(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

mummies: Meet at JBG itself better. Cuz the main gate at Gleneagles is quite a long walk to JBG!

To get to JBG, just go to the NUS Bukit Timah Campus entrance from Dunearn road(the previous NIE/ SMU)- the garden entrance is just inside.

Getting Here

By car or taxi

From Dunearn Road - At the Dunearn-Kheam Hock Road junction, turn right to enter NUS Bukit Timah Campus. Turn right into Jacob Ballas Children's Garden after car park gantry.

From Bukit Timah Road - At the Bukit Timah-Kheam Hock Road junction, turn left to enter NUS Bukit Timah Campus. Turn right into Jacob Ballas Children's Garden after car park gantry.

http://www.sbg.org.sg/asset/images/JacobBallas-Map-Big.jpg

FYI: Safety & Hygiene
Glass objects and food must not be brought into the Garden. Cycling, rollerblading and ball games are not allowed.

Re: Picnic at Botanic Gardens
Mummies, I'm not too sure whether there's a big enough place to accomodate all of us?
Cos I was at the JB children's garden last Sat, took a quick walk around cos the weather was a killer, but dun rem any big grass patch or area. Anyone else who's been there can advise if there'll be enough space?

Mrs Lai,
If we cannot bring food into the JB garden, then means no picnic there?

cheery,
think if want picnic, beta go to the one that is facing the lake, at least there even got shelter(like a hut type), JB think tuff.

at least at the lake, can see duck swimming

MicK,
Ya, I was thinking the JB garden may be too small. I like the lake idea. I used to feed the ducks at the swan lake when I was very young. Got photo la, not becos I remembered.
Let's see wat the other mummies think.

7th Jun Meet up
If I go, HB will be going as well, so 3 of us...and...we'll be late lah. 3pm, Jesse still taking nap. I third the part by the lake, had quite a few picnics there...it's a nice spot.

Dear mummies ,

nid advice on USA shopping , wat are the must buys from the states huh ? wat type of toys / dvds etc ? my sis going , so i tot of asking her to help me buy things , but i am clueless , wat dvds / toys to recommend me ? pls help !!!

Tofu
Hey Mummies,
some of you give it right? How much do you give per meal? Let's say it's a block that we buy from supermarket. about 1/6? How about egg tofu? about 1/4 or 1/5?

Thanks! Jesse loves tofu (he drinks soy formula..hehe) but I'm just wondering if there's an upper limit to this.

caicai,
I'd say Hylands teething tablets and a toy piano. haha. But it really depends on your needs. What do you think you need? There are tons of things you could buy, e.g. when HB went back for biz trip last oct, he brought back for me mustela stuff and soothing naturals. Not that it's not sold here but it's cheaper there. I would tell him to buy wipes if it weren't so silly!

Talking about wipes, what wipes do you use for diapering? Right now trying pigeon but don't find it "wet" enough. What's "wetter"?

Jesse,
if u find pigeon wipes not wet enuff, beta dun try kodomo.
if u wanna "wet" wipes mayb u can try tollyjoys.

tofu:
usually will let JK eat 1/4 of the block plain tofu...the remaining block will b 1 of our dishes (tofu soup, sweet n sour tofu w/minced pork or steam tofu w/minced pork)

wknd meet up:
family members are welcome

Leo,
thanks for the reply.
I'm cooking tofu for Jesse and for our dinner...hehe, just wanted to know. But I use egg tofu lah...then pan fry with egg for our dinner. In case you're wondering, our dinner tonight is egg tofu, soy chicken & cabbage. Jesse will be having porridge with cabbage and tofu cooked in a chicken vegetable broth.

Hehe, I don't know how to cook soup.

Okay, I'll buy tollyjoy to try. I don't mind pigeon when we're out for general wiping but for diapering I like them a little wet. Can you believe that up to now, I've survived on the wipes we shipped back from the US!

Cindy,
I love kirkland wipes and even CVS!
I can't find an equivalent here.

jesse: I only use 1/8 of the normal tofu block cuz i mix with meat. haven't use egg tofu yet so not sure.

Wipes: I personally recommend Avent, but only get it when JL or Robinsons is having sale 20% plus the member's discount. Then it's the same price as Pigeon's discounted price. Alternatively, there is another brand carried by R and JL, it's called Carlsons. It's frankly quite good, and I prefer it over Pigeon although much cheaper (3 packs for $6 i think).

Picnic, think anywhere in the park is fine since got pavillions and flat ground/ gentle slopes.

Mrs Lai,
Thanks for your recommendation

I don't have robinson's card

I'll take a look at Carlsons and Avent anyway...when I get a chance.

