(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Finger Food
Mummies, what kind of finger food do you feed your bbs? How often and how much?

Can your bbs feed himself/herself? Mine refuses to hold his snacks and put in his mouth. He prefers if we feed him.
how to make my boy feed himself?

Min,

Dont worry too much...Moderation will do..not too much.

Cherryteq,

I gave my boy nestle biscuit but i find it abit hard. I personally find another brand better but i forgot what is the name. I go home & check, will let u know again. That brand is better cox softer & easy to bite. Normally i will give him 1 per day. Maybe half a time but definitely not eveyday ..

Mine can hold the biscuit himself.. U try to let him grab himself ....slowly he will be able to do that..

Dlim: u give marmite already ah.. I was contemplating to do that.. tomatoes? Not sour for ur boy ah..

Pumpkin: do not give bb too much.. it causes some illness in the long run.. even my old fashion MIL also say.. all yellow food dont give too much cos reali turn yellow..

Springdance: I dont 1 2 take MC often also la.. like they say mayb its mind over body

Kelley,

Yup i started already. Actually i dont want to give cox i worry too salty but then PD said can. I dont give marmite very often. Only when the spinach or broccoli porridge not so tasty then i add in alittle bit. Normally i will taste 1st b4 i give to my boy. No tomatoes not sour.. dont add in too much.

I heard that too... I know carrot will turn yellowish but not sure abt pumpkin. Anyway, i seldom give pumkin so once in a while shld be all rite.

Dlim: my MIL also want to put marmite.. haiz.. tell u broccoli or spinach u cook with beef.. bb loves it!! so i nv add any seasoning at all..

yes.. all yellow vege will turn yellow, papaya, carrot and pumpkin .. so pls limit the intake..

Kelley,

So far, I have not started any meat/fish yet. Cox last time when Jayden was 6mths old, my mil & mom gave him "Ngoh Herh"(fish) dunno how to ping yin. He eat until want to vomit so we stop...think he dun like the fishy smell.

So far until now havent start any meat..but will try soon. Will try to add in beef as u recommend..hope Jayden will like it..thanks..

Dlim: u beta try fish first.. cos it's softer.. mst give some meat la.. proteins inside leh.. tell u.. cook the porridge until ready to be served.. then throw the fish in at the last min.. then won't hv fishy smell liao.. beef mst cook until super shred n "lan" leh.. cos difficult to chew/gum for bb.

Cool_D
I think the MC is quite lousy.cant think of any innovative jokes on his own so just find people to make fun.your Co. must be giam in D&D budget so hire this kind of small-timer MC. :p

Sanrio
Guess our babies immune system still not strongit is good to take precaution to avoid bringing them to crowded places in future.... Anyway, sincerely hope that Cher will recover very soon and be healthy & chirpy for XMas!

ValC
My boy also dun fancy puree on its own.but you can try to mix abit with rice cereal and give to your babycamouflage the taste.

Dlim
In that case, you monitor and see his condition this eveningif not, can let him drink rice water also

Kelley
Lucky thing your co. not so busy nowso you can sort of relax abit in office.

Me so far only give pork & fish to my boy.beef not yet coz my MIL Buddhist lei.. think so nice to ask her touch beef.

springdance: pork i hvn't try.. cos i scared meat nw adays u know la.. haiz.. nw the season is back loh.. i jst got over 25 new cases to handle leh!! can u imagine!!

Hello, mummies....to update the status of the 8th Dec CD

Finished burning & would send out tonight. Hopefully b4 Christmas u all can receive.

Only these mummies e-mailed me their address.

1) Ixora
2) Gene
3) Moxi
4) Taro
5) darbebe
6) Cool daughter
7) Jeanelle Tan
8) Sanrio
9) Springdance
10) DLim
11) EE

Cat, thanx.

Springdance
It's not even D&D hor .. small scale event lah. It's call the 'employee appreciation event'. Low budget :p Anyway, there are only 10 lucky draw present & top prize is Otto tatami back massage I tink. Me no lucky.

er i not teaching and i not working for MOE. If yes to both, I'll be earning big bucks, but nmind lah ;P got enuff to buy my gal milk powder cna liao

I gave my girl spinach recently but her tummy cannot take it ... a lot of wind and she keeps pooping so we stop giving her for the time being. So got to go and do my research again lah ...

