(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

D, for the spas in Bali . u can try those located at ur hotel .

when i checked in then , they hv some disc vouchers for me to use , so i juz went to those ( very cheap lah . 50 onli but hor that was in 2002 , after the Bali bomb #1 )

can try see volcano sunrise? my fren did that
can take a jeep up ? i dunno

i did white water rafting . but wif lil Jesse ??? hmmmmmmm ...

if u are gutsy enuff to explore , dun go for the hotel breakfast . when u venture out to the town area , there are small little kopitiam like / shops like places , offering cheap BF

but if i can recall , ur hotel muz take cab out .
the cabs there , go by meter .

DUN EVER change money on the street or at some money changer ( if rates offered are too good to be true , beware )

coz my coll kena . she went to a money changer n they did a quick swop of the notes . she went back wif a few notes missing . changing money there is quite risky , so u either bring some spare usd / or u change in spore before going ?

they hv some side walk cafes in the shopping area too , can nuah there wif ur story book . i saw alot of angmoh doin that

can also take ur dinner at the JIMBARAN beach to see the sunset ? i dunno how to spell , that was the location of the 2nd Bali Bomb ?

Cherryteq
Oh ...#7 is YOU! I totally cannot tell ...hahahha...the face in the photo can only see abit and so small. You naughty naughty! :p

Meddy
Penang Hill is close ah? Hmmm...then nothing much you can do besides shopping lor? Actually am interested to go Penang too...But monsoon season there coming rite?

i need ur advices again

vacuum cleaner = not those using vacuum bag.
any1 using those water base type?
care to share the pros n cons.

need to shop for 1 tonight.

guess e babes
hehe, me still thot muz send email to 'organiser' .. can guess here noh :p

augleo
mine is w/o dust bag but cannot vacumn wet surface 1. abit ma huan, muz wash when its full lor .. n muz wait for it to dry dan kip back. Dust bag seems more convenient but e salesman told me will hv dust mites.

Guess the babes:

s/w = 4 black
michele = 6 black n 1 white
coolD = 7 black

cindy, cherryteq, beyond, jon's mom,
submitting ur answers?

meddy,
try leh

oki, today all the participants are "back"....hope to close the Guess today

stay tune for mummies answers and justification (only few mummies provide justificiation).

pix:
anymore pix (ur childhood n wedding pix) sending to me?? ;)

augleo
no i mean w/o dust bag but cannot vacumn wet. Some gd ones like Osim can vacumn both wet n dry rite? Mine is dry oni. Brand is Panasonic. Frankly to me, I think e choice is between vacumn wet and dry vs dry only. wif or w/o dust bag, not much diff.

SpringD,
Can go to Youth Park and/or Botanical Gardens at Penang. Actually, can walk up the hill lah, that's what we did the last time (w/o J) :p

I think children will find Youth Park fun...many water play areas and also the standard playground with bucket seat swings.

Penang's weather quite similar to our's lah...prone to raining/thunderstorms in the late afternoons. But also clears quite quickly. And because of the rain, it helps cool the place down.

Caicai,
thanks for the info. I guess have to try the hotel spa lor...I did some research, found one, quite cheap, will even do free drop-off and pick-up. But no a/c and my HB saw the picture, he said...he wants nice ambience one. haha

We'll just change all the money we "need" before going...save the hassle of changing money there. Think I read that my hotel provides shuttle service to Bali Collection (10 min walk away) and Kuta, so we'll probably do those as well.

I love white water rafting..hmm...but no one wants to go with me.

Htl breakfast only provided for my HB! We don't have so after feeding J, I'll probably go somewhere else...I wonder what time stalls open...guess I'll just have to ask the front desk.

Eh, when you were there, when you brush teeth, did you use bottled water or tap water? I'm not so concerned about my teeth but I'm wondering how to wash J's milk bottle after his feeds!! I'll just have to tell myself it'll be even "easier" next year...haha.

Leo,
remember the "Rainbow Cleaner" from the 80s? Sometimes I wish I have that to do a good cleaning of my couch and stuff like that...

Sorry can't help you...I don't vacuum. Boy hates it.

CHINA milk:
yest. before 6.30pm ch8 news ends, they flash Nestle milk oso ganna recall in HK n China. any1 watch 10pm ch8 news?

JK still eating Nestle cereal (w/milk).
SG/Malaysia Nestle products safe to consume right?

SD,
Penang's a nice place to go, but if going better to follow day tour or drive around yourself cos the cab fares are super ex! And as D mentioned, there are still some places you can go with your little one and also go round makan, makan keke

CoolD,
i wanted to buy the Osim "Mermaid" vacuum but it goes by Thousands leh..

Leo,
read the box lor...if it says Made/Produce in China better not to eat until further notice. My packet of mini-Snickers produced in China, until now, I can't bear to throw it away! I think HB did it for me.

AS far as possible, I'll stop buying things from China liao...

