(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

min,
or you can feed really dry things to your bb prior to letting him drink water. like maybe five pieces of dry bisuits in a row, then he definately will get thirsty to try to drink from the bottle/straw.

Hi Sandwich,

I doubt that I will be able to wean Caitlyn off that easily. I'm just going to intro her some cow's milk with cereal. BM will still be the main source.

Cool...planning for #2!

Sandwich,
i oso doubt i can wean cher off easily. thou she can suck fr straw now but d amt of water she takes per day is miserable. mayb 50ml or less..
i hvnt let cher try fm or cow milk thou. me n ash wld ls wen take cow milk, dun noe whether cher is ok w it.
nan HA shd hv lower chance of allergy for kaizer compared to cow milk.

Min,
keep trying, let him bite n play w it. he wld 1 day (soon) discover how to drk fr straw. if he dun wan, dun force him else if he c d magmag cup, he wld 'hate' it..

sandwich,
cos normal days cher has fixed drking schedule n suddenly in hospital, she latch as n wen. oso her appetite was poor so she was more of comfort suckling n used her tongue to 'brush n brush' d nip hence d blister. LC taught me to use football hold instead cos in tat position they cannot use their tongue to brush agst d nip unlike cradle hold. i did tat n it does help

Long time no 'see'. Would really like to join in the mege meeting on 3 May, but BbM's birthday is on the 4th, so will be spending both days with family
. Anyway, fully booked liao right, the slots?

Re: drinking from straw.
When we first introduced the straw cup to bbM, he only chewed on the straw, so we gave up. But we continued to do the sucking air motion to him as part of play. Then one day, he suddenly knew how to suck in his cheeks and air!
We quickly gave him the straw cup with water and did the sucking air motion. He followed us and thus his first sip of water through the straw.
In the beginning he kept choking cos he sucked more than he could swallow. But now he's quite happy drinking water, which he hated before the straw cup.
Mummies who are trying to introduce the straw can probably try playing with them through exaggerated sucking air action first. Hope this helps.

I see some of you starting your baby on the straw cup. bbO started on straw since CNY, because he wanted to drink my packet drink hehe. Because of the strong interest he managed to get some out by the third or fourth attempt. Thats when i decided to buy him a straw cup. So he skipped the second stage all together, which is the spout.

Mummies going to Globetrotters please let me know of your feedback. I've been wanting to go but have been lazy hehe. Unfortunately I will be in KL over the Labour Day weekend, otherwise will definitely drag hb to join in the gathering.

HFM Disease:
My SIL just told me that her colleague caught it. Was given 11 days MC and the irony part is that she has no children, and no opportunity to be in close contact with children. So the virus should be quite strong this period. Wanted to bring bbO to the Zoo this weekend but with the HFM on the large, I am hesitant now.

Happy Birthday to our babies. How time flies... the same time last year we were still struggling with bfeeding and coping with a baby, many of us were stilll waiting anxiously for the arrival of our little bundle of joy. Now they are 1 and ready for adventures. Cheers to us mummies! Things will only get better...

Date: 3rd May 08 (Saturday)
Time: Lunch (12pm) or Tea (3pm)

Venue: TBA
** Plaza Mkt cafe (Buffet S$23+++ 12.30pm to 5pm; free for kids below 6yrs old)
** Globetrotters (pte rm: S$24.90++ 11am to 2.30pm)
** Clubhouse @Suntec = (waiting for quote)

1. Augleo + JK + hb
2. EE + Tiffany + gor gor + hb
3. Kelley + Ash
4. bububear + Bryan + gor gor + helper
5. ixora + Jo + hb
6. coolD + Jordon + hb
7. Gene + Gladys
8. aprilmum + Ning + hb + helper
9. Kris + Kelly + hb
10. Dlim + Jayden + hb + helper
11. michele + claire + hb
12. sandwich + kaizer + hb
13. sanrio + hb + cher + ash
14. springdance + Jonas + hb (depending on venue)
15. tft (Catherine) + Malcolm + hb
16. Kimsansoo + Isabelle + hb (to b confirmed)
17. babyraphael + rina mummy and kelvin daddy
18. Ms Tan + Faith + Hb
19. michellek + hubby + Keira (TBC)

please add on… the list

currently we hv 32 adults in the list, pls advise (mummies w/helpers) is ur helper joining for the makan?

