(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

april babies,
happy birthday to all of you! stay happy and healthy!

april mummies,
two years have passed in a flash. i think we'll have at least twenty years ahead of us before we can be 'absolved' of our motherly responsibilties ... but meanwhile, let's enjoy the little ones before they grow up too fast.

Time really flies...can still remember when I 1st came into this forum to ask for help about ebm....haha...now is #2's turn...

A very HAPPY BIRTHDAY to all April babeeeeees!!!
may every baby be happy and healthy always!

It's a milestone for all the babees and the mummies!

ok we survived the first nite without the maid, just that V insisted that we sleep in her bedroom instead of our bedroom ... maybe will try over the next few days lah ... I am so sleepy now ... V squeeze with me on the single mattress so have to wake up to check on her (i fell asleep before she did - she was trying to disturb us but i was so sleepy i just ignore her)

hey mummies: Just to share somtthing from straits times 31Mar. NWA having promotion to Tokyo from $478. Price incl fuel surcharge n taxes and tic is round trip coach-class. Must have 2 passengers travelling together and muct book by 22Apr, but must leave sing before may27.
Too bad for me cannot take up offer cos only can leave during jun

Kate: I saw ... i was so heart pain ... cuz i can only travel before end of april but i can't cuz peak period at work (can take leave maybe in late may/ early june) ... hopefully they have this kind of deal soon!!!

oh, forgot to add that JAL tic promo coming up soon so keep a lookout if you are thinking of visiting Japan ya. We were sourcing for tics and one tour agency lady told us bout it, and she said JAL promo usually quite attractive plus they fly direct and have night and morning flight.

bunnie: so heart pain hor!?! I was like reading w SUCH enthu until the last part about departure dates...
Hmm, me no hope le cos hubbie a teachr so diedie must wait till Jun hols

But maybe you still can work something out with your boss with some pregnancy te4 quan2? Heehee...

blueroti: good for you!!! Hurrie visit the nwa website ba
One thing tho. Even tho nwa fly direct to Japan, they are actually on transit from the states, so the departure time in singapore is very early, like 5/6a.m.

Not so "alexis-friendly" but can save a great deal...

kate,
i took the NWA flight 7years ago, its darn early!
we were heading to Hawaii when we stop over at Narita :p
btw, happy bday to D. hey, 1 of this day when i take the MRT home, can i meet u at bishan ?

oh, jut saw another catch. must leave japan by 1Jun.

Kaexin: ya, so earlie... but save a great deal with this promo. I'm keeping my eyes on jal promo. W a child, I much prefer a night direct flight!

hi kate!

thanks! i've also checked it out and departure is at 6am! and for the arrival back in s'pore, it'll be 1.30am! super super early! but it's really soooooooo cheap! so tempted!
think i'll also wait for the jal promo.

Why need helium???

Anyone have lobang for birthday party goodie bags?? Mal been benefiting from his classmates' birthday. So far, a month ago was MacDonalds', then 2 weeks ago is lotsa titbits wrapped in goodie bags. Yesterday got Mickey Mouse stationary cum titbits goodie bag....

cat
for party bags for D's GUG.. i packed 1 each of: party eye mask, whistle, balloon, want want cracker, mashmellow, want want milk candy, pack gummy sweet, mini box of raisin, lollipop.

can see that tidbits was bulk of the pack.. got my non-food stuffs from SKP

kaexin
congrats! think whistle exercise is a part of helping them to talk.

though D still can't say long sentence but he been talking in foreign language or babbling in long sentences which can be quite irritating to the ears.

past few days he been able to tell us things like "Daddy Bath" or "Daddy where" "daddy work" "mummy shirt"

now hv to guide he to speak in proper lingo

Min, Kaexin

Yeah, Raphael has been trying to speak also like "mama bird where" "Bird fly" "mama bao bao" "mama xie" He speak more chinese and hainanese.
He too luvs to blow whistle.

Min/kaexin,
Jayden know how to blow whistle quite sometime back but
his speech still quite slow.

