(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Mid-autumn festival meet up:
date: either 6 or 7 Sep
time : 5pm to 7pm
venue : TBA

7 mummies indicated their interest.
2 mummies from the West, oki if the venue @East?

i want to ask you all for advise!

i think my gal, shannon is really allergic to Paracetamol. everytime she takes that, she will have a bad outbreak of rash on her entire body, face. Does anyone has any experience of it? i cant imagine not to feed paracetamol during feverish time. she does not like to be sponge either. i am considering TCM

D,
jus call the center (playgrp), class size 16 and 7 has taken up during the 1st round of registration.

fong,
did doc given u any advices?
TCM = y not?

tangs bazaar quite a small thingy ba , dunno leh . i wanted to catch a look yesterday , but it starts 13 aug

fongfong , my pa n sis are allergic to paracetamol . whenever they took that , their eyes became puffy
it was quite bad , u hv to tell the docs .
my pa also cannot take aspirin , he was hospitalized for 3 days after his bad bout of allergy .
dun like to be sponge also hv to do it . else u try to buy the water cushion which i mentioned before . i saw an article @ leo's pd clinic last time , it can also bring down body temp * as efficient as sponging

augleo,
doc just ask me to do a sensitive test when shannon gets well like giving 1-1.5ml of the syrup to see if she get any rash. last nite, i stop paracetamol and indeed the rash did subside a little. so i really think the para. its the culprit of the rash. now just worry in future, fever is gonna be a problem

hi ixora,
welcome back home
gd to hear tat joanie is feeling better, she mus hv missed her hm sweet hm. hope tat u hv a gd rest n feeling less tired now. can undstd ur anxiety as a mummy esp wen not in 'home ground'. joanie appetite wld resume, no wori
i m waiting for cher to pass 20m (b4 24m) b4 we fly to oz, cos w 1, not so bad, w 2 young kids, wld b more xiong..

Fong,
I am allergic to most pain killers (Paracetamol, Aspirin etc) too. Eyes get Puffy and get breathless when i take them.

But my gal's pd once told me as long as there is fever, dun keep relying on Paracetamol as 1 day they may get immune to it. So just try to keep you gal in a cool, airy place, sponge and also have lots of fluids to keep the temperature down.

Hi Augleo,

Today I on mc, didn't go Expo.

Which playgroup is that? You know hor, I have difficulty finding a playgroup in your area cos my SIL stayed near your blks and she tell me this no gd that no gd, so I don't know which playgroup to put my son in. I'm looking at Blk 700+ or 800+ area.

So far paracetomol is what i used whenever mal's temperature went up. He also in-tuned to it. Like these few days, when he's not feeling well after the injection. He would be very grouchy & keeps complaining (think it's the "Tai jiao" from when he's still a foetus in my womb when I scold my student). Once he sees me with the para, he immediately popped out his tutu, & wait for me to feed him.

fong,
my husband is slightly allergic to both panadol and aspirin. will get rashes on the neck when he takes them. maybe you can try ibuprofen ... my highly allergic boy is not allergic to that.

min,
i caught that 1 second where he looked into the camera. some other kids had a lot more airtime, hahaa.

s/w
wah...but profen is a bit strong, isn't it? but I guess no choice also like that...I only take profen when I can't walk...

Fong,
you can always ask the dr what else you can give lor since you know your child's allergic. She'll be the best person to tell you can prescribe, cos at this age, you need to find out dosage also.

Beyond,
u feeling beta now?
is ok, not @expo.

Blk 700+ seem hv more choices but i dun think will walk over there.
u think JK n Xyrus will end up in same playgrp?

PHILIPS CARNIVAL sale
23-24 Aug 08
9.30am to 6pm
the mailer shown avent bottles, not sure there is good deal on avent products.

d,
i always thought that bufan should be quite safe if dosage's according to the baby's weight + not given within 6 hour range. in any case, it brings down high fevers a lot faster than another fever medicine that we currently have at home (don't know what's the name).

leo,
you're quite amazing, always have information abt events and sales that's going on. haha, don't think i need new avent bottles, cos am just using them purely to store EBM. my boy's drinking his milk with the mag mag cup now (sometimes with stage 4 cap, sometimes with straw). he will scream if i bring him a bottle and teat that's filled with milk. those empty avent bottles and teats that are lying at home are playthings for him now. he likes to screw/unscrew the bottle, take out/put in the teat, and then cap/uncap the bottle. taking out the teat is quite hard, so he gets frustrated at that step.

s/w,
it's safe lah, when given according to baby's weight but my impression is that it's much stronger stuff than paracetamol. But also, it depends on the strength of the dosage, when I take profen, it's always at max strength. And don't worry, it isn't the strongest stuff yet ;) Some times, I take both paracetamol and profen for pain (in foot)...but that has nothing to do with babies..hehe.

Jesse loves playing with this bottles too...and sometimes there's milk inside!

s/w,
thinks most mummies rec'd the mailer jus tat me "too free" to type/share

JK has been drinking all his milk feeds from straw (hmm...for nearly a month) even his last milk feed.
wanna to train JK drinks direct from cup leh but seems difficult. initially he seems ok but now he oni wants straw.

