(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Kate,

I see... then I suppose u shouldnt be afraid of frog mah...

Same here, I will always ask Jayden to lie on his bed/sofa & he will be drinking happily by holding onto his milk bottle.

dlim: dunno why but the opp happened. Even my sibs and I grew up in kampong and mum and dad fam biz (that time) was livestock, we are all squirmish when it comes to this kind of things. We dun even eat frogs legs or animals innards. I am scared to hell by cockroaches, spiders and bugs even tho they are all over the place in my childhood. My mum used to joke that I am not the trublu kampong girl cos so xiaojie (missus) in my behaviour.

Mrs Lai : Thanks for including me in the aqua trial...

I will let Glynnis attend GUG trial first. If its ok, then i will sign her. Maybe can be Vanessa's classmate. Haa...

Zoo
For Glynnis' 1st visit to the zoo, we stayed there for about 5 hours. 1st half of the journey, we just carry her. Until we cannot take it, went back to the car to get stroller. Haa... But Glynnis enjoyed herself throughout the trip.

Kate,
so touching, he called 'mama'.. me still waiting for jo to call.. she ever said 'ma' a few times.. dunno if she's calling me..

dreamygal,
i intend to gv scott's emulsion to jo..

Springdance: my ashlyn has been on milk strike since her 3rd month.. she only drinks when she wants to KO or during her KO period.

Ixora: wah.. eat frog leg ah.. I don’t dare give…

kate/ ixora,
Me oso neck long long waiting .. So far, its still 'ah' & 'pa' for jboy.

Btw mummies, any1 giving mamil gold? me tinking of switching jboy to cow's milk. Had a small tin of mamil gold 2 which I tried for 2 nites le. So far ok, but I noticed the FM has alot of bubbles. Dunno is it ok anot.

kate & ixora,
me envious leh, your boy & gal know how to "park" themselves for milk. Mine? Runs (or rather, crawls) away when we want to put on the bib, ask him lie down he'll flip the pillow away, or lie face down and butt in the air. He'll force us to manipulate him in the correct lying down position then hold his own bottle. Sigh...

ixora,
when you intend to gv scott's emulsion? I read on the bottle it says from 1 yr old but i dunno when to start.

glynnis, cherry, ixora: I started with scott emulsion liao, but 1 tsp a day according to my PD. I started with the orange flavour cuz no idea how she will take to the original so she's ok with it so far. i bought the original and intend to try once the orange one finishes.

Kate: Let me share a horror story of my own ... we use to rear chickens at home, or my mum bus live chicken from the market. then we normally slaughter them ourselves. My Ma jie will slit the throat and then put them to run under the drain cover till they die. There was one particularly robust rooster, which refuses to die even though blood was spluttering from the throat. From then onwards, my ma jie never slaughter chickens anymore :p

hi cooldaughter

my girl has been on mamail gold since last yr. so far so good. we switched to no.3 but it has this strong vanilla smell wh we don't really like, so we are back to using no. 2.

yep, i also noticed the bubbles but think it should be ok. mayb u can juz monitor if your baby's tummy is bloated after taking it?

Mrs Lai : My hubby wanted to give scott's emulsion. I am ok with the idea as well. Maybe its because i took alot when i was a kid. Since PD also say can, then i will go ahead le. Hee...

I will give orange flavour because me myself cannot stand original... Haa...

Cool_d/Ixora: Just when you least expected it... VOILA... bbJOs will look at you and say the sweetest "mama/mummy"...

Just now was talking to the cleaner auntie and she asked me if my son addressed papa / mama first. I told her mama, and she said that if baby addressed papa 1st it's better. She asked if my son can walk liao. I told her not really. She said that if the child walks late, that means the papa will be have a successful career.

Hmm...

Glynnis: u check with your own PD better, cuz different PD have different "threshold". For eg, the pharmacy today insist cannot give this medicine to my gal cuz she's below 2. They say EVEN 1/4 of the packet is too strong for her. Guess wat my PD prescribed in the end for my gal? 1 FULL PACKET, 2 TIMES A DAY.

kate: old wives tale perhaps?

the saying is that if baby walk later, life will be very good for the baby. But who knows?

Que sera sera

cherry,
very funny about the distance of hands to brain

sandwich,
where else did you go w/o your bb? I'll let you know abt my trip after I come back. I'm feeling lots of anxiety about leaving Jesse behind...help...
your family from penang? when will you be going? I might be going end aug, but still thinking about it.

