(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Jessemom,
wow, my dad will love #2 too cos he keep bugging me to employ a maid as my mom is minding my child now haha but think my mom wun agree more to your dad's 10 commandments! haha

Hey mommies, Pigeon or Jordan toothbrush for toddlers? what the diff ah? I missed buying Jordan step 1 during the Young parents fair, now i can only find step 2 and 3 in Pharmacies..

Dlim,
Me same plight as you, no time to do personal things at all. My gal always following me everywhere. Even when i bathem she will stand outside the toilet door and start knocking..

Min,
yes enjoy your breaks! I do!
Boys starting learning from their fathers (even how to treat their mothers) from about 8 - 9 months. And they learn many other things too. My HB has always doted on Jesse since he was born so I'm not surprised he'll go to daddy and it makes daddy happy. Plus, I'm also usually the "harder" one. And as one nice friend puts it, daddy has nicer shoulders to lie on! Mine are too skinny. He's a nice friend cos he used the word "skinny" on me...like seriously! Haha.

Dlim, coold, I don't know leh...are you more fun than your hbs? haha.

I know Jesse doesn't mind his ah-going and ah-mah though he only sees them once a week cos he gets away with murder! They give him everything he wants and lets him do anything! I also don't mind that lah, that's how they bond and Jesse should be spoilt a little (just not by me or HB).

Every time I bring him there, when it's time to go home, he cries. But once he's in the car seat he stops crying cos he knows...that's it, mummy never gives in.

Mrs Lai,
okay, will go look for it...

JK prefers his papa too.

** whenever his papa get changed n carry him, he will wave bye bye to me (even when my hb has no intentions to bring JK out) JK will wave happily to me. **faint**

augleo
JK so cute.. but makes you vomit blood too rite

my boy also.. when my hubby carries him in his home clothes.. he also waves bye bye to me

D
yes, my hubby coz comfy shoulders. and even me myself loves lying on my hubby

my hubby is hands on daddy when comes to bathing, changing etc.
but still i'm the one doing most of 'shit' work like washing his bottles, laundry, clean his backside when he poos.
yet my boy don't appreciate it. *hmmph*

i think our boys may prefer their daddy if they see their mummies too often at home?
coz Augleo, D and i spend more time with them alone?

but the only time my boy is sticky to me is during bed time!! and he needs me to lie beside me then he can sleep
then my hubby can happily go play his computer game.. so unfair as i can only do housework after my boy sleep

so by time my boy sleep at 10.30pm, i can only finish washing his bottles, laundry at 11+pm

coolD
my hubby also very fierce leh.. and can give my boy a fierce stare and even slap his bum hard many times

but must say my boy very thick-skinned. after being punished.. he can still go and lay his head on my hubby's chest!!

if i scold my boy.. he can simply just look away and feign ignorance!!

I also have no time for myself! Caitlyn sticks to me too! I also quite "sian" sometimes!

mrs lai...
how come V can eat so much? i m just wondering how bbs can eat so much cos caitlyn doesnt eat v much during meals and soooo slowly! and she never finishes her meals! i really dislike feeding time!

s/w,
hugz!its really a phase...i read in books that it is ok if bb dun eat much...so i m not super concerned about her not eating much. sometx when she totally rejects her meals..i will just gif banana. if she still doesnt want, i just let her drink bm or eat some organic cereal like breakfast Os.

My boy dunno how to wave bye bye.
But we know when his daddy change and carry him, his heart already out the door!

Do you all actually teach all these things (like wave bye bye)? Maybe I don't teach that's why he can't do anything!

Cindy,
pay a few hours for a babysitter? It was like $12 or $15/hr where we were...

Cindy,
yah, I also still believe that since Jesse is still taking all four bottles a day, his solids are still not that important...though he should be switching, but I think unless I give him real food (our food) which he LOVES, he rather not eat. And he actually prefers jarred food to my cooking (porridge) so...at least I don't feel so guilty about not wanting to cook for him either. Just ate most of his lunch for my lunch again.

Agent D
We always try to reach the zoo at 9am to catch the elephant bath time...can really get up close and personal with the elephants....
But always rush like mad..cos gotta cook porridge and dabao breakfast (for adults) too.

Thinking of giving the bath time a miss and reaching there before 11am for the animal show...then can have a heavy brunch at home 1st. But bb will miss the morning nap...

Hehe...I did that to him a few times when he was much younger (3 or 4 months). Then twice, one of my friends (Grandma Karen), came over to watch him. She even gave him his bath and put him to sleep. Though she said he cried the whole bath time and she just carried him to sleep. But he slept through the night still and in the morning acted like we never left!

Traz,
Ah...okay when you have a specific time let me know. I'll see how Jesse is this weekend. Usually Monday he's still recovering from weekend! haha I'll check back here for this on sunday night.

