(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Gene,
Roseola infantum is pretty common so don't worry about it. Since the rashes are gone, she's also passed the infectious stage and actually she recovered from that already. As first time parents, we surely more kan cheong one lah.
But all my Dr friends tell me, actually for babies fever below 40C, don't need to worry. Most importantly the baby is not listless. When Jesse had roseola, we didn't see dr, we just came back from a trip when he had the rash. I called my friend describe the symptoms and he diagnosed it over the phone. Told me, don't worry the worse is over.

How to make a baby drink water?

That's a very good question...when you have the answer let me know! Jesse plainly refuses to drink water...though he did like pedialyte when he was younger. Have you tried giving a little diluted juice or very dilute honey water (she's over 1, right?)? Spoon it to her? They say babies associate "drinks" from the cup/bottle they use...so I guess have to give it in a different cup/bottle. Jesse hates juice.

To test dehydration, you could look out for listlessness...can also press on her nail bed for 5 secs and see if it remains white or changes back to red quickly. If it takes >2secs to change back to red, should let dr know. But capillary refill is only a rough mtd of testing for dehydration lah...but better than nothing.

Hope she gets better soon!

Michele,
The last time I went to Gold Coast, I also just relax there.

gene: did u try giving cold water? sometimes my gal dun wan to drink water from her own bottle, but she will gian the cold water I am drinking from my cup. So I will offer her from my cup and she will take. You can be like Sandwich, pretend so yummy, dun wan to give to the baby, then baby insist for it. You can ask sandwich how to do the whole thing!

Baby Speech Survey: I waiting for the department to gimme more info, then I post up here ok?

Gene: Understandable lah ... tt time my gal had it, but we had no idea wat it was all about. Then her fever so high, so end up admitted to hospital and then all the drips and such ... then turn out to be the roseola - the best thing is, the doctor says, the baby can get it again and again, cuz got different strains! *peng ah*

Sandwich and Cherry: Tue is good. I took monday off and tue afternoon off. So I can meet u for lunch before I go off. Ashton's at PGP can? I gian for their beef :p

Gene: I want to go Japan =( I planning to go in late Oct, if possible early Nov.

Gene,

Thanks for the wishes. Raphael is on the way of recovery. No more fever and today will be the last day of his antibiotics. I'm quite lucky that when he's sick, still up about and moving around.

Regarding drink,
Let her try cup or use syringe?

Jesse,
What u use to be working as? U've so many information from ur Doc friends.

Kikismom
Ok will take note of the good stuff in Macau and let you know….but you not staying there…think it’s very rush for you…not much places you cam go around though. Have you booked your hotel in HK yet? Staying which one?

Catherine
Didn’t know that ambassadors who mould the future nation can be so political too! Maybe request for a transfer? Change of environment might be better.

Kelley
You must be seldom read news rite? Ah Meng has went for a mission in heaven quite sometime ago…. Joined his ancestor “Sun Wu Kong”.

Jesse
Departing for Bintan today? Hope you, your DH and Jesse will enjoy the Sun, Sea & Sand! Chill out & relax yah…..

my boy also hates water to the core! he will let water drip out fm his mouth and give u this stoneless expression

give him bitter herbal tea or honey.. he will drink happily.
so once a while i will give diluted bottled juices

or can try givind delrosa vit c syrup. i used to give it but bcoz always attract ants so i stopped oredi

Hi all mummummummies! TGIF!!!
... ... the forum is indeed (shh) quiet today...

Wondering what animals the mums and babes are playing with now!

Water: Didn't know there are so many water-resistant babies here! Lele is one of them lor. We tried the "sandwich" method and used to work quite well but now not as well. When he was first able to drink from straw, he will happily gulp down water just to practice straw-using, but now not interested anymore le. We will just feed water thru spoon, or give soups(no seasonings) or other fluids(unsweetened) like barley water.

But I won't give sweetened water like diluted juices or honey etc to him to make him drink up cos I dun wan him to dev a sweet tooth for water

Hey mummies, I've got an idea leh. Dunno whether will work or not. We must incorporate water-drinking routine into our water-resistant babies' lives, ie, have fixed times ( example: after/before naps/bed and meals) to drink water.
It doesn't matter how much they drink, as long as we consistent offer water at routinely.

I figure that way the babies will recognised waterdrinking as part of their lives and slowly love the taste of it.

Will work or not huh?

I got the idea from Lele's hand washing and peepee habit. These are 2 activities that are very routine in Lele's life. He used to hate it when we wash his hands or make him pee. But now he is used to it le and will quietly let us wash his hands or pee for us even without the "shh shh" sound.

