(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

caicai,
wow, you have a good memory!

michele,
yeah, bb gal and my colleagues commented M has feminine features. I've started learning about girl's fashion from michelle, kelly and bunnie a few months back, but I only have a vague clue... Must stop looking at tee-shirts and pants and start on hair clips/bands/acccessories and all...

Dlim,
Ya lor, very disadvantageous! 1 present, 1 meal only. And the price is "double" already, or so my hb claims hahaha
I've been down with cough and sore throat for 1 week plus liao. Bb is fine, average weight. Cannot remember what M's weight was, but I think bb is bigger by now. How are you doing?
I'm getting worried about M's being sticky after bb is born. How are you going to handle the situation?

Cherryteq,

Oh no, pls rest more & take care of your health. Hope u r feeling much better now. Im good except sometimes quite
breathless & have difficulties in sleeping. Jayden is very clingy & Im very frustrated with him sometimes cox he
keep wanting me to carry him. If I refuse, he will cry out loud until I give in. He's very naughty & how I wish
bb can pop up fast cox I cant carry him for long. Every single moment I must stay beside him when we r at home,
like watching tv, bathing, sleeping. Im really very tired!!

I really hope Jayden will stop all this nonsense after bb is born. My granny said this is very common for the 1st
child to get jealous & they will stop after bb is born. I really hope this is true cox Jayden is too extreme! I think
he is too young to understand. He dont even want his daddy & my helper except me!

I hope your M will back to his normal behaviour after yr bb is born. Else worst case, put M at your mom/mil hse
during confinement which some of my frds did that or have M start his CC now? Maybe u shld start M to cc now
so that u dont have to look after 2 little ones at home. Jayden is attending full day cc now so most of the day,
he will b in school & hopefully he wont b so sticky after bb is born.

Btw, I heard that we have to help to buy gift for the big one so that when bb is born, we shld tell them the present
is from bb & vice versa. Have u prepare the present already?

Hi Dlim,
M is attending 3hr playschool everyday, which we intend to carry on after bb is born. He goes crazy and sticky when I reach home from work, otherwise he's ok with my mum taking care of him.
He will demand to be carried by me, but I will try to avoid, only occasionally. I don't have the strength nor energy to carry him for long. Maybe you can get your hb and helper to distract him? We started out by my hb carrying him and I hold his hand. After that, it's hb who bathes him and I sit beside to watch. Slowly, M got used to his Daddy being there for him, and he begins to let me off.
My mum will be doing confinement for me, as well as help with 2 kids. I hope we'll all survive that 1 month.
Yes, I've heard about the gift from bb thing. Intend to buy a toy to bring to the hospital, so when M comes to visit, we will give him the present and say it's from meimei. Haven't bought the present yet though.
I know it's very tough, but try not to be so frustrated, not good for you and bb. Try to distract, distract, distract. Only then can we keep our sanity! Take care!

augleo,
i just counted. have 42 days of leave this year still. planning to keep the majority to be used together with the maternity leave, but definately can spare a couple of days/afternoons to meet up!

cherryteq and dlim,
kaizer had a shift of preference over the last few weeks. he's suddenly very closed to his father now, at least when we're at home. bathing - only father can bathe because if i bathe him, then no bath books no bath toys and no tub. watching DVDs - only father can switch on for him, because i have repeatedly told him that i do not know how to switch on the tv and dvd machine. messing up toys - only father can do that, because if it's playing with me, we spend more time packing up the toy area than throwing things around. in other words. father has been established to be the "funner" parent, while mother is the one to go to for sleeping, eating and milk.

i think he might be the most jealous about the breastfeeding part, cos i'm cutting down his breastfeeds (strictly once at night once at dusk, approx 8 minutes per session only). he might think that i am having double standards if the 2nd kid gets to breastfeeds regularly. so i've been "educating" him nowadays that we'll be having a new bb join us. bb is helpless; can only cry and needs to be breastfed. sometimes kaizer nods and understands, sometimes he says "no". i think the new bb cannot buy him a toy, cos supposed to be helpless what. hahaa.

