(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

bbmouse,
shicida sounds fun afterall

Astro: See above post to Edde. Shd give you some ideas.

Energy ball - The idea is to be filled with good energy and this is an action game. So the parent rubs the hands of the child and gathers the good energy around to make into a big ball. Then we lift up the big ball and splashes it on the child. Then we rub away the bad energy. Next we make a small energy ball and compact it using the palms. Then we hold it in our hands and open the mouth to eat the energy ball. Now the children are all filled with good energy. So they'll turn around and give the mummy or daddy a big hug.

Got it?

Hope I'm not divulging some trade secrets of shichida here.. Hahaha..

my colleague and I.. having an interesting discussion.. on such education programmes, its philosphines. do 'active' critque of the activities and how the activites attempt to acheive the goals and philosophies..

she signed up 3 year old son for Mindchamp instead of shichida.. and for mindcamp. it is just as exp..
she mentioned that the mindchamp has free trial where u can go and observe..

Astro: The duration is 75mins, give and take. At the end of the class, the teacher will write a short report on the baby's participation in class. She always writes good things only. Cos the emphasis is to focus on the individual child and not whether the child gets the answers right or wrong.

My mummy was telling me nowadays kids attend these classes at such early days. Will they become stressful? And are we too KS??

BBmar: I don't think the child knows what is stress. To him/her, it's just another playtime. Actually the stress comes from the parents.

SQ: There will be at least 20 different activities in each lesson. It can be over-whelming. To the parent, cos we got to do each activity with the child who is trying to climb all over the place, who gets cranky, who starts to make noise etc..

bbmouse: yeap read that. maybe i missed that out.. for duration for lesson? how long?

i find the ESP training and the Enenery ball a bit vague in its learning objectives.. just my opinion..

QQ,
hehe, I've been a "hyperactive" child since young. Perhaps cos I don't like to sleep so I have more time on hand. I'm someone who feels that sleeping is a waste of time. hehe.

bbmouse: ok.. got it. thanks..

colleauge says mindchamps does the same .. the good feedback in report. BUT they also let the parents know the areas forimprovement.. of course they dun let the bbs know the negative feedback. coz want to encourage.

*wink at bb mouse* Agreed wif wad u said...stress comes from the parents. Somehow, when the child enjoys himself, the parents oso feel happie.

edde: got some books/reserach on the shichida method.. try to get a hold on them.. go library.. search internet etc.. read that before u conclude anything

THanks Michelle for the enormous effort.

Date - 9 March or 16 March (Tentatively this 2 dates but GUG will confirm again)
Time - 1:30pm - 3pm

1) Baby Name - Jayden Low
Date of Birth - 25.03.2007
*Mother Name* - Dlim
*Date Prefer* - 09-Mar-07

2) Baby Name - Vanessa Lai
Date of Birth - 03.04.2007
*Mother Name* - The Mrs Lai
*Date Prefer* - 09-Mar-07

3. Aprilmum
Baby name - Xin Ning
Date of Birth - 23.04.2007
*mother name* - Shirley
*Date Prefer* - 16 March 2008

4) Baby Name - Keira Ang
Date of Birth - 27.04.2007
*Mother Name* - michellek
*Date Prefer* - 16-Mar-07

5. kiddo

6. Baby Name - Anna
Date of Birth - 26.02.2007
*Mother Name* - S Lee (bbmouse)

7. fen

8. Darbebe
Baby Name: Nicole Lim
DOB: 12th April 2007
Mother Name: Darbebe
Date Prefer: 16th Mar 08

9. huskiebabs
BB Name: Sophie Ang
DOB: 8 Feb 2007
Mother Name: Huskie
Date preferred: 16 March

10. ixora
BB name: Joanie Tan
DOB: 14 April 2007
Mother's name: ixora
Date prefer: 16 Mar 08

11. mindy
BB name: Dillion Ng
DOB: 05 April 2007
Mother's name: Min
Date prefer: 16 Mar 08

12. springdance

13. Xen
BB Name: Clara
DOB: 12.04.2007
Mother Name: Xen
Date prefer: 9th Mar 07

14. ??

15. jyun
BB Name: Fabian
D.O.B: 28th Feb 07
Mother Name: jyun
Date Prefer: 16th Mar 07

16. edde
17. autum
18. vic
19) Baby Name - Lai Chiew Tynn
Date of Birth - 05.03.2007
*Mother Name* - QQ

20. Cool Daughter

21. Taro
BB Name: Yu Xiang
DOB: 17th April 2007
Mother Name: Taro
Date Prefer: 9th Mar 07

22. AugLeo
BB Name: Jian Kai
DOB: 29th March 2007
Mother Name: AugLeo
Date prefer: 9th Mar 07

23. germaine
BB Name: Clyde
DOB: 14 March 07
Mother Name: Germaine
Date prefer: 16 Mar 07

24. cutie_jace

WAITLIST, ok ?

