(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Need some feedback abt my boy's behaviour...I had brought my boy to tumble tots & gymboree to try out & he cries in most of the sessions & if he is ok, he just like to observe then to do the activities together. Any mommies experience this? He is not afraid of strangers but juz don know he behaves that way

my noptebook crashed !!! this morning until now.
not working
ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi jon't mummy: Thanks for sharing on the straw cup. My boy still cannot drink from straw but I guess it's also because we are not that persistent HAHA! Will try again this weekend and hopefully he will "do it" by magic!

My boy attends Kindermusik now. Before signing up, I attended the trial class (he was about 5months old then), and he was quite passive,just observe and stare. We didn't think much of it because we know his "pattern". He is the observe-and-stare-when-outside kind lor. He expressionless when strangers speak to him but will not hesitate to let them carry.

During the 1st 2 Kindermusik lessons, Lele also observe and stare. A few kids will crawl around and pick up teacher's musical instruments, but not lele.

During the 3rd lesson, he started to be quite proactive (will go to the teacher to pick up toys like his mates) and smiley!

After that we also observed that he is very smiley at home or outside.

For me, I feel that my son's character is such that he needs time to size things up before he can enjoy. So we just let him take his time, while always explaining to him what's going on. We will encourage him to try things, but will always let him take the first step on his own, so tht he will understand the choice is his...

Hi Augleo,

Guess i've to opt for plaza mkt cafe as i need to work till 1230 and then go home to fetch boy there.

For the other 2places u mention,
I'll not be able to make it in time le.

Thanks for organising.

So anxious, going to celebrate my boy bdae party on sat at NSRCC. Any mommies had done their party there?
Share the pix?

Cheerio

jon's mummy , my sonny also like that . cried n cried during his gymboree trial class until i am too embarrassed to bring him for classes now .
kris -> ntuc has coverage eh , good
. is it printed on the policies ? coz i did not really read my policies carefully

Hi Kate,
Thanks for sharing ur xperience abt Lele, is juz so similar to my boy! only diff is that he can play with them but not wanted to be carried. I agree too that he needs more time to warm up b4 feeling comfortable. How's is kindermusik? I'm in the waiting list for trial

Hi caicai,
For gymboree, instead of signing him up for classes, i bring him for play gym to get familiar with the place...not sure whether did the right thing but i juz don't wan to rush him

Jon's Mummy
My boy also got cry at trial classes. Have shared with the mummies here about my 'slow to warm up' boy recently... :p

Was sharing my worries about how he will turn out at his own bdae party since got so many unfamilar faces...

Augleo
Am ok with suntec & plaza mkt cafe

MichK
So whose PC are you using now since yours crashed? :p

fion,
using my collg's since she MC. then i cant seem to access my inbox from her desktop

boliao rite, since its happened in the morning.
then lunch time went to Chalres & Keith Warehouse sale, the shoe @ $11 nia but limited sizes.

mrs lai,
din get for u coz the nicer design dun have ur size. i wear 35 and they have lots in 35.
help u save $$

micK - ur feet so small eh .my feet is the common type 37 , so i guess i dun hv to go to the Charles n Keith sale huh ?

caicai/kate/jon
Just realised something...seems like the shy babies here are all boys..hmmm....:p

Mich
Like that good wat...got excuse not to work. LOLZZ....

Your ordered K's cake yet? Can give some preview of the design.

MicK: u very good. 1) U tell me u at sale 2) u insult my feet size 3) and then u tell me cannot get any for me?

U v evil, but I will still abish u lovingly. HAHAHAHA

Hi Augleo,

I didn't take any pics during the birthday party. Those pics taken by photographer are ready liao but I have no time to collect. Probably can only share the pics with all mummies on next week.

Jon's mummy: I only went for 1 trial class which is the Kindermusik one. Hubbie not free to go, so I attended w baby. I enjoyed the lesson (maybe more than baby?) so I persuaded hubbie to let lele sign up.

After 1st lesson, hubbie was like, "Are you sure Lele enjoys? He dun seem to show any expressions. Are you sure the lessons will do him good?" kind of thing...
But after a few lessons, hubbie was so satistified to see Lele enjoy himself at lessons that he agreed to sign up for another semester!

