(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

cai cai and jesse: I like peaceful and quiet and lots of privacy. I wan space in garden so I can grow plants and have the dogs and kids run around! dun really care for swimming pool or a pond (think it's a hazard sometimes) but I can't stay in the east - I find it too crowded for me.

Like now, I am trying to grow my morning glory plant on my balcony. just wondering how long they will last :p

cindy,
which baby bjorn model are you using? i'm thinking of getting one when kaizer starts going to infant care. cos my husband refuses to use my sling, then if we get a baby bjorn, either of us can use it to carry kaizer when fetching him to and from the infant care centre. it's located up a slope, so very difficult to use a pram.

you've said that the carrier can carry up to 12kg is it? he's slightly more than 8kg now. will definately take him more than 1/2 year to tip over 12 kg. how much did you get your carrier for?

i've enrolled my boy at learning vision infant care centre @ nus. he's officially starting school on 2 jun 08. he's been very happy when we bought him to the school, cos there's lotsa toys and areas for climbing/exploring.

hope his solid food woes would go away though. i am amazed by what your babies eat. mine's been having feeding woes for the longest time. up till now, he's still very resistant towards trying new food, esp on weekends when i am the primary caregiver. hope he'll learn from the other bbies at the centre, and eat normally like the rest of your bbies do.

He woke up crying the moment I typed that last post...then he just threw up. It's a good thing we didn't go out...

Hope you all had fun!

Sanrio,
Faith & Cherelle look so sweet. Everything comes in pair. Same birthday, same dress. I'm sure they will be good friends in future.

CoolD,
Jordon is cool!

Jessesmom,
Jesse unwell? Sorry, i've been busy lately and din follow closely.

Rina,
nice meeting you at the bungalow. Raphael so cute, dance to the music. hehe..how much you bought the cake from Patissier? Initially wanted to order from them but they quoted me a whopping $299 for a 3kg cake. Over budget.

piscesgal,
the waiting list is abt 10 parents at the moment. i took a week to consider (wanted to visit one more centre at biopolis before i decided), so because of that vacancies in may were snapped up and i had to wait till june. at any one time, the principle is willing to accept 15 bbs only. are you considering the temasek labs infant care centre too?

And I should also add...after reading about the unreliability of babies...

After I fed him lunch, I went to put away the stuff in the kitchen sink (as per normal) and the next thing I know... "BOM" "WAAAEEEEHH"

I come out and find the dining room chair on it's side and Jesse crying his heart out. Who knows what he hit and where he's hurt. After carrying him for a bit and checking for red marks/bruises, I find none, I let him lie down and pull him up to standing, no problems doing that...so I guess maybe it's just a small thing. He has been active since.

I'll discount the throwing up episode as a separate event. hmmm...

cool_d,
Wah...you seaview? Nice. Do the planes fly over your area? I have them every morning and afternoon soooo noisy. I guess if you have unblocked view, that's something to treasure. I face "inside" so all I see is lift landings and neighbour's apartments!

SpringDance,
Ya, those apartments not bad. :p HAha...like real sia...say like can afford. It's nice lah to stay near the city. Then getting a bugaboo would make sense.

Like Mrs Lai, I think our next place will be landed lah...apartment very noisy...or maybe it's just my neighbours.

sandwich,
If you want (and take care), I can lend you our bjorn. I've stopped using it for months because Jesse outgrow it early. It's only up to 11KG. But Jesse hit the length ceiling early ( Mine's the air carrier (white/grey with red pipings).

http://www.babybjorn.com/American/products/Mobility/BABYBJORN-Baby-Carrier-Air/

ou can borrow it first to see 1) if your baby can fit it in the first place! 2) if you even like it. I gave away our old one already and we do like this one...so if you want to try can lend you first lor. I didn't buy it here, so can't comment but it was USD100+ when we bought it. I'm not trying for a second child at this point so I wouldn't need it for a while. haha.