1. Fong
2. ladysol
3. Lynda
4. blueroti
5. huajing

Hey SQ
its not easy to start a biz cos it needs a lot of committment and many pple just talk enthusiastically about it but will not give up wat they have to start 1 due to the hi risk. i hope to save enough to open my own little shop. ya its at off sembawang, very far tho.

how i wish schicida has trial class:p

QQ
your hubby said that about it ah...hahha he's so observant. he's right! im quite bochap..

edde: got some books/reserach on the shichida method.. try to get a hold on them.. go library.. search internet etc.. read that before u conclude anything

pink,
ya, the capital is a concern. plus we have different agenda. for me, i just want a place to chat with people and have fun! haha... i've always fantasized about working in a salad bar / coffee joint so i can meet a lot of customers.

now the plan is when YE is old enuf to go to some preschool, i can use a few hours a week to work part time at these places. just for the experience

SQ: No. I dun intend to send Teng to shichida unless

1) Shichida permits a trial and let me see how teng react to the activities...

2) i find the time to read the research done on Shichida and draw my own evaluation.

3) the shichida website be more creditable and give the information which is necessary and not do just pure marketing. Honestly when i read their website, i had many question marks in my mind.

hi bbmouse, thx so much for yr sharing! its impt to me coz i am thinking whether to drop shichida now... *duh*

mejo, when i was reading yr post, i was thinking to myself "wah, mejo came from a rich family." until the last part when u mentioned abt yr parents. WOW! yr parents commands my respect! they must be so xin1 wei4 that all their effort paid off!

mejo, my hubby is exactly like yrs. he doesnt believe in all these. but he allows as long as we can afford it (we combine income) and anthea enjoys it. he also thinks that i am doing these out of peer pressure.

pink, QQ, "over anxious" and "too strict" are my zhi4 ming4 shang1.. i am constantly reminding myself not to be so.

had a pillow talk with hb last nite. made me come to a realisation, maybe subconsciously i want anthea to do well in academics too. or else, why send her to shichida? coz i am hoping that the photographic memory skill and concentration skill can help in her studies. or perhaps, not really to do well lah, just dun struggle in studies like my students are.

astro, forgot to add this last nite, hubby is against shichida rite from the start. he nvr believes in it.

re:hubby
I think all hb are the same ok at least 99% incase some differ. My hb also dun think Clyde will learn much in kindermusik. He almost wanna terminate the class cos Clyde is always cranky during lesson. Those in the class will know lah hahah that koala bear in the class. The only plus thing my hb see in it is allowing Clyde to be more open to crowd.

Re:Birthday bash
Muah hb also like lukewarm only. So I have to do all the research and send him the link to see to excite him. Aiyoh when will the world change?

pink,
it's always a tot at the back of my mind.
i told my boss in all honesty that i'm not actively looking out, but he knows that if the right opportunity comes along, i will consider

and "right" has got nothing to do with $. haha... if my family depend on me to bring home the bread, they sure starve to death!

i'm more for the "experience" kind lah. just like i wanna give YE the experience in kindermusik, and other programs. it's top on my list in terms of priorities. i believe there's no courses / classes / experiences which we do not learn anything. if there is, the fault lies within ourselves.

pink
that's why i'm waiting for you to open your own coffee joint. then employ me.

or QQ to start her playgroup, then employ me

who else looking for labour?

edde: pillow talk ah? anything after that?? :p:p.. ok.. astro be serious serious ah.. so now. u want to get some those research books on shichida method and read abt it.. and draw ur own conclusion?.. coz when u firmly believe in the method..and really sure why u send anthea there then can anthea fulfill her maximum potential.. and u not be in this guilt trap and dilemma
sorry ah. last night. teng woke up and then i had to tend to him.. so just abruptly cut off the conversation..

wah. then ur hb will be like 'what strike my wife ah?! tommorrow must go buy toto".. heehee :p

SQ: why that smile? :p:p

i also wanted to start a cafe leh.,, last time.. but i look at the way i mange my finance.. i conclude.. i cannot make it :p

SQ: teng having fever.. just called mum. brought him see doc. gave him 3 types of med. and i heard him whining in the backgd.. haiz.. and happy feeding him med liao lor.. haiz..

astro,
that was in return for yours regarding your thots on shicida

haha... the way you manage your finance sucks? me too. my hubby and brother have been harping on that

re: baby sleep throughout the nite
Mummies, I am still not able to make clyde sleep throughout the nite. And recently lagi worst. He will cry at about 3am and i have to put the pacifer back to his mouth and he will cry again if it drop. How huh?

Germaine: teng is just as koala bear. but because they have the koala bear nature.. then must open them up to crowds and socialise them more. iniitially they might not be able to handle. but slowly theycan handle.. sometimes.. we need to suppor tthe children.. and face their 'fears'.. and when they learn that there is nthing to be fearful abt.. they will be better

astro,
you have my sympathy. YE will take her last dose of antibiotics tomorrow am. i've been anxiously counting down since we first started 6 days ago!

astro,
ya lor. i want YE to be sociable too. and not afraid to explore. that's why i have such a challenge between maintaining discipline and letting her explore. so in kindermusik i try to let her have free rein as long as she's not bothering the kids and teacher (which is like never!)

giolyn,
cos clyde needs paci to fall zzz?

