(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

belle,
their bday & mother's day quite far apart leh!!
It's an expensive birthday party, I must say. But then again, it'll be 20 yrs later before there's another big one so $1k for 20yrs, it's only $50 every yr lah. haha!

pink,
you reminded me of how silly I am. Printed the hardcopies and hand-delivered to those near me & posted some to those not so near ... chey !!!

bbmouse, can u do me a BIG favour? can u tell me roughly how a typical shichida lesson is like? if not convenient can PM me. thx!

pink
aiyo so nice liao..no need to high standard la :p
too bad i duno my co. artist PERSONALLY..if not i ask them do for me :p the one i know busy prep for wedding paiseh to ask keke..

moogen
hubby had a relapse yday - epilepsy lor...

irin
rent = pay keke..at this moment i duno HOW MANY with kids will come le..if not enuff kids to play, then not worth le..cos all diff age grp . alamak u got rub rub with zambuk??? massage for her la..aiyo poor thing. oh ya sudd thinking of this, RR have prob sleeping in a 'foreign land'? i scared chloe dun wanan zz i mati la.

feeling guilty now..had one donut just now :p

u another funny mummy la irin!
wah u surely know how to count lor...yeah i m thinking too..next big party will be 21st liao..by then maybe dun want mummy to tag liao..so maybe i save $? :p

Irin,

Positive thalassemia carriers parents have 1 in 4 chances of having a thalassemia major child. Thalassemia major is a serious condition. Most will require blood transfusions every month and they will not be expected to live for very long (as in a normal persons livespan but some may still live 20, 30 years or more I think). I'm actually quite surprised to know that I have aunties and cousins who are carriers on my mother side only after I have given birth and not done any tests. Must remind my sis to check before she plans for a family cuz she has low blood pressure. My blood test is so perfect (better than normal according to my gynae) that I doubt I'm a carrier. Highly unlikely so I won't be testing and nobody seemed to be a carrier on my hubby's side either.

belle,
don't rent too many lor. Just get a slide or seesaw cos most kids like these. Else you can go get those air-pump pool and fill with balls. It's only selling at $19.90. Children likes that too. You can let chloe bath in that also.

Was in a shock state to remember to rub for her, now too late liao. Anyway the bruise's beginning to lighten so should be ok soon.
They slept well there, maybe cos of the aircon. Woke up later than normal days at home. Remember to bring long sleeve and long pants pyjamas for Chloe.

irin, blurbelle
im in the eBusiness, so will think of webby stuff first..its a pity i dun know how to use photoshop, but i will waste a lot of time thinking & designing, should i do this, should i do that, chey forget it..

belle,
err, i am staying in a condo leh.. i thot u know? i m staying in a small-scale condo. Less than 100 units.. so there is a function room at my place.. but because small condo, everything is in small scale.. the function room is small, swimming pool is small, gym is super small (only 3pc of equipment inside i think)..

hey irin
forgot to ask u..wat do u sell in your cafe? cakes? kueys? do u make it yourself or? im thinking of helping my hubby's fren, very poor thing, running 1 man show...im considering to help him free of charge and learn a bit of F&B

wah mejo! wat u jus said very chim leh! sets me thinking! ya lo..when we do well in school we neva attribute it to our parents wan hor. but yet..when we misbehave, ppl say 'mei2 jia1 jiao4'. hmmm.. tonight cannot sleep liao..must think over this..tmr go hug my mother...heh...she give me wisdom wan leh hor!

edde: jus wanna add my personal thoughts... last time mum always has our 'future' thought out. then wanna us to be doctors, lawyers and whatever high flying ppl. it kinda gets very depressing when we don't do well and we feel we r a big disappointment. sometimes it's moments like those that make us feel like 'jumping'. then as we get older, our choices in life become wat our parents wanted, but not our passion. which is kinda sad for anyone. our parents lived their lives already, we should be allowed to lead ours, and not try to fulfil wat they did not achieve. otherwise, this will be passed down endlessly. it took me alot to give up my 'degree' and hundreds of thousands my mum spent to send me to school, to be a sahm. i felt like such a disappointment. but i do want to lead my life and love my baby, but not in the same way my mum has done - showing love though working hard and paying for material things, even my education. ultimately, i think back and it is my childhood fun that lingers in my memory, not schooltime leh. :/