CoolD,Min,
My HB is fiercer towards my gal too, wun hesitate to hit or scold her. For me will only scold her but she turns many deaf ears towards me..and she tends to know who to bully too..and that's me! hai~~

CoolD,
JBoy = Jordan Boy? haha

meddy
YES

D
actually we do teach jboy all those wave goodbyes, shake hand, sayang, kiss kiss etc etc. nowadays, whenever we rch IL hse or come hm, i always want him to greet. So we will like 'jboy, call ah ma' example. But he still can't speak la, so for now, everybody is 'ah', but he really does response. Even my fren comes visiting, i goes 'jboy, call auntie', he will 'ah'.

min...

we can shake hands...haha
my girl is 'glue' to mi during nite time...so i oni hv time after she sleeps...

cindy: I have no idea - i was so shocked! I think maybe earlier her own porridge must be too little and she was still hungry plus GREEDY.

I'll prob prepare more porridge for her since now she "love" my porridge. My secret weapon? toasted ikan billis powder - I bought those no head and the innards removed, wash, sun dry, toasted and then ground into powder. I add 1 teaspoon of it to her porridge (dun add salt to her porridge) and then it's quite nicely flavoured, with a bit of saltish taste. Also helps that I made the chicken stock slightly sweeter this time (more chicken and less water) so when I use it to cook her porridge, she is satisfied to know it's ADULT'S quality.

As for feeding, she doesn't really have a fixed feeding time, just try to keep it 1 hour after she wakes up, so she would be slightly hungry by then. I don't normally force her to finish - dun wan means dun wan = no more. So now she knows she has to finish otherwise no more porridge (although she's prob thinking can steal daddy's or mummy's food later :p)

Cindy: Also want to add that, I think i give her too little of her own porridge, cuz the amt she eats is prob 1/2 of K (I compared) so i prob need to give MORE and buy a bigger thermos flask :p

Huggies Baby Club is excited to share an exciting redemption program with you!

As a valued Huggies Club member, we would like you to have one of our exclusively designed Huggies® foldable pop up tent, worth $39.90.

This play tent is perfect for both indoor and during outdoor play at the beach!

Simply collect 6 barcodes from participating* Huggies® Ultra and/or Huggies® Pull Ups® Pants to qualify for this redemption.

Do note that redemption for this attractive play tent starts from 1 July and will end on 30 September 2008

http://www.huggies.com.sg/TheHuggiesClubs/RedeemHuggiesPlayTent.aspx

coold,
must start so young ah? thought later when he can actually talk then start... but ya, my boi boi very blur one
simi also buay haio But little sotong also cute lah.

sandwich,
so how did your hunt for more food go? Turn up any good finds?

s/w dun be depressed wif lil kaizer eating habits
he just recovered fm flu, maybe that is why his appetite not there yet ...
as long as he doesnt look starved ! still happy playing
, i think u dun hv to worry too much
some babies are like that . they hv stored away calories / energy bars . only when their levels dip , then they eat ???
bring him to a specialist n see wat they can do to him . just a phase , dun worry *pat pat*

had a disastrous evening. kaizer was prescribed pediasure by the PD, who thought that it should be safe for him to try, diary allergies notwithstanding, since pediasure is lactose free. anyway, it's not safe at all. he had such a terrible allergic reaction! luckily me and husband are very used to dealing with his reactions, and i'm a pretty optimistic person by nature, notwithstanding the posts yesterday lah. otherwise, i might just have sat down there and cried together with him. anyway the full story is on his blog, so that his grandparents can read abt it, as i want them to know what happened but don't want to tell them abt it over the phone.

D,
actually we oso not intentionally teaching jboy things .. its juz our daily way of life, so we juz include him in. Nowadays he see strangers at e playground he will oso give them a friendly wave
So for now, its all abt body language till he can speak ..

Sandwich,
sori to hear tat. pediasure is not suitable cos it has very high milk protein thou it is almost lactose free. kaizer is probably allergic to d cow milk protein. pediasure doesnt make ash LS but irritate his nose/throat/lung n cause him to cough badly n hv itchy nose n skin. haiz...

agent d,
i told my mum and dad through the phone that i was bringing him to the PD, and why. so at least they're in the know that i'm worried abt the feeding problems. hiyah, abt the rest of what happened this evening, read his blog lah. they'll definately call me tomorrow morning again to hear the story over the phone. but in any case, we're visting my parents and staying over at their place this weekend, at my mum's insistence.

min, millo, caicai,
thanks for the kind words!

traz,
yah, kaizer is bordering 3rd percentile now. there's a dietician at NUH too, but i'm not referred there yet. our case is not as serious as yours to warrant iron supplements, cos luckily the teddy puffs that he loves to eat is fortified with lotsa iron. TCM, must let me know whether the outcome is good or not =) speaking abt the zoo, i have an adult tic on hand still, bought from a forum mummy. have to utilize it by aug.

