(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Cat,

is there a playground near that void deck? If yes, entertainment is "settled", unless it rains...

Do you expect a lot of children? And what ages are those children?

If there are not many or if they are old enough, then maybe you don't even need to "sweat" it (esp since it sounds like you neither have time nor energy - I outsourced porridge cooking to my MIL for Jesse party, just told her cook for x# children, they eat more/less than Jesse. So maybe there's someone you can ask help from). Leave it be...cater for adults and the children will find something to eat.

CoolD,

checked out the prices for suites and other hotels...told my hb, "dun need lah". haha. :p Can you tell I'm the "kiam siap" one?

Caicai,
are you pregnant? Can't remember if you said you were...or if it was someone else, but it just occurred to me that you might've said it before. I'm very blur with no mind for details...

yes D ,
i am preggy , why ? my edd date is E/Oct

caicai,

no lah...as said, had an impression that you said so...but I forgot and then just asking to clarify lor.
everyone's getting preggers or giving birth, my brain can't keep track!

D: Ya it's called the Sentosa Resort and Spa now i think ... sorry beaufort is stuck on my mind.

Cat: the BMO will finally arrive this week, dunno why this time so long. Let me know how to pass u the things?

cat
you can engage an entertainer that perform magic tricks for kids and they also hv balloonist

Hotel stay
Anyone holds Feed at Raffles card or Amex (comes with Feed card)
promo for Feed card for Fri-Sun till May..
Swissotel - 150 ++
Fairmont- 170 ++

comes with complimentary b'fast.

S/w, you still holding Feed card?

min,
i didn't get the feed card for this year. wanted to try other hotels .... maybe next year can get it again cos with #2, can do less travelling and must go for local hotel stays

the rainy weather was very conducive for sleeping last night =)

D,
yes, exactly the same info!

anyone stayed at bintan lagoon resort before? i've only tried nirwana and banyan tree. thinking maybe for my may hotel stay, can pop over to bintan instead.

s/w
one of the people I meet just went for a stay there...you have any specific questions to ask? I'll be meeting her today...

Oh she says there are more adults in the pool than children...she likes it there and would go again. That's from what I asked her the last time.

I've not been, but was thinking about it too

d,
i want a comparison of nirwana and bintan lagoon resort actually. want to find out which one has better rooms, pool(s) and food choices. best if she's stayed in both before.

D,
help me to ask in any case, abt the generic conditions of the room, pool and food choices.

reserved jodi picoult's "handle with care" at the national library. the book has finally arrived!!!!! my first time reserving a book from the library. costs only $1.55 - so much cheaper than if i were to get it from 2nd hand bookshop or as a new copy. can't wait to read it... hmm think i'll park kaizer's at my mum's place from dinner onwards, collect the book and read it overnight till sat morning, hahaaa sounds like a good plan.

Opps, I forgot...I'll see her again I'll ask her then. sorry...but she said she enjoyed it very much and will go back there again. I usually go to www.tripadvisor.com to read reviews...

Excellent plan. haha.

Anyway, you know my beef with the national library...while you might think it's cheap, I don't think there should be a charge at all.

But then, I read their mission statement, vision and all of that stuff and realise that the library is a business here so it's treated like so. The idealistic vision of the NYPL "equal opportunity", "free and open access", "everyone's university", etc etc.

If there's one thing I have to love about the City, it'll be the library. It is there where I truly enjoyed myself, felt valued as a person and didn't feel like and wasn't reminded that I was an alien. Read it for yourself (http://www.nypl.org/pr/mission.cfm) made me shed a tear. :p

d,
i think a lot of april mummies must be busy with their todds/new babies nowadays, cos the thread's just left with me and you on most days.

anyway, kaizer coughed his i'm-going-to-puke type of cough in the bath just now. so we reduced his night milk intake from 300 to 200ml and fed him zaditen. have a feeling he might puke by 11pm still ... hmm dunno if he ate something wrong at dinner cos he was fiddling with ice cream that came with choc sauce and marshmellows at dinner just now.

oh, i love visiting libraries when i'm overseas. sounds like a nerd, hahaa. i haven't been to the new york public library before though. from the way you rave about it, must be super nice ... my fav library from my overseas trips so far is a teeny weeny library in macclesfield, UK. it's a teeny weeny town that houses a lot of families of the man u players. have fond memories of that library because i visited it everyday for a week when my husband had an attachment there, and finished my first ever jodi picoult book (my sister's keeper) there! still remembered that i cried non stop after reading the ending of the book.

D, unfortunately the 'public service' here are mostly 'profit-oriented' - that includes our so-called public housing, public transport and postal service! totally suxs big time! i have so much to gripe about them honestly! :p

i think most april mummies just read the thread but dun actively post (unless a topic of interest comes along) - i'm one of them! haha...

d,
bintan lagoon resort has very bad reviews on tripadvisor ... okay now i have to look for other places to stay.

michele,
i shan't gripe abt public service on a forum, haahaa since i'm a "public servant" myself!

S/w...

I am one of the guilty ones too! ahhahah. but cos i m at my dad's on weekdays, connection can be bad sometimes so i can't even log on at times!

Michele,

For public tpt, i actually find Singapore's much better than alot of other countries such as OZ and US in terms of efficiency and even the fares! Its really so much more convenient to get ard here using public tpt and so much cheaper too. Our postal service is also better in terms of efficiency and cost too.