Mejo,
tks for the info. The normal blood test we do during preggie time able to know whether thalassemia carrier or not? So meaning even if both parents are carriers, the chance is 1 in 4, not a confirmed case of having a thalassemia major child? Sorry if I sounded too lor soh. Just wanted to find out more. My hubby's definitely not a carrier cos he had yearly checkups by SAF & cleared. Then does that mean I don't have to test (if not yet test) cos 1 postive carrier parent no chance of having a thalassemia major child?

autum
i duno hehe..i keep thinking u staying at sgoon side near nyjc...haha..

pink
wah so kind of u to help ur friend..urrr u got time ?? with monster chloe i oredi super exhausted le.

irin
tks for the reminder..must rem to bring warm clothes for Chloe. re: toys will consider la..hv to dpd haha scully all adults :p

pink,
it's not a cafe. It's just a snackshop selling take away food like nonya kuehs, chwee kuehs, baos, otah, bread, herbal teas, crackers, bread, nasi lemak, meesiam, soya bean milk, bak chang, desserts & etc ...
We get everything from suppliers cos I didn't apply for the cooking license. What do you mean by helping your hubby's friend? What he sells?

belle,
oh ya, must bring alot alot of clothes for chloe unless you wanna wash there. hehe! Actually I suggested the toy rental not for the kids but for chloe to keep her entertained there also. RR enjoyed themselves & didn't get cranky cos of the toys too. I was worried that they'll get cranky and stick to me but they ended up playing with the toys more than with me.

blurbelle
i want to learn something and move on. Im very stagnant and bored in my office, if not for the flexibility.

irin
he's very good with coffee, family runs coffee bean biz. he wanted to do something on his own and used up his savings to rent this cafe for 20mths. problem is he doesnt have business sense. menu put all the way inside, pple who walk past dun even dare to walk in to see menu etc.

irin
orrh ic ic..ok will ask hubby if i should spend again kekekek...

pink
wah if u keen why not..learn sthing new, can help friend at the same time..

pink,
it's a good learning chance. You'll be able to "see" things better from another view & help him analyse his business. Can see that you do have a flair for F&B line.

mejo, joelle, thx for sharing... but can i find out from u, wat category do u think i belong to eh? passion for learning or learning for grades? haha.. coz i have a feeling maybe my posts have misled many of u...

i am def not the learning for grades kind leh.. ok.. like mejo said, i cant say i am totally boh chap abt grades but i am more concerned with her "soft skills" (if there is such a word) meaning values, character building etc. i believe in so not only as a parent, but also as a teacher. in fact as a teacher, i do not advocate things like spelling, chao xie.. etc.. i want my students to learn with their hearts.. i am very pro Social Emotional Learning.. dats why mejo and joelle, i agree with u

mejo, yr mum has def done a great job! coz i find u very learned. well versed in many aspects like science, med, gardening and now education! wat happened that made u feel so "cheng sim" in a mother's role? u sound dejected.

hubby just reminded me something, children mould aft their parents. with such a pessimistic and paraniod mother like me, how to raise kids with positive thinking! how true..

ok enuf said, i am off before i get on more pple's nerves. i have to solve my own "boh liao problem" (<- as my hubby put it).

Irin,

Yes, even if both positive, it is only 1 in 4 chances (but if suay, first one can be liao - e.g. my friend's elder sis is a major, first child). If you are sure your hb not a carrier, it doesn't matter for you to check unless you have reasons to suspect that you are a carrier and therefore your children may be carriers, in which case, you may still want them to know. Thalassemia minor ppl may also have low blood pressure.

