(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

D: u no the notti corner thingy ... my BIL uses a mat lah ... last nite he tried to discipline my gal using the mat and u know what? SHE GIGGLED!!!!! then even if she's not punished but my niece is, she will squash in with the jiejie on the mat. when jiejie can come out, she sit on the mat and spread her legs so she will occupy the whole mat. for my gal, i think smacking and scolding are more effective. it's not that she's not notti, just that she's not aggressive in "defending" herself when smacked or scolded! or maybe she's just not a babe =)

sanrio: i wish my gal can be as demure as yours =(

Mrs Lai,

when J's in his "corner" no one is allowed to talk to him or cozy up with him. So he knows it's a punishment. I do it anywhere...as long as there's a spot that shows that it's away from where the "fun" is.

I'm trying to stop smacking and shouting at Jesse because I realise that he was learning from me (now I'm trying to un-teach him). He was picking up on my anger and aggression and it really hurt me because he is naturally a gentle boy. I don't want him to be like me.

When I do smack him or scold him, it works too (and immediately) but... anyway, that's not to say I don't do either...it still occurs on a weekly basis! Just less. And he knows I'm really mad...but that's not good lah...because when I do it, I'm angry. So it's wrong.

Discipline: Agree w Caicai tt the babes in this forum seem more disciplined than boys, but I wonder if it could be due to our handling methods? Maybe we dun realise but to a big or small degree we rear boys and girls differently, resulting in more active boys and guai girls? My fren's daughter (now 6yo) is quite an active but very clever, eloquent child. Mummy says that she lets her run around, touch and feel things, even "dirty" things like sand, leaves and stuff as long as the things are not life-threatening. This is exactly like how lele is raised. And they are both so active, curious and "touchyfeely".
If my fren had raised her daughter w expectations of how a girl should not run around too wildly like a boy etc, perhaps the child will turned out much quieter? Hmm... interestig right?

Smacking: I've also started smacking lele but not too often. HB and I also started a notti corner but we seldom use that unless lele pushed us over the limit. Like s/w, we find that a stern scolding, pulling away and ignoring will send him wailing, cos he is usually not shouted at or beaten.

Stroller: After reading that many of u are not using kyour stollers much, I decided to try forgoing the stroller this morning, walking with lele to Punggol plaza for breakfast, which turned out to be a 15mins walk one way
It wasn't as bad as I expected but reallie pateince-testing, cos he stopped so many times I wanted to just carry him and walk! But I realised that there were more interactions between us when we walked together, as opposed to him being in stroller. It's much mopre fun without a stroller! Tho much slower and more tiring.

S/W, Min, caicai: thanks for sharing about babies sleeping without stroller. If lele had a good nap next mon, I will bring him to GUG without stroller........................... trytry...heehee

Min: I can understand why the mummy of the girl whose hair was pulled by D was pissed, cos that time I was major pissed with this boy's grandmother at the foodcourt. I put lele in the playarea to play by himself while I drank my coffee at a table nearby. A boy of 6YO or so was already inside playing on a rocker. As lele approached, he stiked out to hit lele on the face! I rushed forward, together w boy's grandmother who was sitting next to me n chatting w me just prior to incident. Guess what? Grandmother did not address us at all. She only said mildly to boy,
"u cannot do that to the boy because he is just a boy. He is still small."
Lele was wailing away but granny just ignored us and proceeded to feed his grandson mouthfuls of duckrice. So I just said very loudly to lele, "gorgor is a very naughty boy for hitting lele. next time lele cannot be like gorgor okay."

I was SO angry with the grandmother cos the grandson is so utterly spoiled by irresponsible granny.

I tell myself that lele must never behave so badly in future...

d, i second that on smacking n our aggression to a certain degree rubbed off on our boys .
sometimes he started smacking /whacking whoever is carrying him .
so i think smacking is not a good idea , but then i cant help

D and coolD: u no wat, my gal already likes to fa zhan on her own. maybe tt's why a notti spot/ corner doesn't work for her. dun ask me why ok ... she will just go to a wall and stand there herself and giggle away BY HERSELF sometimes out of the blue. then if we try to pull her away from her spot, she refuses to. and she's quite happy standing there without anyone talking or looking at her. ya, i think she's a bit strange too :p

Kate: i would have said the same thing. in fact, I will prob scold the boy in front of the grandmother - didn't your elders teach u any manners!!!!!

Reminds me, i went to a kiddo party and there was this gal, maybe 5 or 6 years old, then the maid feed her water, she spit at the maid! I scolded her "what's wrong with you! don't you have any manners!" she stared at me shocked. the mother was somewhere else chitchatting, didn't notice anything. the maid said it's OK no worries and tried to pacify the girl. I just glare at the gal so fiercely that I think she was scared of me. sometimes maybe i too kpo, scold other kids, none of my biz. but i cannot tahan kids with no manners, and the parents just in their own world.

naughty corner
we also start this on D. its somehow work

we just let him face at any wall at home. he wld always ran away.. and what we do is to bring him back to the same spot without saying a word. then hubby and i wld talk among ourselves ignoring him totally.

after that he will come and give us a hug!

caicai: early July. But i suspect will come by mid june ... headache much better liao! now just waiting for my appetite to kick in ... still not eating so struggling with the fish oil and multi vits to provide some form of nutrients ... think i will be botak by the end of this pregnancy! dropping hair like mad ...

Thanks for your concern =)

Bunnie,
how ar u? hvnt met n n V for a while. let us noe if u ar on leave n we can mt cindy n rest at imm...

Kaexin,
cher hvnt outgrown her first walking shoes tat she worn at 12m+ old :p thou her appetite is fairly gd but she grows 'slowly' in size :p

Hello to all mama...

