(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Autum,
EJ's better? If persisting fever then should be viral fever. Usually it lasts for 5-7 days. That's what happened to RR few weeks ago. Unless it goes up to 39 & stays or it comes with cough & diarrhea, otherwise can only alt. between brufen & paracetamol to bring the fever.
Take care of yourself too.

Autum: Yes leh. It's liddat one. They will still be energetic even when they are sick. As long as the fever is not there and they are not uncomfortable, they may even behave like normal times. I think the fever is the thing that causes the lethargy and discomfort. Can remember Anna's face and the discomfort she was trying to express.. Aiyooh.. You take care too.. Cos not good for you to fall sick.. Get hubby to do the nite shift. And pls wah your hands after feeding/changing EJ.

Autum: It's def ok to add the med into the milk. I think the thing Astro is saying is whether EJ will reject the milk cos it tastes different with the med.

autum: that is good.. sounds better than teng yestereday..morning i left work still ok.. come back evening.. OMG... teng was very very lethargic.. eyes all dazed look leh. whole body very very warm.. and his cheeks were all flushed!..i see liao.. almost panicked.. want to rush to A & E liao!.. then tell myself.. calmed down.. coz took panadol.. fever did subside before going up..

he dun want to eat.. drink very little.. refused milk totally.. then keep whining leh.. sleep also keep waking up..keeps wanting pple carry..basically he ddin;t sleep much last night.. so did i..

today. with the medication. it is much better.. he could smile and play liao. now sound asleep.. i keeping my fingers crossed.

jaxe: i used those transparent straw fr market drinks stall. put into a cup tt i always drink water from. then i demo to him and hold another straw out for him. 1st time he was taken aback when he suck up the water. let him try a few more times, 2nd day try again & voila!

Irin,
so can be just fever without any other problems like cough n diarrhea? i thot fever is fighting infection right.. then what is the fever fighting then? so weird.

Astro,
err, i never use suppository before leh.. sounds very eeeeee.. to me! haha.. his IC ok.. just now i also asked the GP could EJ be having HFMD.. again he said possible but not likely.. cos he said usually the symptoms will come together with the fever.. dunno this GP aye-sai or not... seems like every answer is "possible".. hiaz.. like that i also can be doctor liao!

Autum,
yup, can be just fever even for viral infection, the more minor ones. But usually the other signs will show later.

bbmouse,
hiaz.. the problem is, hubby is also sick!! he just got back from UK this afternoon.. he is having flu - sore throat, stuffy nose etc.. now not so bad cos he took some medication.. but he is not well.. i just sent him to bed actually.. cos he also has jet-lag.. he was trying not to sleep in the afternoon, so that he can sleep now (at night)..

Astro,
i also worry EJ will reject the milk, but boh-bian, got to try.. if he still refuse. i won't give the med anymore.. will just let him be. Will monitor at night.

Mummies... I went to test drive some cars today..

Must say I'm quite impressed with the Previa or the Borneo's Estima. The car does not feel too light like normal Japanese sadan cars. I give good ratings for it!

And hor.. We also went to test drive the R-class. This one looks very, very good.. Definitely an eye-candy. But it costs more than twice the Previa!

autum: which is why.. now i made up my mind. no more GP for teng..straght away to Dr Ong's..
teng made to take a lot of medication and even 'unnecessary' antibiotics all thanks to GPs.. Even Dr Seow also gave an 'unnecessary' antibotics.. haiz.. so i give up.. save teng the agony .. i see take so much medication.. i very heart pain.. then afte that still go Dr ong.. coz never clear.. it is to me a total waste of time..

ya. inever use suppositories either.. but i can understand the drama.. hence i full of respect for Star who was steady enough to use the supps on Rae for her constipation last time!..

aiyoh.. think better read up on the HFM now? at least more informed and in more control? .. that GP doesn't sound very convincing to me..

aiyoh.. HFM is not stopping leh.. news just said one.. i am going to lock teng up liao. he cannot go anywhere liao. ! my mum.. she must sterilse herself before touch teng.. .. haiz..

