(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

What are you cooking for dinner this week?

I'm thinking of cooking again but am at a big loss on what to cook. Cooking used to be enjoyable and I had the luxury of experimenting or doing "fussier" recipes, but now, I can't even think of what to cook for 5 dinners.

Help? What is your meal plan this week?

pretty_bunnie, ask ur confinement lady about cooking tips for me leh!

hmm... D, my meal plan? it would be soup - lots of nutritious soup coz hb is now down with C's viral infection - has a mouth full of ulcer so cannot swallow well. C's full recovered though, with a gd appetite to boot!

other than that, i intend to teach my new maid some 'confinement' like food so she can help me out in aug so we're probably looking at food with lots of ginger! dun think it will be your cup of tea. :p

we'll know about baby #2's growth tomorrow when we visit the OB. cornelius is so long... haha, i'm lazy one - would stick with one or two syllabus names.

but hey, speaking of malaysia - i do think many cases go unreported (esp. in the kampungs) as opposed to a small country like SG so its still gd to monitor for flu symptoms - yup, like the common flu but pregnant women in the 'fatal' group leh.

Mich,

true, many cases can go unreported in M'sia...but also must remember that this is an "imported" flu so e.g. in the beginning, I wasn't "at risk" of it because I didn't have any contact with ppl coming from affected countries (like I live under a rock). But now, since there's community spreading, boh pian...I can also get it from anywhere.

Was at Tangs/Isetan just now and I was just thinking, it's so crowded, anything can spread in the underground tunnel!

Cash.
Casper. haha

Cindy,

and I thought it was special. *sigh*

Mich,

I don't even know how to cook nutritious food. Haven't been cooking for so long even thinking about what to cook is daunting!

I have a recipe book on confinement cooking but you probably also have one already, right?

yes, u're right D so i have to try avoiding crowded places right now - we've been stuck at home for almost a week now!

and yes, i have 4 or 5 confinement receipe books already - the dishes aren't that different from what we'd normally eat though, 'cept with the addition of ginger & sesame oil.

Mich,

ya, actually that's what I thought...confinement food is very similar to what I eat too
except the black vinegar pig trotter.

Yup, stay away from crowds and keep healthy and happy! Or at least go to open-air places (but you hate the heat).

d,
cornelius sounds vaguely like a character in the harry potter series, but i can't be sure. and cash sounds a little too pragmatic, hahaa. maybe mich can consider cowan or caleb.

d, michele and bunniette,
if malaysia is under reporting, then indonesia must be worse! saw on the MOH website that we've got abt 30 imported cases from indonesia, while indonesia claims that they only have 2 cases within the country so far.

D, no lah... i dun hate the heat - as long as i'm appropriately dressed for it! talking about confinement food, ginger is not recommended though if bfing as it is supposed to cause jaundice!

s/w, i read that indonesia has less confirmed cases than malaysia and i also doubt that - like malaysia, its probably under reported.

yes, i think there is a cornelius in the harry potter series - other names that i've considered - corwin, chase, caleb... just can't figure out which one to go with.

i'm at the DR - have been here since more than 2 hours ago and still haven't seen him as he had an emergency operation in the morning and all the morning appts were pushed to afternoon! horrors!!

oh boy!!

I guess can't reschedule.

Once we kenna that also...very sian.

Guess the only upside is that you'll get to see your baby at the end of it

D,
sort out ur wkly menu?
cye, send some of my ideas hope can help

Rina,
u decided which car to buy?
Honda Freed looks cool to me

Michele,
what i've heard (jus to share) :
1. No long bean during that month
2. black fungus are good (fried w/vege or meat)
3. avoid chix and vinegar pig trotter for first 12 days
4. if u are taking black chix remove the big bones.
5. if possible, BU for 40 days as mummy body can take in more heaty food during this period.

ur 1st confinement oso doing good right, the above just a tinkle

i finally saw the DR after a 3 hours wait! so terrible and for a less than 10 mins visit! #2 is not co-operative again - didn't manage to do the 4D scan and video!

leo, thanks! my 1st confinement also didn't do properly lah (dun think my MIL knows what she's doing - other than complaining that i have no milk for C!)

i actually got this confinement book that lists the daily menu for the whole confinement period! hehe... maybe i'll just follow that! we'll see how lah.

michele: eh my food is for C-section so not sure if it's applicable to you ...

generally like what augleo said, chicken and black vinegar trotters from 12th day onwards, i take pig kidneys, pork and fish mostly now. no lady fingers (bad for milk supply). black fungus is good for helping the uterus to contract (i think or to expel the stuff inside). chicken essence every morning.