We currently use the Ergo Carrier. Bought at Metro Paragon for about $270+.

Jesse doesn't really like to try new foods either...unless it's our "adult" food.
gave him tuna pasta yesterday and he hated it. haha...ended up with cereal and milo again for dinner.

I'm going to view learning vision infant care at AMK this Sat. you working near nus?

PGal,
replied to your PM.

tks. they got few dresses the same as we go shopping together :p

Darbebe,
sori for late reply. i manage to buy a table cover fr toy r rus. as for banner, blueroti is giving me 1. tks

Mrs Lai,
oops... sori i 4got abt ur email on the brkfast thgy. was it on? or next round? sori sori :p

Michele, Jesse,
hugz hugz for ur bb. i find cher very 'accident prone' nowadays. 1 moment trip, 1 moment hit on somtg, 1 moment ransack gorgor book shelf n 1 heavy book landed on her toes, wah!!!!!!!!! cry cry cry....... n she is oreadi a xiaojie who drop tears easily :p

Sanrio,
Mine's a boy and he also little bit little bit cry...and he can't even walk yet...haha.

Thanks for the hugs. Thankfully he's also very easy to console.

Min,
gd gd. next tx u can brg porridge go kaikai. but note, if u put fish or meat in tat small separate container, try to finish it by lunch else if keep for too many hrs, may turn a bit bad.. else dump d meat 2geter w d porridge in d hot flask.

My cake cost me $272.50 for 3kg but it's a gift from raphael uncles and aunties.

I got the banner from middle road.
Can take the sticker out and reuse.

Mrs Lai,
I juz bot the tricycle from JL Expo sales last Sun .. Lucky baby @ $49 (auntie says usual px is $69 but it does not say on the px tag)

Jesse
Yes .. planes flying & also building shaking (sumatra earthquake) :p Hehe, my 'sea view' now is really not consider any view la, juz alittle glimpse of the sea far far away.

Juz met Bububear & Augleo at TM. Seeing JK makes my day

sanrio , the 2 gals are so cute in identical clothes .

pretty babes !!!!

i rmbr JK and bb Hippo also dorn same clothes before ...

sanrio: somemore same dress!!!! so nice !!!!!! one of these days should bring Vanessa to gai gai with you too!

The breakfast thingy is off for now, cuz kiddos and mummies sick. Prob will rearrange again.

jesse,
i check with my husband to see if he likes the design first (buying the carrier mainly for him). let you know again.

sanrio,
so sweeeeeet. are they wearing the same shoes too?

sanrio and jesse,
haven't tried that before. tried cindy's baby bjorn once and it was quite comfy compared to the brandless one that my husband currently uses. will go surf a bit abt ergo.

Augleo
Oic…kekek…my boy dunnoe how to or perhaps too lazy to self-feed. :p

Cool_D
In that case…better remind your parents in law to change his diapers often…dun let bum ‘marinate’ in urine too long… :p

Jordan so quick in motor skills…think he will learn to ride the tricycle very soon!

Rina
Oohhh…Patissier…what’s the cake flavor? Must be taste quite good.

Sandwich
So you’ll be keeping your BM in storage bottles and bring to the infant care for them to feed Kaizer?

Strong point about Kaizer is that he’s rather outgoing from what I see….so he’ll probably be able to adapt to the environment with the new babies’ faces quite well & fast.

Jesse
Oh ya…one more place…I’ll really love to stay in one of those houses located on Keppel Bay island…..rich man lifestyle…with my private yatch parking in front of the house!!!

