(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Dlim,
environment is v gd. tats why ash is there :p but of course there are other factors to consider. u go view view n can talk to me anytime. they are not open on sat. need to make appt. i suggest u go on a weekday, best is morning between 9am-11am, tats when lesson n activities are conducted. avoid 1-3pm, is their nap time. some classrm may be closed for kids to nap. else can go after their nap and best before 5.30pm.

cai2,
u din sign up any package when zac took his ??
no lah, i where got buy lots of stuff ???
think next jab k needs to take is the chix pox. but this is not compulsory, so need to pay $$$

caicai,
sorry was out the whole day...erm..i usually make very little stock each time (about 3 bowls of porridge worth). I don't measure or store in ice cube tray since I use it up within 2 - 3 days. I just use a container and keep in fridge.

so sorry, can't help

anyone interested in MyGym trial this Sunday? Its at Marine Parade

SSO babies prom
yes, i can help to buy tickets first if we can agree on the same day to go! hehe...

Min
Hi-five! Gladys also weighs 9.6kg.

Caicai
Actually can take chicken pox vaccine together with pneumococcal jab leh. That's what I did. The doc said ok to take both together on the same day. Otherwise, got to have 1 month interval between both jabs.

micK , i signed up for the 6 in 1 package ( strictly 6 in 1 onli , the 2 , 4, 6mths jabs)

So i guess MMR not inside lor :p , his pd charges 90 bucks wor , so expensive .

gene , double whammy for both jabs will hv double trouble for my cranky / whiney son , so i will spread out his misery ...

oh , i went to Sheng Shiong to buy Huggies Ultra diapers @ 13.80

D - ok , no worries , Mrs Lai n min areadi taught me

caicai: actually I used the same method as D also, cuz sometimes I just bought 1 huge pot of stock - 1 jug in the fridge to use for the next few days - inside inside to keep it coldest and the rest I freeze them in my avent cups. I heard from DongFang Billy show long time ago, you can boil the stock and keep in the fridge to use within the week. So it's really up to you.

Fish Stock, I personally prefer to freeze, cuz last time i put in the fridge, it became a jelly. I was so grossed out by it :p Fish stock, you can rub the fish parts ( I had the fish belly, the bones and the head which was "chopped" into halves) with ginger and salt, let it sit a while then panfry somemore ginger till fragrant with a little oil, then the fish bits. Then when adding water to make the stock, add in a bundle of spring onions (prob 2 stalks). When done, just remove the ginger and spring onions.

Another mummy told me the fish stock can boil with carrots and coriander to remove the fishy smell. I never tried that before though.

Hey Mommies how are you all?
Haven been here for quite some time..

Wanna seek your opinion for Penang..
G hotel or Holiday Inn Ferringhi?
I know 1 is in the city and the other 1 sea side.
But what i wan is convenience so any suggestion?

Beyond,
as per my hb findings, YMCA can enrol anytime = even now. 1/2 day program paying 1 day fee.

2 hours playgroup @Blk 842 = www.edufarm.com.sg
typo error in my earlier post: insurance NOT S$380. Both registration n insurance = S$30

last night, get more details from the administrator =
* break follow school holiday.
* hv to pay for those break even there isn't any lessons.

in case u wanna to know more:
Mon - Fri (9.30am to 11.30am)

Mon = Letterland Phoics
Tue = Thematic English
Wed = Math/Counting, Rhymes w/fingerplays
Thur = Montessori Partial Learning
Friday: Playgrp Games/Art n Graft/Nursery PHymes/Science

***** oh yes, JL expo sale starts today, if u happen to go during lunch time...can help to see if any tricycle on sale. no obligation...thks

D, would actually prefer to go on Friday actually... so most likely, friday, 12.15pm slot. let me know who's keen

leo, trial class is free. claire is registered for the 2pm class i remember correctly

Sanrio,

Thanks! I have called to arrange for an appt next wk ard 10am. Actually wanted to visit tmr
but she said tmr, they r celebrating teacher's day... too bad.

After I have visit the place, will chat with u more.

Mich,
I'm going end sep too!
going to get tickets from SQ webbie cos they having some promo 2 adults about 760 (include tax)

Which hotel you intend to stay at?

michele,
thks for the info.

fyi: MYGYM open house on this Sunday.
free trial (if not got to pay $30/trial)
2pm slot has fully taken.
left 1pm.....left 5 vacants.
any takers?

