(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Sanrio,
Poor Cher!!! cay1 kena HFMD before and her ulcers were so painful that she totally refused any food, water, milk and medicine. She was so lethargic and cranky. She was never so sick before. She also caught it outside as she doesn't attend cc. I was preggie with cay2 that time and PD advised me to not take care of cay1 in case I get infected. I feel so sad and helpless then. I can fully understand your heartpain now.

Kate: Dun worry! It happened to Malcolm before. Worst still, during that period, my hubby was overseas...living me alone in Singapore. Also went to doc several time. Malcolm also passed out motion after every meal (Before that, he passed motion every 2 weeks!!) every time, poo also greenish. Only can wait for bbMalcolm's own immune system to flash out the virus. Pd commented could be my DH passed virus to Malcolm...

Sanrio...found the article...HTHs

Home Treatment
Hand-foot-and-mouth disease goes away on its own without any treatment in about 7 to 10 days. You can help your child feel better during the course of the illness with some basic home treatment measures.

Have your child drink plenty of cool fluids. This can include Popsicles and ice cream, which can offer some variety.
Treat fever and pain with acetaminophen or nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs). Do not give aspirin to anyone younger than 20 unless directed to do so by your doctor because of the risk of Reye's syndrome.
Give your child any medication prescribed by a doctor. This may include pills to take by mouth or lotions, creams, or ointment to put on the blisters.
Do not give your child acidic or spicy foods and drinks, such as salsa or orange juice, which may make mouth sores more painful.
Your child will be contagious during the course of the illness, which lasts 7 to 10 days. However, the virus remains in the feces and can spread for several weeks after the blisters and sores have healed. Be especially careful to use good hygiene for several weeks or months after your child is better.

To help prevent the disease from spreading:

Tell child care providers and school staff about your child's infection. Ask about their policies regarding when your child with hand-foot-and-mouth disease can return to daycare or school.
Have all family members be aware of using good hygiene, such as washing their hands frequently. It is especially important to wash your hands after changing the diapers of a young child who is infected.
Do not let your child share toys or give kisses while he or she is infected.
Wear latex or rubber gloves when you apply any prescribed ointment to your child's blisters.
Talk to your doctor about whether to report the infection to a local health agency. Sometimes your doctor will report it; other times it is up to you. The health agency helps monitor your community for disease outbreaks.

hi kate , long time nvr see u ard...
poor lele , heart pain hor . hopes the stupid virus is out of their little system soon .
my sony also lost weight , maybe it is due to teething too . their weight gain in this period shd not be exponential anymore ba .

Catherine: Thanks for your sharing. Feel much better after reading your experiences! Was so worried just now!

Caicai: Hi there
Actually was always around but more passive reader than contributor. Hee hee... hope to join in more! Zach also lost weight huh? Remembered he was quite a chubby boi:p
Guess they are losing baby fats gradually. Now Lele crawling everywhere and pulling himself up at the first opportunity. So active yet eating liquid food and LS-ing... no wonder lose weight so fast. Heartache leh! But hope the virus will make him stronger.

Kate : Ya loh. This month Glynnis has been quite sicky. Mid last mth, she caught flu virus and had been sick for 3 weeks. Fever, runny/blocked nose, cough... Super cranky.

Just last Friday, after her pneumococcal jab, she got fever and rashes on her legs and hands. Also have ulcer in the mouth.

Very heartpain loh. I brought her to the PD for 4 times le.

The last visit to the PD was quite funny. She was bleeding from her mouth and i was so scared. Dunno why she drink milk until vomit blood. So rush her down to the PD, only to know that she bite her ulcer. But also good lah, i need to see PD for the rashes as well.

Kate : Talking about crawling everywhere. Yesterday Glynnis took my spec, went up to the window, climb up the bolster and wanna throw my spec down from the window. Haa... Luckily my mum saw and stop her in time. Now i think if i find anything missing in the house, i will go downstair to find.

Her new favourite place now is to climb up, stand on the bolster and look out of the window.