Fransea: A trick that my friend taught me is to cut fruits (I used both apples & pears b4) into slices, steam & then blend into cereal or feed just like that. Fruits after steaming taste sweeter & no need to worry about the sour taste if it oxidise....

Dlim: Think sometimes bb vomit when fed fish is cos fish not fresh/too big pcs...cos I got try the food every time...donno why same vendors but some times, fish very fresh & sometimes, fish not fresh (smelly)

My dad ask me put ginger into porridge to remove the fishy smell...anyone tried that? Is it ok to do that??

mrs lai tried broccoli? kelley said broccoli just now ....
dlim , cat :my son also hates fish , he will throw tantrums if it is fish porridge . but if pork porridge he will finish it quietly .

caicai: I only used pork to cook porridge. Only adds fish in during last thirty mins so that fish is fully cooked.

Tried broccoli. Mal likes it...but then again, he likes food, in general....except jarred food

Catherine: I nv email u cos I thnk I not in the picture lo..

Dlim: me legal assistant

For fish porridge hor.. dont cook the fish inside, only throw fish in when porridge is cooked.. cos anyway fish cook fast.. then porridge will not hv fishy smell, if want to take fishy smell away.. I put seaseme oil, before cook, wash away then cook in nuah porridge nw my gal eats..

catherine: I dun dare to add brocolli yet cuz read somewhere will give wind. Now v fan lah .. dunno wat to give! so far she dun like chicken, so it's pork , pork and m0ore pork!

mummies: i forgot~ where can i BP milk powder ah? Last time i saw but now I dunno where can get cheaper prince - i still getting from NTUC at $33 per tin ;P

Catherine
Thanks alot and really appreciate your kind efforts!

Cool_D
ME also neber win anything from my D&D...'bo luck'!

Mrs Lai
My boy also hates apples...loves papayas only...I got give him brocolli with porridge though...around twice a week.

BP for millk powder I think not working liao...coz since the organiser increased his prices in his 2nd BP, no more business...

Kelley
Wah...your boss not bad neh...managed to 'jio' so much businesses even though now low-peak period for alot of companies.

CaiCai
I mixed pork & fish for porridge...my boy is fine with it. :p

<font color="ff0066"> Mrs Lai</font>

so so qiao!!

i gotten the mini pacifier as my Xmas gift during earlier company's Xmas lunch n gift exchange.. v sweet.. mini pacifier from Swaroski.

mrs lai,
emailed the incriminating pics to you already. i think cindy took some pretty nice ones too, with cherelle looking shocked in the background, at kaizer kissing vanessa, hahaa.

dlim,
uploaded the gym pics onto shuttlefly already. posted a nice pic of jayden on kaizer's website.

broccoli ...
i've fed it to kaizer once (abt 2 weeks back), and he puked everything out an hour later. think it's quite hard to digest.

there's a bookfair at suntec now. didnt check out the bb books cos i was stuck at the stationary section for quite a long time (3M products very cheap at the fair). saw a lot of mums with strollers though.

robinson's having 20% off storewide from now till xmas eve. there's another 3% rebate for those of you with robinson's card.

sandwich: just nice - u no what i did? I left my stroller at the back of a cab and forgot all about it =(

dun dare to tell hubby =(

mrs lai,
how much was your stroller? tell him you sold it off on the forum or something. meanwhile, call up the cap company to see if they can retrieve it.

your colleagues read my blog too? haha, that's cool.

sandwich: i just told him ,... he didn';t scold me ... just remarked" wah ... mummy wants to buy a new stroller also cannot just donate to cab company" :p I made a report liao so hopefully they will call me back.

Anyway we were planning to get a new one ... any to recommend? budget about $200 to $300.

Mrs Lai
U very lucky liaoz wor. If I am the 1 ah, my HB sure make a lot of noise de lo.

Augleo
Who are the other 3 teachers?

Dlim, Springdance, Sandwich, Darbebe, Augleo n Mummies,
Big Sigh
brought Cherelle to pd tis afnoon, my poor girl caught HFMD. our whole family including korkor are well so likely caught it outside. evy 5hrly, she wld run a high fever, ranging fr 38.3 - 39.5'c. n pd showed me 2 big ulcers in her throat n told me it's v v painful. no wonder tis morning, she drk milk, wld unlatch n cry, eat cereal, once swallowed, burst into tears n she jus let her saliva drool n wet many bibs tdy. i feel so heartpain n sad as my girl is usually quite gd, seldom cry but tdy cry non-stop. she cant even nap as i tink as long as she swallow her saliva, she wld cry.
gave her panadol for fever n as 'painkiller' b4 she slp n a suppository for high fever, hopefully she can hv a gd rest tonite. pd said wld take abt 1week to fully recover. she cant eat n drk now n i only manage to latch her on evy tx abt half hr af her panadol dose wen d pain is temporary being relieved, really heartache to c her suffer like tat

Sanrio
I hope Cherelle gets well soon! Poor thing leh. I also heart pain for you.