Kelley
orrhhhh...okie okie. Kekek....

Min
I have been asking for delrosa syrup in Guardian pharmacy... but dunnoe why it's out of stock recently.

Kate
I've been feeding Jonas water after every milk feed since his birth....now he dun mind plain water at all...but he HATES milk. So which is worse huh? :p

Mrs Lai : I don't mind participating in the survey. Hee...

Gene : Have you rented a caravan before?

Jesse : Glynnis likes water more than milk recently. Maybe due to the hot weather? I don't know. But she always choose water when i ask her if she wants milk or water. My friend always say must be my milk sour... So she don't like. Haa...

Kate : I always get Glynnis to wash her leg when we come back home. Now she knows. Everytime come back she will go and wait outside the toilet door. Haa... It is a routine now...

Dreamygal,SD: Thanks for your feedbacks! I will make water-drinking a routine for Lele from now on. Think it will goes like this: After wake from nap/sleep, before and after go downstairs for gaigai, after porridge meal/semi solid snacks. Before nap/sleep he will usually drink milk so I won't feed water ba. he will be too full anyway.

kate
the only time my boy will drink water is before sleep.
and day time will dilute his milk lor so that he gets more water

SpringD
try NTUC for delrosa syrup. wondering if we can store syrup in fridge anot

Rina
I did liaozz...bought a small tin of the Dumex immunofortis to let him try...he wan to puke on 1st sip....any brands that you recommend might taste good and to his liking? He's currently on NAN.

Kate
One or two sips of water after milk is actually good...can help to rinse the mouth & tougue...else all the sweetness of the milk stays in the mouth...can cause early tooth decay.

Min
I tried to look for it at the NTUC at tiong bahru...also dun have lei...hmmm...just to check, which section can it be found?

Re: water resistant babies
Mummies, how abt letting bbs take some unsweetened barley water? Can be diluted, at least there's some taste. How about rice water, or sweet potato water? These are some of the 'non water' water my boy drinks.

spring,
we usually brushed her teeth after milk/meals.
even last feed, i actually wake her up to drink.
and after she finishes her bottle, the finger brush, i will go and poke at her mouth.
then she will open n let me brush !

Cindy,

Ur blog realli never fail to entertain the mommies here. So nice to see Caitlyn enjoying her trip to the musuem and it' so educational.

HOw I wish i'm there.

Rina / CaiCai
Actually hor....I did requested for Friso & Similac sample when my boy was under 6months...but that time think maybe just stick to and continue try NAN longer...so happily give away to people...not sure if the companies will still give me sample again. :p

MichK
I haven start brush my boy's teeth yet...my boy only 4 tooth lei...but got use handkerchief clean his tougue & gums twice daily.

Eh...I forget liao...you got go Zoo today or not?

SD,

No worries. They'll still give u cos it' of different stage now mah.
A lot of bb might not be suitable to only one type of formula leh.
just try and e-mail them.

Me back fr Zoo trip.. Jo is taking her nap now..
had a gd time with the mummies who went except i got many mozzie bites n poor jo fell n knocked her head.. (heartpain)

Kikismom, Sandwich,
sorry for leaving w/o saying bye cos Augleo, her hb & Michele were waiting for me..

Yup sorry to Augleo & hb, Michele who waited for me..

Jon's mom,
wat type of toothbrush u using for Jon?
JK is using tollyjoy's stage 3 toothbrush?
* hv 1 Pigeon toothbrush (for full milk teeth) standby.

recently, he refues to open his mouth and let us brush and keep struggling

Jon oki with brushing?

ixora,
i had a good time at the zoo too =)

am eating cornflakes and uploading the zoo pics now. taking such a long time cos i took so many pics! kaizer took his afternoon nap on the train ride home, then we both bathed and i fed him the rest of his lunch at 3 plus pm. he's now tottering around happily.

Augleo,
Jon is still using the finger brush even though had bought Pigeon stage 3 toothbrush, which is for 12m abv. So far Jon still ok, quite enjoy brushing twice a day.
U guys have a great time at zoo right?

Jon's mom,
could b, cut see 3 more teeth cutting out.
in the past, he loves brushing...auto open his mouth but not now.

zoo, oh yes...we all hv fun.
to me, weather is not expected tat hot.
can see all the 7 toddlers hv fun too.

Augleo,
Did u use teething gel? We apply for Jon everyday abt twice a day to ease any discomfort.
Really envy u guys having so much fun. Im sure took alot of pics, must share the pics ok?

I am back too .. left abt 3.30pm after the splash show.

