(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

i'm very firm with my boy. think i'm a fierce mummy

if he throw his toys for the 2nd time, i will not give it to him

i give him a stare first if he continues to be nuaghty then will raise my voice a little

but seriously, my boy is not afraid at all.. super thick skin. its so hard to discipline them

my boy been quite rude lately. if i wanna remove things from his hands
he will shout 'Arr' . or if i scold him, he will 'Arr' back at me.

so helpless at times as i had told him gently that its not right to do it yet he still don't understand

his temper also very bad. if i take things from him e.g. saw him holding on to the scissors we used to cut his nails..

its natural instinct to hurry up remove it from his hands.. he will scream and cry very badly even when i distract him with other toys also no use.
he will only stops when i return scissors back to him.

to sum up.. my son is the king and everyone has to give in to him

caicai
I also hit him but he cry even louder..haha..he got habit for lying himself on the floor to cry & refuse to get up.. sometimes even bang his head against watever is in front of him..

coolD
jboy must be a happy boy with so many new toys to play with..wat do u do with those toys tat he dun play anymore..

Kikimon, coolD, min,
when beat JK's hands ... my fingers will pain lei but he seems no feel

CoolD...yes tough meat!!!

JK loves to throw all the books from the cofy table then place them back again n throw!

SD,
ur boy eats better with nice scenery

at least he let ur hb carry n eats sometimes JK will push away from us

re: temper of the toddle
I also cannot stand my gl lor.. she always do dis also..
talk to her in a nice way dun wanna listen lei. scold her also no used. beat her she also no feeling. kids nowadays dun know hw to teach hor. sigh

kikimom,
I also tinking .. now my guest rm are filled wif his toys. Maybe I shld start a toy rental coy :p

augleo
my FIL uses rubberband to shoot jboy's hand when he take the remote, or touches anything he not suppose to. Nowadays when he touch, FIL take rubberband oni he will quickly put back .. haha. But when I do the same, he will challenge me .. I take up, he put down. I put down rubberband, he go n take again :S

augleo
i understand how u feel.

i slap, i flick his fingers when my son open drawers but he will continue to do it and can even look into my eye as if to give me the 'hit me if you dare' look

when i change diaper and he flip around.. i will slap his feet.

its pains me too but my son also got thick skin. they heck care

many tell me disicipline starts young.. but seem like its of no use.

i'm one whom don't belive in 'love education'. i can talk to him gently and explain to him in a nice tone. but if he repeats 2nd/3rd time then i will resort to being firm liao

actually after reading all the mummies post here.. i'm much betta.

i was feeling abit sian whenever i face my boy when he has major melt down

he can cry with tears if he does not get his toys.. then in split second he will smile when he get what he wants.

at least i know most toddlers are behaving same ways. looks like we hv to be ready for their terrible 2 syndrome

mummies just a quick one aboit disclipining kids. I am no expert but what I do with my gal is:

1. when she throw tantrums (like sitting on the floor and kicking her legs around and "pretending" to cry) I'll just sit one side and watch her. It will end when she realises that it's not going to get her what she wants, since I just sit there and watch her.

2. feeding - it's important to have a routine, and a regular place for the kid to sit. My gal will sit in her high chair to eat, or at the dining table for the adults for the kids. No entertainment till she finishes her food or if dun want liao, no more till the next feeding time. Cannot be in the play area, although once in a blue moon I bend the rules. They may or may not like the food, so like eg, I realise my gal dun like cheese or soy grit, so none for her anymore.

I have the articles somewhere ... need to dig them out but my house is in a mess now!

Hey mummies, found an article on "Babycenter" http://www.babycenter.com/0_tantrums_11569.bc
on toddler tantrums.
Haven't read thru it yet but thought I can post it here for your reading pleasure...