Joelle, edde,

Hb's family is different school of thoughts from my side I guess. That is the problem. Or maybe it is not the family, just my hb. He thinks that all those GUG whatever are gimmicks after our money. He did not believe that babies can learn or that even if they did, they will forget. He feels that I'm doing all these because "people on the forum" does it so I'm just trying to follow like other people have I also must have like that. Conveniently forgetting that I'm using my own money. I had paid for practically every single thing to do with education. I paid for kindermusik even though it is a strain on my finances since I'm now working part time but I'm not complaining. But there are people telling me not to spend so much money, not to waste money blah blah blah. I'm cannot be trusted to bring my ger swimming on my own even though I told my hb so many times to go with me. He refused to bring my ger swimming and forbid me from bringing her also cuz IT IS DANGEROUS! I'm really fedup. He promised to bring her swimming this Sat after I flared. We shall see. I'm afraid I'm just going to end up selling her swimwear and swimcap.

The funny thing is my mom is actually a go for the grades person. She actually hit me for not scoring well in spelling. Scoring well being 90% and above. She will sit down with me every night to make sure I do my homework even though she works the whole day from early in the morning to late in the evening and have to go to my auntie's house after work to see me. (I live with my auntie's family on weekdays till up to secondary two or three before moving back with my family since both my parents worked full time.) But she also spent a lot on me and my sis. She bought us two entire sets of encyclopedias which must have costs over a thousand dollars or at least a few hundreds. I have a computer and those leap pad like laptops even before secondary. I learnt to type on it. I can type even before most of friends ever owed a computer. She sent us to art enrichment classes. She even sent me to piano lessons but the teacher must be inexperienced with children as she said that I can't be taught yet cuz I'm too young after only one or two lessons(think I'm five then?) All these, even though she is just a factory worker and my dad is just a construction worker. How she must have scrimped and saved to afford all these for us.

A true educator goes for the passion of learning. No content, no knowledge, nothing will be more important than passion.

I quote Antoine de Saint Exupery,

"If you want to build a ship, don't drum up people together to collect wood and don't assign them tasks and work, but rather teach them to long for the endless immensity of the sea."

Love for learning, zest for life is enough, all else will follows.

I want YT to be independent and she can be and she wants to be. So I'm grateful for that and hope that with what meagre resources I have she can still have her own meaningful life.

Mejo
my hubby is also like yours, so im driving Leia to activities or playgym which she enjoy. i see that she loves kids and motor skills improved after going gymboree for a few times. he was reluctant to bring us to go for swim, feels that its more for the adult's enjoyment rather than for the kid. anyway, i wont force him and he cant stop me:p money wise, i can use from our shared fund, as long as i dun take up his time.

i came from a poor family background, there are times when we have to worry whether we have enough to pay for school fee, cant afford enrichment classes. My dad doesnt really provide enough for us but 1 thing i have to thank him is his emphasis on my study, he doesnt want me to follow his footsteps. I studied bcos i'm fearful of him not because i have the passion to learn from what i was studying, but ultimately it helped to give me a cert, which helped me to get decent job, decent pay till today.

so Edde,
to your question < i kapo ok..just my thoughts. i feel its a combi of all factors. every parent want the best for their kid. by cultivating the passion to learn, kid will naturally get better grades which is a more secure route to a more secure future. And with good EQ, even better. some mummies became over-anxious in the midst of it.
but of cos if Anthea enjoys the lessons and trials, then send her!
few days back my hubby told me that he and his sisters actually took piano lessons till quite a hi grade. he doesnt even like it now, so for his case, he's just learning something which his parents feel is useful to him.

Thalessemia
- yes yes i noe it can be a serious case. dats y i crossed my fingers to pray that ah bien wont inherit it fr HB. Ah bien's blood grp is O+ and hopefully higher chance of not getting it but can oso meant higher chance of getting it since he is of diff blood grp as us. Alamak..im actually scaring myself since no test done yet.