Kate
Yes .. I m waiting. I oredi told jboy no need 'mummy', juz 'mee mee' will do, 50% discount:p

blurroti
thanx for the info. I did chk his tummy actually, no bloated
Now I am trying to clear my FM stock at hm .. still hv 1 tin of mamex (infant) coz dat was the first FM jboy drank till he bcoms cows milk allergy :p

Mrs Lai, Sandwich,
since banyan tree charges in USD, should I bring my USD or just sign with SG credit card? What do you think it better?

mrs lai: I know exactly what you are talking about! But shall refrain from elaborations here la. Just after lunch leh!

Cherryteq: Actually we din try to train lele to lie down or ask him to lie down. Been repeating the same procedures everymorn for many mths liao and it was only this morn he just auto pre-amp my next step and lie down body himself. That why I was so amused!

Ixora/coold: forgot to reveal that I "play cheat" to get lele to learn how to say "mama".

Right from when he was only few mths old, I will let him look at my mouth, make the word "ma-ma" very slowly and pronouncedly while tap at my own nose. Then I will say "Le-Le" in the same pronounced manner and point at tap at Lele's nose. I will repeat a few rounds of this.

Then one day while he was fussing,think around 4mths(?)he just utter "MAAA" so clearly while crying.... That was his first word that we could understand. But of course we had doubts that he knew what he was talking about.

So... I think can train them to "speak" the words we want by keep on repeating and letting them see our mouth patterns when we make words.

Okay! Confessed liao!

Kate, Mrs Lai
Wah...liddat Jesse and his father very hoe miah...Jesse says "Papa" non stop (I think he refers to everything as "papa" or "apple")...to date he refuses to call me. He calls me "EH". It's especially reserved for me!

As for walking...he has been crawling since Jan and still doesn't want to walk by himself. He only started to hold our hands to walk last week (before that photoshoot!).

Good lah, daddy career good...his life good...but, actually I walked before my first birthday and I consider my life good too!

Kate,
Hehe...Jesse's "first words" around 4 months were "Hi", "hello"...in his clear, high pitched sound. That time we were still sleeping in the same room and his crib was next to us...can imagine how amused we were every morning when we hear him say, "Hi", "Hello", "Hi", "Hello". But after a few weeks, he stopped.

an aunt whom i dunno and met on the bus also told me to use Kate method.

is to direct BB's attention to our mouth and say "Ma-Ma" 3 times then stop.
and make sure we say it slowly so that they can see the shape of our mouth

Mrs Lai,
Hahaha, I've already cheong to the pharmacy lor... the day after I got my card. And to Mr Bean and 7-Eleven Shhh...

Kate,
Haha my mum also "played cheat". Train my boy to call baba and mama although we call ourselves daddy and mummy. Now he can say baba and mama but also know who's daddy and mummy. Recently he's calling my mum popo and mil nainai. and my sis is eee. As if she's smelly...

Jesse,
JK too, ard 4mths JK's HELLO was loud n clear...but it stop after 2 months.

Cherry,
Matt can say alots of word.

Jesse
Dr Tan said that Gladys has got 'fake measles' and she also caught some kind of viral infection. So far, she has recovered from her fever and the rash-like patches on her tummy and back has subsided this morning. But this morning, she vomited again and she had some watery stools earlier. She looked better than she was yesterday so I'm just hoping that she's on her road to recovery. Keeping my fingers crossed.
It's really say when bbs get sick coz they don't know how to express themselves and it pains us, mothers, to see our precious ones being unwell.

Min
Don't worry abt figures coz my tummy still looked like a punctured globe.

Augleo
She was ok after the buffet and I even went to the supermarket with CoolD and Jboy.
Sunday night was when her fever really came in.

Mrs Lai
Aiya, just kidding la. I also love Vanessa very much!
Btw, Gladys' rashes subside today. So does that mean she should be better already? Any idea if that also causes watery stools and vomitting?
Then just give her back her pacifier. She's still young la, don't let her go 'cold turkey'. Anyway, I know they'll quit the pacifier anyhow, it's just a matter of time. Slowly lor. Btw, the weather's really bad these days so do take good care of bb.

Cherryteq/ Min
The old wives' tale about wiping bb's drool with other people's table cloth, my mum did it to my brother and it works!

Cherryteq
You know I'm also worried coz I've got weak stomach. In fact, I had some viral infection when I was 10 weeks preggie and I couldn't even take medication but only prescribed salt to replenish the last fluid.
I know it's the reflex thing but it is just so gross la! And I just hate it that it tastes so good.

Cool Daughter
I also don't know what's fake measles leh. Just that there are measles like rashes appearing on the body. For Gladys, it's on her tummy and back.
I better go do some research about it.

