(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Springdance: I got excuse.. I preggy mummy.. memory very bad..

Sanrio: thanks for transferring..!! and the sms!

Cai: thanks for the link!!! I love the fishing set! I got my 3 packs of huggies ultra from the mother and baby promo.. but what size packing do we have to submit huh??

as long as barcode label , can liao . redeem btw 27 Mar to 21 Apr at the following POST OFFICES

Ang Mo Kio Blk 727
Clementi Central - Blk 443
Orch Ngee Ann City
Singapore post centre

kelley,
Ash size will do
juz cut the barcode label nia ! redemption only at Sing Post, Clementi and 2 more Post OFfice not at all POST OFFICE

Mrs Lai,
nice collage pics of Vanessa... so cute!

Wow, so many recipies posted.. tks!

Augleo,
u interested in the juzmusic ah?

Aprilmum, Kris,
the cheese still in fridge? I let Jo tried le.. still left 1 & half pcs.. she is ok with it except takes very long to 'chew'..

Kate,
u now can assess net more often ah? gd!

cherryteq,
hello! i was oso wondering whr were u..

Gene,
whr did u buy those butterfly figurines fr?

Augleo,
seems like Kindermusik, but for alightly older bb.

Gene,
Try water. . jboy is a water monster & he do not have any bowel prob so far. In fact, some days, he shit 4 times, but it's not watery so I dun tink it's diarrheo. Also, I heard prune juice is also gd for constipation.

On the same sbj on bday party .. what do you all think of celebrating 2 wks in advance? jboy's bday is 21 May, so nearest sun is 18 May, but am tinking abt 11 May coz it's also Mothers' day

Gene,
go n check d content of nan2 (if u still hv) vs nan3. compare d protein level. actually u cld jus stick to nan2 for up to 2yrs old even. reason cld b nan3 has higher protein n if her solid food oreadi hv sufficient protein n if u dun feed Lots of fruts n vege (fibre + Water), she wld hv constipation.

i m really a lousy mummy n m feeling terribly guilty. ydy noon, cher fell fr her COT af she woke up fr nap. d cot barrier is a bit faulty n all along i hv taken it for granted tat she wld not climb over it. imagine she fell fr so high.
wen i heard a loud scream (nvr b4), i dash into d rm. i din c her in d cot. my heart almost stop beating. she was caught in btw our bed (my bed frame is hard solid wood type) n cot floor, face down. i wen hysterical, scream n cried. i cant save her out as her arm was stuck at d cot rail n there was no space in btw, i hv to push d super heavy wooden bed frame away. i dun noe where i got d strength cos is a king size bed. as her arm was trapped, her face did not hit d floor but was very closed. b4 i save her out, i cant c her expression/face so i was crying n crying n said 'God, pls help n save her'. finally i took her out, hug n comfort her. she stop crying but i cld not. i call hubbby n he said 'call ambulance'. i finally calm down, check her. there was no bruise n no cut. i gently touch her head, joints, arms, legs, spine n she seem ok. hb came hm n cher hvnt had lunch so i quicky cook but i was so shocked tat i dun noe how to cook. anyway, she had her lunch n af tat playing happily agn...
if anytg happen to cher, i wld not forgive myself. ydy nite, i cant slp but watch her n kip saying sorry to her.
m feeling really really lousy..

i m a terrible mummy.. how can i b so negligent.

micK , i cut out the newspaper advert n put on my office desk lor. coz the other time , sanrio asked me where to redeem . kekekeke
kelley , u mati liao . last time darbebe posted , the poor memory will stick to us for the rest of our lives even after birth . u better buy gingko supplements to "bu nao"
gene , how abt the nestle gold cereals ( oat wif prunes ? )
prune juice also can .... worse case , u dilute her milk .

i want to get rid of our wooden bed frame which is reallyy a hazzard n has sharp corners. except d 4 corners, there is no way to put nat protector on d sides. but is those cant b dismantled type as wen we 1st got married, d carpenter came to fix it up on d spot. is nice to look at but so dangerous.. unless we get someone to 'hammer n break it up' in order to dipsose it.

now cher nap on mattress on d floor in korkor rm

Gene
if got constipation.. must rmbr Ps- Peach, Plum, Prune.
you can actually dilute G's milk in the day.

Mrs lai
do u still grind brown rice?
my cousin gave me this Song He healthy rice - mixture of white and brown rice. but i can't find it anywhere in NTUC leh

do u soak Jasmine brown rice before cooking?

Sanrio,
I can understand how u feel... but dun be too hard on yourself.. sometimes we really can't keep watch them all the time.. esp for SAHMs like us, gotta do other chores as well.. Thank God her face din hit the flr.. Cher sure knows u went all the way to help her.. so dun feel too bad k.. hugs!

sanrio,
must have frighten yourself yesterday.
hug n kisses for cher.

u know what K did yest morning, she actually managed to climb out from the high chair and was like leg on the table and hands on my sofa( coz high chair nx to sofa)

this was like when we are preparing to levae in the morning at 7+am. HORRORRRR... negklignet as well, coz sunday i remove the covers to wash and the belt was shorten
heng, husb saw and caught hold of her.

