(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

edde: haiz.. i typed too fast? ok..let u laugh a bit
.. sian la. can't figure out why teng is like that.. hmm *ponder*

mejo: ok. understood that part.. what does 'druid' mean? it is an way to identify sub species? ehh. how i tell what colour for the plant?.. and hor. i dun have confidence to go alone..to buy.. coz i wun know what i am buying.. and hve not generated enough interest to go do self study before buying..:p i must test test on something.. succeeded. than i can be hooked.. when will u go to that place the next time?

astro, u moody again eh? why teng is like wat? sorry i browse thru the archive very fast, maybe i missed it..

ok.. so still green tea is amongst the lowest.. if not must drink white tea, herbal or decaf tea liao.. :p.. and black tea has the most.. was i right to say so coz it is the most fermented?

Belle,

I think we shouldn't control them overly much as they have a natural curiosity about the things around them. We may feel like they are tearing the house down, but to them, they are exploring something and that it is necessary for survival. As GD said, young babies have a natural imperative that tells them that they must touch/feel/mouth everything within sight at least once a day etc. So GD advice is to NOT stop them because that will go against their natural instinct and may stifle their curiosity because we certainly dun want them to think that learning is wrong but however, we should do our best to keep them out of trouble. I usually allow YT free play but dangerous stuffs I will either keep a close eye but following right behind, e.g. she climb stairs or by simply not giving her a chance to do it. Her mattress where she sleeps is enclosed by the Haenim play-yard so that she can't be tearing down my room while I'm asleep. It is next to impossible to babyproof my room as there dangerous corners and objects that cannot be moved away so the only way is to keep her from the room.

Speaking of stepping on us, YT can do that very well. She can even jump on us. :/ She can use my hubby as a stepping stone and climbed out of the play-yard onto our bed that is right next to the play-yard!

edde: slightly moody cause teng woke up again screaming. and i cannot figure out why he been doing that for the past one month.. with onli very few exceptions..
below was my post on that just now..
ok. he's asleep.. finally.. haiz. dunno what's wrong with him. he has not had a night of uninterrupted sleep leh. since his blocked nose one month back. eye rings dark and eye bags swollen liao. haiz..

moogen: how many time is domie latching now? u give him both breast at each feed?
I think i should not be so stubborn as to make Rae drink FM, should relax a bit like u. maybe even let her decide when she wants to wean, child led lah. I stress cos i want to wean her off totally before i go back to work lah. I think i should also conisder fresh milk.. dunno why i keep thinking that FM is more nutritious than fresh milk leh, which is why i am forcing FM on rae, hoping she will transit!

astro, pardon the confusing lang. was trying to rack my brain to think of the shortest way to express it. haha. think i failed miserably.

anyway was reading that you shouldn't say "no" to your child too often. in the literal sense. because it may cause them to be desensitised (along this line). so instead of simply saying "no" when he touches the fan, for instance, you can say "do not touch the fan". i wished i saved the articles i read this from. anyway i tell my mum not to always say "no" to domie cuz i dun want his first word to be "no". =p

yy,

Eh, definitely no time in the near future... coz I practically dun have any pay for two months liao and have been buying plants for the past two months already. He's a nice guy and will intro to you the plants if you interested. I'm sure if you tell him your requirements he will be able to find a plant suitable for you. BTW, he is a secondary school teacher.

SQ: haiz.. u have not seen Teng now.. with his huge eye bags and dark rings.. haiz.. he used to sleep so peacefully.. i really cannot figure out what on earth is happening.. *headache*

Mejo: ya. i also agree that babies should not be curbed their natural tendency to explore.. and very paiseh to say ah.. i dun really tell teng no. unless he is 'unreasonable'.. fuss and demads carry etc.. he can go touch a stack of cards.. push in down on the floor.. and i still look at him and observe.. wun shout no also.. i am asking for trouble :p

mejo: ok.. then i shall bring miser down and both of us shall learn together.. i think that man will be interested to learn also.. :p

SQ: i never ask PD that.. before that is blocked nose.. then cleared. ok a bit. then blocked nose again. now cleared liao mah. still wake up? haiz..

