(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

D
haha .. typical sporean mah. earthquakes usually does not come to our mind. But since it's like 3am at nite, n probably watch too much horror movie.

caicai
i oni tink if earthquake, hide under e table :p

Sandwich: I didn't kena the jam cuz I left close to 8 pm and I went by the Clementi way as I have to pick my hubby first.

Spooky: usually i not bothered. Where I used to work (Various places) my colleagues have kena things before, I have heard things before but I usually dun chup. Hotel rooms I also no problem, only that 2 times I didn't have a good feeling. That dream was the first in all my hotel stays :p

About that ex boss of mine, his wife got it even worse. Apparently he can shower in the bathroom in the hotel no problem, but when she does, the lights will flicker non-stop. So in the end, he has to sit in side the tiolet when his wife is showering! Dunno he chee ko or not, but some people do attract these things lor.

Anyway I sent V for 2 jabs today at her PD and the PD was telling me this very sad story. He just happen to be asking his assistant to dig out a death cert for him and I was surprised because PD usually don't do that. He told me that his good friend's wife uterus ruptured when the cervix was dilated to 9cm. By the time he arrived, the baby was already 1/2 out of the womb. He managed to bring back the heartbeat, but the baby died 3 days later. Being the KPO me, I asked why the uterus erupted. Well, it only confirmed my decision to go for C section. The mummy had a previous C section, but they wanted to try natural this time. The chances of it happening is 0.02%. It's just so sad lor =( I kiss kiss my gal gal later cuz I can't imagine to lose a child when it's due for delivery. just so sad =(

Possibility of VBAC births are significantly reduced if we hv 1st /2nd C-section .

if 2nd c , 3rd one , doc wun ask us to try natural . coz chances of womb being rupture will increase .

worse case , is death of both mom n child .
or mom's womb suffered traumatic injury n chances of conceiving will be reduced...

hey diane

this is so sad...my fren managed a natural delivery for her 2nd kid even tho she had C-sec for her 1st kid. it must be so traumatising for the parents, especially the mom...

dlim,
just sent you a mail on your yahoo account, please check =)

bunnie,
the case sounds very very sad ...

michele,
good that you had a chance to opt. in the case of my female boss (gave birth in jan 07), she was repeatedly "persuaded" by her gyn to have a c-section. dunno whether eventually she relented, think i'll ask her abt her birthing story when i eventually break the news of my pregnancy to her. haven't decided when to do so though.

s/w - i think it depends a lot on the DR you choose ; i know many OBs are pro c-sec coz of the 'extra' income and less hassle (births are normally scheduled so they can plan to assist as many births as possible.

unless there's a very valid reason, i won't even consider c-sec!

michele
mine was opp. He ans all my quest, except when i ask him if i shld consider c-section, he ignore me. keke. But i m greatful now dat i tink back

michele,
I was asking around and if you go for the older generation drs, they'll be more pro natural.

s/w
I guess the politically correct latest is the 13th week? At least can say, was waiting for 1st tri to be over first...and you want to say it before it shows, right? Depends on your boss also lah...

michele,
oh, forgot to tell you...better take care of your back, someone I know who's pregnant also have backache and now told not to put on anymore weight (due in june) cos dr suspect possible slip disc or something.

Long story short, take extra care! Would be tragic if have to diet!

u know what? i'll be happy if i have to diet! now hb forbids me from skipping meals even when i have no appetite to eat! i cannot bear putting on weight!

haha...then next gyn visit ask Dr if it's safe to put on weight since you have back problem :p

I guess, "to solve the problem", eat 5 - 6 small meals a day lor...so you don't put on weight and your HB is happy. 1 apple = 1 meal; 1 sandwich = 1 meal; 3 - 5 biscuits = 1 meal...1 salad = 1 meal; 1 cup of yogurt = 1 meal.

caicai,
my EDD is between 23-29 Sep 09

d,
i think i'll let her know either next week (week 12) or the week after (week 13). for my first pregnancy, i started showing when i was abt 4-5months. but this time might show a bit earlier, as my stomach's not as taut as before + i'm eating like a pig. hahaa. i think i need to exercise some restraint on my dietary habits - it's costing me a lot of money!

s/w,
it's normal to show earlier for second child since the uterus has now been stretched (for some of us, it has never been the same again. Haha). but ya, that's the only "politically correct" latest date I can think of...