Cat n mummies,
tks. is terrible. ydy nite fr 12pm to abt 5am, she was just crying non-stop in pain. i cari her, walk rd d hse n sing lullaby. she jus kip crying, i cant do anytg
3am gave her panadol, abt 5am she slp. 7am cry agn.

Cat,
pd said nothing can b done except panadol for fever. no cream for ulcers as thy're in d throat n she is too young. oso she refuses any food/drk so i cant give her anytg. even i latch her, she drk a bit wont cry, if cont to drk, wld puke. yup if older kid, can give ice-cream i heard. pd said is ok, dun force her.

Kate,
sori to hear tat Lele is sick. mummy mus hv feel so heartpain. hope he gets well soon. u take care.

Sandwich,
cld b fr G... she put d rattle n ball in her mouth n b4 they came, there was a class n they using d same toys so is repeated use. but i m not sure, cos germs are evywhere..
yup cher is quaantined for 1wk. i did ask pd abt ash but he din say mus kip him at hm... but he is well.
tink i dun pass jumperoo to u on d safe side..

Caicai,
is ur boy ok?

OMG! BB wake up 5 time last nite! She cried longest is 1 hr!! Carry her she still cry, dunno wat she wants.

Anyone knows how to make bb slp thru the nite??

Dreamygal:
So sorry to hear little Glynnis unwell. It's inevitable that they fall sick as the immune systems are not yet established and also their "machines" need some foreign "germs and bacterias" to make them stronger. But even knowing that it is heartbreaking to see them suffering from discomforts and losing so much weight!
If I were you I think the sight of blood would make me faint! Haha...

Dreamygal: Little Glynis is quite an adventurer huh! Climb up the bolster?!? Lele still quite satisfied with things al eye level haha! Must be careful your little miss adventure-seeker doesn't climb up too high lest she fall ya?

sanrio , ya , i suspect it is the rattle coz i saw cherelle biting it ... but it can only be air borned rite ( HFDM) ?? i am clueless . last time my son LS , the doc also said it is pointless for us to keep cleaning coz they are at the age to lick things , bite things etc
regarding ulcers , when my son hv sorethroat , we diluted the formula milk but urs is breastmilk , so no point hor .

most impt wld be the fever , must sponge her and u also hv to mind ur hygiene lest u kena it urself .

kate , my sonny no longer chubby lor . his hands and thighs now abit skinny ( i think his weight around 8.5 - 8.8kg) he was LSing sometime back .
now dunno issi he got sorethroat or wat

Kate : Ya. She's an adventurer. No moment of peace. Climb out of walker and sarong somemore. I have not seen her climbing up of the walker thou. My MIL told us de.

mummies: just brought my gal to see the PD - she has been LS-ing since 2 days ago - one day do 8 to 9 times. At first we thought was the spinach we gave her but even though we stopped it, she's still having it. So took a stool sample to check if she kena samonella (dunno spelling) since the PD says even though she didn't eat the cake from Prima Deli directly, someone else did, and all it takes is that someone not to wash hands properly then will pass from 1 person to another. So apparently the thingy is still going around from person to person so just checking to make sure lor ...

she's still 8.5KG no gain no loss since a few weeks ago ...

Sanrio, since it could be that Cherelle got the HFMD from G, do you think you want to inform so that they can disinfect and do a thorough area cleanup?

Mrs Lai, dont think the LS is due to teething right?

Kelley, have you find a suitable contractor for your house reno since u already got your keys?

Catherine, Ya,. I cut the fish until very small size liao..think is the fishy smell that wanna make him puke. Thanks. I will let my boy try when he is fully recover.

CaiCai, my son didnt throw tantrums, he only ate a few mouth then he will push my hand away

Kelley, I seeI thought u working in Agri-Food & Veterinary Authority of Singapore..heheh..

Sandwich, thanksI saw Jaydens Photo..that was well taken!! Kaizer looked so cuteu know, last time when I visit Kaizers Blog, I found that kaizer looks like abit Ang Mo! So handsome boy!! Not sure is it the gymboree class, but so coincidence that after that class, both cherelle & jayden fell sick.

