lines:
think i read in the development chart too. yet to try. will try tomr

JK confused letter 'O' and zero.
he will still point zero and say 'O'!

Leo,

YES....relax...

J cannot catch any thing...cannot draw or colour anything, cannot kick or throw anything in a specific direction

He does say, "mama cannot touch air con because mama too short. Jesse also too short cannot touch air con. Want to touch air con, ask dada." Or, "Louis*, pick a few books, ask mama read". *Louis is his toy race car driver.

He doesn't use "a", "to" and such much...or at all. Very broken english...quite like mine.

er, i v proud my gal can say "aeroplane" but she cannot say sentences :p

when we try to get her to say "may i have xxxx please" she will go "i xxxx please" (when we break the sentence into "may i" "have xxxx" "please")

D/Leo/Min
Haiz...my boy should be the number last in speech here lar...still nothing..ZZzzzzzzz

Blueroti
JG new term only start next week? Actually I am not quite sure.

By the way, my boy also attended Busy Buddies classes at Great World City before...you can also consider as one of the options. But it's solely English only...no billingual classes.

d,
i think adults who don't like to talk much won't even be as descriptive as J. he's a chatterbox and will probably be good at descriptive compos in future =)

bunnie,
if i ask him to say "may i have xxxx please"? the reply will be an economical "please", hahaaa.

michele and catherine,
did you manage to get good buys yesterday after i've left? so excited when i went home. we've read one new book at milk time yesterday, one new book at bath time yesterday and one new book on the way to school today. the rest will reserve and show it to him later lest i reveal all and there's no novelty. he likes the "mei mei" book. we read it more than 5 times yesterday, and he asked for it this morning on the way to school!

SD,
dun say that leh. handsome Jonas sure hv something outshine the rest

Diane,
me gave up on aeroplane le...now trying airplane.
JK only stretch up his arms whenever he sees aeroplane and "Air...." that it.

halo springdance
actually, i also not sure but i remember vaguely they have a break some time and i just assume it's this week since it's the school hols. must go back and check. btw, when i told hubby about you and jonas, he said "oh, that handsome boy!" - 1st time he actually said a boy is handsome! coz' usually it's juz "cute"! haha.

actually kidzloft is also only English class but thought if it's fun then we'll give it a try. is busy buddies good?

Blueroti,

JG's new term starts next week. If you didn't tell them you want to stop at WK5, they will assume that you are continuing this term. I think if you don't want to con't, they will keep the deposit leh.

Leo
Thanks for the encouraging words.. I just hope he won't slack too far from his peers when he goes to school in future. Else I'll be really worried. :p

Blueroti
Thank your hubby for me ya...hehe..let him know that in fact I think that Alexis is really the pretty one.

I find the Busy Buddies classes not too bad lar..also quite fun. Although they do not have skits, they do have puppet plays. The classes run under the centre call 'Grace Kids'.

Leo,
Jesse already started getting moles a few months back...

SpringD,
every child develops at his own pace. An early talker doesn't mean he'll be a lawyer, just as an early walker a sprinter. They'll all even out by the time they get to school.

s/w,
but like his dad, he only talks to me...very quiet in public.

leo , regarding the J+J , i watched taiwanese news , they recalled those fm USA . actualy what they hv on their shelves are MADE in malaysia , but to play safe , tey took those off their shelves ( fm what i see , the YELLOW + RED shampoo affected nia )
zac also suddenly has a mole on his armpit , he doesnt hv it at birth ...

cindy , OG sale shd be until this sunday . their sale doesnt last long . taka shd be until end march , not sure .

coold , yeah , i went ho chi minh on company trip . u want to go ?
the motorbikes there so plenty n scary .
other than that , i find shopping so-so , bkk is much better n plus i am a bkk regular , so i hv my regular hangouts lah , HCM i onli went once . if u go , can try the mekong sampan ride , i find it interesting . very different , but touristy !!!

micK , yeah dumex quite cheap ! got promo ah ?

cherryteq --> Congrats to ur lil princess Megan , hope u recover well !

Wah, cindy, really ah, ok i better go and study the terms n conditions. Think if we continue, i would like to change class, duno can or not.

Haha springdance, yeah, will tell him. M juz surprised by hubby's comments coz guys dun usually say anyone is handsome hahaha. Actually we signed up for gym class last year n alexis enjoyed herself tremendously during the first class. Subsequently, she was like so so only. M thinking of trying my gym at great world.