<font color="0000ff">Kindermusik lesson</font>
The 45min lesson is basically made up of lotsa songs. Diff songs will emphasise diff rythmns and diff movements. Each activity will be repeated 3 times as the theory is that it takes 3 times for children to remember.

If your baby is not walking yet and needs to be carried, it can be quite tiring to carry him/her while doing activities like bouncing, swinging up/down, running, etc! But can take turns w hubbie as and when lor. So not too bad. After 30mins, there'll be a break, supposedly to let the children wind down. Children can be given some water and listen to some soothing music and parents can relax and rest a little.

Oh, forgot to mention that activities are almost the same for subsequent lessons as well, with slight variations like one or two new activities or diff instruments usage.

I signed up for kindermusik sometime in late Jan. My intention was for Lele to be exposed to music and have fun with it, and these intentions are met. So far I'm happy with lessons and should continue for a few more sems ba.

I think seeing same classmates at each lesson and doing similar activities helped lele to warm up faster because he knows what is going on?

kate,
after reading your post on kinder, i want to re-inforce what u mean.
1st lesson - K juz look see
last week, 3rd lesson - crawld towrds shauna to take the egg shaker liao. and after quiet time, managed to throw the cup into the bin

mrs lai,
dun like that, but since you ah bish with love, i ah bish back to you in return
LOL

caicai,
i tink my hb bot the rider, its inclusive for kids. we tot dat since its so common in childcare, better get its covered oso. u chk wif your agent to make sure dat its inclusive.

jon's mummy/cai: my gal is shy when she is in such class.. brought her once to kindermusik, waste my $, everytime step into class, hear the teacher sing, she cry. in the end the 45 mins, we were standing outside. from then on, i never enroll her in class again.

anyone who has yet to celebrate 1st bday

helium fill for latex and foils balloons are available !! please let me know,if you are interested

kelley: cuz u never gibe ur gal chance ... see the shy boys did it? I can't wait for SD's boy to be the same though, then she can tell her hubby, see not wasting marnee :p

but a bit difficult with ur big tummy now ... maybe later, we all can go together ;P

MicK: I didn't. I haven't even been there for ages. Er can u help me register first or not :p

But if u intend to go to GUG after this term or continue with KM?

MicK: ok if continue, then i join u at the "continued" class? Can wait list to join?

the cake: confirmed, chop and sign the flavour liao is it :p

MichK
Hee...must be a masterpiece design.

Eh..the foil balloons FOC one ah?

Mrs Lai/MichK
This creative culinare quite ulu location...though it's not far from my house.

MK: Yup, Lele too. He had opened ALOT since joining kindermusik. From "look-see", he has become a "hands-on". From "wide-eyed expressionless", he has become a very responsive boy who will squeal with delight, yak away and smile during lessons whenever he likes an activity. He enjoys alot! Even when outside, he will initiate interaction w strangers by giving them his biscuit, opening/closing palms or waving byebye to them.

To all mummies who think your child is shy:
They may be at this moment or in certain social situations, but if they are exposed to similar social situations enough, I think they will open up cos they have understood what's going on. Afterall, they have limited experiences, so behaving in a certain way is not set in stone. Behaving shyly or fearfully may be the only way they know how to behave now, until they know other ways.
That's why I think the repititions in Kindermusik, together w familiar faces each time, worked for Lele...

kate,
last week, we did the parachute, u too??
WS did 1st half last sunday by Quiet time, he told me SHIONG ! wahahahaha...
so i took over the 2nd half para

K was seated down at the centre ! u shld have seen her face ;)

mrs lai,
FLAVOR - chop, signed and approved by WS

now i need to come up with the design nia.
told my sis the theme is 1st bday. she said good wat, coz only 1 FIRST
but then after that she said, K cant really remember one ! want to ah bish her

ee,
wah man! long time no see n hear ??
u know what ?? my MIL was juz asking me ant tiff on monday. was telling her havent talk to you for so long liao !

eCreative updates:

rec'd an email from eCreative:
* there will b price increase soon
* introduction of no egg cakes in no time

Jesse is getting better, still have cough, runny nose and all but at least the fever is gone.

Btw, does anyone know the schedule for Gymboree, Kindermusic or Tumble Tots (and the location). Am thinking of bringing Jesse one day soon...but want to find out what time and where first.

Yes, I believe the first birthday party is for the mother too

To those celebrating 1st Birthday this weekend, HAVE LOTS OF FUN!