Sanrio, Oh no!! Poor Cherelle, must be very pain for her. So many babies are sick...really jia lat! Hope Cherelle can recover fast.

My Jayden was so weaksee him suffer, I very heart pain. He was weighing 9kg now, I think He must have slim down a lot. Today slightly better, no more vomit but still LS!!

dreamygal, Glynnis is really adventurous. Attempted to climb out of walker? Did she succeed? Now you always have to be on a lookout for her. hehee

Darbebe: hvnt started leh..haiz.. I thnk I too lazy n in holiday mood.. I guess when I reali get my keys.. cos my neighbour still staying there.. then I see what I want to renov..

Dlim: wat makes u thnk that huh??

Mummies: i thnk u all should avoid bringing bb to crowded places this festive season.. to avoid getting all the virus... if nt.. bb "xing ku" we heart pain!!!

Darbebe : I was not around to witness leh. MIL said she can lah. There's only once where i witness her trying to climb into the walker. Terrible gal.

Kelley, I think I read from somewhere that you mentioned you have 1 case regarding to dunno wat..I thought is food. Thats why...

dreamygal, My boy always climb into the bb cot whenever we placed him on my mattress. Very busy boy, always climb in & out .. Then, he always like to stand up & hit the wall with his hand!! Funny boy... See attached pict.

1161154.jpg

Claire
Maybe if shes like that in futurecan try to give her some milk to drinkcould be hungry.

DreamyGal
Glynnis is really athletic. Are you or your hubby active in sports? Perhaps its inheritance.

Dlim
Glad to hear Jayden is getting better.so can he drink milk or eat porridge now? Hope he recovers completely by end of the week.

Dlim n mummies,
tks for concern. so far cher has no fever tdy. she is quite cranky, mus b pain, hungry yet cant drk/eat. i hope she gets well very soon too. pd said is mild hfmd, nothing serious, dun wori. he said in more badly infected cases, bb/kids can get full mouthful of ulcers, oh no wen i heard tat.

Dlim,
i agree Kaizer looks a bit ang moh too :p

Caicai,
i m not sure whether is airborne or contact, mus go find out..

talking abt hitting ...
my sonny likes to hit my chest . :p
he is also abit silly , likes to pull his ears dunno why ....
let him stand wif support , he will sit down after a few seconds , damn lazy bum

Sanrio,
I cant imagine mouthful of ulcers...especially bb!! But lucky cherelle recover fast..

Caicai,
Whenever my boy is tired, he will hit me too. Then now, he is teething, total 4, 2 coming on the way & he likes to bite me..think is itchy lah so wanna find things to bite..

hi kate
hope lele will recover soon lor...

Hi dilm
my mil cook porriage for my gal.. she put fish inside also.. she put ginger before lei... but i dun know can anot la..
ur boy very cute lei.. keke...
my gal also like to take her hand and hit on the wall, table and etc..

hi caicai...
my gal also like that lei.. like to pull her ear and play wif her ear..

kaizer's down with fever and cough and sore throat since last night. might bring him to see PD later after he takes his mornin nap. but he's still very active and smiley this mornin.

sandwich: poor kaizer ... and other babies who's sick! ur PD open on PH?

i hope all the babies and mummies who are sick will recover very fast so that they can enjoy the festive season!

Hi Elicia,
But the giner got the very strong smell...doesnt it taste hot?

Sanwich,
Poor Kaizer. Ya, your PD open today? Now I really suspect could it be the gymboree class?
Hope Kaizer can recover fast. I wanted to bring my Jayden to see my PD but they r close today.

Jayden still have not recover..it has been 3 days already & he still LS! Then he also have no appetite. We feed him Isomil Soya Milk but he only drink 130ml. Whenever we give him medicine, he will vomit all out. He is really weak, if he continue like this, tmr must bring him to see PD already.

Din come in for many days.. lost liao..

Anyway, same wish as Mrs Lai, I wish all babies and mummies who are sick SPEEDY RECOVERY!