YY,

I think it is okay. I do allow YT to do as she please most of the time. The only thing out of bounds is dangerous stuffs, rubbish and my plants. Now that she can point and bzzt bzzt the things she is interested in, I will even give it to her. Like I will let her explore my umbrella but I will watch her to make sure she dun poke her eyeballs out with the spike lar. However, if hubby is around, he will definitely scream. Sigh.

moogen: somehow got ur drift. but still cannot really picture no in assorted expression accurately :p

and that time.. in one of teng's kinder make up class.. got one girl. def older than teng.. she can walk and talk liao. then got one boy want to take her shakers.. she told the boy very firmly 'no!'.. wah . cool or not? hahahaha :p

hoho.. astro, tell me abt it man. anthea has been like that too ever since she was sick wks ago. she used to sleep from 8pm to the next morn undisturbed. but now she will cry in the middle of her sleep. sometimes put paci back she will be ok, sometimes need to coax her for a while, sometimes milk (ard 60-70ml) will put her back to sleep. i suspect its teething. teething is a convenient reason to me.

maybe teng is teething? his big teeth (molar is it?) coming out dats why? my hubby always suan me call me doctor koh coz i always make my own deduction macham i very clever.

night SQ

mejo: i think i like teng to be more curious. hence i laid back in this area.. though i know i can be courting trouble.. but if teng is OVER curious.. i will be saying no very often :p

moogen: i think apart from saying that long sentence.. also need to phsyically lift the bb away from the source.. and do it consistently.. to drive the pt thru
sorry. i haven't read the link yet.. i going to shower..my eyes damm itchy again. haiz.. i think it is because i am stressed again. haiz..

edde: ya. i not too sure. if teething. coz u wun know if the bb is teething unless the tooth has erupted.. whic sounds so stupid to me. coz when the tooth has erupted.. do i still need to know if bb is teething? wun i already know?.. that is what the PDs has been telling me.. -they also not sure if bb is teething if they dun see any teeth.. sot lah..

i try not to say no too often.. so what i do is i will look at rae with a damn stern face and shake my head, she knows i mean biz and will stop whatever she is doing. She does try again when i am not looking and i will stare at her again really stern, not talking or smiling, she usually gets the message and stop and move elsewhere.

re discipline
sometimes i believe in making them learn the hard way. once anthea wanted to dip her fingers in my cup. she loves doing that. i told her its hot (she understands "hot") but she still wanted to do it, so i let her. she did and quickly withdrew her fingers and put her hand on her chest, so funny. then she din dare to do it again.

i slapped her palms when she delieberately drops her things. she loves doing that to challenge me. but sometimes i hesitate in doing that coz i dun want her to learn slapping pple from me. saying "no" applies. i am at my loss wits when it comes to discipline too.

mejo, didn't realise you're already said what i wanted to say.

star, when are you going back to work? but only caution is child-led weaning generally take quite long. if you want to wean her off totally, then have to do it gradually. i get a headache just thinking about it that's why i just escape by not doing anything about it. he drinks like a mouse in the day cuz too many distractions. i don't even keep track of which breast he last drank from. haha. but usually one breast each feed. if he just takes a little, then same breast the next feed. he usu drinks about 3x in the day but because his day feed is so little, he makes it up in the night by still waking up for comfort/night feeds.