Rina,
Raphael so smart know how to speak hainanese.
I have not speak hainanese for ages, don't even
mention how to teach my boy.

dlim
me oso teach jboy some teochew sometimes. Now we asked him, 'le si si mi nan' (what dialect are u), he will say' teochew nan'. keke. Now trying 1-10 in teochew. So far he oni goes up to 4 on his own. Parroting me, he can complete 1-10.

It's all for fun la .. we are not pressing him to know his dialect actually

Dlim,

He can only say hot in hainanese. But when u teach him 1-10 in hainanese, he can recite together lah. He's still picking up his speech.
I can teach jayden hainanese but mine also not perfect cos seldom get the chance to speak.

zac also speaks some teochew , coz my parents onli know how to speak teochew .
when he attends chinese lesson at GUG , he gv a blur look coz he doesnt understand at all .

other than First Teeth toothpaste.. other recommendation for toothpaste bcoz can no longer buy that on Drugstore oredi

btw.. what would you do if your child hit your face although he does it for fun?
D can be so naughty but then i talked, spanked.. etc etc.. but he does not listen and seem like he only like to hit my face and no one else!!!

Min,

How come Drugstore doesn't sell First Teeth toothpaste already? U can try iherb if I remember the name correctly

Min,

Jesse used to "slap" my mouth when he was a little baby in the Bjorn. At first I didn't know what it meant and my mom told me to "hit" his mouth back. There was one time, we were at a wedding lunch, and he kept doing that and then started biting really hard on my shoulder. I got really angry with him and hit is mouth (not that hard but not that soft either). After a few minutes it occurred to me that I had missed his feed by 2 hours!
Bad mother.

Anyway, he was about 8 months old then and he hasn't done it since. But whenever he does something physically undesirable to me, I'll catch him immediately, squat down, look at him straight in the eye fiercely and say, "No XX. That hurts mama/Mama pain pain". I think it takes a few tries but works eventually. He used to kick me...and I put him in the naughty corner for about a month until it stopped. He still attempts to, ocassionally, but I tell him if he kicks me he goes to the naughty corner and he stops.

min,
kaizer bullies my mum by hitting her and even biting her when we are not around. i was damn shocked to hear that cos he doesn't do that with us. he literally turns into a different person under my parent's charge. to my mum, he's just "playing", but this is highly intolerable to us. so for this week, we've been telling him that when it's the weekend he can't hit and bite my mum.

d,
share with you a frivolous episode abt squatting. whenever i squat down to talk to him, he will follow me and squat down too, making himself even shorter to talk to. this morning i told him a convulated story. told him that i am a lot taller than him. i squat so that i can be the same height as him, and when i squat, he doesn't need to do the same. i think he must have understood me, cos subsequently when i squatted (tried a few times), he didn't follow already.

Good morning mummies

Is Friday!!!!
Rec'd this email from my gal frez:

媽媽,媳婦,女兒的差別

1.媳婦不想煮飯是懶惰,女兒偶而才煮個一餐就是貼心。

2.媳婦買的東西很難吃,女兒買的全部都'喔伊細'。

3.媳婦出門旅遊是浪 費錢,女兒出門旅遊是放輕鬆。

4.媳婦沒事不要常回娘家,女兒沒事也要常回來娘家才行。

5.媳婦說經濟差回的話是:[活該妳不知節約!],女兒說經濟差回 的話是:「女婿的能力太差。」

6.媳婦上班回來家事要包辦,女兒上班回來等吃補品。

7.媳婦回嘴是大逆不道,女兒回嘴是正義秉然。

8.媳婦不會做的事要學 著做! ,女兒不會做的事就不用做。

9.媳婦去玩沒帶老的是不孝,女兒去完只帶紀念品回來就好乖。

10.媳婦買的用品怎麼用都不順手,女兒買的用品怎麼用都好用。

11.媳婦賺的錢是夫家所共有,要幫忙擔家計.女兒賺的錢都該是個人私人所得.夫家不得過問。當然囉:兒子的薪水不該交給媳婦處理,女婿的薪水最好是全部 都交給女兒任意使用。