Haiz, so sad my gal caught the flu bug again. Now coughing n having running nose. She broke her own record last nite by waking up every hr and within an hr she woke up abt 3 times. Mummy so tired

dlim,
i bought him to a quiet clinic downstairs where they gave him fever, cough and running nose med. didnt want to bring him to a PD or a baby clinic in case the queue is long there and he ends up catching more germs/viruses from the babies there. his fever is quite mild, so should be well soon. i'm not feeding him the med, will be feeding only as a last resort.

sandwich,
whenever we brg K to the GP/Paed, he will do this, go first to get a no. while we wait outside the clinic. to him, air-con can pass germs too

It seems tt quite a no of bb are down with flu. For me I havent bring bb to any PD or GP yet, coz i feel tt western med is always rather strong, so I only bring her to chinese medical clinic.

Mummies and Babies,
Rest well, keep your cool and faith, speedy recovery!

Beyond,
your photos are nice! so cute, the Mini family.

beyond, ur pics very nice

now that kaizer is down wif flu , i really think that gymboree lesson is the culprit .
sigh ~~~~
my son also hving runny nose and coughing

fen , if put ginger in porridge , wldnt it be heaty huh ?

Dlim : We should let our babies play together and tire themselves out... Then maybe we will have an easier time.

Springdance : No leh. Me and hubby lousy in sport. Don't know how come she is so active. According to my mum and MIL, both me and hubby not so naughty when we were babies.

Caicai : Glynnis like to dig her ear. And its always the left ear. I am worried that its infection. So guess its not bah... I tried to look into her left ear, nothing leh.

Beyong : Nice photos. Your studio not back ya... All very natural. I like the last photo.

Hope that all mummies and babies can have a wondeful christmas. Free from virus!!

beyond,
i like the pic with your bb popping out of the box! hahaa, that's so cute.

caicai,
there's still EE's tiffany left. hopefully she has been feeling well over the past few day.

last time she mentioned Tiff is abit cranky , so hopefully doing fine now .

wat i wish for xmas "a healthy baby !"
dreamy , i guess since both u and ur hubby not notti , glynnis will hv double of dosage of notti fun that her parents hv missed out during their childhood years . muahahah

<font color="ff0066"> Dreamy</font>

like that hoh, you, me, our OMs must be real good gals / boys when we young. sighz.

u got my sms? she bump her forehead yday. sighz. piggy cross with monkey.

hey, tonight free? wanna go Bishan? i need to go exchange Snowy's pants, too big. the pet thingy sale still on leh. remember the 50c toy i mention? still got alot! n really entire room full of clothes and beds and carriers! wanna go???

tomorrow onz? Nanny's dil volunteered to come along show us the place/facilities den next time we can go ourselves n know where n what.

Oh... Forgot to post something.
Yesterday i found out Glynnis's sercet... She has been secretly biting off paint from the edge of a little raised platform beside my bed. I didn't know until i woke up yesterday and saw her standing quietly there. I called her and she turned around, smiling so sweetly. I was still beaming with delight that she is such a good girl to entertain herself and not disturbed daddy and mummy...

Haiyo, but when she climbed over and i kissed her. I found paint at the edge of her mouth loh. So shocked... Went over to see the platform, got quite a number of marks here and there. Don't know how much paint she swallowed liao.

<font color="ff0066"> Dreamy</font>

sounds like my friend's puppy.. :p she found almost half a corner of her computer table gone.. full of chew chew marks..

so its time to puppy / baby proof ur house le..

Caicai,
same same
ever since i becum a mummy, now w 2 kids, my chritsmas, birthday n any wish i cld hv is tat my kids are happy n healthy.

Caicai, Darbebe, Dlim, Sandwich,
cld it b really d G.. class?? i dun noe leh..

tks for all ur concern
cher is well now. 2 days of fever, cant drk/eat n non-stop crying n 3rd day wen i saw her playing n laughing, phew... i noe she is well agn

Mrs Lai, Sandwich,
oops... hope ur bb get well very soon.