Why it happens

A temper tantrum is the emotional equivalent of a summer storm — sudden and sometimes fierce. One minute you and your child are in a restaurant enjoying your dinner, the next minute he's whimpering, whining, and then screaming at the top of his lungs because his straw is bent. Children between the ages of 1 and 3 are especially prone to such episodes.

Though you may worry that you're raising a tyrant, take heart — at this age, it's unlikely that your child is throwing a fit to be manipulative. More likely, he's having a meltdown in response to frustration. Claire B. Kopp, professor of applied developmental psychology at California's Claremont Graduate University, attributes much of the problem to uneven language skills. "Toddlers are beginning to understand a lot more of the words they hear, yet their ability to produce language is so limited," she says. When your child can't express how he feels or what he wants, frustration mounts.
What to do

Don't lose your cool. A tantrum is not a pretty sight. In addition to kicking, screaming, or pounding the floor, your toddler's repertoire may include throwing things, hitting, and even holding his breath to the point of turning blue. When your child is swept up in a tantrum, he's unlikely to listen to reason, though he will respond — negatively — to your yelling or threatening. "I found the more I shouted at Brandon to stop, the wilder he would get," says one mother of a 2-year-old. What worked instead, she discovered, was to just sit down and be with him while he raged.

Staying with your child during a tantrum is a good idea. Stomping out of the room — alluring as that may be — can make him feel abandoned. The storm of emotion he's going through can be frightening to him, and he'll appreciate knowing you're nearby. Some experts recommend picking up your child and holding him if it's feasible (i.e., he's not flailing too much), saying he'll find your embrace comforting. But others say it's better to ignore the tantrum until your child calms down, rather than rewarding negative behavior. Through trial and error, you'll learn which approach is right for your child.

Remember that you're the adult. No matter how long the tantrum continues, don't give in to unreasonable demands or negotiate with your screaming toddler. It's especially tempting in public to cave in as a way of ending the episode. Try not to worry about what others think — anyone who's a parent has been there before. By conceding, you'll only be teaching your child that throwing a fit is a good way to get what he wants, and setting the stage for future behavior problems. Besides, your child is already frightened by being out of control. The last thing he needs is to feel that you're not in control either.

If your child's outburst escalates to the point where he's hitting people or pets, throwing things, or screaming nonstop, pick him up and carry him to a safe place, such as his bedroom. Tell him why he's there ("because you hit Aunt Sally"), and let him know that you'll stay with him until his negative behavior stops. If you're in a public place — a common breeding ground for tantrums — be prepared to leave with your child until he calms down.

"When my daughter was 2, she had an absolute fit at a restaurant because the plain spaghetti she ordered arrived with chopped parsley on it," recalls one mother. "Although I realized why she was upset, I wasn't about to let her disrupt everyone's dinner. I took her outside until she calmed down."

Talk it over afterward. When the storm subsides, hold your child close and talk about what happened. Acknowledge his frustration, and help him put his feelings into words, saying something like, "You were very angry because your food wasn't the way you wanted it." Let him see that once he expresses himself in words, he'll get better results. Say with a smile, "I'm sorry I didn't understand you. Now that you're not screaming, I can find out what you want."

Try to head off tantrum-inducing situations. Pay attention to what situations push your child's buttons and plan accordingly. If he falls apart when he's hungry, carry snacks with you. If he has trouble making a transition from one activity to the next, give him a gentle heads-up before a change. Alerting him to the fact that you're about to leave the playground or sit down to dinner ("We're going to eat when you and Daddy are done with your story") gives him a chance to adjust instead of react.

Your toddler is grappling with independence, so offer him choices whenever possible. No one likes being told what to do all the time. Saying, "Would you like corn or carrots?" rather than "Eat your corn!" will give him a sense of control. Monitor how often you're saying "no." If you find you're rattling it off routinely, you're probably putting unnecessary stress on both of you. Try to ease up and choose your battles. Would it really wreck your schedule to spend an extra five minutes at the playground? And does anybody really care if your tike wears mismatched mittens?