12.媳婦的孩子不乖是媽媽沒教好,女兒的孩子不乖是是孫子調皮惹媽媽生氣。

13.媳婦的老公'惜某'是某奴,女兒的老公'惜某'是 大丈夫。

14.媳婦出嫁最好跟娘家撇乾淨一點,女兒出嫁切不可忘了生身父母。

如果妳碰到好的婆婆&媳婦,要懂得珍惜喔這是人的自私媳婦跟女兒.就 是這麼不同..

其實~並不是每個婆婆&媽媽,媳婦&女兒都這樣!!如果你碰到一位好婆婆&好媳婦~記得要珍惜 喔!

****************************************************************'

媽 媽&婆婆的差別':

1.頂媽媽的嘴,媽媽一下子就忘了;頂婆婆的嘴,一輩子牢記在心。

2.媽媽切水果給妳吃,順其自然.;妳切水果給婆婆吃,理所 當然。

3.肚子餓了,媽媽煮三餐給妳吃,很自然;婆婆煮三餐給妳吃,很不孝。

4.吃飯時間,忘了叫媽媽吃飯,沒事;忘了叫婆婆吃飯,沒禮貌。

5.媽媽在 忙,妳沒幫忙,沒怎樣;婆婆在忙,妳沒幫忙皮在癢。

6.在媽家,出門辦事.,不必趕回家,只等吃飯;在婆家,出門辦事,趕回家...煮飯。

7.媽媽訓話, 左耳進右耳出;婆婆訓話,心理不以為然也要回答…是..是..

8.出外旅遊沒帶媽媽,沒人說妳不孝;但沒帶婆婆,可有人說妳不孝了。

9.可以在媽媽面前說 妳先生的不是,但千萬別在妳婆婆面前抱怨妳先生的不對。

10.在媽媽面前,偷懶心安理得;在婆婆面前,這個'懶'字說不得,更別說付諸行動。

11.在家, 有好吃好喝的,媽媽捨不得吃,留給妳;但在婆家,是妳要留給別人(順序是:公婆,老公,孩子,有剩才輪到妳)

12.妳的悲,妳的喜,媽媽很在乎,但婆婆… 這個就很難評估...。

13.在媽媽面前跺腳,是撒嬌;在婆婆面前跺腳,是大逆不 道

以下是位不署名的網友看了上面2篇文章後有感而發寫的:'婆婆對待 女兒和媳婦的差別':

1、女兒婚後住娘家,天經地義。媳婦婚後住娘家,天翻地覆。

2、女兒婚後生不生?她高興就好。媳婦婚後一定要生,且要生男生。

3、女 兒躲在房間,喔~她在忙。媳婦躲在房間,切~沒家教。

4、女兒ㄚ!女人不要進廚房。兒子ㄚ!要娶個會進廚房的女人。

5、女兒出嫁(附近)一定要有禮車迎 娶。娶媳婦(附近)用走的過來就好。

6、女婿ㄚ!不能讓我女兒騎車喔!媳婦ㄚ!妳要自己騎車啦!

7、女兒ㄚ!女人要對自己好,想買什麼就去買。媳婦ㄚ!不 要亂花錢。

8、女兒工作辛苦,老娘要幫她煮飯洗衣。媳婦工作輕鬆,家事給她全包了。

9、過年過節女兒可以不回夫家拜拜。但要求媳婦一定要回來拜拜。

10、 女兒住院心疼憂心,每天「雞湯」伺候。媳婦住院連根「雞毛」都沒有。

Leo...Mich...translation!

S/W

Hehe...yup...it's quite funny. One Sunday School teacher was teaching the kids to sing a song with actions. So they were all standing and halfway through she knelt down, thinking it would be easier for the kids to see her instead of having them look up all the time. Guess what! The kids all knelt down as well!

