(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

tks. so glad tat we are back hm. cher has no fever truout ydy nite n till now. but she got outbreak of rashes now. is a virus tat affected d upper respiratory tract, cant remb d name, ro... cher's body was fightg d strong virus hence her fever was very high till it hit 41'c n i was so worried n upset then. thank God she has no cough, runny nose etc.

beyond,
yup we did go pte pd n was given voltaren b4 gg kkh. it did brg down d fever but in less than 6hr, fever came bk very high agn n this is an 8hrly per dose medicine. subdequently wen we gave paracetamol, her fever jus cannot cum down even w sponging. kkh is cautious in giving voltaren to bb/young kids as cher's wbc n platelets was a bit low n they worried if it's dengue n there is internal bleeding (choy choy..) voltaren wld brg down d platelets count further..

sandwich,
sorry to hear tat kaizer hit his face n was sick. poor boy. hugs hugs.. n hope he get well soon.

me gg to slp now. ydy nite din slp. hopefully cher can nap long long at hm..

Hi Sanrio,

I'm so glad that Cher has been discharged and fever has subsided. Do take care of yourself and have a gd rest.

Hi Sanrio,

Good to hear bb Cher is discharged. U take care urself well so u can take care of ur little sweetie ya.

BB Kaizer,
Be a strong boy and get well soon. Happy Birthday and wishing u a speedy recovery.

sanrio,
is it roseola infantum? J had it during CNY. It's very contagious and children under 3 are most susceptible to it. So take care ya. The rash wouldn't bother cher and it'll clear, no special treatment needed.

J's cough is getting worse. I spoke to a ped friend since the clinic was so busy...he said there's nothing I can do for the cough except to wait it out. I asked if there was anything I could give him because the meds from the clinic don't work. He said at this age can't give a nigh enough dosage for it to work so what the clinic gives is just "placebo". No wonder it didn't work. I asked if he could give something that will just take the cough away...he said, "erm, can but then he'll stop breathing." hehe... so he said wait it out and hopefully J can throw the phlegm out. That's what he did when his child was young also. So bo pian...

J's cough this time very violent...to the untrained ear, it does sound "whooping". Oh well, clinic now also close liao. On the upside, a group of them (drs) will be coming over later this evening. J is supposed to sleep then, but he'll probably still cough and they can help me hear.
He coughed the whole of last night, he'll probably cough more tonight.

jesse , the cough if goes untreated will make the airway highly sensitive . my son caught mild bronchitis some time back , so i think u better bring him see pd soon

CaiCai / Jesse / Cool_D/ Kate / Mrs Lai
Thanks for your comforting reassurance on Jonas’s party…well it’s very true that kids behaviour are unpredictable although I know higher chances is that my boy will probably not turn out too happy looking :p (judging from our recent outings at shopping malls & eateries over the weekends)…not wishing for miracles but just hope that things won’t turn out too bad! Actually, there’s also the irritating part whereby relatives will tend to compare & comment things like “Aiyo…your boy very shy hor…the xx niece/cousin/nephew also about same age very friendly & smiley one lei”!!

CaiCai
Zac’s top very smart looking! Where is it from? Hehehe….

Sanrio
Glad to hear that Cher has discharged….can sleep in the comfort of home tonight liaoz.

Jessesmom
Hmm…you wanna consider bring J see Chinese physician? Got a few mummies from another thread I read recommended that there’s a Chinese Physician “Yu Guo” at Kembangan who is very good at treating cough & phlegm for kids. If you interested I can find out the full address for you…

jessesmom
yes.. cough for baby very hard to treat. GP always give green medi but takes 1-2 wks to recover.

some will give Bao Ying Dan fm Eu Yan seng.

caicai,
ya, my friend the pd is one of those coming tonight. he does cardiology but i think he could tell lah...the others a gp and in other specialties...one in infectious disease. I think if they can't come up with something...then it's quite sad. haha.

SpringDance,
can find out for me? I don't mind trying Chinese medicine also. My FIL is an acupuncturist! He says the pain in my foot is caused by "gen" that's too tense. but what's "gen" in english? Vein? tendon? He help me press that day and I shouted at him (again...I always shout at him when he tries to help me)..."sen hai zi mei you ze mo tong!" (giving birth is less painful) and seriously, for me it is less painful!

But ya, thanks for the help!

Btw SpringDance,
I tried out a new part time helper today and Jesse being the usually friendly baby he is opens his arms to her for some "carry". Then she says usually those who don't get to see people much are friendlier...erm...I don't really understand the logic in that but just for curiousity's sake, your boy usually alone or with a group of people? Jesse's always alone with me at home.

jessemom , ya , i think u shd let ur pd fren see ur sonny tonite , just to be safe .

hi springdance , i bot the top at baby fox ( 15 % disc for uob card holder )
it costs $19 before disc.

ya sanrio,

is't roseola infantum?? Ning kanna also last time.. if it's roseola infantum.. then dun worry, once the fever gets better, rashes will appear, after the rashes, bb will be fine

Sanrio, have a good nap. At least the fever is gone. Cher will recover in no time.