SQ, i'm still thinking leh. will prob get organic milk for him but still choosing between cow and goat. goat less allergen but less nutrients too. you leh?

astro, yah... must physically remove them from the scene. if not the temptation is too great for them to resist.

star, i tried shaking my head too. doesn't work. he will either (1) shake his head back at me and continue doing whatever he's doing, or (2) smiles his best smile at me and continues what he's doing.

astro, whenever i ask doc if anthea is teething, they will say "probably". i am sure u know teething discomfort arises even mths before it reupts, so it cld be it.

oh.. one technique i try to use is "distraction". i dunno if this is the same as wat moogen mentioned. but this doesnt work for anthea's "throwing things on the floor" habit. its so malu to bring her to restaurants coz area under her high chair will be littered with food, plates, spoons, forks, etc etc etc.. everytime we hv to pick them up before we leave

moogen, domi is so charming! hw to resist his smiles!!?? see liao heart melts already.. bu she de da ma le..

managed to feed Chloe her 2nd dose of paracetamol before i zzz..wah she struggles man! refuse to let me put the stringe in her mouth..she is murmuring in her sleep le...my poor baby

moogen
i guess so lor..like wat mejo said..they are just being babies..curious abt everything.

mejo
dats a very good article u shared tks!!
yeah la i read this before but hor when u are in that situation u tend to FORGET WAT U SHOULD DO ..in other words.. i lost control most times..cos i will get mad at her.. for messing up the whole hse.

edde: ya.. they tell me the same thing too.. anyway. let it be lor. sian

ya.. teng loves to throw things on the floor.. and when i get sick of picking it up for him. it stays on the floor.. till i am ready to leave.. heehee..itell u one trick.. which can get teng to stop all his fuss.. give him a book to flip. then he will guai guai open mouth and eat.. and stop throwing things.. coz he will be busy fliping, opening his mouth when food comes near.. looking at the picture.. and sometimes look at the pictures and self feed himself a finger food at the same time.. he is VERY busy..how to throw things? try that with anthea? :p

moogen: what more ur domi is so cute looking.. u wun know to laugh or to cry right? :p

moogen: domie cute leh.. ur face not stern enuff ah.. hahah... maybe rae more timid so my stern face scares her.
Actually today i stopped her mid afternoon feed.. she was ok.. but one side of my breast engorged when she took her last feed at night.. I like the engorged feeling, make me feel like there is a lot of milk in my breast for bb. i am worried that my SS will drop further once i drop this mid afternoon feed. Act i am aiming for her to stop BFing her in the day (exp for the 1st morning feed), this will make it easier for meto go back to work as i can still latch her once in the morning and once again for the last feed at nite. I wanted to replace the mid afternoon feed with FM but she is not cooperating so i decided to drop this feed altogether lor. still testing out lah.

Mist: i dun pump any more.. she dun want bottle.. so i dun think its the FM or the cup.. she just wants milk from breast.

mist
okie noted, will order your 2 pcs.
anymore orders? 2 more pc and i can submit.

thank u! leia better now, slightly warm in the nite, hope she will be fine after tonight.
think marisa must be tired, she always say she cannot sleep at nite when leia is sick, will wake up every hr to check her whether her fever is back. im lucky, if not will pass my virus to leia if i have to solely take care.
her poo is warm accordingly to marisa. must be heaty "pu juao"
this gal can smile now.., happily walk walk and even run when she cant even walk steadily.

blurbelle
now its your turn
u poor thing leh, tomorrow still gotto work?

astro
itchy eyes again oh dear..got any medication on standby? for abt 2-3 wks oredi..my eyes NO MORE ITCH! i duno if it's cos i changed to a diff eye cream..but its so much better! i didnt really use the ones the doc at skin ctr gave..only used for 2 days..

oki mummies i better go catch a wink..hv a feeling chloe will stir n cry again..tata & take care!

edde: no need to feel malu, anthea is not the only one throwing stuff on the floor, all our babies are doing that. Apart from throwing stuff on the floor, Rae absolutely loves to take paper napkin, shred it and throw it all around her and on the floor, this lagi more diff to pick up. remember, toughen ur skin, no one will say anything one, u dun have to feel embarass.

