(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

baby girl,
seeing your food list, i must admit i wish i'm pregnant so i can attack and eat like you! but then beta not. i had to be in strict diet during preg. most likely will happen again unless i lose considerable weight now. aiyo, when my gynae told me that, i feel like a big fat pig!!

SQ: This is something I like abt being pregnant - not needing to be concern with weight gain. Hahaha,,

But even though it seems I eat a lot, in actual fact, I think I'm eating lesser now. Each meal is like a snack.

i put YE in my room last week cos she was sick. now that she's well enuf to go back to her room, i must admit that i'm unwilling to do it. how how? i love having her in my room leh. so cute to see her zzz face. wish i can have her with me longer. but scared i will regret the decision once she gets too used to zz with us and we can't kick her out!

SQ: or u can go kovan hawker center to eatthe famous chix rice...but not child friendly. They have sakae, pizzahut, KFC, yoshinoya and this thai siam place at heartland mall.. quite a lot of selection lah.

BBgirl: thanks.. this is great. She told me she emailed KKh but no response, i told her to seek 2nd and 3rd opinion, so wanted to look for a PD contact for her. She overseas now, if she were to do the surgery there, it will cost abt USD10K cos foreigner and no insurance.

baby girl,
ya. you only take a few mouthful, so you can have variety. when i was preg, i ate duck rice for each of my 6 "small meals". that's why i put on so much weight.

actually i have more freedom to eat what i like before and after preg, not during. during waa a misery cos i had to have strict diet control

SQ: for me, A has been waking up few times in 1 nite crying. had to put him on my bed then he can zzz back again. been having disrupted sleep for few weeks liao. help!

star,
your friend has insurance for the surgery here? if so, at least it's a load off her mind.

YE likes sakae. i have a few pictures of her trying to force the whole sushi down her mouth. v funnie. and i indulge her cos i want her to eat

hihi!

I am keen to enrol baby for some classes. i read that GUG is good. anyone going for the trial lesson? how abt kindermusik? so many to choose from. sigh...

SQ, haaa...i think all babies love the door to their play yard. mine enjoys swinging the door with him clinging to it.

Erm....i think it's either pink or bbgirl who was compiling a list of mummies who like to enrol for a trial class right? how's it coming along? hee..haven't check in the forum for a while already.

SQ, Carol:" Anna is the opposite. She only wants to zzz in her cot. A few times she wakes up crying, I carry her to our bed, She happily sits here and will only lie down once she's back in her cot.

carol,
he was zzz in your room all along, just that in his cot? think there're different schools of tots. some say it's a phase and they'll outgrow. some say have to train.

i like her in my room leh. jialat. i'm sending mixed signals

SQ: my feel- she is ur baby.. do what u like and want.. dun worry and dun think so much lah.. i think they are growing up so fast, one day, rae won;t even want me to hold her hands, dun talk abt sleeping in the same room. So just induldge a bit now lah.
Wha...me bad influcence hor..cos rae sleeping in the same room as me now.

oops... i am the opposite of u leh bbgirl. hehe

SQ: rae also dunno how to sleep in her cot, she only knows how to stand, on our bed, she knows.
I dunno if she bought insurance for bb here. I hope she has at least the medical/hospitalisation one.

Toking abt insurance, u all bought for ur bbs yet? life and education insurance? or just medical?

baby girl,
yes leh. i still want her in my room when she's 21. so we can chit chat.
that's why i say die liao, v jialat

and another thing. when she's in her own room, she will cry when she wakes up. but when she's in my room, she will call me "mama". then reach out for me.

when she's on my bed, she will call me "mama", reach out, lean against me, give me a kiss and then a pat.

so now you know why i'm so happy to have her!

