(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

bbmouse
it's supposed to promote intelligence. apparently.

if proven, i'll drink it. i need it more than YE does

SQ, let me know feedback. thanks...
cause i am curious about her curriculum..shh.. remembered? i wanna set up a playschool next time.

Halo mummies, I'm back!!!
Actually was back from chalet yesterday afternoon liao but went to grandma's place for her birthday. So extremely tired ...
But the happy thing was my RR had enjoyed themselves for the last 3 days. We managed to "make" them stay over at the chalet for 2 nights. What an achievement ... hehe!!

Will upload the pixs later.

SQ, a lot mehh? i always see only a few brands in bb products section, most popular eg Nestle, Dumex & Heinz... wat else?
i use to dun care bout all the DHA stuff until Jace on milk strike since past 1 mth, so, me gotto find food that can replace the nutrients found in milk powder, eg DHA lo, cos like calcium/iron, i can give her cereal,cheese & tofu ...etc as replacement

QQ: The feedback from the mums here is GUG is good, but the cleanliness seems in question. Wonder if it's one-off (the cleaning lady on MC) or on-going.

School cleanliness:
The thing abt these schools is the child will not notice that the place is dirty, only the parent attending it with the child will notice. Do they take short-cuts?
By the way, I also feel the gymboree at Tanglin is very dirty leh, compared with the other 2 outlets.

Edde: Where are u? We're dicussing your hot topic now!

Huskie, i just checked the website u post, seems like the nurse @ TMC giving me wrong info le, i need to give Jace 3rd dose when she's > 12 mths & must b at least 2 mths apart fr 2 dose but she said nd to give all 3 dose b4 Jace turn 1 yr old

Age at First Dose Total Number of Doses
7-11 months 3 doses*
12-23 months 2 doses†
24 months through 9 years 1 dose

*Two doses at least 4 weeks apart; third dose after 12 months of age, and at least 2 months after the second dose.

†Two doses at least 2 months apart.

bbmouse, SQ, DHA & AA is for brain, eye & heart development. if yr bb taking milk well, then, no need to bother so much bout this, rite?
http://www.dhababy.com/infancy/introducing.php

QQ, good tat u found yr neighbour as nanny, so u decided liao huh? Jace might nd to travel back to KL in March cos me & hb plan to go korea for holiday....so, now nd to plan to send her back b4 election starts!

thanks BBmouse!
precisely! the first thing tat came to my mind is to prevent myself from getting dirty first :p

Irin
pictures pictures! wow 2Rs can sleep on the chalet bed? very very good!

Jace,

Dunno why leh. My hb asked one, not me. Maybe hb din even ask for the right thing. Hmm...

Pinkpink,

Ehhhh?!? You wore the apron meant for the kids? I din notice. Haha, but it is true lar, should provide for adults also mah. See how YY got splashed in cornflour goo even though Teng only put hand in and taste.

Aiyo, YT refused to go for her afternoon nap. Still wanna play. Hmm, maybe I should seriously consider just dropping her morning nap.

YT very cute recently. If she picks up a cloth she will go around wiping things. Now she is wiping my lounge chair. But sometimes, after wiping the things, she will use the same cloth to wipe her face... eeeeeks. Haha.

Mejo: Where does YT pick all this up?
I'm also quite glad that Anna follows auntie about the house quite a bit. When auntie hangs the clothes, she will play with the clothes pegs and when auntie asks her to give her one, sometimes she will give.
I find this is good influence. Hopefully she can pick up doing some household chores from auntie. Hehehe..

bbmouse,

Cuz she is very messy when she eats and we are always wiping her and her high chair! Must wipe her high chair the moment any food drops on it, if not she will use her finger and do a "project" (in GUG terms) with it. LOL

hi mummies... do u all have any PD to recommend.. someone who specialises in pediatric neurosurgery ??
My GF's baby has been disgnose with Encephalocele condition.. scalp never close properly after birth so there is a hole now. Need to do surgery asap. She is overseas now.. want to come back to SG for the surgery.. i am trying to get a PD contact for her.

Mejo
Leia doesnt really take afternoon nap..more like pre-afternoon nap + evening nap...
1130-1pm and 430-6pm...weir anot?
bb wipe things ok, but cannot put inside her mouth, so dirty...

leia doesnt want to stay in the play yard anymore, unless someone accompany her inside. i must hide like some crazy woman, once she catch a glimpse of me, or hear my voice, she will scream at the top of her voice, so i let her out lah.. just let her follow me.

Pinkpink,

Yar, YT also dun like to stay in play yard unless someone is inside. Must be an awake someone somemore preferably. Hb sleeping inside her play-yard now but she still screaming to get out just now. Now she chewing on my calculator! Sigh. But sometimes what we do is that we'll go in with her then play a while with her then after she starts playing with the toys inside, we will step out. She okay to stay inside then for a while.

