(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

edde,
our kids are really young now so whether I bring them up well or not, still yet to know. But my way of handling them now is (some mummies had mentioned before) => happy mummy = happy kids. And happy kids = better development (physically or emotionally)
So ultimately you'll have to keep yourself happy & stress-free 1st.

Many people had also asked me how I can manage my twins, my job & my business. I believe that since God gave me a pair of twins, he must have know that I can handle. And at times when I can't, he'll be there to help & guide me. So I don't have to worry too much & just live my life as it is.
Life is too short to get worried about things. We won't know what will happen tomorrow. So what if I plan & plan for my kids' future & I leave this world in an accident or illness tomorrow? I'll regret not having a good & happy time with them.

i did the thelessemia test last time after my blood test results showed a positive. was so worried... from the day the hosp called me till the results came out i kept asking myself wat will i do if confirm.. will i terminate? then next time cannot have kids i might as well die better?! :/ luckily detailed test showed all is fine! my detailed scans involves checkin out the spine as well as kidneys and internal organs to make sure they are functioning well. took a long while too.. and had to take a break even cos baby keep curling up and blocking his kidneys or something!

Mummies: Take the cue from our babies. We can let them try out the different classes etc. But we also need to check ourselves what's the objectives. For me, I only want to expose her to the different areas. If she's enjoying herself, then we will continue; else we stop.

Edde: Don't stress yourself. Let Anthea be. She is really doing well now.
Listen to her.

Irin: I have one backdrop. Am thinking if I need another one. ??

edde,
you're gonna hate me for saying this, but yday when you said that shicida is a "must" and kindermusik is leisure, i told myself i must not fall into that "trap"

pardon my honesty, but i think if you have that mentality, you will stress yourself and anthea even more leh.

sorry ah, we all different mothering techniques. no one is right or wrong, just what we're comfortable with. so if you feel stressed, you might wanna evaluate your values and how you wanna educate anthea

aiyo, i feel so bad saying this. you are so much more learned than me in education for sure and i still so yaya tell you this.

sorry ah, just feel that i need to get it out of the system so won't have any xing1 bing4.

please don't be offended

Autum,
when you wanna drop by? I won't be around tomorrow's evening. How about Thurs evening? I forgot all about having something that says "Happy Birthday". You are the 1st person to remind me. hahaha! My decor only with the small triangle banners, balloon bouquet, balloons & pooh scene setter lor.

You can do your own big Happy Birthday banner. I did something like what Enne had for their 1st month celebration.

Pink: My hubby helped cos I'm immobile now. He arranged the buffet and went down to order the cake after discussing with me. Why?

Enne,
no theme for my boy bday party la.. i so lazy one.. what theme! hahah.. it's just that Irin posted she got extra backdrop to sell.. and it's quite convenient for me to get stuff from her cos her shop is very near my place! so I just take opportunity lor.. keekke.. u want to sell your banners also? where you stay?

bbmouse,
where are you having your celebration? If the place has more than 1 blank wall then you can have another backdrop lor. For mine, I could only find 1 big blank wall in the chalet.

pinkpink,
I was the one solely doing the planning, coordination and paying!!! Hubby had always felt that parties are a chore. But after the end of everything, he praised me for the good job so now I'm trying to get reimbursement from him. hehe!

Irin: Hmm.. there is one blank wall but it's quite wide. Never mind lah. Can't expect perfection in everything. I'll just live with it.
Am afraid in the end we don't put up the decor at all.. Hahaha..

SQ,
I always find your honesty very refreshing! I m sure no muumy here will ever be offended by what you say, because those are your honest deep-down feelings and thinking.

Pink,
I initially very ambitious.. remember.. I wanted to invite the WHOLE world to EJ's bday party.. but then, laziness kicked in.. and I dilly-dally cannot find suitable place. I did call a few restaurants but all too exp.. Safra Toa Payoh I called also.. but only left with Saturday morning.. so timing a bit weird.. anyway, in answer to your question, if I leave everything to my hubby, his answer is we book the function room at my condo and book buffett.. don't care about whether enough space or not.. just let people hang around.. don't care if got rainy weather or not.. just leave it to luck.. and of course, zero decorations.. So I kind of decide to take his suggestions to do at my place.. but I think I must still try to decor a bit la.. else very sian!

Autum-I can pass to u if u want no need sell la, no prob coz the birthday banner only used once ler now will be 'collecting dust'. I stay same as Irin, in SK, I never been to her shop b4 yet, waiting for her 'invitation'. hehehe.