Watch for signs of overstress. Although daily tantrums are a perfectly normal part of the mid-toddler years, you do need to keep an eye out for possible problems. Has there been upheaval in the family? An extremely busy or harried period? Tension between Mom and Dad? All of these can provoke tantrums. If after the age of 30 months your child is still having major tantrums every day, talk to your doctor. If your child is younger than 30 months and has three or four tantrums a day and isn't cooperating with any routines, such as getting dressed or picking up toys, you also may want to seek help. Your doctor can make sure your child has no serious physical or psychological problems and suggest ways to deal with the outbursts. Also, talk to your doctor if your child has frightening breath-holding spells when he gets upset. There's some evidence that this behavior is linked to an iron deficiency.

mrs lai , i agree wif u . im not a softie when it comes to discipline . :p

but i think i cannot use the cane on him next time coz i will be real hard and my ma alwys scolds me if she sees me hit my son . she even hit me in retaliation , spare the rod , spoil the brat !

I forgot - I seldom beat my gal UNLESS she is trying me.

What she normally does is, she does something notti, I will say No and wag my index finger. She does it again while watching me. I will say "mummy said no. mummy will beat beat" she does it again, I will smack the offending limb (leg if she's kicking hand if she is touching something forbidden). She will keep looking at me and sometimes, will even wag her index finger at me before doing the offending act. If she still refuse to stop after beating, I will remove from her area and go somewhere else.

Then that may not work for your kids, cuz each kid have their own temperament. End of the day, you are the boss, not the kid. So you need to rule with an "iron" fist at times. Love is however, unconditional, but it doesn't give us the license to bend to their whims and fancy.

If your kid "eats soft dun eat hard" you can try smiling at them when they are throwing tantrum, like what cool_d does. Your kid will know they can get away with murder if you allow them to, so you need to show them who's boss!

caicai: no lah, not cane. I am still traumatised by the canings I had when I was a kid. And It certainly didn't help me to be a "better" girl since I was getting caned everyday!

mrs lai
i was brought up the cannings ways too. but sometimes canning helps too so can only use it once a while.
i will only use cane to threaten

the way your girl behave is like my boy. but my boy will sometimes not allow me to carry him away. he will bend his body to resist

and also staying with MIL is always difficult to teach our kids properly.

my boy can be naughty and my MIL can still talk to him gently and give in to him. sian!

mozzie bite
anyone knows how to lighten mozzie scar on the face?

BP selling LUcas papow ointment.. duno good anot

Augleo
The “see scenery” method dun always work unfortunately…hahah…anyway, it’s really quite worrying if my boy dun even eat his porridge coz he dun drink milk already…so I will try all means to make him take in at least the solids.

Min / Mrs Lai
I am the “softie” mummy….my hubby is the discipline master.

Anyway, as I mentioned to Augleo…my boy dun drink milk…so I had to succumb to his wimps to make him eat at least….very worrying…his milk intake has dropped drastically (it’s not much in the 1st place)….something like 250ml for the whole day for the past week.

Discipline: Realised after reading all the postings that there seems to be many babies who are scold and/or beatings resistant. I never scold or beat Lele so dunno how he will react. But I think that because we seldom raise our voices at him, it is VERY effective when we raise our voice in a no-nonsense, low-pitch "NO".

When he approaches the glass cabinet I will just observe without saying anything. Only when he does "it" (ie, banging the fragile glass door on with his palms) will I say in a low voice "Lele, NO".

He will stop short in his movements. Sometimes he will try again. And I will repeat more loudly and sternly, "NO,LELE!" and he will crawl away to other things. In the beginning when he is still test-water, he will retry even after warnings. Then I will make my move. I will say "I said NO BANGING ON THE GLASS CABINET" and remove him from the area. He will cry and wail lor. But I will just ignore him but will be there for him to cry out/hughug.

Hey, anyone here got good maid agency to recommend?