my obgyn ask me to try natural for #1, but u all no i had induced HBP, so I didn't want to consider that. I dun to try half way then sorry emergency C-sec ... then i dui si ... make my HBP go up and then still must spend extra $$$. anyway I admit, I'm a coward, I dun dare to endure labour pains!

sandwich: i told my boss as early as 8 weeks since I was having "complications" and I tot it was best to pre-empt her.

to date, think only gained 2kg for my pregnancy. only today v v v hungry - ate 3 packs of biscuits (3 X 4!) still starving so in the end went to eat lunch at 11:50am. cannot tahan. i had tum yum soup! *yumm* ok back to the grind. so stressed when to buy pepperidge chunky cookies to relieve some of my stress :p

pretty_bunnie, like u - i hardly put on weight : in fact, in my 1st trimester, i weighed lighter with each appt! i think till now, i put on about 1kg and that's because my hb has been 'force-feeding' me

michele and bunniette,
i've gained 1.5kg so far. i think it's quite an okay weight gain, since i really do eat like a pig nowadays. went for a couple of buffets last month. going to a jap buffet this saturday!

but i am quite sure that i will not gain as much weight as the first pregnancy (abt 17kg) because my daily milk intake is abt half that of my first pregnancy. had some milk fetish then. would drink 500ml of milk in the morning before my breakfast proper. and then drink another 1l of soyabean milk in the evening as my dinner during night classes. throughout the day, if i felt like it, i would devour 250ml packs.

d,
my mil prob shares a lot of the sentiments in the article. she tried for one week to come over to our place in the evening to cook and feed kaizer (she teaches 3-4 tuition kids, otherwise she's free throughout the week). but arrangement just didnt pan out cos she's just not very family-lovely-dovey sort. she's happy with her socializing and karaoke life. so i'm happy for her also. i'm thinking that if i'm a grandma myself, i prob won't be a committed one like my mum =)

dear s/w, i think its perfectly ok for you to put on a good amt of weight coz you are so slim! i read that if we start off the pregnancy underweight, then shd put on more weight and vice versa.

my OB 'commented' that i started off this pregnancy about 5kg heavier than the previous so i hope to put on abt 6 - 7kg only (as i put on less than 12kg 1st time round) which is about 1kg p/mth from the 2nd trimester!

michele,
i don't really mind gaining weight lah. just that i don't have a milk fetish this time round, so i won't be able to hit 17kg. i think 12kg is quite a good amount to gain =)

Min,
I dump mine in the washing machine and then air-dry.
It gets a little noisy during spin cycle but that's about it. Washed it at least 3 or 4 times already...still looking good.

s/w
I think my hb "sent" me that link because we are pretty much in that situation. My parents are quite hands-off. Last year, they came 3 times and tried to stay for two weeks each. Helped me watch him here and there for about two mornings, two afternoons and two evenings (when he's sleeping) then. This year, they've learnt their lesson and each stay is only one week and they are out most of the time, only making a point to be home (after he sleeps) on Tuesday evening so that we can attend Bible study.

My in laws are more helpful (since their in sg), until april they've agreed to help me twice a week from 3 - 6 so that I can go exercise. And they look after him on Sunday 3 - 6 also. My mil cooks and feeds him on those days and doesn't mind that but doesn't change diapers (until we bought pull-ups) and doesn't dare to put him to sleep. haha.

I guess at the heart of it is "expectations". Women tend to "expect" their mothers (nothing about mil) to be more involved...guess it's disappointing when it's not met but we all move on.

The article came about because nyt ran another article about how grandmas are so involved in taking care of their grandchildren, during their day, and couldn't make anything out of their jobs. They're hoping that by helping with grandchildren their daughters will at least have a career.

(and I guess that's my mom's stand. If I am a SAHM, she's not going to help.)

heh...I put on only 10-12kg during my pregnancy....and it's stayed with me since.

min, i put it in the washing machine on a gentle cycle and then air dry too - takes 2 - 3 days to dry though coz of the thick shoulder straps.

i've also probably washed it a couple of times already and still looking good too!

bunnie: Thanks for your tips! I wouldn't have known about the shinkansen packages to Kyoto and coach to Hakone. I'll definitely consider taking a coach to Hakone as day trip! Actually would have taken shinkansen had u not told me about faster coach serv. How long does it take to Kyoto? As you know, if the travelling time is too long, might not be suitable for a tod...