Springdance,
I heard of the Chinese Physician before. Can help me find out the address?
My girl cough is about a week. Can consider bringing her there.

Springdance : Cannot compare de. Every child have their own personality mah. Being friendly or smiley doesn't mean anything ya.

Jesse : I've also heard of the 'bao ying dan' Min mentioned. Heard that its good. But i never let Glynnis try because it not suitable for baby with G6PD. Even tough Glynnis don't have, but i have. So hubby thought better not try, in case she's a carrier and carrier also cannot.

dreamy u hv G6PD eh , what is that actually ?
coz last time when i was prescribed malaria pills , the gp asked me if i hv . glynnis cake so beautiful
did u buy the precious moment figurine?

G6PD means my blood is lacking in a substance that helps red blood cells function normally. I cannot touch certain medicine. And it can be passed down to my children.

Dreamygal: VERY NICE! It's a really very sweet cake, just for a very sweet princess!

Jesse: u can try the vicks method, since your kid dun have to ingest any medicine, so no harm just rubbing on his soles and then let him wear socks before he sleeps

MicK: did you noticed you used "IT" to refer to Kaizer?!?!?!!?!?

Sanrio: HUGS. please take good care of urself, good that now all of u back in the comfort of ur own home! At least how Cher won't jump if anyone so much so as opens the door!

mrs lai,
ops, did i ??? jialat, bz trying to get in the post and work at same time mah.
jane, forgive me hor
think i menat to say... its his bday today

sanrio,
have a good rest since u at home with cher now.

Jesse,
actually, when i feel that K sneezing too much, i will apply vicks on her sole and let her wear socks to sleep thru the nite. usually she will fell beta the next morning.

Mrs Lai : Thanks.

Michelle : The ball is actually a big balloon from the party shop at Tekka mall. The cake is from pine garden. You remembered? You once posted a pink cake from PG here.

Min : Bingo!!

Mummies: need some advice... how to sooth teething woes? Lele grew 2 more teeth le
(total 10!) and he is super cranky! For the 1st time every he refused milk and refused nap and very fussy!

I've never experienced such fuss behaviour due to teething before so dun really know what I can do to help him...

And advice besides teething gel?

Jesse / Darbebe
Found the Chinese Sinseh contact:

Yu Guo Chinese Physician Acupuncture & Physiotherapy Pte Ltd
8B Jln Masjid #01-04 Singapore 418929
Tel: 6447 4761

Jesse
Hahah…I never tried foot massage b4…but I think it’s very painful!

Regarding your question about my boy, my boy is mostly alone at home with my MIL during the day on weekdays since me & my hubby working …but on some days my FIL will come over play with him…. during weekends, we will bring him out for ‘gai gai’.. usually to malls or eateries, with my parents. I also got bring my boy to join some trial classes with the mummies here b4. So I guess the conclusion is that Jesse is more open & friendly by nature ba…

CaiCai
No wonder…I also like Fox baby clothings…. least they got more choices & variety for boys…many shops I went to, the focus is for baby girls clothings.

Dreamygal
yup yup...I understand that every kiddo is different..jus that it's ear-pricking to hear negative comments from relatives (although they may say it as a word of passing and do not know the mummy mind what they say!).

By the way, must comment again that it's a sweet-looking cake! As I mentioned the other time when you first posted during Glynnis's birthday preps.

Today: <font color="aa00aa">**Happy 1st Birthday to Ashlyn**</font>

Tomorrow: <font color="aa00aa">**Happy 1st Birthday to Claire n Glynnis**</font>

May all sweeties stay healthy n cheerful always

Kate,
How about teether from the fridge. I give YX frozen pigeon teether and he likes it. It sort of numb the pain.

<font color="119911">Happy birthday, Ashlyn!</font>
<font color="119911">Happy birthday, Claire!</font>
<font color="119911">Happy birthday, Glynnis!</font>

taro,
i bought 1 pair @Mother n BB fair n 1 pair of sandal @United Sq.

feel that JK prefers sandals coz more LIANG KUAI

our children hv start intruding our shoes cabinet.

mummies...
Jesse now has fever.

SpringDance,
he just massage the part that's hurting. Very Very painful. My hb said I sure cannot go reflexology. But the funny thing is that I can walk on the pebbles...

Shoes
Jesse has a pair of leather shoes (Springy) but the leather smell is soooo strong. How to get rid of the smell ah? Other than that, he has two pairs handed down from friend - one soft base, the other hard.

Taro,
jboy has a pair of hard sole sandal from Bata too. Those with chuk chuk sound. I somehow feel dat the chuk chuk sound creates some interest for jboy to walk. Sometimes he will stamp his feet for the sound

Anyone knows where we can buy shoes that makes some sounds or have light when baby walk?? Hoping to encourage malcolm to walk wearing these shoes....

Mal's fever subsided yesterday but coughing got worse...think cos of sleeping in air-con so throat very dry...told hubby not to switch on air-con but he insisted weather very hot, Malcolm couldn't sleep...sigh...

*haiz* vanessa's fever is down but she just threw up her entire milk feed. Then she seems really uncomfy so I rubbed the ru yu oil on her tummy and no matter how much we pat she's not burping.