Dlim
Ya, I've brought Gladys to the paediatrician yesterday and he said she's got fake measles lor. But she look better today and I hope she's recovering well.
I always get it from the Sheng Shiong downstairs. Teban Gardens. Actually West Coast is not far from my house. Sometimes they have fresh prawns too. Still kicking one.
I freaked out just thinking abt cleaning the frog also but then for the sake of the bb, bo bian right? I just imagine it's some fish la. But I just can't accept the reflex part.

Augleo
FYI, those Gong Bao Tian Ji you ate were still alive moments ago before landing on your table.

BB Talking
Gladys said Papa first, at abt 4 mths, and that was all she can say until abt 6 mths, it's mum mum, finally at 7 mths, it's mama (me). Now she can almost greet everyone at home. She upgrade liao, call her father 'daddeee', until he melt. She calls ah ma, gong gong, por por, kak kak, hello, peas (for please), gow gow (dog) miao miao (cat), gai gai (go out), bye bye (plus blowing kisses), yesh (for yes, plus nodding head), no-no-no (for no, plus shaking her forefinger from side to side). That's all I can think of now. My mum said she's really talkative like me. She said I can 'sing' a simple nursery rhyme when I was 2 yo.

But then, she still can't walk. I'm hoping she can so not so tiring for me.

Gene: The vomitting and diahorrea could be due to the anti boitics or medicine given. Check with your PD if their medicine got any such side effects? If don have, better check and if continue call you PD and describe the number of times the poo and what color and what state.

Gene: I didn't know Teban gardens got sheng siong??? The nearest one to me is the ten milk junction, but to date, i've never been there before. I used to go to the one at tekka mall but no more since I changed job.

I wish vanessa can say so many words ah! She other than mum mum mum, is "eh!" which could mean "I want to go there" " I wan the fish!" "I wan to play" and dunno watelse!

Gene,
the incubation period for roseola is 10 - 14 days...the high fever should last about 3 days or so and the rashes about 5 days. I think the infectious period is when the rashes break. I can't remember liao...

Vomitting and loose stools? Is it quite severe? It's probably the viral infection the Dr was talking about lor...better monitor, cos if there's extensive water loss, might have to get pedialyte for her. Keep her hydrated and hang in there! It's really tough for baby to be sick and for mummy looking after her...

jessemum: Haha! It must have been quite amusing to hear "hi! Hello!" to everything! Lele loved to say "okay" to everything when he was younger. Very funny... but now no more le.

Min: They very playful hor? That time my son called his papa auntie leh! There was an auntie in the same lift as us ma. As usual Lele will look at her and we will ask where is auntie? He will point. And suddenly he point at his papa and say "auntie". I was in stitches and his papa speechless. keekee

Gene,

Hope bbgladys has a speedy recovery. A big *hug* for her..
I also didnt
know Teban gardens got sheng siong??

Gladys can say so many words.. so envy! Haiz my boy ar..wonder when u can he
call me "Mama/Mummy".. sometimes when he cried...he can mumble Maaa..
but dunno whether calling me or not.

Mrs Lai

Its ten mile junction not ten milk junction... when i saw that, i was thinking
where is that place ar? hehehe..

Kate,
the funny thing is that he wouldn't say it all the time. He'll just say it a few times the first thing every morning. It was very nice to hear...

jessemom,
i won't be specially changing US currency for the trip. i think you just bring along sing currency + credit card. cos if you eat at their restaurants/go to their spas, they can just charge everything to your accomodation bill.

my previous trips since i gave birth were to boston, bintan/batam/jakarta, cairo. my cousin's getting married in nov 08 in penang, so it's a perfect opportunity for me to bring bb back to penang to meet my granny (dad's side) + the big family. are you from penang too? michellek is from penang!

Augleo,
M doesn't "talk" much, mostly actions. Only when he feels like "talking", will he open his gold mouth. Think boys slower in speech ba?

