Yvonne: i think bel associate porridge with swallowing, same as Rae she will auto swallow w/o chewing when she taste porridge, if i have big chucks if chix in the spoon of porridge, she will swallow and choke too..if i give her the chunky food on its one, she will chew. So now what i do is i will feed her a few spoon of porrodge then i will feed her egg white or chunks of meat on its own w/o the porridge and she will chew. Maybe u wanna try it this way, fish out the chunks from the porridge and give to bel on its own.
Pax/Mejo: my "complicated" porridge is the easiest to cook porridge, i dun put the ingredient in one by one.. no time lah, with rae so sticky nowdays, everything has to be efficient and fuss free. I DB my porridge (so no need to watch over the pot), what i do is i will cut the veggie the night before (enuff for 2 meals) very easy one cos just need a small slice from each veggie. (my fridge has a tupper box holding all the veggie i need for the week for rae's porridge) When its time to cook, i will add all the veggie slices(except the fish & spinach) plus a slice of chix or pork together with the rice(lunch is rice + lentils, dinner is rice +brown rice) and water and put in to DB. After 30 mins, i will add in the slice of threadfin fish and then 5 more mins later, add in the spinach. In 10mins time, porridge done liao.
I will then chopped the spinach, and mash the fish using back of knife, mash roughly, same for chix, mash roughly. Root veggie like zucchini, BNS, sweet potatoes, carrots etc, all can be mashed using the flat side of the knife, very fast one. I used to DB for 1 hr,now 40 to 45mins can liao cos i want a rougher texture. Total cooking time approx 50mins, total prep time less than 10mins (including the final chopping of the cooked spinach. See not complicating at all right!
I give some brown rice cos this makes the porridge have more bite, i dun soak the brown rice any more.. but i just give like 1 tsp of brown rice cos i find that Rae cannot really digest the brown rice leh, which is why i mix with white rice.
Pax: i also like to steam tofu with mince meat.. my fav dish, i will add water chesnut to the mince meat so u get the crunch and bite, then puton the tofu slices and steam.. nice nice..