Btw, if maid wants to go back before contract and work permit expires, do I still provide her a free ticket back? Or should I make her pay for it herself instead?

Recently, she told me she wants to go back for Hari Raya in October. Then when I told her that since she choose to go back herself, then she should buy her own ticket. Then she said, she hasn't confirm. Damn irritating. Anyway, her contract expires in December, so I might as well change another one.

But the most irritating thing is.. Last night, my MIL was at my place. Then she some more can say, I no need maid what. Then her son can save more money. I really want to scream at her leh. If she never ask my hb for money for her majong, that's saving alot of money!!

She got the cheek to suggest that we can go back to my mum's place for dinner. So what can she help? Nothing!! I said ok lor, then you come over everyday to help me with the chores lor. She said, "Aiya, pity I stay so far lor. No choice, if I stay near I surely help one." So meaning, ask my mum to help me ah?

She's really mean leh. Always pushing the responsibility one. If she's not willing to help then just keep her mouth shut right? So she wants me to be a maid ah?!! I might as well go back to work, right?

I was so mad that after she left, I started screaming at my hb la. His fault? For not siding me.

Btw, I need a maid not coz I'm lazy or what la. But coz he's super lazy one. He doesn't do any chores at all! So I'll surely turn mad one. He needs breakfast to be served, drinks to be brought to him. Super pampered by his loving mum. Even dirty clothes land beside the laundry basket instead of in it!! If he splits the responsibility then it's ok. But he's always occupied with work or hobby. Then I how? Surely turn mad la.

Btw, my dear MIL is still complaining about the Mother's Day dinner we had last week. Saying it is so not worth the bill. Then say our home cook food is soooo much better.

She just heart pain the money. So she can dig my hb for more.

Btw, she just came back from Genting for a gambling trip.

gene: squirrel his money away! don't let him have so much - just control the purse strings. If she nags somemore, just ignore and pretend you didn't hear anything. No point arguing with ur hubby over this, cuz if he doesn't get it now, he won't get it. Want to teach him a lesson? Leave all his dirty clothes in a heap and dun serve him drinks / food. If he complains, you just tell you are preparing for the day without a maid and you expect him to do his share. So just trying and see how it goes.

Does she have a maid herself? U not staying at Bishan anymore?

Re: Tantrums
as a 2nd tx mum, i really 'treasure' cher's bb stage n now. tantrums, more to cum (sori to 'frighten' all). we wen tru ash's terrible 2 stage, answer back/stubborn 3 stage. but if u are consistent in teaching, explaining n discipling them, it really helps. is important to set d boundaries right fr day 1.
i m d 'softer' mummy. i thank my hb for being strict w ash. i appreciate thou somtx i 'xin tong' lah..
Eating:
kids mus sit down n eat during mealtx. if not, no food. my hb is very strict w tat. for cher, we oso 'enforce' tis. if she wan to get out of high chair or cry, then no food. cher dun eat well like ash but we still enforce tis, knowing tat it wld go a long way.
Disrespect/Rude:
If kids show disrespect, ash wld hv to go to his rm (notti corner). he wld cry n scream. till he settles, cum out, apologise. we wld explain d wrong behaviour n give him a hug n tell him no next tx (sure to hv next tx lah).
cher: too young for notti corner but wld still explain. distractions (but doesnt mean giving in to wrong/unreasonable demands) helps at times too. if 'unreasonable' crying, we jus let her b. af tat, give her a hug. so far she is ok.
parenting requires a lots of patience. many tx i failed n guilty of shouting at kids too. but i told myself, 'no i cant'. i m d kids example. i m learning each new day too.
to manage tantrum n some kids requests, eg: if ash insist to eat sweet, we give him 2 choices. so tat he dun alwy feel disapointed w a 'no'. 2 choices is give him a little atonomy to make decision n 2 (not 3 or 4) is to guide them to make a decision.
but of course, somtx 'no' mean 'no', tat is wen rules n boundaries are set. eg: anytg tat can cause danger or harm.

gene: you should have p/t maid first if housework is the problem. I am also thinking of PT maid to do the more time-consuming chores like cleaning windows, mopping floors, washing/ironing clothes. If you find a p/t maid a great help and dun mind a f/t maid, then you can employ one later.

