(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

mich,
i WL since last mth

D,
u're most welcome
i dun remb seeing any nice/special snacks at IMM. there is polar puff, donuts, egg tarts, crystal jade bread shop, four leave, dumplings..
sori i cant mt u as my boy wld b at hm for d whole mth of dec, b4 he starts new kindy in jan. oh oh, i wld b busy w 2, hope i can cope..

SD: wah ur hubby say that's a posible reason? then next time ur boy cry or refuse to participate in class, you can cite him, maybe follow ur loner pattern :pPP If i was you, I would have screamed at my hubby liao ... i not as gentle as you. Please dun get upset .... really it's not ur fault. some kids are just naturally fussy eater ... you can say they got "golden mouth" lah, born to eat good things only =)

if really hungry, they will eat. maybe he's not feeling well tt's why dun want to eat. since they cannot verbalise how they feel or if they are not well, they can only show symptoms and it's for us to intepret.

springdance,
what the PD prescribed for us quite a long time ago was (1) nutricomp -- caloric powder to be added into food/water, and (2) zaditen -- anti-histamine that works for keeping allergies under control + have appetite boosting features. we've stopped these a couple of weeks ago cos he was eating and drinking well in school. guess we might resume adding these into his diet when he's well. vitamins ... you mean those GNC type of gummy sweets? don't think i'll try. as it is, i'm already quite lazy to add caloric powder to his food, or to get him to eat his zaditen daily (which he's so used to eating that he self-feeds with a syringe).

d and darbebe,
have just finished reading my book! had a reading marathon this afternoon as i managed to coax kaizer to take 2 naps. was reading "change of heart". two main themes in this book are religion and the use of the death penalty in the states. this book is actually pretty similar to picoult's "keeping faith" and "vanishing acts". i sort of expected the ending since i've read these two before already. but still, she's kept me flipping non stop. aiyoh, can't wait to get my hands on her 2009 book (synopsis is already out on her website).

d,
i can't read chinese for nuts too. richard north patterson, according to what i've goggled, sounds very heavy to read. am supposed to be reading "the year of living biblically next", but my husband's not done with the book yet so i might just have to visit the library/bookshop again to get a new book....

dlim,

okies...i will pass sanrio ur toothpaste. :p i pm u my ac no another day. too lazy to find now. hehehe.

darbebe,
thanks for bday wish!

Michele,

Eh, what will happen to you after I pick my HB up? You mean your HB so nice will pick you up even in the west? Peifu!

S/W
started 2 pages of the book yesterday and I thought of you! The setting of this book is with a President-elect. He takes his oath and the incumbent republican chief justice konks off. Being a democrat he elects one like him and then it seems there will be issues of abortion. Already in the beginning we have a protest scene in front of a women's clinic.

Anyway...

Yay! You finished your book.
So what's next?
I can't say I remember that story...must go refresh my memory.

Very tired this morning...both me & hubby were so tired that we couldn't wake up this morning...

The trip to zoo was great.
1) Weather's great! (cloudy and not hot)
2) Mal's not interested in animals....he's more keen to walk along the road, drains,etc...
have difficulty manuvoring the little $$&$@$@* so ended up put him in stroller most of the time.
3) the only part that he enjoyed is the water game thingie @ Kidz World (pity dun bring his swimming costumes)

Darbebe/ Dlim
Me & hubby dun really go for stuff like Cheerios for breakfast lei…We typical Singaporean prefer local breakfast. So if we get the BIG box of cheerios, it’s probably solely for our son and this will probably take super long to finish…hahah…oh ya, for breakfast, we still giving Heinz cereal mixed with FM…coz he doesn’t drink FM at all if he is awake so that’s the only way to make him take in FM in the morning.

Bunnie
Yes…my hubby is indeed a super insensitive guy….. certainly not my ideal prince charming which I mentioned in my wedding speech..LOLZZZ… but he’s good & honest lar.. oh well, guess have to give & take abit. .. but I do argue with him at times lar, not as gentle as you think I am. :p

Anyway, thanks for assuring me about Jonas’s small appetite…definitely appreciate.

Sandwich
Nope I’m not referring to gummy sweets…it’s vitamins C plus others in orangey liquid form…one teaspoon a day. My boy is quite happy to take it…probably because it has a fruity sweet taste.

Michele,

can you meet me at my place and we'll go from here. It'll be a 45 minute journey from my place. It's a pity you don't live in SK or PG.

We'll probably leave around 2:15pm (after J's lunch). My HB still thinks I should drop J off at my MIL since he cannot imagine me trying to buy in bulk and handle naughty and wandering J...but we'll see...If I have to drive from my place to MIL's place and then to sale, it'll be (approx) a 60-70 minute journey. Plus, if I put him at MIL's then I'll have to get him and not HB after the trip! It's complicated...and I know you don't like this kind of complication! Who does! It's just a shopping trip!