MCYS MEDIA RELEASE No: 39/2008
DATE OF ISSUE: 21/05/2008
21 May 2008
MEDIA RELEASE
TWO BANKS APPOINTED BY MCYS WILL OFFER HIGHER INTERESTS AND INVESTMENT FLEXIBILITY FOR BABY BONUS ACCOUNTS
Parents to choose OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered Bank
by 30 June 2008
From 1 August 2008, parents will enjoy higher interest rates for their Baby Bonus savings when they choose between OCBC Bank and Standard Chartered Bank to host their Children Development Accounts (CDAs). They will receive a Baby Bonus Card, which allows them to use their CDA savings to pay for approved expenses for their children via NETS. They will also have the flexibility to invest their CDA savings in Singapore dollar fixed/time deposits offered by the two banks.
For Parents with Existing CDAs
2 Parents with existing CDAs with DBS can only access their funds up to 31 July 2008 and will have to transfer their CDAs to either OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered Bank. The Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS) will inform parents with existing CDAs of the options and details of the transfer. From mid-May 08, these parents will receive a package from MCYS containing instructions and CDA application forms of OCBC Bank and Standard Chartered.
3 Parents only need to indicate their choice of either OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered Bank by completing and signing the MCYS option form and the chosen bank’s form and returning it to MCYS by 30 June 2008. This will effect the transfer of their CDA to the new managing agent.
4 MCYS will transfer the CDA funds from DBS Bank to the chosen bank by 7 August 2008. During the transition period from 1 August to 7 August 2008, parents will not be able to access their CDAs while the funds are being transferred. Approved Institutions registered with MCYS under the Baby Bonus Scheme will only commence GIRO deductions from the new CDAs on 15 August 2008 or earlier once they have informed their GIRO collection bank on the new CDA details. Parents can also start making NETS payments at these AIs once they receive the Baby Bonus Card from the banks by 15 August 2008.
For new births up to 31 May 2008
5 For new births up to 31 May 2008, parents can still open a new CDA with DBS Bank by submitting the “POSB Application for Children Development Account” form at the birth registration counters at the hospitals and ICA. They can use the money in this CDA to pay fees at AIs until 31 July 2008. However, these parents will be given the option forms and asked to indicate their option for either the OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered, so that the CDA can be transferred to the new bank in August 2008.
6 Alternatively, parents may wish to open their CDA with one of the new banks directly. MCYS will send them the new banks’ application forms when the forms are ready from 1 June 2008.
For Parents with newborns from 1 June 2008
7 Parents of newborns from 1 June 2008 can open the new CDA with one of the two new banks directly. The Baby Bonus kits containing information and forms of the new managing agents will be made available to them at the various hospitals1. Parents can choose to open their CDAs with either OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered by completing the respective form and submitting it at the birth registration counters at hospitals, the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA) or MCYS. Their CDAs will be opened with their chosen bank from 1 August 2008.
8 More details on the Baby Bonus Scheme are available at Annex A. Parents who require more information on the Scheme can contact the hotline or visit the website. The details are below:

Baby Bonus hotline (Toll-free):1800-2537707 during office hours (Monday till Friday: 8.30am – 5.45pm, Saturday, 8.30am-12.45pm).
ISSUED BY
MINISTRY OF COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT, YOUTH AND SPORTS
1 East Shore Hospital, Gleneagles Hospital, KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital, Mount Alvernia Hospital, Mount Elizabeth Hospital, National University Hospital, Raffles Hospital, Singapore General Hospital and Thomson Medical Centre 3
Annex A
BABY BONUS SCHEME
The Baby Bonus scheme was first implemented in April 2001 for the second and third child. In August 2004, the scheme was enhanced and extended to the first and fourth child.
The first child receives a cash gift, while the second to fourth child receives both a cash gift and a co-savings matching contribution in the Children Development Account (CDA) from the Government. The cash gift is given in 4 equal instalments over 18 months. The co-savings matching contribution from the Government is credited into the CDA in the following month after the savings are made.

hv you all rec'd letters fom MCYS oredi? i hv not leh

Jesse
i give abt 1/4 from block of toufu
if i use egg tou fu, i use half. egg tou fu taste good with porridge! i like!

jesse: tt time Disney got teach how to make the steam egg, but i only added minced pork and tofu to it hehehe ... so i dun add tofu to anything else for my gal.

jesse: avent may be hard to find these days - went down to JL and R a few times, dun have stock. I hope stupid philips wont stop making it!