Augleo,
Im using the Osim iecologi.
Pro - quite good cos using water so not so messy, and it comes with the steam function. Can oso adjust the strength of the sunction
Cons - a bit heavy (u so petite
) and also when using the steam function, you will feel very hot
Overall, I feel quite useful & gd but of course, it was used by HB most of the time

augleo
i watched. was telling hb, tis kinda established brand oso kena. Hiaz. later today i wanna 'clean up' my hse .. all china made, m gg to throw away !!

D,
dun hv e link .. but u knw they always hv booth at exibition .. can ask them.

D,
what about M&M's? how to tell which one is from China? without knowing i bought 2 pkts from Caltex last nite (Dark Choc, purple packing)but there is no country of origin written on it..

香港检测的 不合格名单
Not qualified list
樣本名稱
Manufacturer’s name & address
製造商名稱及地址

1 . KLIM Instant Full Cream Milk Powder (1.8 kg)
克寧即溶奶粉
( 淨重 : 1.8 千克 )
Manufacturer: Nestle Shuangcheng Ltd.
Address: Friendship Road , Shuangcheng City , Heilongjiang Province, PRC

2. Nestle Carnation Calcium Plus Non Fat Milk Powder (1.6 kg)
三花高鈣脫脂奶粉 ( 淨重 : 1600 克 )
Manufacturer: Nestle Shuangcheng Ltd.
Address: Friendship Road , Shuangcheng City , Heilongjiang Province, PRC

3. Nespray
雀巢兒童奶粉
3 + 歲以上
( 淨重 : 900 克 )
Manufacturer: Nestle Shuangcheng Ltd
Address: Nestle Shuangcheng Ltd., PRC

4. Nestle Dairy Farm Pure Milk
雀巢牛奶公司純牛奶 ( 淨容量 : 1 升 )
Manufacturer: Nestle Qingdao Ltd.
Address: Weihai Xi Lu, Laixi City , Qingdao , P.R. China

5. Mengniu Pure Milk
蒙牛純牛奶
( 淨體積 : 250 毫升 )
製造商:中國內蒙古蒙牛乳業 ( 集團 ) 股份有限公司
地址 : 中國內蒙古呼和浩特市和林格爾盛樂經濟園區

6. Monmilk Breakfast Milk Walnut Milk Beverage
蒙牛早餐奶核桃奶類飲品

7. Monmilk Suan Suan Ru Sour Milk Beverage (Mango Flavour)
蒙牛酸酸乳酸味奶類飲品 ( 芒果味 )

8. Monmilk
Milk Deluxe Pure Milk
蒙牛特侖蘇純牛奶

9. Yili High Calcium Low Fat Milk Beverage
伊利高鈣低脂奶類飲品
製造商:內蒙古伊利實業集團股份有限公司
地址 : 中國內蒙古呼和浩特市金川開發區金三道 2 號

10. Dutch Lady Pure Milk
子母純牛奶
( 淨容量 : 1 公升 )
Manufacturer: Tianjian Dutch Lady Dairy Foods Co., Ltd.
Address: South of Dongting Road , Hexi District, Tianjin , PRC

11. Vita Fresh Milk
維他純鮮牛奶
( 淨容量 : 236 毫升 )
製造商:維他奶國際集團有限公司
地址 : 中國廣東省深圳市光明華僑畜牧場

12. Nestle Vanilla Flavour Ice Cream Cone
雀巢雲呢拿味雪糕甜筒 (8 支盒裝 )
Manufacturer: Nestle Tianjin Ltd.
Address: No.149 Nanhai Road , TEDA, Tianjin , PRC

13. Nestle Chocolate Flavour Ice Cream Cone
雀巢朱古力味雪糕甜筒 (8 支盒裝 )
Manufacturer: Nestle Tianjin Ltd.
Address: No.149 Nanhai Road , TEDA, Tianjin , PRC

14. Meiji Ujikintoki (red bean and green tea frozen confection)
明治紅豆綠茶雪條
(6 支盒裝 :6 x 75 克 )
Manufacturer: Guangdong M&F- Yan Tang Dairy Products Co., Ltd
Address: Datanggang Shahe, Guangzhou , China

15. Meiji Hokkaido Azuki (red bean ice cream)
明治北海道紅豆雪糕
(6 支盒裝 :6 x 70 克 )
Manufacturer: Guangdong M&F- Yan Tang Dairy Products Co., Ltd
Address: Datanggang Shahe, Guangzhou , China

16. Trappist Dairy Low Fat Yogurt Drink
十字牌鮮乳酪低脂飲品
( 淨容量 : 200 毫升 )
經銷商:神樂院牛奶廠有限公司
地址 : 香港元朗青山公路二十八咪半

17. Strawberry Sorbet
戀愛果實士多啤梨雪巴 ( 淨重 : 54 克 )
Manufacturer: Xincheng Greenearth Food Co., Ltd
Address: No.62 Xingjianzhai, Huazhou Road , Pudong, Shanghai , China