Btw, my jo climbs like a monkey.. my worry now is that she might climb onto her activity walker, attempt to stand near the window.. think i need to install window grill soon..

coolD
i don think its nice celeb on mother's day as it may disrupt your guest plan to eat out with their mums.. my 2 cents tot ok

Yeah, Kelley. Take up more Vit B or Gingko supplement.

It seems to hit some mummies more than the others. Im one of them.

Ixora , i think ur joanie very active . u better do something abt ur grills , we cannot afford any mistakes towards our child. we sure feel very guilty if any mishaps shd happen . so u dun take things for granted

Hi Cool_Daughter,
It is fine to celebrated 2 weeks in advance. I have friend who did that. However, as what Min mentioned, some guests might wanna celebrate with their family.

Hi Min,
For the Song He healthy rice, I also can't find it in NTUC. But I managed to bought it in Giant last saturday. I have yet to try. My friend actually recommended me to cook this healthy rice and use the water to make milk. She say her son like it and his milk intake actually increases as it has very nice fragrant.

Hi MichelleK,
My son also like to climb and stand on his high chair regardless on how tight I adjusted the seat belt. Somehow he just can find a way to free himself. Not only that, he can actually climb out from his walker and crawl on the floor.

Ixora, Darbebe, Min, Michelle,
tks. i was really wori tat her spine/head hit unto our hard wooden bed frame wen she fell. i dun noe but can only trust tat God has protected her n she is fine. it was a really big shock for me but a 'hard' reminder tat i mus b watchful at all tx. cos tis is really negligent on my part hence i felt bad.

Ixora,
yes, quickie put up grills. very very impt. we din hv last tx. but my ex boss (a doctor) came to visit me wen ash was abt 6m old then. 1st thg he noticed tat we hv no grills n he said pls go n put up grills imeediately. so we did. true enough, ash climbed like a monkey too. dun noe why, 1 fine day, he jus automatically take a chair or somtg n climb.

Michelle,
gd tat WS saw n caught bbK in tx. ya lor, bed, high chair.. we mus b very careful now

sanrio, u wanna hear my story also.. it happens yesterday..

i was bathing halfway when my hb taps hard on the door.. i open the door and see that her mouth was oozing with blood.. then i ask my hb what happen?? he says my gal was crawling on the floor, dunno if its too slippery or what, she fell flat on her face.. i quick use a towel to stop the blood then i peep inside her mouth, see if her teeth is broken or what..

then i realise "a piece of her inner flesh" got stuck in between her teeth (as her 2 front teeth is seperated one), i couldnt put it out.. i know you all cant imagine, me also cant believe when i saw it.. my mil and hb keep saying have meh? aiyo.. its quite obvious cos when she smile, usually her teeth all shown one.. now her lips is like covering half her teeth lor..

we waited for almost an hour before i saw the doctor and the doctor say its very common to him.. he ask me dun pull out the flesh, let it comes out by itself naturally.. and once it comes out, sure 100% will have ulcer on the wound.. so he just gave us a cream to rub on the wound.. might take until saturday before it will be fully recovered..
luckily she still drinks milk as per normal..

heart pain, first time see her ooze with blood..
but luckily she very thick-skin.. she just cried a moment when she falls.. the next moment, she is playing happily by herself.. really lucky that there is no internal injury or tooth broken, etc.. but really, we dun expect her to crawl til fall.. really unexpected lor.. sigh..

Kate
Well I bought the elbow pasta 1 or 2 weeks back…but still have not got the time and the urge to cook it yet…coz I not sure how much to cook and whether cook liao if my boy, Jonas, will eat. Scarly he dun eat then all efforts wasted and also he will have no lunch…coz if I cook pasta, I won’t cook porridge liao. :p

Me quite risk averse & lazy mummy….hahaha.

Kelley
Even if you not preggy, you also sotong one lar! LOLZZZZ

Min
Err…How do I process peach, plum, prune for baby to eat? Prunes are fresh or dried ones??

Gene
Jonas also on NAN all the way…although once in awhile will get hard stools since he started on solids…. He doesn’t really have constipation problems. You got give Gladys drink water often? Think that is quite important. Pai Sei to say…Jonas only eat fruits once awhile coz he only like papaya and I can’t possibly give him that everyday…But I am interested to try out the 3 Ps fruits that Min mentioned…but no idea how to process them!

Sanrio
Dun blame yourself too much…like the mummies say, accidents are bound to happen once awhile…some more you are all alone taking care of 2 kids…really hard work & demand a lot of energy & attention span!

Cher not only has God to look after her but also a hardworking Guardian Angel by her side.

Tell you something…my house is SUPER not child-friendly. And we still have yet to do anything to make it child safe…very bad. :p

Re: Window Grilles
Errm……My house also no window grilles….wan to do it but have not made the effort to do so…me & my hubby think of the dust all over the house and the damage to the parquet flooring and the need to remove/throw all the curtain blinds & railings…very sianzzz….:p

THANKS cai and michelle for the redemption thing!!!