Irin-eh u make me realized for my boy 1st mth celebration there was no decor done coz I did my confinement at my MIL place thus celebration held there also, I din thot of decor that time at all!

Irin,
actually hor, as I am typing now, I don't even know if the function room at my condo got any blank wall or not! hahaha.. i think should have bah.. cos the function room is small and surrounded by glass-door fronting the swimming pool.. sekali no blank wall!

Thur evening is fine.. wat's your handphone number huh?

Autum,
I'm only selling the extra BN backdrop, not the banners and centrepiece. I can just pass those to you. My hp 98482883.

Enne,
you can arrange to meet Autum at my shop lor. hehe.
I didn't do much decor for their 1st month also except that I had too much time during my confinement so I made the Happy Birthday banner with their names for them.

wa autum and astro,
thks. i sweated for the last five minutes after no one acknowledge my post. scared everyone ignore me.
then deliberated for 10mins before i posted.
now i can go to bed liao
tata

yap bbmouse, will take que from anthea. astro reminded me of that just now too

SQ, u r my true fren, coz u r very frank with me
now i feel so foolish for saying that coz astro made me go thru a round of self-realisation just now. i told astro i will take cue from anthea whether she feels stressed. then i quoted anthea in kinder, that she is so excited and happy everytime we step into kinder. then astro asked me, then why stop kinder?! ya lor, why eh? i think i must be crazy to stop something she enjoys so much! as for shichida & GUG, i will give her a chance to try and see how it goes.. thx SQ
(PS an educator can fall into her own trap too!)

Irin,
wau.. u also made me feel so touched! hahaah.. i like greedy pig hor.. kekekekek.. ;p hmm, i will sms u on thursday ok? roughly wat time will u be there?

SQ,
so funny! good nite!

I'll be in the shop from 8-9pm. But ... you better msg me & remind me on Thurs to bring the stuff out else I'll forget all about it. I don't have a good memory. hehe.

Autum-haa buay yao gin la. You need balloons?? I pass u some balloons too coz I bought but din use coz my brother bought for me too and I ordered the balloon bouquet also. SO when u heading to R&R mummy shop?

8-9pm seems late, worst come to worst I pass to Irin, then u get from Irin??? when u holding celebration? If no time, I pass to Irin first??

SQ: Nite nite. I think the good thing abt the forum is that we don't have to be afraid/paiseh/embarrassed of giving frank opinions. Cos we are a community that can be considered either close or not very close, depending on how you define it. You know what I mean..

Edde: Yah lah. Most impt is whether Anthea enjoys herself or not.

Me going to bed too. Nite nite..

Enne,
As per Irin's post, we will meet around 8-9pm on thursday. Hmm, if not convenient for u, then we meet separately bah.. u don't have to go there to meet us la.

bbmouse,
so it's one big piece of wall? Then you'll need to have the same backdrop else it'll look weird with 2 different backdrop side by side?

bbmouse
i see mummies posting so much about the planning, didnt see daddies involved, thats why asking..cos im also the sole planner...plan venue, book venue, plan cake, plan buffet, source decor, invite..fortunately my galfrens are assigned to help me with some of the tasks like getting the decor, decorating on the day itself, collecting cake, if not i sure cannot cope.

my einvite for leia was finally done, asked my colleague to help cos daddy too busy these 2 weeks, he didnt have time to spend with Leia too, i feel disappointed cos he's the most creative among all. today when i sent out the invite to him, he told me that he love his daughter, if i'd reminded him, he would have put aside time for this..anyway i hope the event will turn out well, only inviting 30+pax...:p here's the simple invite
1255814.jpg

edde
dun worry, i dun think u are whining, u are merely sharing your views and problems, just like me:p everyone is entitled to their own opinions and we come here to share share and learn from one another.

edde,
cos i risk falling into the same trap! that's why it seems like i'm telling you, but it's more a reminder for myself. you got to bear with me here. haha....

now i'm so happy i can't go to zzz. go bom bom first. just came back from jap class haven't bom bom yet!

Irin: I think so too. Can't have 2 of the same. It's ok. I've decided that I shd not ask for perfection in everything. It's a birthday celebration and the most important thing is that anna enjoys herself.

Actually if all goes well for my gynae visit this fri, I will also be telling my ils abt the pregnancy. Feels weird they don't know yet while some of my friends already do.

star/ irin
pete ah..slept most of the day today...now he zzz, me still wide awake, March 5th will be his appt with neuro clinic. How is your agar agar? set oredi? share with us your creation!

irin
tks wah MJ table? eh...useless for me :p think maybe table to put the loot bags lor.