sandwich,
I've read from another mummy's blog, that bf is restricted to babies only. If Kaizer is like M, who likes to think he's a big boy, then he might be able to associate that only bbs need to be bf.
Same here, Mummy's for serious stuff. Daddy's for fun and havoc. But then again, Daddy is the stricter parent too. M knows he cannot mess around with Daddy.
As for the toy thing, it's going to be a present from new bb, but not bought by the bb.

cherryteq, dlim,
cher 'gave' ash a big toy container truck as present on d 2nd day of her arrival :p ash remb d truck is a present fr meimei even till now. now he can tell me, 'mommy, i want to have 3 meimei because i want to have 3 more trucks'... faintz..

Dlim and Cherryteq: both of u are scaring me :p V is associating Daddy for fun, hence on Sunday mornings, she is all ready to follow him to GUG class (alone) and she will fuss if I take the class instead of Daddy. So good for mummy! But showering, cuddling, etc, still comes to mummy, but occasionally she will shower her attention and love on Daddy (and ignore mummy). I'm fine with that since it gives me time to laze on bed or watch TV!

V is going to childcare in March! Let's hope all will turn out well :p

Features - no wonder everyone ask me if V is a boy when she was younger *grrrrr* but not true also leh, my sis' gal very pretty and feminine, and she had a boy just :p

Blueroti: hope your family has recovered!!!!!

halo diane!

hope your little prince is doing well! hope u r eating well!

anyway, brought alexis to see dr tan this morning. she started having diarrhoea on Sat. and it got worse y'day. she was so lethargic this morning and was like in semi-conscious mode that really had me worried! even the last few times when she had fever, she was never this "stone"! anyway, dr tan said it's gastro flu and apparently there's a nasty virus going round! so mummies, pls be careful!
my colleague's nephew also caught the virus and had to be hospitalised coz' there was blood in his stool! so we've to monitor alexis now. dr tan said that it's very contagious and she probably caught it from another kid. anyway, the clinic was super crowded! for once, dr tan kept our session short and sweet!
btw, he also mentioned that chicken pox is in "season" now,he has seen quite a few cases lately. has baby V taken her chix pox jab?

blueroti: ya i think she has her chicken poxjab. one of the mummies here recently had rota so yes i no v scary ;P

hope alexis get well soon! and keep her well hydrated!

thanks! dr tan prescribed some popsicles for her which i bought from the pharmacy. quite funny but alexis likes it coz' the popsicles come in 4 diff. colours and are nice and cold!

s/w,
**envy**

blueroti,
pls take care and get well soon

Kate n mummies hv started diaperless/toilet training for ur boys:
* stand or sit when pee?
* if ur boys only prefer stand to pee n refuse sit n pee...how u manage when u are in public toilets w/o kid's toilet bowl / urinary area?

Leo,
I haven't started potty training lah. But previously when I was helping out with young children who need to pee and can't "reach" the toilet bowl...basically just carry them, facing forward and legs apart.

really? very kiasu. anyway, i'm quite interested in the hotel deals, cos haven't stayed over in sentosa before. hopefully the hotel deals won't be so popular.

I like The Sentosa...its nice!

There's another one...the Amara Sanctuary looks nice too..tho i have not tried this before.

haha... i love "The Sentosa" too!

my gf loves the amara!

let's all book a room each and stay over together - then we can have mass celebration for our toddlers 2nd b'day!

Aug: I've not gone off diapers totally w Lele:p He goes diaperless only at home and for morning walks or other short trips to supermart etc. When he goes diaperless at home, I'll hold his hand and lead him to his toiletbowl in the bathroom every now and then to pee. He will pee standing. Previously he preferred me to carry him and pee in the adult toiler bowl...
When we are outside and he is without diaper, I will carry him to the drain and let him pee standing.
As for poo-ing, he still prefers the diaper... trying to work towards diaperless in this area too.

Leo and other mummies: Can your lil ones articulate their intention to pee/poo yet? How did u get there? Pls share... TIA

Min and dee: r we still meeting tml?