Hmmm..i sound so pro-Singapore...i'm not actually! ;p

i'm here too! lurking ard

*mich*
that time you posted the kids fitness by AMore.. so hv you went for trial with claire?
can't seem to find any thing abt kid fitness in Amore website itself

Min,
we had a walkaround the place...the kid's fitness if for children 4 and up (or something like that) for 18 months and up, they have a playroom but no conducted lessons. It's half glass windows right next to the gym, so you could see your child (if you wanted to) and they allow one maid/child.

Cindy,
Apart from weekend maintenance works I think the NY subway and buses are better. Okay lah...subway might be worse (smelly, dirty, etc) but when it's good, it's really good. As for buses (which I take a lot), it's definitely way WAY better than here. They have a proper schedule and more or less keep to it. The bus stops are every other block (for local) and of course, there's always "express". The bus drivers are mostly nicer too.

When I was there, it was $2/ride with one transfer, any distance (but for $10 you get 6 rides). But we get the season pass which was $76 (monthly unlimited, there's also weekly unlimited)...cheaper than what my hb would spend here if he took the train to work all the time.

s/w
the buildings itself (I've never been to the main only the braches) are nothing to shout about, I like the service
especially online ones. Oh, another thing I like is they have children reading sessions in the day time...unlike there, it's at 7/8pm (err...shouldn't the child be sleeping?)

sandwich: but i am not can i complain? we are waiting to for someone to announce something, but instead of doing wat's impt, they are busy scurrying ard helping some pple ... they shd get their priorities rt, already delayed for close to a month but still no action. v frustrating.

see... so many 'lurkers' like me around! :p

for the transport here... i do not think its expensive but there are too many 'problems' with it e.g. doesn't keep to schedule, aircon not cold/too cold. i still at the end of the day, it is PUBLIC transport which is essentially a very basic 'service' provided for the citizens so really, we shouldn't always be talking about raising fares when they are clearly profit making in the first place. if overseas, transport service is expensive, its mostly because labour cost is high! here, we are getting more and more 'foreign talent' driving our public transport...

i had no issues with OZ's public transport when i was studying there - they always kept to the timing (indicated on the display board) and not that expensive. of course, some buses don't run that frequently and we can't quite blame them since the place is SO huge, it just doesn't make sense to keep running buses on the same kind of frequency that we expect here plus something else usually makes up for that - like ferry or train service availability.

yes, i suppose our postal service is quite efficient in terms of delivery and all but ever stand in line waiting for your turn?? pple do all kinda transaction there e.g. pay bills, buy insurance, top up their electricity token, buy handphones, remit money, etc etc... singpost get 'paid' for all these services whereas they earn practically nothing for the POSTAL service that they are named for! i think they shd have one or two dedicated counters for POSTAL service and if there's no one in that queue, then the staff can serve other customers who are there for other needs, otherwise call themselves something else - not post office!!

s/w
come to think of it...how long do you have the book on loan for? If you're done, can pass to me on the 2nd? I'll return it for you.

d,
sure, i'll check with the library when i have to return the book (when i pick it up later). i've gotta pass you J's spades and pail when i next
meet you too!

michele,
will you be joining us for next week's lunch? want to ask if you still have extra first teeth finger brushes, forgot to ask you to bring during the sentosa meetup.

s/w,

sure! It's usually a 3 week loan...but what do I know.

Ya, when J doesn't want the toothbrush, I used the finger brush and he was okay with it...but now he's trying the toothbrush again...but who knows. This is one fickle boy.

d,
brushing teeth is a strange affair in my family. we brush in front of him, but he's not too inclined to play with his toothbrush recently. so not i'll finger brush for him (he can be sitting down, lying down, inside a cab etc) and then get him to drink water thereafter to get the toothpaste taste out from his mouth. i don't get him to rinse cos for some reason he hates it. maybe reintroduce rinsing at a later stage.

on top of the rudimentary finger brush, i've started flossing his teeth since two weeks ago(using the floss picks from watsons/guardian). have flossed out a big piece of chix meat before.

Pretty bunny: No prob...just sms me when the things arrived...either I go pick it up or I would pm u my address & u post to me...

d,
just finished "handle with care" after one day's marathon reading. it's yours next weekend (you can keep it till its due 3 weeks from 24 apr). i like this so much better than the previous two she published in 08 and 07, going to google some of the stuff that she's written in the book now ...

Morning mummies...missed reading books nowadays...just finished reading "Holy Cow!"...was reading "The devil wears prada" but lent it to my cousin...

S/w & D: how do u all manage to read in between taking care of bb?? Peifu peifu...

to all,
morning! it's a short week. can't wait till we meet and pig out on saturday!

catherine,
no, i don't take care of kaizer at all when he's at my mum's place. she has a own way of taking care which involves watching tv and very little boundaries. so i just hands off and read, and let her do whatever she wants. for this weekend i only interfered a few times when he threw things on the floor, watched tv for too long, refused to nap.

Cat,

I only can read when Jesse is in his crib (nap or sleep). Even then, when my HB comes home, I try to give him (attention) the first 2 hours then start reading...so I don't progress very much in the day. But sometimes I read till the wee hours of the morning.

Because it's so hard to find time to read, I have to pick and choose my books lor... *sigh*

Epi-C Sect,

D: I dun go thru it myself but I read from apr09 mummies that basically, u are awake when they operate on u...so u can see & hear everything (incl. stupid docs' jokes) Think everything the same as c sect except maybe, u would not be able to move yr legs as it would be numb.