Sanrio: Thanks for being always so generous in sharing your parenting tips as 2nd-time mummy... really very useful for 1st-timers like myself.

I agree that discipline and setting boundaries go a long way and should be started from young. But diff ages have diff understanding level so discipline methods must be adjusted accordingly. Personally I dun believe in excessive scolding, beating and admonishing at this age. Cos I feel he is too young to understand.

But I make it a point to let him understand that NO is seldom said but when said we mean it.

I will start the explanations of right and wrong when he demonstrates better understanding...

re: tantrums
bbJon also very notti & he always likes to kick whenever we changed diaper for him. Last fri I bought him to Raffles City with my mom & when I change diaper for him alone, he just scream & cry, refuse to lay down. In the beginning, try to talk, reason with him, play to distract him but still cannot. At the end, i let him cry until I finish. Once done, he happy & was playing. sigh... HB always say that bbJon only bully me cos he knows I loves him alot even though I do scold / beat his notti hand/legs.

re: mealtime
So far bbJon still quite ok except when we are outside, he easily distracted so must take breaks; go walk around for a while before he continues. But we do not allow him to walk around & eat. All food must be consume when he is in the high chair

I wished I was as persistent as some of u. Initially I also make jboy sits on high chair to eat, dan slowly, it bcome high chair or walker, dan now, sometimes he juz sit on the floor in front of the TV .. hiaz .. But I am thinking once he starts adult food, than it will be strictly sit & eat together at the dining table.

p/t maid: nowadays p/t maids all from agencies one I think. Can look at advertisements in the papers. Think rate was about $10 per hour. Not sure whether there is fee hike.

My mummy is a part-time maid
She got her assignments from agencies. Some of her clients are recommended by existing clients. She has own transport to workplace but she will still choose locations that are not too far away from one another. She visits each location once a week for 4/5 hours a stretch. As for chores, she will do whatever the clients asked her to. If there are too many chores and she stays longer than usual, she will charge accordingly. This is an agreement reached between her and clients.

But I heard that there are some agencies who will specify the list of tasks the p/t maid will do for clients. Once all the tasks done, they will leave. Think this is to prevent some clients from giving so much work to the maids that they become late for the next assignment.

Hope the above info helped...

p/t helper:
from agency think need to pay registration fee.
if hv frez recommend their helpers can save loh

Kate,
hv u lined up ur prog after 28th?

** short trip?

Kate,
Thanks for the p/t maid info. I just not sure whether the agency is genuine or not so feel that recommendations is still better.

Discipline - I also agree that excessive beating is not necessary & reasoning is a more effective way to discipline.

my baby girl lele is also borned in apr 07. i used to be active in the may 07 thread (cos EDD was in may) but became inactive as i was busy with work and not able to follow thru discussion, so did not read the postings as much also.

i chanced upon your discussion about temper tantrums and got very interested. as this is something i have to deal with these days! my lele is beginning to yell and got angry when she cannot get the thing she wants... she can get so angry until cry with tears, and when given the thing, she immediately stop crying. haiz, so sometimes very torn about giving in to her or not...

lately, she loves to go to the kitchen dustbin, open the lid and dig for things!! everytime we see her doing that we say 'No', 'mummy beat beat', then remove her away, and she will scream... sometimes we try smacking her hand, but no use too, cos i think the way we smack also not pain type... so very tiring, cos the process may repeat again within the same day... she may head towards the dustbin and we will have to say 'no' again....

when it comes to feeding, i also prefer to feed her on high chair... sometimes TV is on, sometimes not, sometimes TV is necessary to help her eat, although i dun like the idea, but somehow if she doesn't eat the food which we painstakingly prepare (esp like got fish which is not cheap) i get very gek sim!