Were there supermarket trolleys at the sale last year? I can at least attempt to put him in one and shop really quick.

It'll probably be one of Nancy's last hoo-rahs...hopefully the old girl does her best.

Anyway...

SpringD,

if it's any consolation, I HATED food when I was young. It'll take hours for me to finish a meal...and by then it'll be time for the next. :p Various relatives tried ALL sorts of methods to make me eat but I just refused. I wasn't hungry and wasn't interested. I didn't like to drink water either, my mom was sure I'll get kidney failure by 10. My mom also just made me sit there and finish my food. If everyone else had finished, I'd be sitting there alone for the next hour or so, before my mom threw it away.

Long story short, look at me now...you'd never guess that I was a fussy eater.

This is probably why I don't really force Jesse to drink much water. I think he gets enough from his FM, his output looks/smells fine.

If I'm not enough proof, then there are my cousins who were horrible to feed too (the kind where the mother would scold and walk away to cry, leaving the older cousin/sibling to try to clean the mess and feed the child) and they turn out fine too.

It's very frustrating to have to try to feed a reluctant child. Absolutely frustrating with heightened blood pressure, thumping veins and all. For me, I handle it by setting a time limit to it (10 minutes of trying/coaxing/staring is all I can tahan) and then, for the sake of my and his mental & physical health, I throw his food away and call it a day. Find a method that suits you best, stick to it and the whole family will be happier because of it.

If you're worried about nutrition, give him pediasure. But according to Dr, it's not as if the food we have has loads of nutrition either ;) We just think it has.

Okay, think I said enough! :-x

D,
thk usually dun, actually you know who works in that area. aprilmum, walking distance somemore.

shld have ask her to chk out then u go

D, no, no strollers - its a really small room that they use but they do give you boxes to put in what you want to buy and the temp staff (young chaps) usually quite obliging to help bring the boxes to your car.

D: the last time i went, i just point point to wat I want, the quantity esp if I want in bulk and then they cart over to the cashier for me while I continued shopping. when it's all over and paid for, they will pack into a box and then trolley it to your car and even put it in your car boot for you (i had one burly guy). no kids though ... the place was quite dusty :p

Mrs Lai, Michelle, Michele,

Thanks for the tip! I shan't bring Jesse then.

Today we went for the Thermos sale...and boy, I'm glad we had that trial run. Now I know warehouse sale and crazy toddlers don't mix *grin* Shall find childcare for Jesse. hehe.

Mrs Lai,
I'm definitely the point point point type shopper. My hands are allergic to dust...I'll get what is called "mickey mouse" hands.

FOX w/hse sale @105 Tampines Rd
from S$1 onward
Date: 2 to 14 Dec
Time: 12pm to 7pm
coupon needed for S$5 off when u purchase $60

long time no "see"!

cat,
how r u? sch hols liao...must rest and relax hor...so is it a didi or meimei for malcolm?

i think i'm having spider web all over me liao...happily nuah-ing at home for so long liao. somehow dont feel like going out at all...can whole day in pyjamas and uncombed hair...jialat...

Feeding: SD, Lele has started to become a fussy eater recently. At first we were puzzled cos he had always been a big eater who can gobble up his meal (1 and 1/2 bowl porridge) quite fast...
Now we realise that he still likes food, just diferently. He seems to have gotten quite sick of porridge with everything mixed together in it. He also seemed to like things which are munchable (loves guava, cherry tomato, my corn bran cereal and corn)
So we separated out the ingredients from the porridge (actually it's more like soft brown rice) and it worked. He enjoyed pointing to the ingredients on the plate and request for a certain food to be fed to him.
Oh, and he is very very interested in our food too. Much more so now than ever. He will insist on having our food either fed to him or added to his spoonful of lunch.

Perhaps Jonas just got sick of the texture/variety of his meals?

FOX w/hse sale :

D,
i like to go but next wk schedule seems abit tight for me. when u going?

Michk,
will u b going to the 1st day during ur lunch time?
if is good deal like the previous (when me n Cath saw u n colleagues there) share with us hor.

Cath,
prepare to go on the 1st day?

Augleo....

Also can...sms me...we try to go earlier...preferably when they open then we at the door (kiasu!!!muahahhahah) I can help u with JK...if not, I go early then everything also grab 8-p

Cath,
wld like to go w/u....but u've a "junior" with u leh, mission impossible to help me to "jagar" JK (nap @12pm unless i delayed it). He sure roams around...see how. hope is a good deal like the last trip we went.

will sms u, if not u buy more n share with me

Min: I use the ENDO magic cooker to cook my brown rice.
1) Put brown rice in magic cooker pot, wash the brown rice, drain and add hotwater.
2)Cover and Soak for at least half hour.
3)Put pot over stove, cover and bring to boil over strong flame.
4)Simmer for 25mins.
5)Add white rice (after washing and draining) and simmer for another 5mins.
6)Put mixture in magic cooker for at least 2 hours.
*I usually cook enough for 2 meals*

For Lele's meals, I'll take out a bowl of brown rice from the pot and steam together with the ingredients in a wok, but on separate plates. Usually I will just bring water to boil and then put in to steam over low heat for 10mins (fish is 5mins).
Some days, it'll be steamed egg with bakcho n cherry tomato, and another dish of steamed broccoli. Other days it'll be steamed pumpkin, broccoli and tomato (placed separate on a big plate). Sometimes I'll just cook a simple soup with spinach, tomato and fish, and let Lele eat with his brown rice.