Re: toilet training
Mine cannot say when he wants to pee. But when he wants to poo, he'll say "ng ng". We'll confirm his intentions to poo, then quickly bring him to the potty. Tell-tale signs he really needs to poo are standing still with his butt a little lifted and goose pimples.
We started off bringing him to the potty at a fixed time in the morning, and kept telling him to say "ng ng" if he wants to poo, and telling him he's a good boy for doing in the potty, and "smelly, dirty" if he does it in his diapers.

Caitlyn will say poo poo before she poos or in the process. but i think she still doesnt want to sit on the toilet bowl still. I havent started toilet training...too lz actually and i'm just hoping it will come naturally! hahahaa

CoolD...
Yap...used to be Beaufort. I especially like it cos HB proposed to me there! :p

Hi augleo

Thanks! actually i wanted to toilet train my girl like last year but kept procrastinating. We can tell too when our girl is going to poo coz' she'll be still for a moment and in half of a squatting position.

Stay at Sentosa
So nice...but must book early, hor? So who has booked?

Kate,
ya, tmr 3pm, right? Globetrotters or Bakerzin?

did any of you give birth naturally to a baby heavier than 3.7KG? Just asking
Jesse was 2.6KG when he was born or was it 2.16KG?

caicai, wow u got gd memory like Leo. Still can remember my boy's name hee... :) Anyway, my 2nd boy's name is Fernandez (another F) so got F3s now...

Seems like there're a few mummies here expecting your #2. Congrats! Enjoy your time now with your #1 as when #2 pops, u can't gv your full attention to #1 anymore.

Toilet training:
My boy can say 'poo poo' and 'pass urine' but he only says during or after the process. We haven't tried to potty train him yet. He's also rather slow in his gross motor skill. Can't climb up or down stairs w/o support yet not to mention jumping. The only thing abt him is he likes to talk talk talk. But sometimes I dunno what he's talking abt (his own baby language).

Recently, he starts to like screaming & shouting at the top of his lungs. It all started when didi wailed loudly. I guess Ferrell was trying to imitate his bro & started screaming. And so whenever his brother starts wailing away, he will start screaming. Headache...

D: wow, give birth naturally to <3.7kg? I think it depends on the mother's body frame? If mother is the petite type, then I think it might be difficult right? Anyway, my #2 is 2.8kg only &amp; I find delivering him much easier compared to my #1 (3.02kg). Just a few pushes, he's out. However, I'd a rather long labour (around 16h) after my waterbag burst @ my 38 weeks. My gynae even suggested to go for e-sect if cervix still not fully dilated @ my 15hrs of waiting. Luckily, in the end, still managed to give birth naturally. :)

kate
how does lele pee into adult toilet bowl? i mean its bit tall for them right? nvm, shall ask you tomolo!

i fine with either place tom. any more mummies wanna join? Mrs chia?

Fransea
my boy only 2.5kg at birth and a breeze pushing him out. i think only need 3 strong push then he slide out oredi. i still rmbr that the nurse ask me to practice pushing rehersal before gynae comes in for the actual push.
who knows.. i almost push him out.. and nurse panic.. ask me to hold back to wait for gynae!

for mummies staying in the west n those gng to imm on fri (in case any1 keen)

Triumph warehouse sale
Event Details:
Venue: The Chevrons (Level 1, Hibiscus Rm) 48 Boon Lay Way
Date: 20 - 22 Feb 2009
Time: 10am - 6pm

D,

belle was 3.02kg at birth. not small. i was not able to "push". gynae used forceps.

i have a friend. gave birth to two boys. #1 3.7kg #2 3.8kg natural without epidural. i really salute her. she is medium sized.

Morning mummies...wake up early to work...sigh.