RE:WIPES
Jessemum , hv u considered watsons' kodomo wipes , not so thick but i like it leh . 1 pkt only 1.99 , buy 10 get 1 free ( only when there is promo )

Mrs Lai ,
this form is Children Development Account ( meant for 2nd to 4th kid) , applicable for US meh ? we are 1st kids ONLY

hello augleo, jesse...

sorry, how many teeth do ur bb hv...
mine bb oni hv 4 teeth, cant hv alot of food...still taking porridge....

Michk,
Agreed! I cannot keep buying things liao if im a SAHM...

Jesse,
All IT are the same.. u need to upgrade every year..thats the most boring part!
What is your frd working as a part time?

Beyond,
Seems like all women likes shopping!!! I also the same..keep spending non stop
so im not sure how to control myself once im a SAHM. If everyday stay at home,
also very boring. If go out window shopping, sure spend money...

Cherryteq
I agreed. Surving with 1 income seems abit tight if im planning for 2nd bb. So
im considering part time job.

RE - Wipes,

I also prefer pigeon brand. Trollyjoys also not bad. I find Avent abit too thick..

help !! my son just took his FIRST pneumococcal jab on mon .

since yesterday , there are little red dots on his body , is tis normal huh ? how ? how ?

cai2,
weird, how come take pneumo jab, got red dots??
u call the aped and ask? got fever?
K doesnt have any and she has taken 2 dosages.

dlim,
i wanna chio u buy something. but after yest, think i beta NOT! wahahaha

Cai,

Yes, u shld check with doctor & see what yr doctor say.
Jayden also doesnt have any rashes.

Michk,

What is it??? Quick tell me!! Good things must share mah..
Im not yet a SAHM leh....Haaaa...

3rd Mass meet up = PICNIC
Date : 7 June (Saturday)
Time: 3pm
Food: Pot luck
Venue: Jacob Ballas

1. Jo
2. Mrs Lai
3. Dlim (picnic Mat + cakes + fruits)
4. Cherryteq
5. Springdance
6. Gene
7. Sanrio
8. KSS
9. S/W
10. Augleo (picnic mat + pastries + cakes)
11. bububear (pasta salad)
12. Jon's mummy
13. Pisces Gal + Hubby + BabyG

micK and dlim , the red dots only on his arms n thighs , body dun hv .. how how ??? i called clinic liao . he is still playing leh , he has slight fever on-off , but most of the time he is ok

Jesse,
we (w/1 child) dun hv to do anything abt it. will remain our posb a/c. S$3K in 4 pyt

Milo,
care to intro urself?
+ ur child gender n DOB?
FYI: my boy has abt 12 teeth

caicai,
dunno leh...call pedi lor. Jesse did all 4 shots liao...never had red dots or fever.

Milo,
Jesse has about 9 teeth and I think he's teething again. Last few days only nap 1 hour total (30 mins each time) sianz...anyway, he also takes porridge mostly.

Argh...after 30 mins of screaming/crying/coughing, he's finally quiet. Boy I need a break.
Sorry ah...even if he's teething, there's only so much I can take from him.

Cai,

Slight fever is quite common after the jab. Is the rashes alot on his hands & thighs?
If the rashes only start today, u can wait till tmr & see how.

If u worry, call up yr doctor now & check whether u need to bring him down to see him?

Wipes: I like avent - very thick, cuz we normally will take a piece to rinse and rewipe my gal's butt so good for our purposes. Thick also incase a lot of sai, it wont seep through the wipe so easily!

Augleo/Mrs Lai/DLim/Mummies going for Picnic
My hubby just reminded me that we got a Family day event by his company on 7 June... So looks like we cant go for the picnic liaoz...unless the picnic can postponed one more week? Sobzzzz

Re: Wipes
I'm using Pigeon & Tollyjoy....more economical as compared to Avent.

Re: Tofu
Just started not long only...giving the plain one...small cube...but switching to the long bolster type coz the box type is too much cannot finish by the expiry date...and we dun wanna eat tofu so often for dinner. :p

augleo...

i m a FTWM...hoping to b a SAHM too...LOL
my bb girl is 13mths now...born on 26apr07...

wah 12teeth, jesse had 9teeth...
mine oni 4teeth...

Milo: My gal has 12, and 2 more coming out.

it's ok even if your kid has only 4 teeth. My gal could gum her food very well (not using her teeth), so biscuits, rusks, porridge, rice, meat (mashed/ minched), veggies (finely chopped) is ok.

wow!
there are 6 bb born on 26th Apr.
3 boys + 3 girls

milo,
hoping to b a SAHM? erm...tough decision huh!

u staying in the North?

kikis,
just sms u...rec'd?
dunno if i've entered wrong hp# of urs...coz after zoo trip, i've sms u few msg but no reply

darbebe,
u on vacation? din "see" u on the thread

disney,
u feeling better? starts work?