The consistency of brown rice for Lele now is just nice for him. In future I might make it more chewable by using less water so it will be more like rice than porridge.

Hope this helps...

Min: I use the NTUC Red Unpolished Rice. It was used by my MIL so I just follow lor. Lele been eating brown rice soon after starting solids.

Dee
Thanks for the consolation.

Anyway, had another frustrating episode last nite again...fed him dinner...refused to eat after a fe mouths. Daddy tried to use the "threaten" method but sitting beside with a cane (but no beating!). :p

He ate a few mouths and started crying loudly...well, guess this method is BAD. Mummy coax him by carrying and says that we will go "gai gai" after he finish dinner. Still refuse to eat afetr he settled down and started crying again when daddy gave a stern look. So mummy gave up and daddy angrily threw the dinner into rubbish bin again...... The End. :X

springD
perhaps it's a passing phase la. .. my hb's fren who is a dietitian says bb's growth r very irregular one. So those times they are like 'not growing', they will not be hungry n dun wan eat. As long as they dun get really skinny or has any -ve impact, can actually leave it for awhile.

Btw, jboy oso din take his nite milk for the past 2 nites ..

SpringDance....dun worry..happen to me & my hubby, too....we tried everything...threatening, ignoring & bribing but Mal refused to eat & keep crying & looking at us with teary eyes....
(if anyone seen us, they would think we ill-treating our son)

Mal refuses to eat his own food & only wanta eat what we eating...sometimes, we transfer our food to his bowl but he refused to eat....he only eats from our bowl & using our utensils...(think Mal wanta out-smart us...)

SpringD, Cat,

I'm no expert but I'm always told that I have to be consistent with whatever method I use. So if you think your child takes the soft approach better, use
it, if the hard approach works, use that. But decide between the two of you (husband and wife) and stick to it.

If let's say one of you has less patience or is too soft hearted and find that yourself unable to follow through, leave the room and let the other parent handle it.

Also, both of you FTWM, right? So who looks after the child primarily and what mtd does that person use? Does it work?

I'm a SHM but 3 meals a week, Jesse is fed by my MIL, just 3 (of 21)! But even during his food strike periods, she manages to get more in him (and he sometimes finishes his food there) than I can.

1) could be I'm frustrated before I even start feeding and it spoils the whole mood already

2) I haven't figured out how to handle him and just do all sorts of random things from talking to him nicely for two minutes and then switching to rage. Doesn't work.

After noticing how my MIL feeds him, I tried it at home. She uses a lot of praise and a promise of going out for walks after the meal (which she follows through on). Distraction is also used by giving him a toy or trinket. Sometimes even guiding him to self-feed. Generally, when he's fed by MIL, the meal is very low-stress and I think that helps.

Anyway, I still think being consistent is most important. They may be trying to test us now, wanting to see the "effect" their behaviour has on us. We need to show that we mean business every time and show them where the boundaries are.

A Very Barney Christmas
ALL showtimes: Tue-Fri: 1pm & 7pm; Sat & Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm
IMM, 25-30 Nov
Lot 1, 2-7 Dec
Plaza Sing. 9-14 Dec
BT Panjang Plaza, 16-21 Dec

Cath
Sounds like our boys are similar...prefer to "eat air"...by the way, mind sharing what's Malcom's weight now?

Dee
We've tried both hard (hubby's way) & soft approach (my way) but none of it works when my boy is just not in the mood to eat.

For a short period of time, he was fine to keep eating whilst watching Jim Jam channel...now he still likes the channel but dun eat if he dun want to.

As for observing the caregiver (MIL) feeding during dinner...well, he's not too coorperative either if I am around accompanying...according to my MIL, he is more "disciplined" only when the house has got her & him only....OH WELL...

kate
thx for sharing.
i'm so confused over so many types of brown or unpolished rice.

now i'm using the steamer to cook D's rice.
usually will use soup stock then throw in the ingredients into the soup.
when ready to serve, will scoop out the ingredients (mostly veg- carrots, cabbage, spinanch) and serve seperately with rice.
will also steam egg or drumstick or fish.

Hard/soft approach
think now they don't care abt threats or treat liao!
i used all kinda approach.. also no use. eat few more mouth then start spitting liao

now i learnt by not cooking so much as compared to before. so that i won't feel so heartache on wasted food