Our tentatively booking w/Globetrotter (pte room) till this Friday.

any mummies only prefer specific venue, if not will not able to join?

pls advise.....thks.

Hi Min,
i remb u posted abt d grassroot club having nice wall deco so u din use d deco u bought, u want to sell anytg? i m lookg for scene setter to do d wall deco for cher b'day

1. Augleo + JK + hb
3. Kelley + Ash
5. ixora + Jo + hb
6. coolD + Jordon + hb
7. Gene + Gladys
8. aprilmum + Ning + helper
9. Kris + Kelly + hb
18. Ms Tan + Faith + Hb

please add on… the list

Darbebe,
can roughly tell me wat deco u hv n intend to sell off af ur girl's party. i may like to get some. chiam lah... me this lazy mummy, so last minute...

1. Augleo + JK + hb
3. Kelley + Ash
5. ixora + Jo + hb
6. coolD + Jordon + hb
7. Gene + Gladys
8. aprilmum + Ning + helper(not joining)
9. Kris + Kelly + hb
18. Ms Tan + Faith + Hb

please add on… the list

Straw: Thanks mummies for your all your tips and tricks for successful straw training! I will try again this weekend! But seriously... have you ever wondered why it is so important to straw train? Cos last time when we were young, got straw train by our parents meh? At least I think mine didn't straw train me...
Now we are drinking from the straw just fine are we not?
... Will there be any serious consequences if they cannot drink from a straw at this stage?
Isn't sucking a naturally-acquired skill?
Hmm... I'm quite confused!

Kate,
Dats how i feel oso .. dats y me actually juz randomly try .. can, gd. cannot, dan it's ok la. sooner or later mah :p

The oni think i m afraid is big boy liao still sucking fm bottles, abit pai seh outside .. hehe.

Oh mummies,

Just to share . .. last nite jboy finally said something else apart from his usual 'ahh'. He said .. 'papapapa'. Tis morning oso kip repeating

would like to share this. is a reminder for me to be careful w my little active bb/todd.
was at kkh a&e triage area (wen cher was sick), 1 indian bb (look like 1yr old) sent in by ambulance, crying n crying. sent to emergency treatment rm. doc talkg to old indian woman. got an interpretor cos she cant converse in english.
doc: how did bb fall?
grandma (panicky): i dun noe
doc: where are the bb's parents?
grandma: i dun noe
uncle came: i m d bb's uncle, d parents working
doc: how did bb fall?
uncle: my son 10 yrs old carrying her, both fell down
doc: drop d bb? can show me how d bb fall?
uncle: i m not sure

poor bb, fratured d leg, vomitted, injured d chest. n where are d parents?? n why uncle n grandma evytg dun noe... i pity d poor bb n almost cry n quickie hug my cher tight..

kate,
ya not a must to drk fr straw n actually if dun train, they wld noe it sooner. for me, cher rejects evytg n so i more eager to train her to use straw loh.
oso straw sucking is good for jaw muscles. in ash's case, he cld not 'speak' till almost 2yrs old. only babbling n we were worried. he cant even call mama at 2yrs old. complicated issue (as he has other medical follow ups at kkh), to cut d story short, we went him for speech therapy n is a must tat we train him to drk fr straw (he can't at 2yrs old) n blow whistles, bubble wand etc as part of his speech therapy. i asked why, they said to train his jaw muscles tat is a bit weak..

re:HFDM
i heard fm my coll , it seems that some insurers actually cover it . so when her dotter contracted it , she rec'd some form of compensation
sanrio , thanks for enlightening us on the part abt straw training

i train him to drink fm straw bcoz its easier to drink when sitting. if feed fm bottle, will hv to hold bottle and tilt it for him. coz he does not know how to tilt it himself and keep sucking air.