Mrs Lai
The taxi driver also one kind. He should have reminded you about your stroller in his boot what. Aiyo, I hope he'll return to the cab company leh.

Sandwich
Is the bookfair worth going? I'll be having lunch with my primary school mates this coming Thursday at Suntec and I may pop by at the exhibition.

Catherine
Thanks a million!

sanrio,
gosh, it sounds terrible. hope her HFMD goes away b4 x-mas so at least she can have a nice x-mas. does it mean that ashrel (even though he's well now) is quarantined and can't go to school? then we can't come over to play/borrow the jumperoo too already.

sanrio and dlim,
do you gals suspect that cherelle and jayden got sick becoz of the gymboree class? a lot of germs/viruses flying around usually in kids-infested enclosed environments. the two of them were sitting next to each other in the class right? anyway, it's just a hypothesis, since they're suffering from two different ailments.

gene,
the books are stocked by popular, so i believe you should be able to get reasonably alright titles. expect abt 20% off shelf price. its quite big and like most exhibitions, filled with a lot of junk. if you're able to just narrow in on boardbooks/bb books, then maybe can make your trip worthwhile. otherwise, it'll be a distractig and bewildering experience for you & gladys cos thurs is a public holiday and the fair will be super crowded.

Thanks mummies for ur contribution on whether to wear swim diapers or not.

Sanrio, poor Cherelle. She must be feeling terrible. *hug hug*

Sandwich, I pop by your blog to see the photos. I was laughing at the 'kissing' pic. They are such adorable creatures.

oh dear Sanrio , u hv to make the fever subside . i heard that there is no medication for HFDM right ... and to be more thorough in ur cleaning of toys etc to prevent cross infection again. poor cherelle , hmmm isi the toys that they played at gymboree , i saw her taking a rattle the other day but i dunno if she did bite the rattle .

after the gymboree session my sonny was cranky and refused to drink milk . every sip he will cry and refuse to drink .
we suspect he also hv sorethroat ... but he was not running a fever , dunno whether shd i brin him to see pd ?
EE , how is ur gal huh ? any problem ?

Sanrio: Oh dear!! Hope Cherelle recovers soon. I read somewhere from Internet that can freeze bm into ice-cream stick & like baby (with HFMD) to suckle. Cooling against the mouth ulcer & fill up tummy. Would try to find the link again....

Sanrio
Poor Cherelle, hope she get well soon.
My BOY also caught HFMD before in childcare, he take abt 1week to recover.

CaiCai
Aiyoh, my gal also cranky this few days, u dont scare me lei.

Catherine
Thx

Sanrio: My heart goes out to you! My Lele is also sick. Been having persistent diarrhoea for more than 2 weeks le. Brought him to PD 3 times. Each time the PD told us it's virus infection and have to wait for virus to clear out of system on it's own. Really heartache to see him LS up to 6 times a day and loose weight. 1 week lose 0.3 KG liao
And yesterday he even passed green super pungent super loose stool! Now waiting for PD to call me cos I need to know if green poo is normal thingie for his condition (cos never had green poo throughout his LS days so dunno why suddenly have green poo...)

Sanrio
Oh my gosh.poor little Cher.hope her ulcers will go away very soonI am sure at this moment, not only Cher is feeling uncomfortable, but mummy must feeling really terrible and tired toomeanwhile, any medicine that korkor and also you & your hubby can take to prevent ulcers or fever from developing? Otherwise, itll be even more arduous if more of you fall sick.

Sanrio : Take care. The ulcer in the throat? My glynnis ulcer on her upper gum and she bite them until it bleed. I know what you mean by hungry, wanna drink milk, suckle and cry. Then she will always look at me with such helpless look. Now's she ok le. Rash also clearing up.

Kate : Glynnis also lose weight. She dropped till 7.9kg from 8.1kg.