SQ: ya.. i am horrible in finance.. thought iknow accounting.. and did accounting.. and I am a econs major. hahahah!!! yalor.. Miser is finanace minster at home.. he manages all the finance.. he attempts to manage mine. but gives up coz no way he can drum the virtue of thriftiness into me.. hahaha. he just tell me.. ' as long as u can tahan till end of the month.. ' whahahha.. and he pays from everything lor.. he says if leave me to d o that.. think will be in huge debt liao ...

wahahahaa.. but i like it this way.. free my mind from all these 'unnecessary' thoughts.. and allow me to 'wander and explore'.. hahaa.. hopeless impractical piscean hor? how abt u, my cancerian? :p

Astro: Hmm... Shichida aims to build up the hardware (ie the brain) of the child. The result is not immediately observable and I think it's through the combination of activities (instead of any activity in isolation) that bring out the abilities of the brain.

SQ, peer pressure coz i see everyone doing so lor.. not really my frens lah coz they are not as siao as me. maybe i shld say "society pressure" instead.

"strict" is gd, but not "too strict". yesterday was the first (proper) time i actually reprimanded anthea. she has this habit of biting the buckle when sitting in the high chair. high chair outside is so dirty lor! yesterday as usual she was abt to put the buckle in her mouth then i saw it and quickly pulled it away and said "no" in a very stern voice. she got startled and started to bian3 zhui3 and cry. then i explained to her why she cant do that, pointing to the buckle. she seemed to catch me coz aft that i pointed to the buckle again and she shook her head.

hubby wanted to carry her when i was disciplining but i stopped him. i must be the one to carry her aft disciplining coz i dun want her to think that "mummy is scolding, but nvm daddy will protect me". and i carried her aft that to show her that tho i scold her i still loves her and sayang her. am anxious to see if she remembers my scolding the next time she sits in the high chair.

edde,
"everyone"? when you list down the names, you'll find that there's only a few people. haha.

wa, anthea so clever! YE doesn't leh. i try to explain to her she will insist. or she will look at me to check and then still proceed. discipline is sth i got to learn

SQ: yesterday night.. when saw teng had fever, cough slightly.. ly down like gag and want ot vomit like that. i think of YE and u.. i was like " YE recovering.. now teng's turn?! haiz."..

ops.. u are just as bad.. think as long as we have enough to spend.. can liao.. hahaa.. had an investment/insurance talk in RP the other day.. I went there for the sole purpose of having the free lunch provided.. haha. and to bring all the brouchures back for Miser to anaylse and let him see if i! can invest in them or not .. hahaa.. actually it is for him to invest ! :p

SQ, Clyde does need pacifier to fall asleep but once he is a sleep his pacifier will drop. So recently it always starts with a cry first in the middle of the nite and then ok after i put the pacifier and cry again if it dropped. I wonder is it that he has nite mare or hum bin.

Mummies what time do you all stop playing with ur bbs huh.

wah kaoz.. astro, i hate reading leh.. last nite aft pillow tok anthea weh weh weh lor... haha... my auntie visits me leh.. sianz... got auntie no didi... re shichida, i will let hubby read bbmouse's post and discuss again lah.. gotta decide by this wkend. hey thx for last nite counselling session wor.. made u stay up till so late... buy u teh next time k!

aiyo SQ, u test me on my ang mo leh! haha.. of coz not everyone as in "every one" lah.. but many many... its a 社会风气 bah.. our forum is already a mini society liao.

astro,
at least you bother to go. me would siam like crazy. my financial planners got to explain the same things to me and i dun get it. i always have to bring hubby along and get him to sit through

giolyn,
you suspect nightmare?
not the pacifier?

i'm v jialat. i play with her all the way till the minute i whipped her off to bed. her bedtime routine always less than 5 mins

edde: good what? the way u inisited on that.. and anthea is very responsive!! i think u should continue with that.
persists with this.. and i dun think this is TOO strict leh.

ya.. actually not everyone..like what SQ mentioned..

bbmouse: noted and u def right on that. discussed with colleague on that too.. interesting discussion we had just now ..

alamak edde,
no lah. what i meant is when it seems like everyone is doing sth, got to think who these "everyone"s are. then you'll find that they don't seem as many, or these are people who are not related to anthea's growth. so ultimately it's back to yourself.

i try to psycho myself lidat sometimes. else sure go crazy with the pressure liao

SQ: Too late liao. Anna was cranky so I brought her downstairs to look at birds. I came back with a terrible pout of nausea. Puked til tummy empty. But I have no appetite. Still have the packet of nasi lemak untouched.

Astro: You've got to believe in the abilities and powers of the right brain. The brain is a complex organ, let alone the activities used to harness this power and ability. That's why we may not understand, for eg, why flash dots to little children? Why let them listen to foreign language songs we adults don't even understand, etc.

Edde: Hey, after you've done your homework and weigh the pros and cons and made a decision, you've got to believe in your decision. You can't be changing your minds everytime you hear and see someone doing something else. Then either you didn't do a thorough homework or you're being a perfectionist. Either way, you end up stressing yourself even more.