sanrio,
i actually went to vivo before the appt, so sorry couldn't meet up with you. was at nuh when i received your sms. i bought the rice crisp bar to try, got the berries flavour. which flavour does ashrel like? tried looking for the boiled shell pasta, but didnt know which is the one you're talking abt that can actually stuff things in.

mrs lai and cherryteq,
sorry couldn't meet up for lunch today. didnt check the forum in the morning. i had lunch at olio with some of my colleagues today. i wanted to walk to ashton's, but my colleagues didnt want to walk so far haha(mrs lai: did you sms me this morning, thought i received a lunch sms from someone)

meddy,
where is vitakids located? the no junk promise you're talking abt is prob the organix range that sanrio gets. that's their tagline. i've let kaizer try the rusks, rice cakes before but he didnt like them terribly. next up that we're trying is their crunchy sweet corn rings.

cindy,
bananas are perenially on his diet too. he's learning how to self eat a del monte banana now, so it's quite fun to see him squash the thing inside his mouth.

sandwich,
ai yo, i just read ur blog. poor kaizer, hugz hugz... dun offer him pediasure anymore. n no no choc, is highly allergenic. ash coughs badly n wld puke somtx w pediasure or any milk.
is ok, we can mt up agn next wk. i can brg some uncooked shell pasta for u. ash takes d berry flavor cos he cant take choc.
remb dun let kaizer try peanuts/nuts, ash reacts badly to it. he wld immediately cough cough cough badly till lost his voice n somtx puke.

sandwich,
yup, vitakids is where i got most of d organic stuff for ash n cher. i usually go to the one at paragon. at vivo, it is located quite near burgerking but but d entrance is at d outdoor playground side.

Sandwich,
u can try this. my frd shared tis receipe. i hvnt tried. but i dun noe whether kaizer wld like.

Panfried Rice Cake:
- Set aside d 'extra' rice fr dinner n put in container n put in fridge.
- Next day, steam n mash fish n/or meat n/or vege (whatever combination ur kid may like)
- Add to the rice
- Flatten it n pan fried it in non stick wok with a little olive oil (u can don't add oil)

was just reading ysterday posts , hahah , mrs lai u so comical : u an apple ???!!!
btw , how many teeth our babies shd hv now huh

sandwich,
I haven't tried pediasure on Jesse but Dr says he doesn't need it...though (then) I don't know what to move him to next already...my SIL tells me goats milk has no lactose...we'll see.

Anyway, as a rule of thumb, I NEVER give Jesse anything new from lunch time on. Why? Because it's much easier to deal with whatever reaction he might have in the day than at night.

Kaizer can't eat egg too, right? Jesse's go to dish right now is alphabet pasta. Sometimes I just cook that and mix is with some jarred food (as the sauce). Otherwise, I give him instant rice cereal/oats since it's fortified with iron etc. That's how he gets his nutrients cos he doesn't want it any other way.

Glad you went home with lots of snacks.
Actually the Dr Sear's book says some kids are just snackers, so just put out a "food station" with foods like carrots and stuff, so the child can go to it throughout the day and you know he's eating....but for me, I wrestle with that thought.

Maybe your parents concerned about you...so tough to keep cleaning up after Kaizer. So they want to look after you all. Right now, I think the only person how thinks of me before Jesse is my mom. She always tells him not to bully me. hehe.

D
ya lor.. only supermarket sell del monte. coz old folks say they can only eat pang jio
maybe now they are >1 yr old.. can eat normal bananas liao then it be easier for me to buy

Min,
but since my MIL give me del monte to give Jesse, i take it as a sign that can give...they're very Chinese on that end. Everything is "gan mao" haha.

graybecky
no potty training for jboy. Did try some times back, but he does not want to sit on the potty. So, we juz let him be. I was tinking of trying again when he can speaks, & indicate his poo poo wants :p

graybecky
no potty training for jboy. Did try some times back, but he does not want to sit on the potty. So, we juz let him be. I was tinking of trying again when he can speaks, & indicate his poo poo wants :p

s/w

feel v sad when i read ur blog n ur posts. Really hope K gets well n his appetite back soon . nt sure whether it helps but perhaps as a rule of thumb, don't gv K any 'cold' milkydrink. i rem he didnt take well to iced milo too . Take care of urself too k?

s/w

feel v sad when i read ur blog n ur posts. Really hope K gets well n his appetite back soon . nt sure whether it helps but perhaps as a rule of thumb, don't gv K any 'cold' milkydrink. i rem he didnt take well to iced milo too . Take care of urself too k?

Sandwich,
besides Paragon and Vivo, there's one outlet at United Square too. The one at Vivo is abit hard to locate compared to the one at Paragon and United Sq.

I am currently giving my gal the organic multigrain cereal and Organix Current Alphabet Cookies..tasted them myself, quite tasty i am say hehehe

Huh? Can't eat del monte? my gal eating all kind of bananas since young leh..*Oops*