Gene,
wa gladys very advanced in speech! And I think Kelley's Ashlyn can also say quite a number of words.

gene, cherryteq and all,
your babies can say a lot of words! i suspect that my bb's first word was "nan nan" -- meaning milk, but he'll only use that when he's in front of the babysitter. cos she speaks to him only in chinese while we speak to him only in english. we use "milk" when we speak to him. beyond that, i think he is able to say "daddad" (to mean daddy). we've been teaching him to say "papa" but the bbeinstein signing DVD teaches "daddy", so i guess he must have picked it up from there.

to make up for his lack of words, he's able to sign for father, baby, no more, eat, tataa, mother (very rudimentary) and story (very rudimentary). he's also able to nod, but unable to shake his head yet. how i wish he could chatter like your babies too!

gene, hope gladys is feeling better! i know how you feel exactly!!

jesse, i would bring along the USD coz if you charge to credit card, the charges will be subjected to 2 conversion rate : USD to Rupiah then Rupiah to SGD... not worth it at all!

kelley, her appetite is improving but better don't say too soon! coz i told leo and ixora that i'm so glad she has not fallen sick then the same week, she did!

claire's 1st few words were bear, where, claire... but now she only says, ma ma, pa pa, daddeee, neh neh (milk), ba (bus), mumm mumm (food), ba ba (bye bye) and she's opposite of kaizer, only shakes her head and refuses to nod! however, in terms of comprehension, i do believe her vocab is quite extensive oredi - she'll do the actions for gai gai (go out), sleep, music, dance, hug, kiss and so on when we ask her

and i think yes, in general, boys speech development is slower than girls.

Gene,

BB Raphael also suffering from fake measles. He's got it all over his face, thrunk and back of the body. Got it after he got high fever of 40.5. He's caught throat infection.

Wish BB Gladys a speedy recovery.

sandwich,
signing is very good too! I was too lazy to learn to teach him, otherwise...I think it's great to teach Jesse too

We didn't teach Jesse "papa" don't know where he learnt from...we refer to my HB as daddy.

I have some spare USD...don't know if I should bring. But ya, I won't go change also. And I did tell HB we can use cc, so don't bother.

my parents are both from Penang...they still live there, that's why only come here to visit once in a while. Penang's soooo small! We might be neighbours there! haha

Kelley
Finally! I found someone who hates milk like my boy….dun you feel so frustrating to feed Ashlyn milk? I certainly do when feeding my boy….. sometimes, feel like just force open his mouth & pour EVERYTHING inside at one go….hahahahah!!!!

Got one incident dunnoe to be angry or proud …once I try to feed my boy milk in the foodcourt when I see him KO:

<font color="0000ff">Old auntie</font> beside me comment: “Huh…your baby sleeping you wanna feed him milk ah?”
<font color="ff0000">I go</font>: “Yah….my boy only drinks milk when sleeping!”
<font color="0000ff">Old auntie</font> turns to her grandchild (a baby too):”Wah See! Kor Kor drinks milk when sleeping…can you do that?”
(3 lines on my forehead)

Dreamygal
I have started on Jonas on Scotts Emulsion…once a day…original flavour…think my baby prefer original lei coz orange flavour is abit sourish….

Kate
Lele sure is one eloquent boy…..can say so many words already.

For selfish reasons…I do hope what the cleaning aunty you mentioned is true…since my boy has yet to walk. :p

Gene
The viral flu with rashes seems very rampant recently….. do take care &amp; hope Gladys get well soon!

Though Gladys dun really know how to walk yet...she is so intelligent...can say so many word liaoz...signzz...seems like Jonas everything also cannot make it.

Cherryteq
Me going HK soon! My 4th time...Air tickets &amp; hotels booked.

Is this your 1st time going?

Sandwich
Jonas current vocab is "Oh Oh Oh"...that's probably his only words at present...haizzz

Michele,
didn't know need to convert and convert...okay, I shall bring my USD then.
How come need to convert to rupiah leh? I thought they'll charge my cc USD then I just pay the SGD equivalent to cc co? I'm very blur about these things...

sandwich,
Sooner or later, our kids will all chatter non-stop. Then we'd probably be wishing they'd just keep quiet and not talk (worse still talk back)!
So cherish the moments now, mummies, whichever stage our kid is in.

I remember the blog entry I read in MicK's: about us parents spending the first 2 yrs wishing our kids can talk and walk, then spend the next 16 yrs wishing they can sit down, and shut up.

SpringD,
I'm gg HK soon too! Next weekend, you same? This'll be my 2nd time with hubby, since 2000. Any recommendations, since you've been there many times?

michele,
i also didnt know they convert and convert. my previous indon trip i just changed everything to rupiah, and paid in rupiah (mainly cos i needed to go to jkt as well). super super troublesome cos the notes were bulky and dirty and i was very confused over the number of zeros in the currency.

cherryteq,
closing my eyes to try to imagine my boy as a chatterbox now. hahaa.

jessemom,
teaching signing is very simple. just switch on signing dvd and let the bb watch at meal times. but only condition is that the parents must watch together also, and practice after watching.

jesse &amp; s/w, yes they convert and convert coz the company is registered in indonesia but they want to cater to angmos. we have a shipyard in batam and that's why we know.