Fruits wise only apples and pears ... no orange, grapes or anything else.

Your book sounds good! Maybe I shd go and get one for my maid to cook after the CL leaves!

D: not in super gingerly ... mostly the food is cooked with garlic with some slivers of ginger ... ya i full bfing now ... walking zombie soon :p

Rina,
i'm fine, thank u.
put on 2.5kg on my wk17.
most likely will deliver in ESH.
hope u are well too

Mrs Lai,
how fast, u are 1/2 way thru ur confinement period

Mrs Lai,
u can do it

during our confinement period (yr 07), i shared that only twice hands-on to bath JK and u said yet hands on n worry might hurt V.
but now, u are so motherly

extend CL stay, jus like last time?

Leo,

aiyoh! I didn't know. My first "confinement" I cooked Chicken (soy sauce chix) for myself the first day I went home (cos IL call to complain that I only eat MCs)...and actually, I ate chicken the whole time. heh. Easiest thing to buy and HB can eat.

Anyway...

Mrs Lai,
you can do it lah. If it were me and it were possible, I'd get a CL for 3 months. haha. I think the first 3 months is worst. After that hopefully STTN liao...heh.

Wah Leo...17 wks already...just like that!

Mich,
*sigh* so when's your next visit?

pretty_bunnie, dun think the diet differs for natural & c-sec birth lah! :p

leo, almost hitting halfway mark! hang in there...

u know i'm starting to feel nausea again - not sure why?

my next visit will be on the 15 Jul (my ROM anniversary - intending to go to do my preggie photo shoot on the same day) and hopefully don't have to wait so long coz there'll probably be a surprise party for hb's aunt that evening!

i thought i already put on 5+kg the last visit but after looking through my files y'day, i realised that i put 5.6kg so far & #2 is almost 2.5kg already. looks like i am on track for my weight gain plan.

i'm really starting to stress about my unfinished work & how i am going to look after 2 too??? think i'm going to 'demand' that hb works only half day for the first 2 weeks' after i deliver so that i have some help, otherwise i might just get post-natal depression!

mummies..
some updates:

my D juz went for his squint surgery at KKH yday. its a day surg so he was back home and back to his active self except that corner of eyes are red.
hopefully he will not looked crossed eyes again though i read that squint may come back again.

i also hope no more surgery *touch wood* for him. my heart break seeing him when he woke up fm his GA.

toilet training:
after 3 months of sweat, scolding, anger.. i think D is finally outta diapers at home . he can say "wee wee" and "poot poot".
this fellow actually got a good thrasing and a whack from me before he decides to open his golden mouth! haha

due to h1n1.. everyone have to wear a mask in hospital.
thank god we were given surgical mask.. and its already so unbearable.. i can't imagine wearing N95!

and i must salute health care prof for wearing them at work all the time! can blame them if they are short tempered!

michele: the last time i felt pukish for a few days in a row, turned out i had UTI but i had none of the classic syndrome (burning sensation etc) so if it continues do mention to your doc. may need to do a pee test to rule out UTI first, if none, then may have to do a blood test. I am not sure if there's any diff between C and natural leh ... some pple say have so depends on what you believe in?

D: I'm ok with 2 months - may want to extend by 1 more week but knowing my hubby, he sure say "no" ... rt now i bugging hubby to start drawing out this list of relatives to invite ... then i can go and order the full month cake to send ... stress :p

Min: hope everything goes well for your sonny ...

bunnie, really? UTI?? i hope not... already uncomfortable as it is - definitely dun want to be on medication

min, hope that D is recovering well!

Min,

so is Dillion back to normal already?
Kids are just so tough!

Say, what are the classes our kids can go for nowadays? Here's what I know of:

- Julia Gabriel's
- Kidz Loft
- MyGym
- Kindermusic
- Zoophonics
- Berries World (Chinese) from age 3
- GUG

???

Why am I asking? Well, it seems Jesse might not go for any pre-nursery so I'm just wondering what else we can do (in terms of classes) cos he keeps telling me he wants to go to school. Someone tell the crazy boy he doesn't really want to go to school! haha.

*phew*

Good to know I don't have the only "deprived child". haha

Actually, I'm not teaching him anything at home. We just play toys and zone-out most of the time.