Enne,
I should be doing on the 1st Mar or 2nd Mar which is 2 weekends from now. anyway, I just sent you a PM. you go see okie.

Pink,
nice invite leh.. can do one for me?? hhahaha.. kidding la.. I will do a simple one bah..

wow pink

wat a nicely done einvite!! Hubby actually doin the invite le..supp to be ready by yday..cos of wat happend yday..delay ..is it too late if i get him to do it by next wk? At home no software for him to do....

pink,
your einvite looks so nice. Leia's so princess like!!

Come to think of it, I was abit silly to print out hard copy of my invite. Should have emailed to friends instead. aiyoh. Anyway, also want share the one I did though quite simple.
1255828.gif

aiyo SQ, just saw yr previous post on how u deliberated for 10min before posting! aiyo... aiyo... sorry leh... made u go thru the struggle.. but like wat autum said, nobody here will be offended by yr post lah! not everybody has the gut to be so frank at the stake of offending the person even tho its for his/her own gd ok! i admire u for yr guts and "frankness" and definitely yr wisdom!

autum/ SQ
i m reading your posts...agree with autumm you are very DIRECT :p but i can really FEEL you mean it with no offence with watever you are saying le

irin/ pink
so far i do most of the planning, venue, buffet, decor blah blah..hubby doin card only lor..hmm will come out from our joint a/c :p irin must get back $$$ for your hardwork! :pP

autum,
u moved house oredi?? no longer in s'goon??

belle,
good lah, he should be resting more.
Ya, I faced a mj table for 3 days and yet didn't get to play at all.
Last time need to rent mj but now they'll lend you for free. Good hor?
You can use the small white plastic table for your loot bags.

belle,
I'm trying hard to get my reimbursement from him. Even not all, at least half, I'll be happy liao. Spent almost $1k+ for the whole party.
Hope it gets "approve".

yup, using photoshop.
I wanted to do everything for them by myself, spent many nights for this & the photo montage while my hubby was snoring away in the bed. "Shi Shang Zhi You Ma Ma Hao" hahaha!

Edde,

I'm about to comment on your post after coming out of the shower and see that others have already spoken my mind. Something happened to me that pissed me off really badly just now and my train of thoughts while showering led back to you. I agreed that you can definitely let Anthea join as many classes as you and her likes. As long as both of you are mentally and physically able to take it (and you are financially capable of course).

It is a thankless job being a mother who is concerned about the "education" of your infant. Others will think that it is a waste of time and money. Why bother sending a baby to school? Such a kiasu mother. While I agree that there are parents who are overly concerned about a child's academic results, I'm afraid that those who are concerned about a child's learning have been unfortunately lumped into the same category. Learning is a passion cultivated for life and not for academic results. I cannot said that I'm totally unconcerned at all about how well YT will do in school in future but my main concern is about her passion for learning, the rest will follow. If there is only one thing in the world that I can teach her, it is to love to learn and that is a tough thing to impart if possible at all. But it is a thankless job. Nobody will said that you have done well teaching your baby when they do well academically later in life. They will say they are clever. Even your baby will not remember that you have ever helped in his or her learning and if they do well, they will think it is because they are clever.

Maybe I'm being bitter about it. Guess it is not totally true that it is a thankless job. At least I remember my mother investing in my learning process even though I din really thank her for it. Maybe I should. Cuz not every parent is like her.

irin
i m still thinking wat to bring (cos we dun drive!) to entertain chloe...frankly at home she dun hv much toys wahahha...i think i will just entertain her with watver i have :p my handphone la, plastic bag la, let her play on the bed (with supervision of cos) she loves to play on the bed, oh which reminded me, reyes got a bump on her forehead? alamak...better now?

autum
orrh..tot u mention condo function room mah..

irin
yeah i made a rough estimation too...i will spend almost that amt, i m thinking wah...lidat no more $$ for mother's day celebration oredi keke.

hey irin
i like yours too, very natural!
ya i thought hardcopy troublesome and most of our frens have email, may as well lor, save $

blurbelle
if my hubby does it, the standard will be much better :p

autum
i can ask my colleague whether she has time anot...but her last day will be this friday :p

belle,
you can rent some toys from those toy rental shops. They deliver to the chalet. That's what my next door "neighbour" at the chalet did.
The bed is really high so no joke. Better pull the mattress to the floor once you reach the place. Reyes' "kok tao" is even more obvious now, with the bruise somemore.