As for Jesse...whenever I wash his butt, I get him to squat and he wants to to squat too. He'll say, "Mama also squat". *sigh*

Mich,

Haha...should print it out and give it to my MIL and ask her to read to me! hahahaha

Seriously lor...she hasn't seen us since last Sunday and yesterday the first thing she said when we went to her place is (in Chinese), "why is he wearing that shoe?" (It happens to be my favourite pair for him now.) Feeling irriated, I said, "because it's very nice". I know I shouldn't talk back but aiyoh...whenever I bring J to see them, it's either, why is he wearing that singlet (he should wear something with sleeves or he'll catch a cold. err...you don't turn on the a/c and it's hot...how to catch cold? Good thing she doesn't know he's dressed the same sleeveless way at home with the a/c on!) or why you never cut his nails (they've stopped this one already since I kept telling them, "why don't you do it? I don't think it's long" then they'll say, "aiyoh, very hard to cut for him...he don't like." duh.) or why this or why that. Always criticizing. Most of the time I don't talk back lah...but when I'm pms-ing...my brain shuts down.

But it's also a good thing that I'm know to get catty during a particular moon-phase. So they also just roll their eyes and lalala. That's why still more or less get along... *meow*

rina, don't think that qualifies as a story!

leo, i posted that on my facebook - to share with all my other gal friends who are daughters/dils!

hi kate
yes, will bring stroller coz' will be quite "xiong" to carry our kid all the time. japan is pretty baby frenly - u can leave your stroller outside the shop and no one will take it. most of the subway stations (the main ones) have lifts and escalators so it's not a problem. but there are some smaller stations that only have stairs so can be quite "xiong" to carry stroller up and down.

blueroti, not so surprising lah... have heard so many horror stories like that and that's why i'll never leave my child(ren) to be cared for by maids!

yup, never!

Yesterday I was at the playground at my in-law's place with MIL and Jesse. There was this other boy there with his maid (a very big maid, bigger than me!). The maid was talking on her hp the whole time very very loudly and at one point, she even just set on the steps of the slide blocking the way so no one could go up. Until I tapped her on the shoulder and told her to move.

Anyway, the boy was very naughty and doing very dangerous things and the maid just ignore. Now, the boy was "acting up" because he wanted attention.

At first he was a little rough on Jesse and wanted to push Jesse down the slide. The hormonal-mother in me, immediately stepped in and told him to play nice. He was shocked that I would "scold" him...didn't scold lah, but very firm voice and big eyes. My MIL scared wanted to take Jesse away from the playground but Jesse still wanted to play...and honestly, I know Jesse thinks it's fun to play with "kor kor" (about 4 - 5 years old). He still doesn't know when he's bullied *sigh*

MIL told me I shouldn't scold other ppl's children and I told her, if the caretakers are concerned, they should step in and watch their charges more closely. If they can't be bother, they obviously wouldn't care if I told their kids off.

Anyway, we continued playing at the playground and the boy continued to try to get our attention by bad behaviour and dangerous stunts. Finally, I engaged him in conversation (since MIL so protective over J) and he was quite pleasant to talk to.

Went to play with J and the boy played on one of those rocking rides (usually two in any playground). J saw him playing and wanted the one he was sitting on...told him, "no" and directed him to the other. When we went to the other, the boy shouted, "okay okay, I come off already"...

When J went on the slides again, he of course followed but this time, waited for J to get off before going down. And this time, J naughty boy, wanted to climb up the slide!

Honestly, I just felt sorry for the kid and of course, I just didn't like the maid. My MIL said, "cannot scold other people's children". I said, "if they don't have time to look after, then why bother having them?"

Okay lah...I know it's not nice to say that lah...everyone have their own reasons and etc. But seeing how attention deprived the kid was was just really irksome - maids. *sigh* Anyway, it's not a cultural thing. It was like that with nannies (they don't do housework, just look after kids) and the playground in US also. I remember telling HB once, "I'm not going to pay someone to mistreat my kid."

Phew. Someone's a little fiesty today!