sandwich
aiyo, my boy can eat n eat dry food and don't feel thirsty. only when he sees our drink then he willing to suck but then he will still spill

sanrio
mine is blue colour- Fun at 1 boy deco. but can lend you this which i think can be unisex cut out which can use blue tack to stick on wall/window
http://www.birthdaydirect.com/1st-birthday-boy-big-pack-cutouts-p-11178.html

HFMD very scary. my cousin juz text me that her daughter kena that and she actually attended my D's birthday party last sat. *faint*.. so worried abt my son now

now kids so poor thing got so many virus around. now i'm thinking twice abt sending him to child care at 18mth. worried he may fall sick frequently

Hi Leo, Mick, Mummies & Babies

It’s me, finally got time to sneak in…………..
I’m miss you all so much!
Beside Leo (thx for still remember me), anyone else miss me?
Mick, I think u miss me ba, am I right? kekeke

How time fillies, some of our babies are already turned 1 yr old and officially a toddler now! Here wishing all Apr thread babies “Happy 1 year old Birthday!”

Mine will be turning soon too… and yes she had finally takes hers first few wobbly steps w/o assistance last Friday! But hoh, she still like a small baby lei, her height not even hit 70cm & weight not even 8kg! PD commented she is underweight & must let her take Pediasure after she turned 1. Hope can increase her appetites and catch up all the nutrients she needed to growth.

Leo

Thanks for organising Mother Day gathering.
Can I put gorgor and hb on hold or not? They unlikely to joint us as gorgor Sat schedule was full with tuition and tuition… I’ll be bringing Tiffany alone

1348451.jpg

My little gal
kao_kiss.gif

EE
Pediasure is to help BB gain weight?
my son also on 50 percentile for his weight. i'm also quite puzzled coz he can really eat non-stop and always polish off his porridge and milk but only 8.8kg

Min: Sounds like my niece - the amount she eats, she's still in the lowest 5% percentile, and we have no idea how she fits everything she eats into her tiny body.

A meal for eg: after her dinner, she wants biscuits, she wants soup, she wants sweets, then she sees us eating dinner, she wants some of our dinner, and then ask for biscuit, soup and sweets again. We are so worried she will end up exploding!

As long as your boy is eating healthily and HEARTILY, the growth bit can catch up I guess. I rem this classmate of mine, she's 2 years younger than her bro, but she was towering over him by 1 head! I am not kidding, tt was in Sec school. Then 2 years later, he's 1 head taller than her :p

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Child</TD><TD>Sibiling</TD><TD>Hubby</TD><TD>Helper </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Augleo</TD><TD>Leo</TD><TD>JK</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>N.A. </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>EE</TD><TD>Agnes Tin</TD><TD>Tiffany</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Not joining</TD><TD>N.A. </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Kelley</TD><TD>Kelley</TD><TD>Ashyln</TD><TD>Arriving</TD><TD>Not joining</TD><TD>Don't think so </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>bububear</TD><TD>Sharon</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Gor Gor</TD><TD>Not joining</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>ixora</TD><TD>Agnes Guan</TD><TD>Joanie</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>N.A. </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>CoolD</TD><TD>Janice</TD><TD>Jordan</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>N.A. </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Gene</TD><TD>Gene</TD><TD>Gladys</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Still considering</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>aprilmum</TD><TD>Shirley</TD><TD>Ning</TD><TD>Arriving</TD><TD>Not joining</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Kris</TD><TD>Kris</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Dlim</TD><TD>Doreen</TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>michele</TD><TD>Michele</TD><TD>Claire</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Sandwich</TD><TD>Jane</TD><TD>Kaizer</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>N.A. </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>sanrio</TD><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>Cher</TD><TD>Gor Gor</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>N.A. </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Springdance</TD><TD>Fion</TD><TD>Jonas</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>N.A. </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>Malcolm</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>N.A. </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Kimsansoon</TD><TD>Cass</TD><TD>Isabella</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>N.A. </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>babyraphael</TD><TD>Rina</TD><TD>Raphael</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>N.A. </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Ms Tan</TD><TD>Jeanelle</TD><TD>Faith</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Michk</TD><TD>Michelle K</TD><TD>Keira</TD><TD>Not yet</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

any idea if those no brand bottles like Piyo Piyo can sterilise anot? thinking of not using Pigeon coz very difficult to get 'L' size teat

AugleO; had my ROM there. Think if you got NUSS member book it, got 10% discount or something. Who are you liasing with? Desmond?