Michele,

Need your advise on your filipino maid. How old is she & so far is she good?

My Indo maid is driving me crazy!! She is here only for 2 wks + but I really cant
stand her. She knows nuts & she's too young to handle all the household & cooking.
Not even mention to look after my son. I teach her until I wanna vomit blood already.

I wanna send her back to the maid agency & think of exchanging a filipino maid.

Need your advise plsssssssss..... thanks...

dlim,

sorry hor...i kpo...i don hv maids lah...but a no of my frens, aunties hv maids...
two of my gf hv myanmar maids...they are more patience...and can take care of bb n old folks...
but i find getting a gd maid depends on luck too...

dlim, mine's so far so good. my selection criteria really simple:
- experience in their own country (mine worked for one family continously for 12 years before coming)
- slightly matured (coz i think young filipinos generally more 'hiao') - she's 46 this year
- single but supporting her mom

i can see that she has a genuine love for kids coz she will also look after other friends' kids when we are out together.

the previous indon maid made me vomit blood too - imagine still not following instructions after 1 year with me (i was really patient with her) so i sent her packing.

if we do a comparison, indons are generally more hardworking but require instructions all the time. the filipinos are more 'chao geng' but mine is almost always under my watchful eyes so don't really haf opportunity to 'chao geng'

my SIL had a maid from myanmar (around the same time i took mine +- one month) and she's young. my SIL also sent her back around the time i sent back mine coz she (the maid) said she cannot handle the workload - mind you, she actually has very little to do. my MIL picks her and my SIL's kid up in the morning over to her place where the kid spends the whole day - my MIL is the main caregiver (the maid & my MIL's maid just play with the kid when my MIL needs to go toilet, eat lunch, etc and no work needs to be done there) and dinner is cooked by my MIL's maid and 'tingkat' back for my SIL and hb, Just imagine!

so LUCK really plays a part when it comes to getting the right maid and not the nationality that counts. i waited and waited for 2 months (going through biodatas after biodatas) before i found the current maid.

but i also think that managing expectations is very important. i sent the maid agency a copy of my expectations & job scope for them to explain to the maids that i picked so that they know exactly what I want from them. with older & more experience maids, you may have a problem if they are 'ya ya' and think that they know more than you but I make it clear that I am the boss even though I may be much younger

hope that helps.

michele,
okay, then get me one ticket

Meddy,
I'm in Penang now :p I'd recommend G Hotel too because it's right next to Gurney plaza (with Cold Storage supermarket) and quite a lot of food there lah. I haven't had a chance to try in a while, but one of my favourite char kway teow is from this old man at Gurney Drive hawker center, his like one of the first few hawkers from the mall. The mall is run by CapitaRetail, so you know lah, quite a typical Singaporean Mall and IMO one of the better ones. There's a newer, bigger mall nearer the airport, but there's nothing else to do there.

G Hotel is also probably going to be newer than any at BF. I think it only opened 2 years ago. Some relatives have stayed there already and say it's nice. According to my dad, rooms are big (but I'm not sure if he's referring to suite or what...cos these same relatives used to stay at the suites at Gurney Hotel).

I help Michelle answer lah, I don't think she'll be staying at hotel cos she'll probably stay with relatives here. As for me, I'm with my parents.

Hi D,
Wow hows the weather there now? Okie then i think i will book G Hotel, pictures of the rooms look big though keke

btw any nice and famous Tao Sar Piah there? keke

Milo,
one of my cousin got Myanmar maid. The First one was a condemn case, totally no initiative. Say "A" do "A", Say "B" do "B"..but he exchanged it for a certified trained nurse (thats what was mentioned in the biodata) and he's stuck with her ever since..guess it really boils down to luck..

meddy,
hehe.. i also like G hotel coz its next to Gurney plaza.
ya, not gg to stay in the hotel. but my sis and her family will be there from sep 9-12. my grandma's plc is just nearby there.
so whenever i go over, we will juz walked over to do some shopping.

then at nite, you can walk over to gurney drive hawker's to eat too.
tao ser piah, i like the ones off dato kramat road, called soon hiang. but i actually prefer pong piah

Meddy
G Hotel is v good. It's linked to Gurney Plaza so can shop there lor. But then that area nothing much to do except shop and eat.
The last time we stayed in a suite and the room is v big with kichenette. If you draw the blinds in the toilet, you can soak in the tub looking out at the sea. Then got free drinks and snacks in the executive lounge. My hubby and his friends drink like mad. They probably finished up all the beer in the cooler.
Sea side I recommend Golden Sands by Shangri La. Got horse ride and other sea sports. Outside the hotel got pasar malam at night.

