(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

going back in term 2...by then week 12 liao..hopefully MS will slowly wean off.

still waiting for MOE to inform me abt my posting...dunno which pri sch i will go to yet..if it's a good one i'll prob enrol gorgor there next year...

autumn,
tell u wat, i can easily finish one whole packet of soh da biah in 2 days! scary right? i can oso whack the whole tin of pringles sour cream potota chips at one go!

SQ
actually im oso very scared that i cant cope when i go back to work...esp this time my MS is really bad...but zou yi bu kan yi bu lah...maybe work can help distract any discomfort.

autum
ya mine about 30pax, so 36 cupcakes ok..more than that, really over budget.
err..i was like mad woman leh...

Carol
yeh post pix! hey i want to tell u there is a thai massage shop somewhere in the new flat area. they have TUMMY SLIMMING treatment 90mins for $50. Its a very good price leh...i may want to give it a try, u keen?

cutie
its at safra kids adventure. decor from concourse. not a lot. some of the kids had nightmare that nite, they ran and played too much :p

Traz
good thing about teaching, can go back anytime. what level and subjects are u teaching?

astro,joelle
rec'd this article - wow ...just when i was about to get a book on discipline.
http://parentcenter.babycenter.com/0_the-discipline-tool-kit-successful-strategies-for-every-age_1475318.pc?scid=momsbaby_20080303:2&pe=2TWxs7j
First, the ground rules
To set the stage for discipline success, here are the bottom-line rules many experts agree on:

1. We're all in this together. Right from the start, teach your kids that your family is a mutual support system, meaning that everyone pitches in. Even a baby can learn to "help" you lift her by reaching out her arms, says Madelyn Swift, founder and director of Childright and author of Discipline for Life, Getting It Right With Children.

2. Respect is mutual. One of the most common complaints parents and kids have about each other is "You're not listening." Set a good example early on: When your child tries to tell you something, stop what you're doing, focus your attention, and listen. Later you can require the same courtesy from her.

3. Consistency is king. One good way to raise a child with emotional strength? Be consistent and unwavering about rules and chores, says Harvard professor Dan Kindlon, author of Too Much of a Good Thing. Even if you pick just one chore to insist on, your child will be better off, Kindlon says. "Being firm and consistent teaches your child that you care enough about him to expect responsible behavior."

4. Life's not always fair. We're so afraid of disappointing or upsetting our kids — too afraid, say some discipline pros. "If a child never experiences the pain of frustration — of having to share a toy or wait their turn in line — or if they're never sad or disappointed, they won't develop psychological skills that are crucial for their future happiness," says Kindlon. So if your child's upset because a younger sibling got a different punishment, for example, it's okay to say "I understand that this seems unfair to you, and I'm sorry you're upset, but life isn't always fair."

traz: that is a ceratin element of truth. coz distraction does help.. but term 2 is shorter.. maybe better lah. but term 3 very sian again.. so long! :p

Traz,
i can sense that u feel apologectic that u need to go back to work. don't feel apologetic ok. if u need the money, u need the money. It's nothing to feel bad or ashamed of. Think positive and be thankful that u have this option of going back to your job. Don't bother about what other people may say or think.. You have your life to live and your family to take care of.

Don't worry so much. Everything will turn out fine. Just that in the transition period, u will feel it a bit more tougher.. Hang in there ok!

1279510.jpg

finally manage to resize 1 pic

autum: wat abt urs?

u know wat? after all the preparations, i forgot to distribute the goodie bags to the children. too bz liao until i forgot.

Tool: Right wrongs together
How it works: Going back to the peas example above — there's a difference between a baby who playfully throws her bowl to the floor and a young toddler who knows she's creating a mess for Mommy or Daddy to clean up.

That turning point happens when your child becomes capable of knowing when she's doing something she's not supposed to, often around her first birthday. "When she looks at you with that glint in her eye and then drops the peas, you know it's time to do something." says expert Madelyn Swift. What you do, says Swift, is start teaching the concept of taking responsibility for her actions.

Real-life application: Your toddler's made a mess under her highchair. Lift her up, set her on the floor, and ask her to hand you some peas so she's "helping" you take care of it. Talk to her about what you're doing: "Okay, we made a mess with the peas so we have to clean it up." Then put her back in her chair and give her something else to eat, or end the meal.