Astro, wad i meant by "im being negative again" is that ur colleagues advised u to be +ve . But becos of the thalessemia condition, im alys at the lookout for symptons on ah bien...hoping he wont inherit it fr HB. Wad to do...mummies, mummies alys more worried than daddies.

pink, ur invite is v nicely done!!
Shld hv asked u to do for me...hahaha...

bbmouse, rojak - besides cucumber,bang guang..there is oso "prawn paste" which is v harmful so try to avoid it. Like u, i oso avoided rojak. even laksa,char kway teow i oso nvr touched during preg days. cos cannot eat clams so might as well dun eat these food.

QQ, yes yes all boys in the family. I will work hard to hv a gal. Think the gal will b spoilt by everyone...wahahaha. And oso my pocket will hv bigger holes than now cos more stuffs to buy for gal gal. Everytime i go shop for ah bien's clothings, there is alys a bigger section for gals than boys. sianz leh...pray pray #2 is a gal.

pink, i was solely incharge of ah bien's birthday preparations...running ard to get the party stuffs and went all the way to collect the eclairs &amp; swiss rolls. The men usually dun show so much interest but HB did help to hang up the decorations. The deco is still there..cos i bo she de to remove. I got a BIG STAR for ah bien. Cheap and nice - only $3.50

Still rem my dispute wif a furniture shop?? We went to small claims and now the pc of furniture can either be disposed or remained in our hse. Meaning we bought wif only the paid deposit. Yday the officer fr small claims told us that we can pursue to get back the deposit. Like nvr ending story....

pink, yaya.. my hb ever mentioned this to me.
"your friend (referring to u) a bit bochap one sometimes, everything also ok. i see her very happy everytime over little things. maybe you (referring to me) should learn from her. or if any problem can also call her, she will sure make u happie.
"

Edde, mejo, wah u all started a good conversation ya. i thought about it when I was very young.
Edde, dun think too much la. too strict also will go kisiao. tell u.. my parents were so strict to my elder brother, then there was a BOUNCED back effect. my bro was rather a smart and a bit genius boy last time thus much higher expectation from him (academically). now, he lost all his drive in his life liao. He loved drawing, comics but all his books and efforts were throw down into longkang. he was not given a chance to explore his skills. So, parents a bit regret now but bobian.

Irin, pink. all your invitation cards look so nice. steady. Irin, u very dedicated and looks like u have lots of energy and its always full of energy... peifu peifu.

bbmouse, the rojak thingy BB and Star already told u ah.. eat in moderation hor. how come u have such a strong carving this time? haha!! boy boy.. cause anna time no craving right?

Autum, haha! u very funny. its good to recycle the items leh, save the earth, environment.

too much archive to catch up liao.
go work first.

jyun,
It's normal, guys don't care so much about the party things. As long as they will be there help out abit when the party is on i ok liao. If really want to depend on him to get the things my blood will get boiling.

Re: Enrichment classes
Hb didn't opp but i will try to get him to go together and then he can see how the kids enjoy rather than stressing the kids. Some mummies have to get hb approval to send kids for enrichment classes. Last time one mummy from my girl's class said can't continue next term cos hb said too ex, expenses very high liao. Then i asked her do you want your girl to continue, do you feel your girl like it. And she is working so i suggest her to tell hb she will pay the fees. Then hb said ok.

pink,
helping out your fren sounds nice!
it reminds me of my dream to work in a cafe cos i like talking to people and getting to know them. is this the place in faraway sembawang?
i'm still waiting for my chance cos my friends want to get into it for $, but i just want the experience. haha

morning all,
have car trouble last nite. so now at service centre waiting for my turn.

last nite so little post ?? thot i have to read archive liao.

was tired the last fewe nites, so went to bed earlier.

huajing,
ok, put in WL

carol,
will remove ur name.

Btw, the classes will be split into 2 groups.