QQ
u want to order or ask your sil to order more? there are new stock and 2 of her ordered items are OOS, sorry order so late...not enough order from my colleagues and i kept delaying

hallo... got back late tonight as i brot my US collg out shopping. ended she eyeing on LV Hampstead.

then after that went to pick hubby & K up fm yishun but b4 i call to say i am on my way.
hubby alrady sms me said that K's eyelid bruised from her knock

haiz... so aft we got home, while i was trying to get K to zz, MIL called to explain how it happen.

pink

glad that Leia is recovering well.

me actually on MC tom, went co doc again n ask for antibiotics cos still coughing n my voice hor..stimes hoarse stimes even cant project my voice..doc gave me the strongest antibiotics oredi..he says if still dun work hv to xray me!.but tom thur le..duno if i should take or not..i think i will only decide tom morning ...if chloe still not well i might take my MC to care for her ...

star/bbgal,
juz now hubby told me that MIL gave K milk at 9pm. asking me whether wanna give her milk agn b4 i sleep. told him No.
then juz now she started crying. so carry her until she went back to sleep. will see whether she will wake up later.
yesterday, she only have 3feeds, see whether she can make it thru the nite.
i totally skip a feed, din even reduce the ml, can ???

Astro: wha rae sama sama. her favourite activity is to flip this thick album full of her baby photos.. she alwasy request for this album when its meal time, she will be so bz flipping the album from front to back, back to front, pointing at the photos, blabbering and bz opening her mouth for me to feed her. this album is a very good distraction for her.. she never gets tired of looking at her own photos..a bit narcisstic hor.. heheh

astro, hm... now my latest trick is the doodle board.. will try book too!! thx for the tips!

star, soon my skin will be as thick as the elephant's liao.. haha!

going to bed liao.. nite mummies, pls take gd care of yrselves too... get enuf rest..

Michelle: i got a suggestion for u, what time does K sleep? u wanna push her 9pm milk feed later to just before she sleep? and u can also increase the amount of her 9pm feed to slightly more for now (cos u drop 1 feed lah).. so that she has enuff to last thru the night.
BTW: What happenend to her eye? fell down ?knock on sumthing?

michelle
poor K, is the bruise very bad?
K very cute leh, now i recalling her picking up her lucky number for the gift exchange. she took more than 1 pc, and when i wanted to take back the extra pc, she was so angry and yell at me :p i think this gal wont be bullied next time.

edde
leia also throw things, esp after i scold her. my fren said once they hit 2 or 3, worse, they will start to demand things verbally.
but this stage also not that bad, when they are curious with some things, they will at least sit or fiddle with them, while we take a short break. when im very tired, i will bring leia to my special drawer, let her play with the stuff inside, while i 'sleep' for a short while.

viv
snap ethan's hand with rubber band, very innovative leh :p

blurbelle
im also coughing, bit of phlegm and ultra thirsty. gotto drink lots of water, and let out lots of unwanted gas :p

my hubby's granny is 80+ and she has no wrinkles near her eyes leh. she just told us she drinks 2 pot of water everyday, and they also like to drink yakult. tell u, she can even bend and carry leia up, carry leia walk walk downstairs.
ok i will drink lots of water from tomorrow onwards.

edde, my son like anthea when we eat out too. plus he'll bang his utensils on the table. the other time, he left bang marks on the table.

astro, yah when i get tired of picking stuff up from the floor, i'll just leave them there. then he'll start looking for new things to throw. if i give him book, he'll prob throw the book too leh. =(

star, do it gradually. dun stress yourself and her out in the process. =) seems that's the best sol. to drop the mid afternoon feed if poss if she doesn't want FM. maybe you can try fresh milk and see how she takes to it. how long are you planning to bf rae?

pink,
if she takes after me, i dun think so

if after hubby, sure will one !

edde,
K loves to tear tissue into strips
lagi malu, got after she tear she throws on the floor !
we are gg to be at CP at 12noon, come n join. traz also joining !

pink, when i want to have a break, i'll give domie a piece of wet wipe or cloth, and he'll become my part time cleaner. and that'll keep him (and myself) entertained. haha...

ok, me going to sleep already. tata...