Leo
JK improving oredi.

D recently once said "Bye Bye Ants" and "A is Apple" and "Daddy work" after that nvr hear him repeat or say anything else longer.

he still can't catch ball but can kick ball.

still scribbling / doodling as i also nvr ask him to pratice to draw circle or line..
but can recognise all the shapes.

for words.. recently he said Pineapple and oRange.. and he say Airplane instead of Aeroplane all thanks to the Barney song

And i also never teach him ZERO. but he can recognise 'O'

S/w
expecting a GIRL?

D
Impresed with Jesse too! thats a long sentence for a 2yo!

Min,

JK can recognize few shapes but can't name them.

Mole:
o i c
is new to me. don't know hw many moles JK will hv. hahaha!

initially, i thot is a dirt, keep digging it and my hb??? he said is a "fly droppings" in hokkien. **faint**

Hi Leo,
my J also not forming sentences.. at best it's "sit sit down". But what's impt is he understands everything I say .. he just doesn't vocalise much.. yet.

Hi Min,
wah.. D can recognise all the shapes.. that's very impressive
.. my J long way to go.

Hi D,
Your J can eally talk.. and yes I notice he doesn't speak much in public... seems like a quiet boy.

Mrs Chia, Min,

Ya lor...so it's either he's doing what I say or I'm just imagining things from being at home with him for too long! hahah.

He's not afraid of strangers but he's very quiet...just like his dad.

He refuses to sing though, anywhere....I wonder why...he mouths the words when I sing but if I ask him to sing, he'll just give me an embarrassed smile.

Anyway, it's the weekend!

Have a great one!

D: Dun worry...same as my boy..whenever he's in the mood @ home, he would "talk" non-stop...but when he's outside, he's extremely "shy" (like real!)

caicai
yes. Gg. hubby's frequent flyer miles expiring and so happen his colleague gg. So we follow. I m only looking forward to travelling to Cambodia for Angkor wat actually.

re speech
jboy's fav 'sentence' is 'mummy bao bao pls'. Btw mummies, wat do u all think of speaking multi languages? I am using chapalang languages on jboy .. do you tink i shld stop?

coold,
I don't speak proper english with Jesse...I use singlish quite often. And even when I don't use singlish, I realise that I cut out all my articles when I talk to him - probably why he doesn't use them either. He does speak mandarin with my in-laws though and my mom speaks hokkien with him (which he finds extremely amusing).

For Jesse, what I want, is for him to be confident in expressing his ideas - to get his main point across. I don't entertain him when he's whining or shouting or babbling. I'll look right at him and say, "please speak clearly, mummy does not understand you." or "Mama, does not understand whining, please speak slowly/clearly/softly..."

From observation, the child will end up speaking like the person who looks after him most (mannerisms and all). It's quite cute lah, but it is also a shocking reflection...e.g. "CANNOT SHOUT!".
I'm not sure if he sees the irony in that.

Honestly, I don't know if it's "wrong" to speak a "rojak" language with our children. Will it impede the learning of proper English? Hmm...

Where language is concerned, all I can say is, I agree with MM when he says, English is far easier to learn than Mandarin. I only spoke English growing up, till now, I can't really speak Mandarin (though I pass AO). My HB only spoke Hokkien(!) growing up, by primary 6, he had read Lord of the Rings.

D recognise the shapes actually all thanks to Barney and Brainy Baby VCD which i always play.

but a mummy in my GUG class advise me to cut down on TV time for D

She cut down on TV for her daughter by not letting her watch fm MOn-Thurs and she claimed that it actually helped and now her daughter will sit through during meal time

i cut down a lil' for D but i then its was difficult bcoz he was used to watching telly whilst i cooked!

cat
my D also talk non-proper words at home to himself. and he can talk non-stop!!
think if he can really talk, i gonna shut my ears!

and he can say funny things like "apache, armani, mina, mana.."
i wonder if he is a malay in previous life

Min: The best part is that the grandparents somehow "forgot" how to talk in front of Mal...e.g. my dad always talk garbbish (Mitsibushi, manamana, etc) to Mal & Mal imitates lor....*sigh* can scold my own dad, right....

cat
its normal that Gramps always don't talk in proper sentences.

