(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Mejo: u r here.. heheh.. ok wait i go check out and see how the plants looks like. BUt i trust ur recommendations lah.. heheh.. wait har.

Mejo: YES YES YES!. ..hehe they are beautiful.. esp the Ionantha.. wha it really stays this red ah? so amazing.. die lah.. i airplant addict now leh. Pls check price and reserve for me. Thank u
. Aiya now i thinking, dunno if 2 more enuff for me.. or should i get 1 more.. so plus the 2 i have, will be 5 in total??!!!
Hey u should do another Airplant BP.. i am sure a lo of us here will be keen.. especially me!!!

Star,
i m better now. thanks. still a little bluesy but can cope. i went to see gynae just now. saw my bb.. now 5.5cm, very active when the doc was trying to scan. can't see the gender cos the naughty one put one of his/her foot strategically right over that spot! so could only see the bones of the foot over there. haha.. guess we will still be in suspense for a while. With EJ, i could tell at wk12 cos i could see that part. hee..

Autum: if cannot see, high chance is a ger ger leh.. hehe.. For Rae i also could not see till my 20th week scan... make me wait so long! Ur baby notti, place foot at the strategic spot, keep u in suspence..
so next appt in 1 mths time?

Starfruit,

Haha, after that big boo boo the last spree I did, dun dare to spree liao. Maybe we should go down together to have a look? I wanted to go down on Monday to collect my bp items and also have a look at the plants but now I went to the bp thread to see, the delivery is delayed. Hmm.

Yes, the ionantha fuego will remain that red all the time if you have enough sunlight. I have one. It is that red. It will become flaming red in bloom. See my fuego in bloom:

1307876.jpg

Mejo: i was at the GCS forum, under the Tillandsia club, i saw this photo.. wha the plants are huge!!! really this big ah?? or its just a photo illusion?
1307882.jpg

Starfruit,

Yes. I meant to get the Ionantha 'gigiante'. One of the biggest ionantha. Can grow up to half a metre in height!

autum
you must be excited to see bb

so fast you are supposed to be able to see gender liao

star
i tried the muffins again. the bottom still burnt. i only baked for 12mins instead of the 20mins leh. is it cos i din put the tray on a rack? btw, i bought the bendable tray you were talking about. but i bought the mini one, not the 6

Star,
i also told gynae that if can't see means girl.. but gynae says no cos in this case is really the foot over that spot. haha.. but anyway, will be in suspense lor.
yea, next appt is 4wks later.

Starfruit,

Can't see your pic... but dun get the wrong idea that airplants are all small small plants. I just happened to like the small small cute cute ones. There are others who enjoys collecting monster sized plants! In the wild, there are airplants that can grow bigger than the size of the average birdnest ferns you see in Singapore. There are airplants that are more than 2 feet in width and many more in height! Dun be surprised!

Starfruit,

Oh, can see your pic now. That is Xerographica. King of airplants. Yup, it can grow pretty big. I've got one, bigger than YT's head but that's considered medium size only.

star,
the pig chest only cost $80?! wa, should have bought. real cheap leh. i saw it as much much more ex!

ok, tonite talk about plants. i can't contribute. gonna orh orh.

gd9

Mejo: Wha.. u must invite me to ur place to see ur Ionantha Gigiante when u do get it!!.. hahah.
Hey looking at ur feugo pic, are those the trichomes - the concentrated white spots near the bottom of each leave?

SQ: which rack did u put ur muffin tray in ur oven? it should be in the middle rack.. if muffin still burns in the middle rack, that means the bottom heat is higher than the top, u might wanna adjust ur rack accordingly.
Where did u put the tray? U mean ur tray is mini single ones?? or a tray of mini size? how much did u pay for ur tray? where u bought?

sudd rem sth:

bbmouse,
why anna suddenly waking up to play?

joelle,
actually i cannot bear to see my bb wean off the bottle. in my mind, she's still a bb. so i'm half hearted about the training cup. i know gina ford says otherwise. but she seldom drinks milk as it is anyway, so i think i can live with it

Tomorrow is my driving test!!! STRESS. I must pass this time, it is already the second test. No more money and time to spend on this learning to drive business.

Mejo: Hey i think i like small small cute plants too.. these big ones quite scary looking leh.. hahah.. like those monster plants!!
All the best for ur driving test, BTW: it took me 4 times before i got my license!

star,
i used the microwave convection oven.
so the tray sits on the bottom plate. think i should slot in the metal rack so the bottom doesn't burn? paisei i'm quite moronic when it comes to baking and cooking

i bought the tray of minis. so i tray with 9 or 12 holes. at jasons supermart. think around $14+

SQ,

Agreed with you. YT also dun like to drink milk. I cannot imagine trying to wean her off the bottle cuz she already dun like the bottle! I tried giving her milk in her straw cup, training cup, sippy cup etc. No avail.