D
i'm also thinking of Berriesworld next yr. u not keen in sending J to playgrp? since JK and Jo are attending .. so can join them too?

i may just send my D to PCF next yr.. but lazy to sign him up.

Kids are so tough.. after a nap (after his GA).. he was back to his hyperactive. good lah.. shows that eyes is not bothering him

He should be fine lah...Eyes heal quickly too!

Jo and JK are in different playgroups (if I'm not wrong)...
If the one at my place has vacancy, I wouldn't mind sending him there (just downstairs) but since it isn't...too lazy.

Ya, I think Jesse should go berries cos I can't speak chinese.

*mich*
nvr tot of ordering confinement food delivered to yr hse?
actually taste not so bad but then i'm not fussy eater ..

augleo
heard that Berries is quite fun.

D
since there is one downstair then shd send! since only 2 hrs. can put on waitlist?

too bad.. the PG ard my place need walking dist. (concern on wet weather) otherwise i wld hv dumped D thr! haha

This Dumex advertisement is so irritating!

min,
squint surgery is for the purpose of strengthening the muscles on dillion's lazy eye?

min, d and augleo,
being the ignorant mother, i've never heard of berriesworld before! i am most prob keeping kaizer at this same learning vision centre for his N1 and nursery. and then transfer him to another learning vision centre within NUS when he's slated to attend K1 and K2.

s/w
yes squint surgery is to strenghten his eye muscle.

why change school for Kaizer for K1? can't stay in same sch?

d,
dunno how terrible your chinese is, but for my case i can't remember the strokes for kaizer's chinese name unless i refer to his birth certificate. my husband is equally terrible. he had an F9 for his chinese at AO level (at first attempt). but i can converse in the language w/out much problems. can also watch chinese language problems w/out much problems.

min,
cos the current school accepts up till 4 years old only.

coold,

I understand that berries is a "chinese school" they teach chinese. My impression is they only teach mandarin...which is why I'm most interested in them cos it's the one thing I can't teach.

s/w,
my chinese is...hmm..you have to converse with me to know. Haha. I think a few of them here can attest to how bad it is. According to my HB (who laughs at me) I speak it like I'm apeaking English so it's just wrong. Have no idea what he's talking about.

I got B4 for my AO on first try but to my defense, I did the TYS at least 5 times and memorised all 4000 phrases (which my brain was expelled immediately after). Anyway, my JC didn't allow me to drop chinese and my parents and teacher had to see the principal to tell him, "but it's the first time she passed chinese since O levels (c5)!" Haha.

D, there's also the following:

- the little gym
- the neuro tree (which caitlyn is attending)

& JG has a mandarin playclub as far as i know which you can consider.

we were at Marina Sq yesterday and saw a new "store" called "The Liitle Gym". They have a branch at Forum. Anyway, I'm not a spokesperson for them so if you have any questions, call them at 63369734.

What might interest you is that for the month of July, they have free First trial. For your convenience, here's the schedule for "Beaties" class (19months - 2.5years).

Sunday 10:10 - 10:55
Tuesday 10:15 - 11am
Thursday 10:15 - 11am
Friday 11:15am - 12nn or 3:20 - 4:05pm
Saturday 4:45pm - 5:40pm

AGAIN, I do NOT speak for them but am just sharing the deal. If you have ANY enquries in more info call them DIRECTLY.

Mich,

you know me lah...lazy/fussy. Good curri is one thing, the has to be convenient in time and venue as well...JG isn't at a good location for us. *sigh*

For Mandarin, I'm quite happy with Berries, they respond to my email quickly...heh. So now I'm looking for "other" - gym, English, music, art, watever's good...

Thought about Neuro tree, Cindy can ask for free trial or not? heh. From the pictures, it's as if the kid has to sit behind the desk a lot and I'm not sure it's something Jesse is capable of...

Michele: CL told me - no yam. no white carrots (radish) for the next few months ... also u can make soup with the huai shan root (the fresh one) - just pork ribs and the huai shan and boil. add the huai shan only towards the last 30 mins of cooking before serving. dun have to add from the start - just boil the pork ribs first for 1 to 2 hours then add the huai shan later, the huai shan i mashed up and gave to V for her dinner later ... supposedly good for strengthening their constitution.

D, they have very good reviews (the forum branch) count me in - looking at the schedule, shall we do the tues or thurs trial? then we can have lunch before we all head home. i don't suppose you still have gym classes right?

hmm... but our bbs are almost out of that 'age group' isn't it?

thanks bunnie!