Hey, if you moved to a landed house, maybe can organise party at your house & invite us over…that’ll be fun.

springD
U know hor, i oni told FIL yday to air his bum maybe like 1-2 hr in the afternoon. But ah gong sayang jboy so much he left him bottomless almost whole day. And he himself end up hv to clean his shee shee n poo poo non stop :p

This morn I told my mama the same, but juz now when I call hm, she oredi told me jboy shee shee on her 2 times liao, now he is wif diaper on .. hehe.

coolD , my sonny also same kind of butt like Jboy . if u happen to leave diaper on for some time , his butt will turn dotty .

so my ma slapped alot of desitin cream on his precious butt . now he has issues wif his birdie , so now front portion also white white .

<font color="0000ff">**Happy 1st Birthday to Prince Caden n Raphael**</font>

Birthday:
28th Mar we hv 2 girls
29th Mar we hv 2 boys

3rd Apr we hv 2 girls n 2 boys
5th Apr we hv 2 girls n 1 boy
6th Apr we hv 2 girls
7th Apr we hv 2 boys
9th Apr we hv 2 girls n 1 boy
12th Apr we hv 3 girls
15th Apr we hv 1 girl n 1 boy
16th Apr we hv 2 boys
18th Apr we hv 1 girl n 1 boy
22nd Apr we hv 1 girl n 3 boys
23rd Apr we hv 2 girls
24th Apr we hv 1 girl n 1 boy
25th Apr we hv 1 girl n 2 boys
26th Apr we hv 2 girls n 3 boys
30th Apr we hv 2 girls n 1 boy

always think 22nd Apr has the most bb, but after sorting out is 26th Apr....5 bb

<font color="0000ff">sandwich,</font>

I have tried calling Learning Vision at several centres around Novena area and they simply refused to pick up their phones. Really no customer services wan leh
. If my son goes in and touch wood got emergency how??

Questions:

1)When did u put yourself in the waiting list?
2)Who is taking care of your wa wa (boy or gal) now?
3)How much will u be paying?
4) Full or half day?

Any particular contact number I can contact Learning Vision so that somebody there can pick up the phone and answer my queries??

Maybe u can email me and we can talk more in details. If not, we might miss each other's posting here leh

Cool_D
Your FIL so funny…heheh…maybe he should have use cloth nappy for Jordan in that case…my MIL for sure won’t let my boy go around without pants…ya know why? She also worry my boy’s tummy will “jin feng”…it’s like something I let him wear shorter tees or never tuck in his tee into his pants when he sleep, she will nag me say “dun do this again…later he stomachache….”

Rina
Your family must be chocolate lover ya…kekekek

Min- here you go

2 Eggs
Japanese soup stock: 2 cups (name: Thuyu no moto)
white meat of Chicken: 50g diced
Shrimp: 4 pieces, diced
Shiitake Mushroom: 2 pieces sliced
Fish ball: 2 pieces sliced optional can be replaced by crab meat
Green peas: a little or Edamame or Japanese Ginko

Seasoning:
LIGHT Soy sauce (can be kikoman or lee kumkee), sugar, salt

Method:
Cut chicken to bite size &amp; boil it with soy sauce &amp; sugar til cooked
Boil shrimp with salt til colored orange.
Slice mushroom
Beat 2 eggs (dont froth) and mix it with 2 cups of Japanese soup stock, strain the egg stock mixture.
Add the chicken in the cups, gently pour in egg stock mixture until 60% full transfer cups to preheated steamer. steam over high heat for about 1 min with lid slightly askew. then steam over low heat for 6 min for stamer completely covered.

When surface of custard is set, add shiitake mushroom, diced shrimps, ginko /edamame others in, add the remaining egg mixture steam over high heat again for 1 min with the lid slightly askew. Then steam over 6 to 7 min over low heat with steamer completely covered.

This can make 2 to 3 cups

The real japanese way needs mirin and sake but bec it is for baby, i do not add it. If you want the vegetable that you see in jp restaurants, you just add trefoil (that is what you call that leafy thing).

If you do not want to add ginko, add beans for toddlers. I find the jp ginko sweet while the china made ones taste differently.

If you have elec oven with steamer, i can give you the different timing.