Tool: Emphasize the positive
How it works: This one's easy: Tell your child when you like how he's behaving, rather than speaking up only when he's doing something wrong. "It takes a bit of practice to get in the habit of rewarding good behavior rather than punishing bad, but it's more effective in the end," says Ruth Peters, a clinical psychologist in Clearwater, Florida, and author of Don't Be Afraid to Discipline and other books.

Real-life application: It's nap time, a potential battle zone with your sometimes resistant toddler. Head it off by praising even small steps: "It's so great that you stopped playing with your blocks when I asked you to. That means we have extra time and can read a story. If you lie down right away, we'll have even more time and can read two stories." Keep praising each improvement he makes in his nap time routine, and make it worth his while with rewards such as stories or songs.

pink: tummy slimming...i want. or u try first?

traz/SQ: tok abt nua at home. find that since the new yr started, my work has not been smooth. *sigh* n with so many things happening (b'day bash, lasik) my engine for work cannot be started. hope it'll get better soon!

astro: ya lor, only few who left late got theirs. lucky 2 of the kids are my neighbours, so i went home then pass to them

oh ya, found out how come my boy has been waking up many times at nite & not sleeping well. attribute to too much sleep in the day. now trying to let him only nap once in afternoon. will monitor.

carol: ya . most of the time.. it is too much day sleep.. coz bbs can only sleep that long a time. normally 14 hours at this age.. so plus minus kind. all a number game.. cut down his day time slowly.. then u will realise that asher might go to bed earlier and stay asleep longer.. coz he consolidating his 'lack of sleep' into his night sleep liao

carol: think cookie monster is cute.. and the blur colouring nicely done.. imagine if it is barney.. and it is purple. think star will flip!

hey.. not bad leh. the wordings on cookie monster quite clear leh.. i thought agar agar will just smudge all together.. wah. not bad.. eh.. nice or not?.. what's the contact huh? :p

pink
me cheena teacher teaching primary school devils...

astro
ya lor...term 2 still got mid yr exam...need to mark stupid compo and conduct oral exam...term 3 usually got a lot of bo liao activities...racial harmony day celeb/national day/NE show/teachers' day....

carol
wah...ur engine resting since CNY? gorgor always say,"wait wait wait...wait for wat? wait for xmas and santa claus ah?"

autumn
3 mths paid maternity leave is really a lot of money..not that i earn a lot lah...but it's abt $10K leh! but i'm oso prepared to work extra hard at work so as not to make my colleagues feel that i'm more of a burden than help to them at work.

carol
you mei mei w/o specs already ah? show pix!
ok i will try and let u know whether the thai tummy slimming massage is good.

pink: at this stage, it's still wat the parents like. hehe!!

astro: tks for reaffirming this
hope my eye bag can be reduced to card holder soon.

Carol,
forgot to add, I chose a Sesame Street design cake! haha.. not on purpose or anything.. cos when i went to the cake shop (Pine Garden) and flip through their designs... this Sesame Street one looks nice so i just ordered that. Actually if u had gotten the same cake for Asher, it would have fit into your theme very well! hee..

1279555.jpg

my ah boi oso hv a change of clothes.... but this is after most guests have left cos clothes wet after i let him play with ice. he was crying when everyone crowd round him for b'day song

traz, u make me feel so can2 kui4 leh.. u now 2+1 still wanna go back to teaching when i cant even take it with 1.. and its not easy with pri sch kids.. i hope u get to a gd sch, then easier for gor gor to enter, and hippo and mickey/minnie(?) can follow.. so much easier on the parents.. u tried asking the gd schs u hv in mind? maybe can request to join them? which IC u gonna put little hippo? gor gor in childcare rite?

pink thx for the articles, u r rite, theory is theory, still need to put theory into practice.. i realise i give up easily. no good. oh yes, leia looks so pretty in any angle! and so do u!

happy birthday dolly Rae !!! enjoy yr cake!!

Hi Autum..

Thanks for the welcome.. anyway FYI.. DD = Dear Daughter DS = Dear Son
D= not sure.. most likely is Dear lor..

Thanks astro.. ok.. so how are u all going to contact us to confirm the class?

So many archives...
Answer some questions first then continue reading..

Traz, Yvonne: I'm having 10 times as bad MS this time compared to Anna. MS strikes at all times. I have loads of gas too - very gross. And I have pimples on my face that made me feel ugly. I also have the awful taste in my mouth all the time.

Reflection: Thank God for the baby!
But this will be the last one.

Astro is correct. bb hippo and anna has almost the same teeth growth pattern. She looked like a little dracula for some time, now all the 4 upper are out.

Michelle: Thanks for informing dlim.