Date - 9 March or 16 March (Tentatively this 2 dates but GUG will confirm again)
Time - 1:30pm - 3pm

1) Baby Name - Jayden Low
Date of Birth - 25.03.2007
*Mother Name* - Dlim
*Date Prefer* - 09-Mar-07

2) Baby Name - Vanessa Lai
Date of Birth - 03.04.2007
*Mother Name* - The Mrs Lai

3. Aprilmum
Baby name - Xin Ning
Date of Birth - 23.04.2007
*mother name* - Shirley
*Date Prefer* - 16 March 2008

4) Baby Name - Keira Ang
Date of Birth - 27.04.2007
*Mother Name* - michellek
*Date Prefer* - 16-Mar-07

5. kiddo
6. bbmouse
7. fen

8. Darbebe
Baby Name: Nicole Lim
DOB: 12th April 2007
Mother Name: Darbebe
Date Prefer: 16th Mar 08

9. huskiebabs

10. ixora
BB name: Joanie Tan
DOB: 14 April 2007
Mother's name: ixora
Date prefer: 16 Mar 08

11. mindy
BB name: Dillion Ng
DOB: 05 April 2007
Mother's name: Min

12. springdance

13. Xen
BB Name: Clara
DOB: 12.04.2007
Mother Name: Xen
Date prefer: 9th Mar 07

14. SQ

15. jyun
16. edde
17. autum
18. vic
19) Baby Name - Lai Chiew Tynn
Date of Birth - 05.03.2007
*Mother Name* - QQ

20. Cool Daughter

21. Taro
BB Name: Yu Xiang
DOB: 17th April 2007
Mother Name: Taro
Date Prefer: 9th Mar 07

22. AugLeo
BB Name: Jian Kai
DOB: 29th March 2007
Mother Name: AugLeo

23. germaine
24. cutie_jace

WAITLIST, ok ?

1. Fong
2. ladysol
3. Lynda
4. blueroti
5. huajing

Edde: ok. A typical shichida lesson. The lesson always starts with the good morning song, followed by the energy ball. Then after this, I think the sequence of activites varies. There will be elements/activities on photographic memory, pretend play, eye training, ESP, flashcards, memory training, speed reading, IQ, etc. All these come in songs, flashcards, story-telling, simple handicrafts etc.
Is this good enuf?

Mejo: I share your thoughts on having the pasiion for learning. This can't be taught. I believe every child loves to learn and wants to learn. We only need to encourage them.
GD says there is a difference between learning and teaching. I can't agree more. Learning is fun; teaching sounds more mundane and is linked to tests and exams. Learning has no limits.

Michelle: I tentatively put down for 16 Mar first.

Date - 9 March or 16 March (Tentatively this 2 dates but GUG will confirm again)

*Mother Name* - Dlim

3. Aprilmum
Baby name - Xin Ning
*mother name* - Shirley

4) Baby Name - Keira Ang

5. kiddo

6. Baby Name - Anna
Date of Birth - 26.02.2007
*Mother Name* - S Lee (bbmouse)

7. fen

8. Darbebe

9. huskiebabs

10. ixora

11. mindy

12. springdance

13. Xen

14. SQ

15. jyun
16. edde
17. autum
18. vic
*Mother Name* - QQ

20. Cool Daughter

21. Taro

22. AugLeo

23. germaine
24. cutie_jace

WAITLIST, ok ?

1. Fong
2. ladysol
3. Lynda
4. blueroti
5. huajing

QQ: I don't know why I have cravings, but no appetite. After one or 2 mouthfulls, I don't want to eat liao. Ok. I won't eat too much rojak.

*Mother Name* - Dlim

3. Aprilmum
Baby name - Xin Ning
*mother name* - Shirley

4) Baby Name - Keira Ang

5. kiddo

6. Baby Name - Anna

7. fen

8. Darbebe

9. huskiebabs

10. ixora

11. mindy

12. springdance

13. Xen

14. SQ

15. jyun
BB Name: Fabian
D.O.B: 28th Feb 07
Mother Name: jyun
Date Prefer: 16th Mar 07

16. edde
17. autum
18. vic
*Mother Name* - QQ

20. Cool Daughter

21. Taro

22. AugLeo

23. germaine
24. cutie_jace

WAITLIST, ok ?

