of baby v kissing his feet is so sweet!