Can't remember who else asked me questions..

edde
i now ting1 tian1 you2 ming4. still dunno if i'll take no pay leave to take care of bb3..so dun dare to "volunteer" my service to the good schools. anyway our area here where got good schools??? Meetoh? Rivervale? Nan Chiau? All not really that good....maybe rosyth?

thinking of shifting hse...cos my 5 rm flat has got only 2 rooms (combined a bedrm into the master bedrm as walkin wardrobe+study rm)
haiz..tat time dunno i zhe4 me hui4 sheng1...now not enough rooms! Got mil and maybe a maid in future some more...

another thing i cant stand is the stupid noisy aeroplanes in punggol...

Autum, ah bien has abt 8teeths but all popped out not in sequence...MIL said weird leh.

bbmouse, did u hv such MS problems wif Anna??

bbmouse
oh yes...pimples..i have all these grains popping out on my forehead and back...not really pimples cos no stuff inside...just lumps and lumps....
no matter wat i eat...the after taste is always sour...sian..

BBMar: No. I don't remember having MS with anna at all. Even if there was, I think it was mild lah, compared to now.

Traz: Yes, lumps and lumps. Mine all around the mouth, the lower laugh lines. Make me feel really ugly.

Huskie: Thanks for the tracking link for the registered mail. I went to the post office this morning and finished sending all 8 parcels. Then I also sent eack one an email with their tracking number and the link for them to track.

traz, meetoh no gd eh? oh dear, i am still banging on sending anthea there next time. but teaching in a sch near our home is best, save time and cost. u gonna sell yr punggol flat? i heard now our flat can fetch 100k
"profit" wor.. gd time to sell now.. so yrs mickey or minnie eh? if mickey then 3 boys can bunk tog! so fun! actually even if its minnie can also bunk tog..

me same lor, no room for maid coz converted 1 room into a study and i dun want maid to sleep in the same room as anthea leh... my fren said i stupid, pay $240 for a PT maid might as well get one FT one. but anyhow, i "sack" the maid liao. i will be the maid. now everything must save $.

aeroplane? haha.. i xi guan liao. i hate the din at koufu more. rite under my window.

I would like to withdraw from the CRAWLERS 2. Didnt know Zombie is organising the walkers 1.

<font color="purple">Zombie</font>, can i join in? Thanks...

<font color="blue">Baby Jumper Gym - WALKERS 1 date and timing : TBC
cost:$41.50

1. astro
2. pink
3 QQ
4.Yvonne
5.nana
6. DLim

Re: ON Spree #2 &amp; #3
Dear Mummies, our items hv rch my plc. HB just recd from the postman.
Please give time to sort your stuffs and i will update the list asap.

Paging for hope!!
Your items for Spree #1 still uncollected...i will pass 2 u together wif the new spree hor.

Pink: I have corrected Anna's bad naptime habits. She is now able to fall asleep on her own once again. No one needs to be in her room. So she CIO for 1 day only.

Thank God she's not a v stubborn girl like me. Think for me, my mum will have to let me CIO for a v long time.

wow!! archives 3pages?!?!! siao...nid to catch up again

i havent gv my ans to the co yet leh...very tempted to accept but hor, trying to convince myself that 5.5days alt is ok...and not able to take leave on festive and Dec is ok too...

haizz...

Mash: I don't think it's ok leh. But maybe you just want to give it a try to see how it goes. And in the meantime, to look for another job.

mash: didnt read archives but seeing ur post now, i wld say dun rush into getting this job. 5.5 days really siong leh, weekends become super short. with kids now, we also need flexi time to take leave if nec. unless the pay is so gd until u can disregard all these?

jyun: i dun mind calling lah..
.. ehh. so i shall call? ok.. stupid qn.calling now..

dlim: ehh. my nick changes with the weather.. known as Astro here.. heehee.. welcome..

nana: normally we will post here.. to inform keep everyone updated..

hope: hey. ur hb. looks ang mo. ur looks also quite exotic.. no wonder constance's looks so unique

autum: saw the pics liao. handsome boy &amp; pretty preggie mommy! hapi family! i like the balloons on the cake! hehe!! r those the same balloons as the ones on star's cake?

ehh.. carol: no worries.. first few days a bit jialat.coz asher will be over tired coz sleep not 'enough' but over some time. he will et into routine liao.. and ur eye bags become card holders liao.. :p

traz: yahor.. forgot many events in term 3 one.. but i just hate 10 weeksleh.. siong!