18. Natural Choice Milk Ice Bar
伊利牧場香濃布丁雪條
( 淨體積 : 85 毫升 )
Manufacturer: Shanghai Yili AB Foods Co., Ltd
Address: No. 269 Beidou Road, Minhang Zone, Shanghai P.R. of China

19. 牛奶木瓜口味飲料 (Papaya Milk Drink) (350ml) -- 尚効
製造商:春喬食品興業股份有限公司 ( 地址 : 台灣彰化縣員林鎮鎮興里山腳路 3 段 25 巷 72 號 )

20. 阿薩姆奶茶 (Assam Milk Tea) (350ml) -- 尚効

21. 藍山炭燒咖啡 (Carbonize Coffee) (280ml) -- 尚効

Erm...look really hard at the packaging...if really cannot find that err on the side of caution lor, since it's only a couple of bucks. Or, give them to me and I'll let you know. hahah :p

took me a while to find the label on the snickers packaging

D , i brush my teeth with the tap water leh .
anyway , juz make sure ur Jesse brushes his wif drinking water . baby mah .

he doesn't brush teeth so I'm not worried about that, it's his milk bottles I'm thinking about...so mafan, need detergent, brush, and a place to let them dry!

bring a small bott of detergent
actualli i usually rinse his bottles immediately once he is done . the longer milk stays inside bottle , tougher to wash away .
easy lah , i dun even use brush , juz shake hard hard n it is done .

buy 1 bottle of mineral at Bali for ur daily water consumption lor . there are convenience stores around BALI , not diff to get drinking water .

caicai
tis morn hb was trying to teach jboy e concept of rinsing mouth and spiting out e water .. but he end up drinking 2 mouth full of tap water instead. But, our tap water safer dan China's milk :p

D,
the oreo mini i'm eating now, stated distributed by USA KRAFT foods.
no information on production.

cai2,
thks for the list.

jon's mom,
thks for the info. will feel warm huh?

EE,
thks for the link. it look bulky to me.
will explore more info from the link.

cleaner budget:
if for time being = less than S$100
for long term = less than S$1K

Leo,
really?? then I must inspect it :p

caicai,
so you just put detergent in bottle add water n shake it hard? Can ah??

I always wash immediately, even though i stopped sterilising when he was 6 months I still wash with brush everytime...

D , ya lah , i so lazy
my own house dun even hv a brush . for stubborn stains , i leave it wif the detergent then shake real hard . used my finger to rub the teats

u try at ur house

Augleo,
Only if you uses the steam function if not it's ok. u need not mop the floor again if you uses the steam function as advise by the salesperson. but we still prefer to mop. hope the info is useful

D,
i only brought 1 of those sample bottles to Penang, then use Cai2 method which is fill in half of warm water, add in the detergent and shake real hard..so far quite clean kekeke

EE,
Dun mind can tell me approx how much you paid for the rainbow thingy?

Meddy

I paid for about $260 for 12 mths instalment with 0% interest.
Quite expensive tot, but hoh think for long term usage (my friend used for about 20 yrs) and I can finally get my hb to share house chore with me is quite worth it loh.

You can ask them to do a free demonstration for you.

Agent D
OIC…not familiar with places of interest in Penang…for the Youth Park, any idea if we can access by taxi or there is day tour there?

Hmm….Better to stay at beachfront or city hotels?

Meddy
Huh…really ah….and I tot becoz it’s in Ringgit, the cab fares and everything there is quite affordable…

So what did your gal eat during the trip since she dun like the pigeon foods?

Re: IRobot
We have the Roomba at home but only used afew times....now collecting dust on the surface...find that it's not that intelligent and have to shift around the robot manually for it to reach the places we want to be cleaned...so equivalent to following a robot.

G2000 / Pumpkin Patch sale
Date: 24 Sep to 19 Oct
Address : 105 Tampines Rd (Wing Tai Ind.)
12pm to 7pm daily except Monday
1737057.jpg

D
when we go out for hotel stay.. i also don't bring detergent.. juz use warm water to shake shake shake then leave dry

when time to drink.. use warm water to rinse again.

China products
can confirm if Baby bites Biscuit is safe to consume?

Just to share with all of u on those who have Passion Cards. They are having a promotion with the Underwater World at Sentosa till around end of October this year. It is 25% off the ticket face value. Therefore, please consider this if u are still wondering where to bring your babies

cai
serious ar? but its not in the list leh
and AVA website is not helpful at all.

i hope my D is ok leh.. he took 1 packet last wk i think

SpringD
I don't take cabs in Penang...I use my parent' car... so not the right person to ask about transport. But I reckon if take cab, just tell them Youth Park. Go by meter better...if they quote you a fare, definitely "kar" you one. Once I was at Gurney Plaza and it started to drizzle, so I thought I'd take a cab to my parents' place (just along that stretch), 15-20mins by strolling/walking, they quoted me RM10. I refused and just walked back.

If you ask me, I'm a city person, I don't find beaches very entertaining.
But I think it's an individual preference.

Meddy,
how was G hotel? Would you recommend it? How much did you pay?

Leo,
you thinking of going tomorrow?