I'm back for good. Been quite a long while since I log in. I hope din miss up anything.

Now a full-time SAHM so wanna catch up with everyone again. Seems like some mama is meeting next week, can i join in? Haven't meet up with anyone at all. Hope to know you mummy

Fiona

sanrio,
i am off next friday !yup, will brg keira along too

diane,
see you too on friday.

cindy,
same place, same time next week

GOOD MORNING every1

is Friday n tomr is Val. Day!!!!
have a SWEET n ENJOYABLE wknd

hi Fiona,
welcome to SAHM club

u staying in the WEST?

Ladyfingers:
mummies, any ideas besides curry...how can i prepare ladyfingers as a dish huh?

Hello Mummies...

so what will you be doing on V-Day?

I've never done anything, so I won't be doing anything. haha. Have a wedding luncheon to attend tomorrow but that's it.

Have a great weekend!

i just came back from a walk at kent ridge park/hort park. weather was so super hot! kaizer resting after lunch now. hope he naps soon, and then i can update my blog with the park pics.

d,
tomorrow i am going out for a movie + dinner with husband. that's why today went to walk with kaizer first, as a form of pre-valentine's day celebration. cos kaizer is my valentine too!

leo ,i like to wrap stingray in aluminium foil( or prawns/sotongs) , put some sambal chili ( bottled type) , cut the ladyfingers + green chillies .

put inside oven to grill

cai
your post makes me crave for sting ray *i'm not pregnant*!!!

Vday..
no plans yet for tom. Hubby and i are old couple liao.. hubby told me to plan ..think we will just eat hawker food coz shopping mall will be too crowded!

D, Min,
we wld b hving a candlelight dinner at ash's kindy tonite. d teachers wld take care of d children, prepare dinner n programmes for them while we dine. n af tat, i tink d children wld sing a 'love' song for us. ash told me he helped to put up d valentine deco.

min -> if preggy , cannot take stingray wor . coz it is considered "big fish" , higher level of mercury. u can go ahead n eat
no worries
sometimes hawker food nicer than restaurants

ixora . ponggol got hawker centre meh ?
hmmmm , u said chix wings , i tot of bedok ( kidney mee sua + chiz wings ) yummy

tot of going to the pool tmr , zac luvs the pool. c how lah .

sanrio , then u bringing cherelle to his sch too . so sweet of the sch to plan such a programme . hope all the parents turn up

cai2,
u are another foodie.

Min,
yr end bb? see hw accurate is the f.teller.
some more can predict is a boy

val.Day:
last wk, hb has been talking abt picnic.
last night, he mentioned again.
most likely will go ECP picnic after JK's pm nap.

leo ,another idea ( tempura lady finger )
dun ask me how to do it , but i tasted my jpse teacher's before ... nice !

sanrio,
that sounds like a super nice dinner that you'll be having!!

d,
the walk was fun! husband and kaizer are so super tired now, they're both napping like pigs. we started walking at 9.30am from science park I and ended up in alexandra at 11.00am. along the way, we passed a pretty nice lookout point at kent ridge park, a canopy walk at bukit chandu, and stopped by a little while at hort park. didnt have a chance to go to the play area at hort park, cos it was getting way too hot and we had to call it a day. but we've already promised kaizer that we'll be back soon to check out the play area!

leo
we probably doing picnic too, but tinking of sentosa. But than, jboy running a high fever. Tis morn clinics all not open decided to bring him to kk instead. Doc says probably some viral fever.

so sianz .. was planning picnic, underwaterworld, shopping at vivo b4 coming back hm for hm cooked steak. 2moro is oso my wedding anniversary leh.

leo
you got good memory. think we still got 2-3 mths to work on it.
anyway it be good to prove the teller wrong bcoz he told us some not so nice thing abt D's future!

coolD,
aiyoh! ruined ur plans.
now most impt is Jordan is ok....

hw abt shorten the travel distance....join us @ECP? kekekeke!

Min,
as parents can't help to worry abt kid's future.
if possible, i choose not to know all these as esp. i'm the paranoia kind.
hope all the good things will actualize.

coold,
viral fever is going around. juz hope that jordan is not too uncomfy. hope he feels beta soon.
and happy anniversary

d,
i've just finished uploading all the pictures. my husband is up, but kaizer is still not up yet. maybe i'll go and take a cat nap with him =)

cool_d,
happy anniversary!

min & leo, i normally take whatever bad things being said with a pinch of salt but believe all the good things as i believe in the 'self-fulfilling prophesies' theory - what u believe will come true as ur mind will subconsciously 'attract' what u believe.

kaexin/ sw
thanx. Me juz got up fm a nap (since 3pm). Jboy still sleeping. fever was 39deg at 3pm, now touch him like not so hot le. Hope he gets beta soon. Told him we gg to see big fishes, provided he rest well and get well.

Augleo
tink no more picnic for us liao. Coz dun wanna gets too near to water. he sure wanna swim which i tink beta dun at tis moment. Guess we will juz do sentosa sight seeing instead

kss
so sweet hor. I'd always like e sight old old couples holding hands.

bunnie: I felt like scolding the boy in front of the grandma too simply becos I was brewing inside, but the logical me refrained cos I din want to discipline other people's kids when their caregivers are around...
It'll also not be a nice view for the kiddos if they see the adults screaming at each other.
If the caregivers not around, I will def_ly scold him!

leo
we did not expect that from the master coz we merely went there to get his chinese name then made us sit then rattle out about D's future.

hopefully for baby No. 2 .. we can give chinese name on our own!