Sanrio: don’t blame urself.. most of bb will hv to go thru the falling down stage.. understand how u feel.. lucky u were calm enof to check bb first before dialing ambulance!

Cai: I thnk one day I will forget who my HB is..hahaha.. I eat a lot of gingko nuts now cos of bb ah..bt doesn’t seem to be helping!

who want to donate one huggies barcode to me!! i only got 3!!! hahaha..

SprindD
for peach/plum/prune.. quite easy if you hv grater or blender.

if you use grater:
remove the skin, then grate it.

if use blender
then cut the flesh and blend it. or use spoon the smash it

for prune.. i think NTUC got sell. it looks like plum.
for peach, you can also get nectarines

mummies, correct me if i'm wrong abt prune.

very easy. i can't live w/o my grater.. i used it for my fruits and corn

anyone changing to umbrella stroller? those that is light and can be folded easily but bb cannot sleep in it.

i wonder if its ok to change to that so thats its easier for us to go out as our current one is dammed heavy.

sanrio
I can imagine ur feeling & heart pain .. but dun blame urself le. Most imptly is Cher is alrite

MichK
jboy also climb onto his high chair once. I was putting him there gettng ready for lunch, than I went into the kitchen to pour water. Sikally when I turn, he was standing on his highchair, crawling onto my dining table (nex to high chair). My heart nearly dropped out also.

SpringD/ Ixora
I also haven fix grille but intend to do so soon. Waiting for my Bro to ask his friend the px.

Beyond/ Min,
Thanx for the advise. Hmm, tink I beta stick to 18 May

Min
I know this is abit suaku…but do peach & nectarines look the same? Is it pinkish on the exterior and the flesh is whitish-yellow?

Er….another silly qns…Grater is the something with little “teeth” and the baby food maker set has one of it correct?

Min: Ya I grind it into coarse bits for easy cooking - no i dun soak them :p I just wait for water to boil, throw in and then 15 to 20 mins done liao

Also, grinding the brown rice, it's easier to cook than the whole grains. My bro gave me some thai red rice but I haven't tried it yet ...

springdance,
peach is d softer version, a bit fury on d skin. nectarine has smooth skin (a bit like plum skin), flesh is firmer. skin is usually yellow+red in colour.
yup tat is a plastic grater. some cum in stainless steel.
ya can undstd d mess n dust if hv to install grills etc..
even till now, ash likes to jump, run in d hse so we hv to childproof a smuch as we cld. my hse no longer 'nice nice', more like a playground now..

j&r,
sorry to hear abt ur bb fall. ouch, mus b painful. but their wound heal really fast. thou it looks 'pain' to us but most tx they are ok. i remb my boy had such 'incidents' abt 3tx.. d worst one was he was runnig ar marina square at abt 1.5yr old n 1 big ang moh wlakign hurriedly bang unto him fr benhind n he fell face flat. lots of blood even his shirt. d man offered send ash to hospital but we tld him dun nid. in d end, wen wen hm. applied ice (w towel) to d wound to reduce swelling. tink he had an ulcer af tat but he cld eat/drk n was active as per normal. tink abt 2 days, his wound was ok oreadi. yup most impt they dun break or chip their teeth.

hi sanrio,
yalor.. lucky her tooth didnt break, else will appear ugly when celebrating her 1st birthday.. haha.. :p

i was less worried when i see her still as active, still smile as before, still can eat and sleep.. phew!! :p its my hb who is more paranoid.. i tell him "bb falls then will grow".. important is that they are not feeling uncomfortable, pain, etc lor.. we cannot prevent this kind of accidents 100% one.. as long as after that bb is safe lor.. as if im not heartpain after i see her like that.. chey!! hahah... :p

Thanks to those mummies who had given me advise on the birthday celebration.

Most likely we will have the 1st birthday celebration for my baby on the 3rd May, Sat evening. Actual birthday falls on the 7th May, Wed
!

sanrio,

goshh!! the incident made my heart down also.. how's cher now?? remind me abt Ning's falling case!! i sent her to KK emergency. i can understand, i cried non stop in the phone and my parents immidiately came over to bring her to KK that morning. May GOD blesses all of us! thanks god!

Ning tries her ABC pasta now!! She loves it!!!!!!!! first spoon, she gave us a "yiiii" face, maid and me thot she dun like the taste.. 2nd spoon, guess what???!!! She asked for more!! hahahahaha.. so happy le!! so now, her schedule for meals will be 3 porridge(normal white rice) days, 2 pasta days, and 2 mix porridge(brown+normal white rice) days.

Michk,

you can get ABC pasta from NTUC, costs $2.80 per pack.

kate and mummies who using magic pot,

magic pot does great job in cooking pasta. I deeply love the magic pot

Min,

i'm considering for an light umbrella stroller also, need to get one for Ning cos my 2nd darling needs to use her maclaren XT. thinking to get the Maclaren Volo, am now waiting for promo. hehehehe.. hope mothercare promo coming soon!!

sometimes , our kids also must learn to fall n pick themselves up . i find that they are actually quite resilient , the parents are more kiasee than the kids . kids are quite oblivious to the dangers , so if we are too protective , they will become more aware n turn less adventurous ???