star: hee..ya lo.. happy cos it's so much faster than the bottle. yeah..it's a hole for the milk to come out. but there is a silicon disc at the bottom of the cap to prevent spilling. so it's no spill. but it's definitely easier to suck. =D

sq: ha.. i also feel dat way sometimes la. but i figure since he has his pacifier.. so he is not exactly without a 'security' la. plus saw my niece still using the bottle for 'fun' at 5.. made me determined to make him stop asap. plus..the speed is definitely a plus point. and the ease of washing! heh!

mejo,
dun stress and then you'll pass

star,
talk to me about baking?
no lah, i know nothing about baking
my mum and hubby have not been successful getting me to step into the kitchen until YE comes along.
my mum is a superb cook and baker.
she can cook/bake/made anything under the sun that i wish for
my friends also say her legacy will pass on with her cos i have no interest to learn

starfruit,

But I like xerographicas also cuz of the curly curly leaves. Heh heh. Majority of my plants are small though. Some are even less than 1 cm in width and 3 cm in length as full grown adults. That's why I can have over hundreds just on 4 daiso racks and 1 hanging pot.

mejo: from u pic, the trichomes on ur feugo looks like mould lah.. haha.. so its only near the bottom? or top also have but more sparse and not so concentrated? I went to relook at ur pic, ur feugo looks very nice, esp the flower. Hey the purple part is considered the flower or the bract?

joelle,
your niece still on bottle at 5?
wa. i buay tahan.
that's why my mum said i very hiong2 to just cut her off her pacifier lidat cold turkey. haha... i also buay tahan kids walking around with their paci in their mouth leh. my mum said i'm too strict and it's no fun being my kid

mejo,
hi5! that's why our YT and YE not bui3 bui2. they dun drink enuf milk lah

SQ,

Actually my instructors all said I cool and very zai but I tend to drive too fast but have slow reaction. Sigh. One said I'm like Jackie Chan when I parallel park at relatively high speed. Opps, it is in the genes, my dad is the accelerate reverse type and my sis drifted on the circuit with her left foot over both accelerator and brake while negotiating a bend when she first started learning. (She passed recently... )

Just woke up.. Disturbed by hubby..
Hope I'm able to get back to sleep soon..

Michelle, SQ: I'm only guessing.
#1 - she could already have enuf sleep in the daytime cos she takes 3 naps in the daytime (from the normal one). This is cos one of her medication causes drowsiness.
#2 - she could be hungry cos she's been eating lesser than normal. This is understandable since she's unwell. Even adults lose appetite when we fall sick.
Anyway I hope she recovers quickly and can revert back to her old schedule. I will then cut back on her daytime nap consciously.

Mejo: Good luck on your driving test.

QQ: How are you doing? Hope you're ok. Doing the other eye tom right? By tom night, you'll be on your way to perfect eyesight recovery.

Star, Mejo: You 2 are really into airplants. Star, you're a new convert.

SQ: haha.. chat a while more lah,. so long never see u in here liao. I hope the weather is good tomorrow, wanna bring Rae swimming, hubby off tomorrow.. so its family day.
Hey, baking nto easy ok, its scientific as well, the mixing of the ingredients to the oven temp all must take care.
I also learning lah.

SQ/JOelle: For me, i quite desperate to make her drink milk from a cup, cos i am thinking of weaning her off my breast lah.. so far nmot successful, i dunno iist Rae does not like the taste of the FM, i will try and switch a FM brand and see how. Maybe get some Friso from my SIL to let Rae try cos Friso is sweeter.

starfruit,

Actually the entire plant is covered by trichomes but some are more fine and cannot be seen by visible eyes. Like the stricta will have totally smooth leaf with no visible "fur". The trichomes are not as furry as mould lar. Okay, most are not, some I agree do look a bit mouldy. LOL. Purple part is the flower. Ionanthas have no visible bract. Stricta have pink flower spike or bract with smaller purple flowers.

star,
i have been dreaming of swimming for many mths
we stopped cos of the wet and cold weather plus YE was sick. or she was on jabs then we thot better not, since her immunity low. then now with the flu bug and HFM scare i also dun dare to liao. i miss swimming, i'm sure YE does too

re: baking
i always think it's a waste of time. just buy from the stores gao2 dim3 liao. i always chide my mum for "nothing better to do". but i know that it takes a lot of patience and skill to bake. i hope i can be a more patient person. until then....

Mejo: You sound quite confident in your driving leh. The trick is to be extremely slow in your driving outside, remain very "zai3" and pretend to be an extemely cautious driver - check blind spots, check rear mirror etc and go at slow speed. Tell yourself yourself they are not checking whether you can handle the car, they are testing if you'll become a road hazard if they pass you.
After you've got the license, no one really cares abt how you drive and park, and if you check the blind spots anymore.
Good luck.

SQ: i saw the mini ones.. 1 tray of 6, i tot it look so mini so i did not buy. THe muffin turns our very very small and mini on the mini tray right??