Then ... half way trying to pat her to sleep, my hubby called me out say emergency - the water tank in the second bathroom burst, so I had to turn off the water supply. After letting all the water drip and investigation (the plumber wont come and ask us to off the valve first) I managed to turn off the valve (flex muscles). Cuz mummy got slightly more "ideas" and managed, with a cloth to turn off the valve.

Now, habe to take 1/2 day leave to wait for the plumber to come ... sianz ...

Thanks Augleo and Taro. Too bad tomorrow mummy have to work... Hee... Can only keep Glynnis company at night.

Springdance : I still must say. I really like the cake alot...

Michelle : Whats LYM huh?

Glynnis got 2 hard sole, 1 shoe and 1 sandal. Both Winnie the Pooh design. I have kept her soft sole le. When i bring her for a walk downstair, she will try to dash very fast. Very tired trying to grab her... Haa...

Mrs Lai : Can understand. THere's once my pipe in the kitchen leaked in the middle of the night. Sianz... Whole night i can hear the sound of water dripping into the bucket.

Mrs Lai,
strong, thinking woman!
I hope the plumber can fix the tank tomorrow.

Usually after Jesse's bath (I'm sitting on a low stool) I'll lift him out of the tub and he'll sit on my lap, his body curled, knees touching chest in one neat bundle. Most of the time, he'll let out a burp in that position.

for cough, try placing or stacking up the mattress so that baby can breath betta. and put bit of Vicks on their pillow, or neck line

dunno why nowadays my boy don't let to get dressed. when we take him out of bathtub, he wail loudly.. and will start kicking me when i try to get him changed
sigh.. i realy hope its a passing phase. no joke gettin kicked by your son leh.. now changing him is as if i'm 'raping' him.. he will cry murder!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ALL THE BABIES!

Sighz, I was sick throughout the weekend and I think I passed on my germs to bb. So she had fever yesterday. Quite a handful to take care of her. But she's better now. Gave her lots of water and fruits but today still got constipation.

Michele
Sorry, couldn't attent bbClaire's birthday party last Saturday. Last minute got flu.

Sanrio
Hope bbCher is feeling better now! You gotta take care too!

Mrs Lai
Talking about bursted pipes. I've got one in the common toilet on the day I held Gladys' birthday party at home. Luckily my hb is quite a good handy man and he quickly drove to DIY shop and got the parts to replace it himself. Otherwise I can't imagine having no water supply. It was on a Sunday and I think the plumber will charge quite a bit.

kate- for teething , i heard fm my cousin she used the chinese medicinal powder . so i went to buy Eu Yan Sang bao yin dan n put it on zac's gums , he luvs the taste and he is ok after using it . so far , i nvr tried teething gel and he dun like his teething toy .
so many babies are sick , hope gladys recover soon .
jessemom , what did ur pd say abt ur sonny ?
min , sometimes my son also behave like urs , but i think if u repeat the actions every day , he will understand that he is not supposed to be inside his tub forever ...

<font color="0000ff">**HELIUM GAS**</font>
no more EAST mummies need Helium Gas?
coz i intend to return the rental tank tomr

anyone has scene setter, birthday banner or party deco to sell to me? anytg suitable is fine as i dun hv any special theme.

Gene,
hope u n gladys get well soon.

Jessemom,
hope jesse gets well very soon. kids alwy take quite a while to recover fr cough. did u brg him go c pd agn?

Cindy,
how's caitlyn's fever? hope she is well very soon. waiting to c her b'day pics :p

Aprilmum, Jessemom, Beyond, Mrs Lai
yup shd b roseola ... she started fever on thur noon. on fri we wen pte pd n fever up 39.9. pd gave voltaren. fever wen down a bit af medication. on sat, fever cld not go dwon w medication, remain at 39.9. we wori n sent her to kkh a&amp;e. nurse measured was 41. we were shocked. did sponging, blood test n urine test. urine test ok. blood test showed wbc n platelets low. fever remain at 39.5-39.9 despite sponging n cher was lethargic, lips dry so was warded. worried was dengue..
i insisted no drip so i tried my best to bf her at short intervals.
during our stay there, i got milk blister n seek help fr lactation consulatant. was due to cher frequent nursing but din empty breast so hindmilk 'block' d milk ducts. very painful, is like a big ulcer on d nipple. but i 'ren ren ren' n cont to nurse as dun wan her to b dehydrated. she refused all food n drk.
finally, fever gone n now she got outbreak of rashes. big big red patches on d face n spoty ones on her body n legs.
din noe tis virus can b so strong.... actually i was a bit upset as cher is tbf so i suppose shd b 'tougher'?? pd n LC told me, if i m not nursing now, she probably may hv develop other symptoms like cough, runny nose (as tis is a very strong upper respiratory tract virus) n made d situation more complicated. so b positive.
dun noe where she caught it?? cos i was home fr tue onwards n none of us at hm is sick. mayb mon i brought her to amk ntuc hub??

any mummy has scene setter, b'day banner or party deco to sell to me? ai yo.. dun tx to source.. anytg suitable (for girl) is fine as i dun hv special theme. tks