SQ: same same, rae dunno how to call me mama yet (she only knows papa) but she if she wakes in the middle of the nite, she will roll towards me, and hug me real tight (she grips me very very tight like i am her bolster.) and go back to sleep... so sweet hor. Thats why i love sleeping with her.. bad bad..hehe

SQ: not exactly same room. we are separated by a sliding door. he is technically in my study room adjoining to my master bedroom

viv: some mommies have attended the GUG trial class last sun already.
now, SQ, bbmouse & I interested to go for a trial too but depending on time & date

Does anyone here have any contacts for cartoon/ character agar agar birthday cake. I remember seeing it on one of threads here but can't seem to locate it now.

hey Viv
actually u posted tat you wanted to join the trial class, your name was listed...last sunday..you miss it already. i didnt know u were not aware, so i didnt sms you, perhaps you can check wif us on-off.

GUG trial class mummies
by the way, who is Nicole bb? i think i've seen her in another trial class before, was she suppose to replace someone from our class? 3 person didnt turn up - Giolyn cos Clyde sick, BBmar sms me Ah Bien sick + viv ...????

Star, SQ: Both your girls are so sweet. No wonder you want them sleeping with you.
Though I think it's ok now, I also know it's hard to draw the line when the day/age shd be when they ultimately move back to their own rooms. They're still young now and are not intruding into your privacy. But as they grow up, they will be.

cutie,
Your PD nurse must have calculated wrongly? Like you said, won't have enough time to squeeze all 3 dosages into your baby by 12mths old lah.
I remember my PD says my baby will only take the 2nd and 3rd dosages - at 12 and 15th mth respectively.

Sigh, but now baby a bit phlegmy and coughing... hope she gets well then can do the pneumoccocal and then go Penang for a short holiday.

SQ,
I also like baby sleeping with me on my bed... but eh, I think not very good for hubby-wife relationship?
Then my hubby's colleague's wife got her eye kicked by the baby when asleep... the retina got dislodged and she is now blind in that eye. So scary, although the baby didn't do it intentionally, I am sure.

starfruit,
For baby's insurance, I'm kiasu... bought all 3 when baby was born.
But my education plan is actually an endowment in my hubby's name, cos I find education plans very expensive over a long period of time... bought an endowment where I pay for 5 yrs and then no longer have to pay anymore... then at Year 20, can take out cash. I remembered comparing the cash value of this endowment and education policy... difference is only a little, but at least I don't have to worry about any more payments after Year 5.

SQ, haha!! i will provide aprons next time, for both parents & children..
initially i did not catch the joke leh, how come evryone laughed at pink leh? hahahah!!!

wah! everyone so active. i find that i am a bit slow and no energy liao.

went to neighbour's place today. she has two children: P5 and P6. both of them like to play with tian especially the gal at P6. looks like going to settle the babycare there, yet to discuss details. today went there oni play play. tian only stick to their children.
. see how.

huskie, u bought so many insurance for bb ah? i didnt. i think will start one life insurance for her soon. going to take NTUC's vivolife.

bbmouse, yes i think she has only herself and another chinese teacher. billigual. the premise is only for very small group of children, not intend to get big group of them. that's y i said, she wanna zoom into individual child development, going to be small group and sweet.

sq: i'm the same as u... trained seth to sleep in cot.. then after he fell sick and got used to him in our bed, cannot bear to put him back in cot! he likes to roll over and snuggle into hb or me.. then dig his head into us (like shaking head) then continue to sleep. when he wakes up in the morn, he'll play by himself for a while, then sian liao will come and pat me to wake up! sometimes he will jus lie there and 'eh' me... till i open my eyes, then he'll grin! so cheeky! so good start to my mornings i dowan it to end! :p

hi mummies i m back from hospital, hubby is discharged, appt to see neuro will only know in 3 days time.

wat i found out from doc:
1) Fits/ epilepsy is NOT life threatening
2) What i did was right, not to pry open his mouth n put object inside his mouth in case he swallows it or hurt himself. But when his teeth is clenched tight like this morning, i can put cloth, but if it might hurt me, then just lay the person on his side n clear his airway it should be fine.

mejo
tks for your concern & the great advise! Pill box, ok i will tell hubby sternly to take his medication religiously, dun force me go buy pill box n impose this kinda rules macham for kids lor.

pink
hmmm dat i m not sure, hosp said will send us the bill, since now no appt fixed yet, will hv to check with doc on the charges, the basics will be covered by his co. the MRI....i m not sure ley.