Beyond,
glad u feeling beta

erm...either YMCA (but even 1/2 day paying full day fee leh) or Blk 842.
will try out gradually...2 hours, 1/2 day then full day ba

hw abt u?

coolD,
u looking for frez of SSO for the bb prom?
i read that OCBC Arts Platinum card can have priority bookings too.

juz came bk fm TAKA fair. bot about 6 pack of Pigeon food.
i tell myself i will let D have this at home when i'm too busy to cook so that i won't give myself stress over what to cook for him

was looking for Dr Brown but cld not find in the end bot Avent bottles. will be changing the bottle when D turn 18 mths

Min,
how come you looking for Dr Brown? Jesse used that for the first 8 months+ of his life...I'm so happy that he could take to the normal pigeon bottles finally!

D,
i have maclaren techno classic, i jus took out d cover to wash few days ago. how: i 'dismantle' it 'section by section'. but not too sure abt quest thou..

Min,
c u next tx or next wk lah
i bought pigeon instant food. cher tried n quite ok w it. but 1 particular pkt, i tink is brown rice w seaweed n/or somtg else, i tasted n find it quite salty..
i intended to let cher try tis wen we travel to m'sia over d wkends in sept.

Pigeon Instant Food:
mummies, can i ask, how much does ur bb take in 1 serving? i let cher tried n she needed 2 of 80g pkts. 1 pkt (1 serving) is not enough for her leh.

D
i tot Dr Brown is BPA free.. why so happy to switch to Pigeon?
infact i was using mostly Pigeon from 0-1yr but switch to Avent coz Pigeon L size teat very hard to buy

Sanrio
1 packet is too little..
those with gravy on its own (w/o boiled rice) then i will cook my own porridge and rice then pour the gravy over it

cai: thanks for info on lemongrass for mozzie..

went zoo today with ashlyn n hb... super duper tired.. we all had so much fun.. lucky no new mozzie bites.. cos i applied CB cream before she went.. phew... but didn't reali enjoy cos i tot the kids petting zoo is open but was under reno.. lucky mine is free tix...

hello mummies..
so much postings for the past 3 days..

caicai,min,
my girl is still a crawler...not walking..LOL

fong,
don mind mi being kpo..u shd let the PD know abt the rashes...
brufen is normally given when bb is above 12mths and high fever ard 39...
try to sponge which i find the best, but can b tiring..
if fever is ard 38, u may want to try those cooling pad/film. i tried kodomo cooling pad b4, it works. it helps to bring down the temperature.

yep.. normally do my stuffs after my boy sleep at 11+pm
nowadays his bed time seem to hv delayed. he normally will sleep at 10.30pm

must try a way for him to switch back his body clock

Min
I think Dr Brown bottles quite troublesome to wash leh. So many parts.

Agent D
Did your Dr Brown bottles get 'stuck'? Like air doesn't flow in smoothly.

milo , when is chloe's bday huh ?
i tot she is a May baby ? crawlers club quite exclusive , few "selected" babies ONLI , hahaha

min , my sonny also been sleeping late dunno why ...

caicai/ Min
Maybe Zac and D wanna watch Olympic highlights .. 'Today in Beijing' :p

Augleo
I no OCBC Art card also. .. but at least now I hv 1 more option. Can try and find pple who has it. Thanx for the info.

Min,
like what Gene said, it's a little more troublesome to wash lor...that's why I'm happy with pigeon bottle or any similar bottle for that matter lah.

Gene,
nope, didn't get stuck...but I wash very carefully...

sanrio,
same lah, I always cook the usual portion of porridge or pasta and use that as the flavouring/topping.

Heh, my HB complain the Quest dirty again, so I just took the whole cover off...just pull off whatever is stuck...

sanrio,
then you arrange with gene what time to meet her there. i'll prob reach at abt 3pm if it's IMM, cos going for lunch at hillview with 2 of my colleagues today (hopefully will finish by 2pm). will give either of you a call when i've reached IMM

Sanrio,
the shipping is by Vpost or their own ah?
Now they having summer clearance ah hehe

Cin,
I also nvr wash my Techno before cos afraid once i pull it out, dunno how to put it back hehe

Leo,
it was on sale about 2 weeks ago...my guess is it'll be on sale in about 2 weeks time. Sorry, next time I'll let you know
I think it's on sale once every 5 weeks. (I don't read the papers one, I go then I find out. haha)

Cindy,
I just pulled it apart...On each side, there are two "buttons" at the side, one attached to canopy and one at the bottom. I took out the shoulder straps and center strap and slipped the waist straps through the hole. Then just pulled the cover off when the stroller is in semi-closed position. In other words, I use brute force lah.
Just took it out of the washer and am air-drying it (don't dare to put it in dryer for fear of shrinkage!). When it's more or less dry (ie this evening), I'll put it together again and hopefully, it'll stretch out again.