I think rae might be still a bit allergic to egg white, i gave her some of my steam cake, saw rashes on her back (but steam cake diff to pinpoint cos got flour, eggs, vanilla essence baking powder!), today i gave her some hard boil egg white (Less than 1/2 tsp), during her evening bath, i saw rashes on her back again.. so i think i will wait a few more mths before giving it to her to try again..she seems very prone to rashes from new food type leh.

mejo,
she has two bottom teeth
then the top two should be coming out cos can feel sth hard

think YE, YT and teng are the ones who are not teething as furiously at their age as others

do you give her cheese or yogurt to supplement the calcium?

sq: ya lo..but she drinks for 'fun' la...cos she was off it liao at 4..then saw her bro use, so she wanted oso..:S i find it repulsing too! n told her off... heh... so i m very bent on not letting seth have his bottle. pacifier ...sigh.. i shall go slower on that..heh..somehow i m not so affected by it. :p maybe cos i was a pacy kid too! :p

star: for me i designate a new cup for milk, so he will relate it to the bottle. also i realy succeeded buy letting him drink while having breakfast. machiam adult la kopi type... drink 1 sip..eat some bread...drink again kind. like dat he used to it liao.. know it's for milk.. then slowly he will drink 1 shot by himself. go slow with rae la... do it the fun way! =D

sleepin liao.. yak more tmr! good nite mummies!! sweet dreams babies! =D

Star,
yea, sounds like Rae allergic to egg white. but could it be she is just allergic to new food? i mean, if u persistently give, will this 'allergy' disappear? EJ is now ok with egg white liao. So u try again next time.

star,
i find the mini ones perfect size for our kids leh. that's why i bought. you know i won't bake once YE can eat the muffins outside, so no point me getting the adult muffin trays. haha... i feed her the starbucks sandwiches etc, but muffin still too sweet, so i got to bake for her first

my hubby was just telling me this am that the egg allergy could be quite exaggerated. now you say rae ganna. i'd better be careful. see how YE is after eating the muffins, got egg white

bbmouse,
ya lor. we both bz at different times so din catch each other. glad you've "decided" on your path ahead though

Baby Girl: ya this airplant is very exciting.. its so differnt from the normal plants. u keen to get some to try? heheh

SQ: i think baking is very addictive too.. once u start, cannot stop.. but i hate the washing ups.. its alwasy very nice to see our family and love ones enjoying our bake goods.

Mejo: hehehe.. maybe mould is not the right word to use.. yes u r right, they are furry.. hehe. I know what u mean by the flower bract for the stricta liao, i saw the flower bract and flower in the pic at tillandsiaBiotope.

SQ,

Sigh. YT is still bo geh. Even my mother said I din teethed this late. I did give cheese and yoghurt but sometimes I worry about the calcium interfering with iron and protein absorption also. Hmm, will ask MIL to add milk powder to her porridge tomorrow.

Okay, I must go beauty sleep liao. Tomorrow must have all the focus to be that GOOD DRIVER! Goodnight everybody. I promise I won't be a road hazard, hee hee.

star,
honestly i dun dare to eat the stuff i cook/bake. my dad oso dun dare. only my mum and brother and hubby will eat to support. haha... one day YE is gonna tell me my food is yucky too. i'm mentally prepared for that day to come
so i won't say "it's always nice to see our family and loved ones enjoying our bake goods" that doesn't apply to me. they have no choice. wahaha

mejo,
milk powder to porridge nice meh?
she will eat? wow. YE doesn't allow weird combi
and for your driving test tomr, remember that the ones who passed are not nec good drivers. they are the ones who can pretend that they CAN be good drivers. i look at the way pple drive and i'm sure of this. you just have to show the tester that you can be cautious and then you'll pass liao.
good luck!

SQ: I have 1001 training cups sitting at home!! i am alwasy on a lookout for that "perfect" cup.. but so far no luck.. at least Rae likes her combi HK straw cup. U got YE her new replacemnet straw cup yet?

SQ: u right, act when i saw the mini tray i also tought its perfect for our babies.. but not enuff for me lah, i need to eat like 1 full tray before i can be statisfied!!!

Autum/SQ: i still cannot determine if its usually new food which causes her rash or isit cos its egg white.. she is quite prone, last week, i gave her some bread (those from the tradiitonal bakery, the white puffy kind), after that in the evening i saw rashes on her back... they dun use eggs for bread right?? so i also dunno what she is allergic to. *headache*

star,
got for her quite some time liao
cos i dun like so many things sitting at home, so i try not to keep too much stock. haha...
i like the combi Step 4. wondering if it is leak proof? cos i tried opening and closing at the shops and machiam the cover comes off so easily!
oh the combi hello kitty is nice. but that will only last YE a few hours cos she drinks alot of water. one father at GUG kept staring at the rate and amount she drinks in class and i was amused to see his shocked face!