QQ
why ur daddy caused u to worry le...i think better than my dad rite? make my blood boiling point only.

bb march
i wanted to tell u this morning, but then no mood to say liao...ok now i got more time to read the archives...eh YOU STAY AT BLK 91?!!!!!
HEY! THEN I THINK I 'WITNESS' AH BIEN'S BUFFET LE! u stay at #36? #37??? cos i was out after the GX gathering visiting my dad's frn's dotter..she stays on #39. Then when say bye bye time, she challenged me to look down, which i did lor...once i look down, opp from her unit i saw buffet le..then i m thinking actually if it could be ah bien's one..i didnt know u celebrating but i told my dad u might be staying in this blk lor...hehe so i think it is your unit?

huskie: wah... so serious ah...go blind sleeping with baby?! :eek: so far, we've got some blue blacks and broken lips liao! and i thot that's bad enough!!! oh no... gotta rethink liao! :/ seth has this habit of sitting up in his sleep.. then 'free-fall' onto us and continue to sleep! sometimes suay will kena our faces! hmm...

qq: make an effort to check urself the next time u feed! heh.

astro
missed your que, i feel better now..in fact went hosp my headache started..now more relieved compared to morning tks

joelle
tks for your comforting words

re: feeding bb, i think i also do 'ah ah' to make monster open her mouth..i will call out 'baby....ah? ah? quick quick good girl ahh?' :p

joelle, i almost suffocated tian when she was 3 months old. since then i put her in cot liao. but she bang here bang there, then i changed her to tilam. now ok liao.

blur, cause my dad doesn't control his diet. he is diabetic, suspect cancerous tumour in lungs, hypertension, etc etc.. still eating unhealthy stuff cause he said: eat aalso die, dun eat also die, he chose to eat. sigh! like a big baby. when i am around, i just SHARE his food so that he takes less.

belle,
Glad to know your hubby is discharged!
Pillbox is not that bad lah... I like it cos it reminds me if I have taken the pills for the day, esp with preggie brain last time. In my case, pills are multi-vits... hee, I'm a pill-popper!

QQ,
Yep, I bought all 3

- Medical: Cos baby has a hip condition at birth, and luckily insurer covers it cos at 2nd mth, doc declared baby OK. But now doc says still has to monitor till 2 yrs old cos it's not very stable... so I'm glad I bought it.

- Life Policy: A bit silly to buy life for baby, cos I definitely don't want anything to happen to baby... and even if something happens *touchwood choy choy choy*, I don't care for the money. I view the life policy more like a gift for my baby... when she goes out to work next time, she can either cash it out, or she can continue it with the low premium (but of course returns may not be that high too, considering inflation over the years)

- Endowment/Education: I'm so afraid I will somehow lose all my money one day, so better to have a little nestegg which no one can touch and she can use it for her education. But the endowment payor is hubby, which means that if something happens to him within these 5 yrs, then no need to pay anymore but baby still gets the money.

Hee, and all my policies are from NTUC too

joelle,
Yeah lor... I was also shocked that the mummy could go blind. But I guess it's really just bad luck lah. Doc says suay lor, cos not everyone will kenna dislodged retina.

Eh, aren't you afraid baby will kick in bed and roll off bed sleeping with you?

QQ,
Tian sleeps on tilam on floor? My baby currently sleeps in her cot... I'm wondering when can switch her to floor tilam.