Today I actually drove all the way to Parkway Parade to chiong the sale. But then, really nothing much leh. Mango wasn't on sale.

Mich,Gene,
thanks information! now will go searching for places to visit hehe

So mich, you confirm going end of the month?

Gene,
Isetan having daily SPECIALS start yesterday till Sunday.
some of the items only @Katong branch.

Min,
today is ur last day @work? going to full time
SAHM?

Kelley,
ended ur ML? starts work on next Monday?

rainy days since last Thur:
JK has been wearing long pants (jus diaper) during his 2 naps + thick shirt during day (light) + long sleeves (short sleeves) @nites.

thot weather forecast = rain till Wednesday! but today still raining @Tampines leh

hope SUN will b out by noon, plan to go Isetan @TM.

leo , ur information abt JK's clothes come too late for my son

he is down wif running nose coz we slept in aircon room + fan . he wears only a short sleeve t shirt n a towel as blanket .

Been quite awhile since I came in here..work has been at peak for me and back at home, worrying about Jonas's bronchitis....nevertheless, he is getting better and will be going for his second review this afternoon...hopefully his lungs are more cleared out and he need not continue his neubuliser which he HATES and struggles alot everytime he is on it.

Errmm...no time to read the archives...am I right that we now have 2 mummies who are preg...DLim and Kris?

Augleo
Where is MyGym? You planning for No. 2 also that's why sending JK to playgroup?

augleo
wow you got great memory. yep today my last day!!

my son been sleeping in long sleeves and long pants with fan.
i given up letting him wear long rompers.. coz no patient to button up for him

Meddy,
every one has their favourite when it comes to piah. I like Him Heang at Burma Road. Some people like Ghee Hiang and if I'm not wrong there's also some other brand at the basement of Gurney Plaza.

But tao sar piah need to hand carry so I definitely not buying any this time round. Plus, my parents just bought for me a few weeks back. I like heong piah.

SD,
I kaypoh again, help Leo answer...
there's a mygym at woodlands, one near parkway and another one at great world city.

Min,
enjoy your last day!! Life will never be the same again...welcome to the dark side. :p

Cai2,
my gal also down with runny nose, took for granted that the weather isn't too cold for her..hai~

D,
you mean i can get them from basement of Gurney Plaza? Cos the last time my sis when she only manage to get from the airport.

Meddy,
there's all sorts of brand lor and fierce supporters of each brand. If it's all the same to you, yes, Gurney Plaza Basement has a little shop that sells these piahs as well. I can't remember the brand and my parents are out.
For that brand, I prefer their loti tiao (bread stick) over the ones at Him Hiang. Oh wait...I think it's called "Loong Nam"...is that right, Michelle?

Of course, the other end of Gurney Drive there's also another converted bungalow piah shop. I've never bought from there but that's where the tour bus bring the tourist.

Btw, Him Heang at Burma Road isn't too far from G Hotel, probably 5 - 10 minutes drive. But if it's tao sar piah you want, need to go in the morning to buy otherwise sold out...another way is to make reservation.

him heang bee teh saw is very nice. a muz buy item

the other pah store is near bukit jambul. exact location is at the shophouse opp bukit jambul shopping there.

milo,
if ur current job is giving job satisfaction (good prospect) + understanding superior + co-opeartive colleagues....

and the "quality" of the current caregivier of ur child is acceptable.....then stay put ba.

SAHM....
* no life, esp. no coupletime (only me lah, coz no others can help)

* when child is notti = we frown n even try to lay our hands on them. (is me lah, the rest of SAHM so motherly, they give 爱的教育)

* when the child is co-operating = we are in heaven.

** now, it seems like i've rooted to SAHM. ever thot of back to workforce but can't bear to leave my little one to the stranger.