Do not steam chawnmushi over high heat for a long time otherwise it will become spongy

To see if it is done, insert a bamboo skewer into the center and when it comes out clean, it means that the chawanmushi is ready for serving.

I am making a tomato chawanmushi so my baby can try tomato ... if you want, can email to u .
Hope it helps!

if you do not want to buy the japanese stock, you may use water, it is ok but you have to add a bit of light soysauce. The taste is a bit bland but babies like it too. Saw the japanese mom prepare it this way. You can dice the mushroom so baby can chew it easily. dice everything if it is for baby.

sandwich,
pls don't be mistaken...I'm not selling you. Only lending you to try out and use for as long as you need since I don't need it now. I find the Ergo carrier more comfortable but harder to hook up (maybe my arms not flexible)...and it's a back carrier. If you want to try try for a few minutes, you're welcome to try also.

SpringDance,
sure, if I ever stay landed I'll organize gatherings. Actually now my place is open for use also but I predict only about 4 babies and mummies max...it's a hdb 5-room living cum dining afterall...
But ya, Jesse's good about sharing.

disneytokyo,
I have a microwave with steamer, do you have the timing for that? Thanks!!

sandwich,
I should clarify (after reading what I wrote)...

the Ergo is a front and back carrier. We bought it because it was a back carrier but so far I've only used it as a front carrier. It's also a side carrier.
Right now, I just can't maneuver myself and Jesse to use it as a back carrier yet. I need to practice...at some point...this can be used up to an older age (3 - 5 yrs depending on the size of the child, I guess).

Another drawback for me though is that it's more bulky than the bjorn. Imagine me trying to get Jesse, his diaper bag, my handbag, and another bag for the ergo into the car. The bjorn folded up nicely (it had an attached pouch that it folds into) and could just fit the diaper bag.

wrt your current carriers, do you position the cross-clip at the back in the middle of your back between the shoulder blades? For the bjorn to be comfortable, the back clip has to be there. Just thought I should mention it.

HTH!

jesse- 12 to 15 minutes depending on the size of your cup! I do not have a standard size of the cup, what i did was to try it for 10 minutes and observe when i saw it was not formed yet, i tried for another 3 mnutes and tested it wiht a skewer. are you using a healsio one?

does it have a preheat function before the real steaming fucntion? mine does not have preheat but it steams at the same speed so i maintain it at 10 min and then extend it. Conservatively, just steam it for 8 min and then extend for another 3min. Take note that the food must be boiled but not overcook. let me know how it turns out. My boy also likes the tomato one bec of sweetness.

First I need to get the ingredients. But yes, I'll let you know when I make it

For mine, e.g. when I steam fish (1min 30sec). I'll turn the timer to that and press start. The microwave will have a 1 min count down (to get the steam going) before it starts the 1min 30sec. So I guess that's the preheat.

michele,
what's the story on your maid?

I regret not sending my maid back...she ask me to give her another chance and my HB said I should. sigh.

jesse, i gave my maid many chances (too many, i think) - she has been with me since early may 2007 but just refuses to learn... too many e.gs.. here are some of them:

i tell her:
- thawed meat/fish cannot be put back into the freezer
- cannot use detergent to wash clothes/cloths in the kitchen basin because she washes the vegetables with it
- cannot wash swimming costumes with detergent
- must slice/portion all meat/fish before storing in freezer
- must clean bbC's toys every morning and evening

and many more but she refuse to do them for some strange reason.

sigh...

ah...that's compromising the family's health. Not good. I'm glad you made a decision and it's good that you're sending her back. Mine did all the above too...and she tells me my MIL does it too. I told her, "my house, my rules". Felt like I was dealing with a teenager. It's been almost a month and I'm still very happy she's gone and we don't have another one

exactly... i think 'kampong' pple just don't understand our rational for doing things. anyway, i think that's why my hb keeps having stomach problem! anyway, bought her ticket and just waitin for her to go!