Glad to say Mal recovered from a series of illness...initially n4 CNY was cough, flu &amp; phelgm but no fever. Recovered then become unknown rashes all over body, back, neck &amp; face. Recovered then acidic poo...burnt his bottom until reddish and swollen. Kept crying &amp; screaming @ night cos painful, can't sleep. Recovered then become sore throat &amp; coughing. Now better but childcare said last week that lotsa of children falling sick so taking temperature every 2 hours...*worried*

Then hubby also chiam...gout...1st diagonsed after cny. Recovered then come back, recovered then come back. Now 3rd round of medication.

Think the preggie mummy no choice but to endure...

Are mummies meeting up today?? I need to de-stress...can someone sms me??

Mal is 3.49kg during birth. Assisted natural w epidural. Me quite lousy...donno how to push..Mal dun move an inch even after an hour...think my gynea must be laughing...

D
i did .. jboy was 3.725kg at birth

Cat
glad Mal had recovered. Take care.

Btw mumies
juz saw a AVA circular that some Wyeth milk had been recalled due to Lutein content.

just spoke to my mum on the phone - she related a very sad story to me. she's visited her colleague's 4 year old daughter at KKH yesterday. the colleague is divorced and has another older boy. anyway, this 4 year old girl has a 12cm cancerous tumour in her right liver, and a smaller tumor in her left liver. yesterday she had her bone marrow extracted (from back) and tomorrow she's going to have surgery from her front. apparently chemo might not work because the cancer is very advanced already. my mum was pretty affected, so she took leave today to bring porridge to the hospital today.

we must give thanks everyday that our little ones are happy and healthy.

Good morning mummies,
glad to read our thread coming "alive" again

lots of sharing ....heehee!

D,
JK was @3.13kg w/o epi n no asst. delivery.
used "luffing" gas

when i c the vacuum m/c n forceps standing by...me keeps telling gynae gimme more chances to push

SENTOSA?
who who who? kekekeke!

Catherine,
there are mummies meeting @United Sq.
Kate, D n Min.

s/w
sad hor. ever since i become mummy, more affected by kid's tragedy. Sometimes read abt accident involving kids, very heart pain.

My colleague's daughter, 8yrs old oso had cancer. On her bone, so hv to remove some part of the leg bone. Undergo chemo so hair all drop, hv to wear a wig. Imagine when all other 8yrs old are running and playing, she has to go thru' all these.

cool_d,
i have a colleague who has three kids in primary school now. first son has brittle bones, second daughter had neck problem as an infant. third son was diagnosed with leukemia at 7 months old. but the boy is doing OK and in school now. all her children esp the third one are very matured, cos they has gone through a lot in their life. my colleague is a super zesty and optimistic lady. but i can imagine it must have been terrible when her kids were younger.

s/w,
yes, i m thankful.
when JK has viral fever, i'm like exhausted "batteries".
those parents w/critical illness child, they really needs lots of mentally and physically supports.

coold,
one of the march mummy, her #2 yesterday turned 3mths, still in KK, if things doesnt improved by this week, he is going back to ICU. he has 3 ops so far if i din remb wrgly. (the 1st was when he was 1 week old) she posted that her 3mths old bb, ppl mistaken for 1mth old coz he is only 3+kg now. but when u look at his face, he has the matured look already. cant help but feel sorry for the lil boy who has to go thru so much at his young age

D, blueroti, min, Kate n mummies,
23 Dec, JK 1st time stand pee into toilet bowl.
Jan 09, so-called officially diaperless @home.
diaper still on during his sleep.
** he always pee before put on diaper, when he is awake the diaper still like water-bomb = how huh???

erm...unlike traditional way, i din bring him to toilet every hour but will remind him instead.

* initial stage hv to prepare do the clean up.
* Then the clean up areas nearer to the toilet = coz he still can't control his bladder after he tell me "wee wee" (will praise him knowning where is the right place to "unloads)
* lesser clean up still hv lah....

now he will choose which toilet n who to bring him to pee n poo.

still long way for him esp. outdoor.

** like 1 mummy said = wait for bio-clock

Jo can say when she wanna poo... still wan potty when poo... only did in toilet bowl 3x...
As for pee, she still prefers to pee in diaper... i oso lazy to start toilet train her..