Autum: Your hubby is sick huh? Maybe EJ got it from him leh. I'm speculating here. Cos EJ was already low in his resistance, then the virus from your hubby may "attack" EJ. Anyway, nothing to do now, but to monitor his temp and keep it down.
Autum, you know fever med got to give every 6 hrs hor? In the nite, I think you add into his water and let him suckle in his sleep.

bbmouse
ya man.. the Estima is nice to drive. the more exp range of Estima's 2nd row can turn to face back. i'm not sure abt Previa.. my gf jus got the Estima. we love the good handling despite a big car.
u can also try Citroen Picasso. 7 seats.

which is why.. whenever i read bbs fall sick here.. i really worry for them.. coz i can put myself in the shoes when teng is not well..

so autum. now i am worrying for EJ! shucks..
sorry.. i dunno how to make the situation lighter.. and make u laugh..
SQ.. u have the honours.. u good in this.. making pple feel at ease..pls do that to autum now..

Astro,
at least this GP i went to didn't suggest antibiotics la. In fact, he said no point giving antibiotics because we don't know what is the problem yet.. so he sid best is to monitor. If fever can go off after giving brufen.. then everyone is happy.. if later on got other problems, then probably i will have to bring EJ to see doc again. I am happy with that.. cos there is still a chance it's just fever..

autum
i always tell hubby tat those good doctors are those who can empathise with patients. doesnt matter what degrees tey have.
i guess as mummies we can empathise since we've all been through that

SQ: ur recount of YE at A & E. sounds like teng's last time with shingles incident.. at A & E too.... yucks! i hate that place!

we saw Dr Ong yday. actually hor, HFMD is not that bad lah. the most is cannot eat lah. after recovery, sure eat like mad and put on all those lost wt. Dr Ong agreed with me that the real danger is DENGUE! it's worse many many many times than HFMD.

mickey
your hubby needs to travel during the day at work?
if not, you can get one big car, employ one driver, that driver chauffeur the entire family. all gao dim

SQ: no sabo.. just want u to say some words of wisdom.. to make autum relaxed a bit..

ehh. sounds like i more worried than autum?! ok ok.. wait. i go check on my LBXX NOW.. i sot liao

bbmouse,
no no.. hubby came back this afternoon.. EJ had fever since yesterday night (slightly warm).. then this morning became burning hot.. so it's definitely not hubby pass to him. But i did tell hubby don't go too close to him, cos if EJ is weak now (with fever).. then he may kena jialat if he catch anything from hubby..

Astro,
it's ok.. i m quite a calm mother.. i m worried but up to this point, still ok! I just went to touch his forehead, not hot leh.. seems like even tho he vommitted twice just now, maybe whatever little med that went into his system is working! or could be the bath.. or both?!

bbmouse,
think u can get Estima.

autum, glad that EJ seems to be feeling better. hope it'll stay this way. u take care of urself too leh. it can be quite tiring looking after a sick toddler. ur hb back already?

astro, i must have missed it. teng down too?

carol/bbmarch, thanks for the AD orders!

Pax: Yes, I was quite impressed with myself I could park the car back into the parking slot back at Borneo. Previa is the exact model of Estima, brought in by Borneo. Estima is the parallel import. There are more Estimas than Previa on the road! We went to test drive the Previa cos parallel importers don't offer test drive cars lah..

Second row face the back? Is this good? Cos I'll get giddy leh.. But if liddat, then we can have the 2 babies at the 3rd row on their ar seats, and the 2 maids facing them. Bingo! Cos I was still thinking how I can position the 2 carseats in a 7-seater.

yvonne
i was thinking. but i dun have the heart to stop. now that YE can walk, we let her walk to class from the car park. she squeals when she rounds the corner to kinermusik cos she knows what's in store for her. lidat how to stop?

then i also think there's only so much we can do as parents right? short of locking her up at home

moogen: ya. he had fever .. blocked nose and his usual works lor.. now asleep soundly.. i think he is recovering liao

Autum: ya. i panicked when he not feeling well.. haiz.. that shingles episode hor. cannot get it out of my mind lah..

SQ: ya..teng also.. worst when u see his blistery raw skin.. and him screaming in pain!
wah.. i need go drink water to calm down a bit.. the nightmare scene at A & E coming back again!

carol
nowadays we are getting more and more paisei. she will also squeal at the candy section of supermart. we always get funny stares from non-parents, and knowing stares from parents. but we've had a lot of fun acquaintances cos of her too

SQ: If we get a driver, then he shd drive the estima. Not the R-class leh.. Hahahah.. Doing that will be like buying a porsche and getting a driver to drive it instead..

bbmouse
call Borneo and check if their Previa have the feature to turn the 2nd row. i think it's a brilliant idea. one of my tupperware friends drives a Estima and her 2nd row is facing back.

Carol
there's no med for HFMD. can only treat the symptoms. similarly for Dengue. but Dengue is more deadly than HFMD.