QQ
oic...wat a filial dotter u are, eat his 'rubbish' so he takes less. Ya older folks tend to hv this mentality.. haiz..of cos we worry!

huskie
yeah lor m telling hubby if he macham small kid, i will impose that liao...but i dun want to provoke him la...will see how first

huskie, yes. I also buying a simple life policy for tian, as a life long gift. that's it.

endowment for education i dun consider cause dun wanna committ and i also think that i can save it by myself bah.
no $$ no talk la.

medical i just use medisave to buy woh, must specially buy one ah? interesting... i did not buy woh.

blur, i tell u..
maybe can find an alarm clock or a watch with multiple alarms. then tune it and act as reminder.

huskie, if bb can sleep in cot till few years old, why not???? just carry on la. tian cannot cause 2 pieces of tilam (on floor) she also not enough to roll. in her dream, she wakes up and crawl two step, then sleep again. 2 steps 2 steps, then of course not enough la.

blur, yalor. i basically stuff myself with all the rubbish he ate. but when i am not around, my mum is the one. my brothers all bochap one. they just let him eat. sigh! when my dad saw me, he will automatically pass me some, and admit. haha!

QQ,
My medical for baby also uses hubby's medisave
It's the NTUC Enhanced Incomeshield but need to pay extra $100+ for a rider in cash each year.

For cot, I find a bit bulky, plus I'm getting backache putting her in and taking her out of cot! If on floor, I can lie down and pat her till she sleeps... so nice

Your baby turns so much in her sleep, so cute! Mine... sigh, she just cries then I need to go in, bend down and pat her again

blur, QQ,
How about using mobile phone as reminder? Just set a recurrent alarm every morning at a time afetr his breakfast?

QQ, Huskie: We're also going to buy vivo life for baby. For medical, we'll take the GE one. Not sure why. Hubby did the research and decided on this 2. We don't believe in endownment insurance, cos we can generate better returns than the insurance, so we DIY.

Belle: Am glad your hubby is alrite. Good to hear it is not life-threatening. Did u ask the doc why 3 times in the last 1 yr?

hi all, MIA coz down with fever from throat infection. slept whole afternoon aft medicine.

re insurance
so far anthea's insurance has all been rejected coz of her dilated kidney issue.. sigh.. gotta keep trying for review..

re GUG
hey the lessons really sound gd! my fren sent her son to GUG too and she said the zoophonics really help in his learning ABC. michelle, can i put down my name is yr april trial class? but like all mummies, hv to cfm again aft u hv concrete date and time. thx! if GUG is gd, then i can consider putting her from N1 onwards..

carol, bbmouse, with shichida u guys still considering GUG? will it be a bit of overkill? coz rite now anthea has kinder, follows by shichida in april, if i add GUG playgroup i scared its a bit too much wor... then if i put her in CC in oct.. wah... i will be killing her!

SQ i like yr preschool critieria too! oh yes, nice meeting u on sat! when i first saw u, i dinno its u and i tot u are a japanese mummy! then i tot to myself "wah.. this jap mummy can speak mandarin!" anyway shichida called me for my slot. given only 1 choice for sat and sun each for HDB hub. i chose sat 1215pm. u chose yrs?

re Criteria of CC/preschool
1. sch envt. must be clean and tidy. i cant imagine kids learning in a dirty and messy envt.

2. quality of staff. no "kiddy" teachers and teachers who cant speak well, coz kids pick up language from their educator fast.

3. curriculum. having gd cirriculum is a must. being able to deliver is even more impt.

4. quality of students. i dun want a sch with many ill-mannered and poorly-disciplined students. coz monkey see monkey do. peer influence is very impt to kids.

conclusion, i am a very difficult parent. i know. haha...

Edde: I'm thinking to send her to the playgroup when she turns 18mths. But we're also considering other schools so haven't decided yet. I didn't sign up for kinder, so if I don't send her for the playgroup, I might consider going to the weekend class. Try lor..

edde,
silly shicida din call me.
one of YE's policy also got rejected. pending review too
haha jap? i get that sometimes

1215pm slot i sure can't make it. YE's behavior on sun only confirm this!