As for Disneyland, hubbie and I think we might skip this time round cos feel that there are so few rides suitable for lele therefore not worth spending $70+ perpax between hubbie and I.
Maybe next trip be:p

Blueroti: Yes, I'd love to hear more notes from you! TIA...

Kaexin: As I told bunnie, most prob skipping Disney. I heard friendstelling me tht Yokohama zoo v famous. Might visit. Another on my list is Hakone. Think maybe spend 2 days in Tokyo taking boat rides, bus sightseeing tours etc, then other days day trips or trvaling to other states

Hee hee...both my in-laws and parents are hands-off....none of them have taken care of Mal for more than an hour by theirselves.

My parents "declared" when I got married that they would never help me take care of my baby. My in-law wanted 2b "fair" as they have taken care of my bro-in-law kid until he's 3 yrs old. Therefore, they said they would but...*sigh* in the end, I hired baby-sitter lor....

min,
i've washed my ergo twice in the washing machine before. just dumped it in with my normal clothes and washed it as if it's a piece of clothing.

d,
your in laws sound very helpful. i think my mil can't change a diaper; i shall test her one of these days, hahaaa. actually my mum really likes to care for kaizer. but she's still young and she enjoys working, playing mahjong and shopping. so i don't want to deprive her of her other pleasures.

kate,
are you only planning to do only Tokyo! i actually prefers Kyoto beta! you can see so much thing if you consider Kyoto! coz can also go to hemeji, osaka castle, nara and even kyoto also got lots of places.
what you can do is you fly to kyoto, take the shins to tokyo! you can buy 1 way! then fly back from tokyo. how long you planning ?
sorry, havent got the chance to mail you yet as beem very bz as hubby working late and only me taking care of keira.
the buses are great to bring you around., i bought the whole day pass, so we take the bus to all the temples too!

ergo
so do you all put into wash bag first?
ok.. will put into wash mach.. otherwise i think i hv not clean it for sometime except using wet wipes to clean the strap

Kate: When we first travelled from Tokyo to Lake Kawaguchi (or Kawaguchi-ko), without kids hor, we took the odakyu pass:

http://www.odakyu.jp/english/freepass/index.html

specifically this one: http://www.odakyu.jp/english/freepass/fujihakone.html

To Hakone, train not an issue because it is very close to Tokyo.

You can compare the packages at JTB http://www.jtb-sunrisetours.jp/JTB.SunriseTours/FrontEnd/

U can book the tours direct at the taka outlet and it's MUCH faster. I tried online and it was hopeless.

I rem the difference between the fastest and the second fastest train to kyoto, the difference is only 20 min :p

Min,
I just throw it in as is...no bag.
If you have a delicate/gentle cycle, you can try that...but I think I use a normal/longer cycle (my usual is 30mins) because I don't wash it that often. It's hardy...just noisy. heh.

Michk
Thanks. I had to wait 2 months for the shipment to come it! Just wondering if dump into the machine, will the colour run? Just afraid it might ruin the other clothes.

Gene,
usually light colours shd b quite safe. i put ergo in a large washing net n dump into washing machine n jus tumble dry like normal. just ergo alone n not w other clothes. no colour run for mine.

Gene,
sorry for d trouble, just a few wld do as i want to look at ur lumix output
din brg my canon as it is a bit faulty n i hvnt sent for repair. as for casio, u noe is really not gd. tks hoh

Bunnie: Thanks lotz fer the links! Will check them out soon
Travelling w children so much more planning involved hor...

Kaexin: No worries about the emailing.)
That's a very good suggestion u gave about flying to Kyoto, but need to check out tic prices. Now Cathay Pac only $585 for both ways to Tokyo. If flyig to Kyoto much more ex then maybe I will fly tokyo, do 2 days there, then take shin to Kyoto. Anyway still in the planning stage...

sandwich,
its a ncie pink with printed pattern

kate,
its slightly more than 2hrs on the nozomi
i juz PM cath and silly me, forgotten to copy n paste to send you too!

mummies wif c-section , what is your wound like now ? my scar quite ugly , not a thin pink line ....sigh .

it wld be nice if i can try natural next time