Just to share a tip, for our babies who are more and more able to expres their wants, and getting more and more diffcult for us to follow our instructions... can teach them to say 'bye bye' to things so that there can be a closure when we need to take away the items from them... for example, my girl loves the playground now, when we go the playground she will refuse to leave, so i always ask her to 'say bye bye to playground', 'say bye bye to the bird' etc after i tell her we got to go, she will be less relectant to go with me...

sanrio,
always love to read your parenting tips...
. i like your 'notti corner'.. very popular discipline technique in the west, though not not much in our society.. esp the elders will think we 'ill treat' our kids... so its very good since you are a sahm, for me my mil will definitely not practise that.. but i will certianly try this when lele is slighty older... believe that sometimes they need to be given the space safe enough to vent out their frustration.

kate,
i think we know each other leh... SD in NUS
. i chanced upon your blog before.. check out my blog, you probably will know who i am.. and interestingly, both our babies called lele

http://loveourhairyfairy.blogspot.com/

Part-time maid
Me just called a PT helper yesterday.. she'll be coming this Friday 8am to 12 noon... $10 per hour, includes ironing. She stays at Hougang. If any mummy is interested, let me know? It'll be my first time with a PT helper
Yippee!!

suisui: I KNOW YOU! But it took me a while of scanning through your pics because I feel your looks changed alot! So coincidental to "see" you here! WHAT TOOK YOU THIS LONG TO JOIN IN OUR CHATS!
PM me leh. Then we can xchange numbers. )

kate,
hahaha... i never change much la, maybe just a bit fatter now.. heee...

i seldom post cos can't catch up with the chats.. so sometimes just read, used to be much more active in May thread lo...

PM you liao

suisui,
undstd is v tiring to repeatedly said no n stop d undesirable action/behaviour.
wat u can try: carry her away. she wld definitely cry. tell her no, is dirty n show her d facial expression. u wld b surprised af a while, she wld follow ur expression n said 'no' to dustbin. at tis age, u can distract them w somtg else but yes they cld b very determined too. else brg her away, put her in a safe environment, let her cry a while n give them a hug. they shd settle very fast. impt is tat u b firm b calm n b consistent. kip ur cool, dun lose ur patience else as they grow older, if they learn tat their 'notti' behaviour attract attention, they wld do it agn to test u. kids nowady are really 'smart' :p
'notti corner' works well i find. allow parents to not lose their temper n oso kids to hv personal space to cry it out/over, else no peace at hm, parents wld b 'screaming n scolding', kids wld b crying n wailing, really very fan2 loh....

sorry to disturb. I'm from the May Thread.

Just wondering is any of the mummies is bring your toddlers to any class? Any recommendation?

For mummies who are interested in Baking Classes!

Baking Programme Available at The Patissier’s Kitchen

Designed by The Patissier’s very own Executive Patissier, Ms. Tan Siang Yee, The Patissier’s Kitchen baking programme promises to teach applicants the major elements of fine pastry and baking techniques through demonstrations and hands-on participation.

Special emphasis will be placed on understanding the delicate balance between various flavours, aromas, textures and visual elements of desserts.

With the classes being contained to 12 participants each, applicants can expect to master techniques used by The Patissier and apply them in creating their own desserts.

The schedules for the classes are as follows:
Course: Cupcakes and Cookies Kiddies
Date & Time: 24th May, Saturday, 10am – 5pm & 25th May, Sunday, 1pm – 5pm
Description: Learn to prepare and bake 3 varieties of cupcake flavours – chocolate, peanut butter and toffee. Take home key techniques in preparing, shaping and baking 2 special cookie varieties – pagasa and Mexican wedding cookies. Also, learn how to make decorative toppings for cupcakes via the preparation of ganache and royal icing.