1. Fong
2. ladysol
3. Lynda
4. blueroti
5. huajing

mejo,
Wow, I salute your Mom!

Astro!
Teng was so chubby! Really a Michelin baby! No wonder you were worried if the insurer will load your policy

*Mother Name* - Dlim

3. Aprilmum
Baby name - Xin Ning
*mother name* - Shirley

4) Baby Name - Keira Ang

5. kiddo

6. Baby Name - Anna

7. fen

8. Darbebe

9. huskiebabs
BB Name: Sophie Ang
DOB: 8 Feb 2007
Mother Name: Huskie
Date preferred: 16 March

10. ixora

11. mindy

12. springdance

13. Xen

14. SQ

15. jyun

16. edde
17. autum
18. vic
*Mother Name* - QQ

20. Cool Daughter

21. Taro

22. AugLeo

23. germaine
24. cutie_jace

WAITLIST, ok ?

1. Fong
2. ladysol
3. Lynda
4. blueroti
5. huajing

morning... done with uploading pics from GUG and kindermusik... the pics abit blur after sizing... let mi noe ur email, so i can email the original soft copy to u...

i go cook porridge liao... later got time come back and catch up...

morning everyone..

QQ: teng is still having a fever. Morning measured 38.5. last night at 12 woke up and fuss and walked around the huose.. tried to settle him to bed, can't ..gave him panadol and woke up at 6 plus to fuss.. instructed my mum and ellie bring him see doc.. when he lies down., he appears to gag and vomit (yet vomited) .. think he has phelgm. and also now start runny nose. face redred. but still alert. keeps whining lor..

mejo and Titu: i enjoyed reading what u two gals posted. interesting.

bbmouse: how long is a typical shichida lesson? could u elaborate what is an 'energy ball', ? and how to they train eye and ESP?

michelle,
thks for coordinating.
looking at the timing and dates, i'll give this a miss as we're celebrating YE's bday also

*Mother Name* - Dlim

3. Aprilmum
Baby name - Xin Ning
*mother name* - Shirley

4) Baby Name - Keira Ang

5. kiddo

6. Baby Name - Anna

7. fen

8. Darbebe

9. huskiebabs
BB Name: Sophie Ang
DOB: 8 Feb 2007
Mother Name: Huskie
Date preferred: 16 March

10. ixora

11. mindy

12. springdance

13. Xen

14. ??

15. jyun

16. edde
17. autum
18. vic
*Mother Name* - QQ

20. Cool Daughter

21. Taro

22. AugLeo

23. germaine
24. cutie_jace

WAITLIST, ok ?

1. Fong
2. ladysol
3. Lynda
4. blueroti
5. huajing

yvonne: buay tahan teng right? .. so dirty.. can't get his mouth.. else.. very funny! :p

PS: the dirty hand holding him is mine! haiz..

Huskie: ya.. steady hor? now he weighs 13 kg plus nearing 14 mths. over 80 cm (not sure how tall now).. already 2 years old size! wah liew!

Edde: Come to think of it. I don't know if photo taking is allowed in shichida class. Cos no parent has taken any pics! I wonder why.

Let me describe some specific activites.
Photo memory: The teacher will show a picture - it could be 2 ladybirds - one blue, one red. After 10 secs the teacher takes the card away and go round to each child to show 2 cards and ask which was the card they just saw. The second card is usually slightly different frm the first, like the blue ladybird is on the left, instead of on the right.

Another activity - ESP: The teacher brings out a flower (craft) and asks what is the color of the ladybird hiding behind the flower. No one has seen it yet in class. Then she goes around with 2 ladybirds - one red, one blue and the child picks. Then after each child has his guess, the teacher reveals the answer by showing the actual ladybird that's behind the flower.

Pretend play: Again using toys. It's a sunny day (teacher shows a sun), a duckie has come out to play (brings out a rubber duck). It's too bright, let's put on sunglasses (wears sunglasses on the duck), and let's carry an umbrella to shield the sun (brings out an umbrella for the duck), etc. After the demo, each child gets a set of props to act it out over again.