Super hot ah the weather !! But its really fun, will be back soon

s/w
Thanks for letting jboy ride on e wagon .. tink he spent quite alot of time in there :p

Jon's mom,
so far, JK din use any teething gel.

dun envy, u will hv chance to join us

Kikismon,
sori tat i din hv chance to say "good bye" to u n Kieran. coz we all head to the entrance......n din notice u gals are not behind us.
hope u dun mind...

wow , the mummies and toddlers are back fm the zoo. sounds like a fun trip

leo , my ma used a finger brush to brush zac's teeth when she bathes him . we nvr use toothpaste , she said it is ok leh .... last time when he was younger , he allows my ma to clean wif hanky , but nowadays he BITES ! so no one dare to insert our finger into his mouth , dangerous .

Springdance , i believed last time u took the step 2 milk rite, shdnt hv any problem requesting gain IQ .

anyway , my sonny has been on dumex since birth , he is alrite wif it . initially my hubby wanted to change , but since he seems happy drinking dumex , we let him be . but he is still on step 2 though .

ooh, btw zac was pretty cranky fm 9pm to 11 pm for the past few nites . i dunno why .

PD said he has alot of teeth popping out , + he is down wif a fever n cough . she said she will prescribe some teething gel , but when i reached home , dun hv any gel

Jon's mummy , detinox good? any medicinal content or just a soothing gel ?

caicai,
so far Jon is happy with it. From wat i rem on the leaflet, it numbs the gums abit so that they don't feel so uncomfortable & at the same time, it soothes the gum. I let u know the contents when I get hm tonite. U can get it from neighbourhood medical hall ($5.50), guardian, unity. Guardian & unity is selling at $7.50!

augleo and ixora,
dun worry abt not saying goodbye. am sure that we'll be meeting u again very soon, right? hahaa, going out for dinner now. bye!

gene, the domestic flight from perth to goldcoast cost more than the tix back to SG!

zoo trip
yup, the weather was bearable today (i'd say its nice even in the morning) and i think claire likes the polar bears (she has lots of teddy bears at home). sorry i didn't have the chance to say goodbye too! coz hitching a ride back from augleo.

mummies for ur reading pleasure:

According to brain research, the following characteristics are found in girls:

* The neural connectors in the temporal lobes are stronger. This means they usually have better listening skills and a more sensually detailed memory.

* Another memory storage area - the hippocampus - is larger in girls, leading to an advantage in the language arts.

* There is more serotonin in the bloodstream and the brain which makes them biochemically less impulsive.

* Girls generally use more areas of the brain for verbal and emotive functioning and boys for spatial and mechanical functioning.

Boys, on the other hand, display a different set of abilities:

** Due to the larger areas delicated to spatial and mechanical functioning, boys on average use only half the space that females use for verbal and emotive functioning. This is what leads boy to vrooming cars across the table and zooming airplanes over your head.

** The lower levels of serotonin and oxytocin (the chemical which promotes human bodning) lead them to be more physcially impulsive and less likely to be happy to just sit and chat, compared to girls.

** The male brain is structured for compartmentalised learning. This is why girls are often better able to multitask, with fewer attention span problems.

** The male brain is better suited for symbols, abstractions, diagrams, pictures and objects moving thru space. Boys learn by being physically active and can "switch off" if faced with too much verbal explanation.

jon's mom,
erm...dun intend to use teething gel for now...but i hv noted ur recommendation, tks

Mrs Chia,
me keeping ur changes for the makan

zoo
kieren & I have a great time today @ the zoo... nice knowing u mummies & your bundle of joy

Augleo/ Ixora
no worry...hope to ve more outings with u mummies..c u soon..

s/w
thanks for letting k ride on e wagon too.. he has so much fun riding it..

coolD
how's the show? nice?

SpringD
I've booked the hotel online - metropolitan mongkok..

I'm so happy I made it to the zoo. Jeremy enjoyed himself so much.. especially at the waterplay. But he got really cranky right after lunch, so left earlier. And he slept soundly in the car all the way home and continued to sleep at home-- totally exhausted!

Augleo- don't worry abt the change lah.. small change

Must go out more to these outdoor places instead of lunch/tea.. think our toddlers enjoy more.

Sandwich
Nice seeing you and K again.. think we need to talk more abt weaning off our babies

Ixora,
Hope you will cope well with hubby off to London.

Michele,
Wah, now maid-less.. must be very bo-eng.

Kiki's mum
nice to meet you and K for first time. Come and join us more often

Augleo
You seem to keep losing weight everytime I see you leh? better eat more, take care of yourself.