Course: Basic Chocolate
Date & Time: 5th, 12th & 19th July, 10am – 5pm per session
Description: Create chocolate truffle formulas based on a basic ganache recipe. Learn how to temper with chocolate and create delicious fillings for your truffles, as well as how to enrobe your pralines by hand.

Course: Pastry Techniques 2
Date & Time: 7th, 14th & 21st June (Saturdays), 10am – 5pm per session
Description: Master the art of making a classic Opera cake and learn the key techniques in creating The Patissier’s very own Chai cake. Also learn how to apply the use of coffee in assorted pastry creations.

sanrio: I just waiting for her to be old enough to have the notti corner!

But sometimes can be v funny, once the 3 kiddos got punished and each of them made to stand a different section along the wall (L shape). So while my bro is scolding one of the kiddos, another one is making face and dancing behind his back. We were watching from the dining table and were just luffing our heads off.

The kids can be very cheeky, so if the notti corner not implemented properly, think more headache to come!

Spring: I signed up for Wilton Course 2 and 4 liao ... By the way, I'm sure it has been asked of you before but I dunno lah, have you tried different brands of FM on your boy yet? I know my sister used to add milo to the milk so that her boy will drink (both of them ultra small size, but the boy is also v picky eater hence on pediasure). But milo is not a long term solution cuz after a while he got sick of it, so they had to try different things!

let me tell u a joke abt my god son..
my god son is so used to naughty corner that when his grandma was feeding him his dinner and he could not finish it..
he told her "Po PO, i don't wanna eat anymore, i go thinking corner myself ok"

wa liao, hear oredi, wanna faint.. shows that cannot use this method too often until they think that its a routine!

PT vs FT maid
Actually the cost of both is not much different assuming PT is $10/hr. But then my hb wants to have home cooked dinner so when I cook, my maid will look after bb and then she'll do the washing and stuff. If no maid means I will not cook anymore!

Caicai/ Kate
Btw, I've got step children now living with me. So without a maid, I will surely be the maid!! Just thinking about this depresses me. I will be the ultimate huang lian po.

Mrs Lai
My hb damn MCP one, cannot control leh. Like recently, he just bought a Land Rover for hobby, without first consulting me! So I save for what right? When he splurge like mad.
I've shifted to Teban, nearer my mum.
My MIL used to have 2 maids and live in a bungalow in Serangoon Gardens.

Kate and Jonmummy
ok will post here after Friday.. I'm alittle apprehensive cos it's my first time with hired help. And my hubby keeps telling me to ask his mum's maid to come over to help out (for free) instead of hiring PT maid. But I'm not keen on that idea.

Gene
Oh! didn't know you shifted house!! When was that? Teban is so far away from Bishan! But much nearer to your mum's place so that's good!

Husband MCP'ness
Yes, I think all men (or most men anyway) are allergic to housework. They will not do any work around the house. My huby also same same.. he agrees that he's the 'Dai-siu'.. especially hates to wash up after meals.. so if I cook, I have to prepare all the food, cook and after eating, wash up.. which so drains me, I just refuse to cook.

Temper tantrums
My J will bite (Gene will attest to that).. and I'll scold him, sometimes beat him.. but he's still biting
.. hope it's just a passing phase. I don't have the heart to beat him very much cos abt 1-2 months ago, I was beating him almost everyday and I'm so afraid it'd escalate into child abuse without me realising it. So I stopped beating him and just scold. I think they are alittle too young for naughty corner and too much beatings will also deaden their senses.

Hi Serene,
welcome to April thread. Classes-- I haven't sign up for any for J.. cos I think he's still alittle too young.. but then again I'm prob a bad example. For me, think will wait till he's at least 18 mths before considering again.

hi gene ,
like that , i rather u spend on a full time maid to upkeep ur sanity , than to allow ur hubby to spend the excess on his hobby . no one wants to be a huang lian po , ah lian is a better bet !