Yes, member get 10% discount. still waiting for confirmation.

u hv lobang? is the playroom good?

there are few mummies feedback that Suntec, not ideal place for mummies don't drive. still considering between Plaza mkt cafe n NUSS.

Augleo:

hmmm
Suntec got direct trolley bus from Cityhall, so for those who don't drive, usually can take the bus from the MRT. If they don't drive, how are they going there? If all the barang like pram, then yes, I agree a bit difficult.

Where is Plaza mkt cafe anyway?

to min ,re:piyo piyo

Last time , i gv my sonny a piyo piyo pacifier , but due to NO stock availability ( for 3 mths ), i hv no choice but to switch to a Pigeon pacifier ( actually the reason i used piyo piyo is becoz their pacifier ultra BIG .
for L size pigeon teats , if u are really desperate , u can buy fm those non 20% outlets like Coldstorage / ntuc /tom stefanie etc, they hv stocks .
Only places like METRO / Robinsons / JL /Taka that alwys hv the 20% storewide disc that L sizes are rare n few .

caicai: I give my gal Bebe pacificer (avail from Tom &amp; Stefanie) stated made in Switzerland so I tot shd be ok ...

also cuz ultra big size haha ... but now i trying to wean my gal off ... but she keeps gacking on her fingers ... so quite worried

Min

According to Nutrition Advisor from Abbott, Pediasure is for picky eaters and children not eating well, it’s easy to digest and better absorption. Hence babies will felt hunger easily and tend to eat more.
Iif you are interested can try to contact Nutrition Advisor from Abbott, they are very friendly and quite professional to answer your doubt. You may request a free sample to try on

http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/for_children/for_children_product_info_pediasurecomplete.asp

Mrs Lai

Tiffany thx and return your compliment and b’day wish by BIG MUAK!!.
I’m sure she will have a pleasant birthday but not the perfect and wonderful one loh.
I’ll be celebrating her b’day at my mum’s place with all my nieces and nephews at KL and Genting on next week

PG

Upload ur pix from the following link (posted by Mick earlier on)

http://www.dumpr.net/rubik.php

I got to go liow.
Do fell free do chat with me thru msn or msg. Hope to catch up with you all more often.

Mrs lai , i also want to wean him off his pacifier , but think quite tough ... no pacifier = cannot sleep at nite .
his mouth too big , so he needs an ultra size pacifier to prevent him fm pushing the whole thingy into his mouth .

cai cai: hee ... i know but my gal can doze off occasionally without pacifier, so slowly train lor ... I keep reminding my maid also :p

Time: Lunch

** Plaza Mkt cafe @S$23++ (if there are mini. 30pax attending) 12pm to 5pm; free for kids below 6yrs old = waiting for confirmation on the price.

** Globetrotters (pte rm: S$24.90++ 11am to
2.30pm) kids @2yrs S$12.45

** Clubhouse @Suntec = (12pm to 4pm @S$25 + 7%)
there is a kid playroom.
(need to revert on the booking ASAP)

all the above are in buffet style.

think there are approx. 7 mummies not driving there. pls let us know ur concern if we choose the meet up @Suntec.

Have not been 'chatting' with you all since I joined recently &amp; wan to share my experience wrt straw cup. At first also din know how to teach my boy to use straw &amp; fail the 1st 2 attempts. Surprisingly, he just did it the next round &amp; now, he is always using a straw cup for water &amp; also drinking more compared to bottle