Leo
where did you get briefs for JK? fm KP?

so if start toilet training.. must use briefs? cannot just let them wear shorts?

min,
i dunno the gender yet. i think will only know sometime in may --> 5 months. i just started reading the book cos it'll introduce the idea of a younger sibling. the book's nicely written, but the quality is lousy (i hope it's not because it's a singapore product). after repeated flipping and reading since thursday, one page was falling off. this is the first time we had a falling off page. anyway, i pre-emptively taped a lot of pages together since i know kaizer really likes the book.

oh realise din answer ur 2nd doubt:
for start and u dun1 to clear the "spill" n worry D might slip and fall....
u wanna to try let D wears brief w/nappy?
he can feel the damp too.
that is how i start w/JK for about 2 weeks.

Babymall: mummies, anyone going to buy stuff online from babymall?

THinking of getting some for the one in my tummy. One of my colleagues will pass me some hand me downs, but not yet, so I tot it would be good to get some basic fist.

Min,
briefs better, cos d seam of the shorts would 'cut' unto their p. ash dun like tat. u can buy briefs during JL sales or from OG. Ash likes his Monday to Sunday briefs and those batman and spiderman kind so it kind of motivated him in toilet training then.

gacc/leo
thanks will go down to take a look. do the briefs comes in sizes or by their age?

and erm.. do i need to place their penis facing up (like how man wear their briefs) or juz let it face down?
hahaha.. i find it so funny asking this qn!!!

aiya.. if only the Father can take over this toilet training duties!

Mummies..
issit normal for them to fall down quite often?

think D walks abit too fast and tend to lose his balance and trip a couple times oredi.
so worried he may juz sprained his ankle! or damage his knee cap

Hey Min, D
i've signed up with kidsloft! went for the trial class last Sat. and i feel that one of the plus points is that lavina has a good voice and i really enjoyed the story telling session. the music lesson was quite fun too - my girl enjoyed herself! and it's a small class, so that helps too. n diane's girl, baby V, seems to really like the class! she was smiling quite alot and was very responsive in class. but of coz it's not as sophisticated as JG eg.the materials used for the art&craft class. and the place is really out of the way. we were still lost despite reading the directions listed on the kidsloft website and using a GPS! the classroom is much smaller than JG's. best to go for a trial class and see if you like it. for us, it's only the 1st lesson so it may not be a good gauge.

blueroti,
thanks for the review...the direction is just to drive pass Turf City, right?

Min,
at one point, Jesse was falling quite a bit too (esp when he ran down a ramp). We kept changing the shoes he wore...anyway, I think it gets better. If D is losing his balance all the time (w or w/o shoes), can get his ears checked.

Hi Min
Here's the directions posted on the Kidsloft website:

Drive or Walk past Turf City. Go past SPORTY JOE.
Instead of turning right to Giant Supermarket carpark…go
towards the driving range and the field.
You will see a sign that says 192 Turf Club Road.
Remember …go around the HUGE black & white house as Kids’ Loft is located at the back of the compound.

you coming for trial class this Sat?

min,
k falls down quite often, and she really likes to run. i am also afarid that she will fall n scrap her knees.
true enuf, fell down on sunday after dinner. luckily scratches only, but when i use the alcohol swipe, she will grim.
she funny gal, dunno when she will cry bcoz of pain.
yesterday, we were at KK for our review, doc ask for blood test to be done. went down to the lab, she din even cry, when then lancet prick on her finger. she can even watch the lab tech doing her job.

hey coold
i found a list of restaurants that my fren emailed me 2 years ago for HCM. do you want the list? it's not very long and duno if it's outdated. If you want, PM me so that i can email you.
if you're into bags, u may want to chk out ipa nima. it is a vietnamese brand but it's not that cheap. it's cheaper to buy it there than in s'pore. here's the website in case you want to chk it out - http://www.ipa-nima.com/site.htm

They've a boutique in the New World Hotel - think the hotel is quite ok. the boutique is at
Ground Floor, 76 Le Lai St. District 1, HCMC, Vietnam, T. +84 8 824 3652 / F. +84 8 515 3980

Main HCMC retail shop:
85 Pasteur St. District 1, HCMC, Vietnam, T. +84 8 824 2701 / F. +84 8 515 3980