Star: My PD is a specialist for high risk babies. You wanna try him? I'm not sure if he does that type of surgery though.
Tel: 68362802
Dr Low Kar Tsay

Pink, Mejo: We keep the yard door open for Anna to walk in and out. She still screams to be let out.

read something abt me, my hb, teng teng.. and ellie.. haha. going back soon.. need to get some winter wear.. then come back yak with u gals tonight..

belle: how are u now? feeling better?

should go and tell ellie how u gals praise her. i think she will be very happy.. btw, did u all notice got many maids sitting inside the GUG at one corner? not i what lah.. but somehow.. so many maids there, bound to have some negative influence.. think need to ask ellie what she think of the maids there..

angel: that bimbo horrible right? u heard the shouting match btw me and her? stupid.. really want to ask belle go kick box her liao!

ok. going back. yak tonight
bye ..

bbmouse,

If I keep the door open, she will crawl in and out then also slam the door around (quite scary to watch) but I think for me, the main point of keeping her in is when we need to go to kitchen to do things such as prepare her meal and cannot keep an eye on her so no point keeping the door open at times like that.

i read that our bb no longer likes the play yard cos they discovered a more interesting world outside their confined area! how true!

i dun keep the door open. cos sometimes we forget and dun attend to her. sometimes YE will hang on to the door to try to stand or swing or whatever! damn scary she machiam gonna lose her balance!

Pinkpink,

Leia sleeps until 6 pm then what time she sleeps at night? Won't it be difficult for her to sleep at night?

pink,
if it doesn't get beta, go see doctor bah... that's always the advice i follow

QQ,
when you have your own playschool, please rem to provide aprons for the parents as well as children so the parents don't get laughed at *winks at pink*

Re: Playgroup
Anyone of u gg to send your little one to playgroup when they turns 18mths?? I wanted to give it a try but HB & MIL dun like the idea of sending ah bien there so early. There is this Faith kindergarten so i thot of giving it a try since i attended nursery at a methodist church. And it really helps alot in the early learning years of foundation esp language. Though my language became rusty over the years...heeee

pink, if Leia goes to playgroup, does that means that you are gg to take care of her urself? btw, which playgroup are u eyeing to send Leia there?

SQ,

Honestly i cannot remember a time when she actually likes to stay in the play-yard. Outside is always better. But hor, when the bigger kids, 4+ yo and above came to visit our house, they actually want to play inside the play-yard! Haha. Nowsaday, if she is inside and we are out, she will throw out all the toys from inside the play-yard! So terrible. Just now put her in with sleeping hb to go and water my plants. Come back and her toys are strewn all around the outside of the play-yard and she is screaming to be let out after having enough of climbing over MT. daddy.

pink,
if it doesn't get beta, go see doctor bah... that's always the advice i follow

QQ,
when you have your own playschool, please rem to provide aprons for the parents as well as children so the parents don't get laughed at *winks at pink*

astro/angel/yvonne:
wah..i find the hbs combi very weird leh! wat did they talk abt at kopi?! nick n miser r like 10 yrs apart in age?!! then macho teach them how to keep fit?! heh... soon we will see washboard nick n miser liao! wah...angel.. when is macho goin for lessons again? i let my 1 pack hb meet him!

re: PAP
any mummies here from PAP when young? i thought i was taught quite well leh.. but nowadays i see my niece at pap.. no homework wan.. no textbooks to bring... oso dunno wat they learn there.. ask her wat she learn today she says dunno wan... maybe i shd start looking everywhere else like mummies here. =\

re: food for thot!
do u mummies notice that we tend to open and close our mouth when we feed our bbs? machiam we r helping them to eat like dat! i thot i was silly.. then i realised everyone else i 'tested' on doing the same!

mejo,
did you start putting her in the play yard late?
cos for YE, i put her in real early, even before she could crawl. she's ok inside it

my sil only started with my nephew when he was nearly one. and the fella refused to stay in it! so what she does when she needs a rest is she will lock HERSELF inside the play yard instead! haha

sq! yup! same here! i thot i look so ugly in those pics... then hb keep laughing at me!! then 1 day i ask him to feed (neva tell him the intention) then caught him opening his mouth.. haa... so it's not just me! now think back...must have looked so ugly (not composed) when feeding him outside!! oops!

Mejo, SQ: When I keep the door open, I close the lock so that the door can only swing half way (ie either on the inside or on the outside, but not all the way). We usually leave the door inside when we lock it, so even if she swins the door, she won't lose her balance.

She didn't use to mind her playyard leh. Until she becomes more mobile of course. Now that she's walking all over, we have to keep the door open for her to walk in and out. Sometimes we go inside to play with her.

Joelle: I think this is a natural reflex leh. Everyone from since my grandma days do this when they're feeding young children/

SQ,

Hmm, can't remember but must be quite late bah cuz shortly after I started using the play yard she is able to cruise liao. I think I bought the bumper mat first then we realise she is no longer staying on the bumper mat so we bought the play-yard. MIL said these two are best buys.

LOL, sometimes I'll try to rest inside the play-yard with YT lar. She will climb all over and stand on my tummy, legs, arms and face but somehow I can still manage a little sleep.

Re: PAP

Me me, I'm from PAP. I remember learning a lot in PAP. Even song and dance although I'm so awkward in the dancing that the teacher has to pull me out of the performance. We even had a minister visit us and I'm the newspaper speaking to him! But the caption is about my classmate beside me lar cuz she is the top student. In fact, I learnt so much that by the time I'm in primary school I felt that the things they teach there is below my standard! Especially Chinese. I'm like way ahead until about P3 or P4 I think. In fact, if my memory is not wrong, I only attended kindergarten for one year. My mom thinks that she sent me there for 2 years but I remember seeing my classmates artworks on the notice board when I first go to school so they must have been there before me. So either I'm there only for 1 year or I'm there late.

joelle,
my hubby's worse than me. i tested. although it was unintentional. he will go "ARH..... ARH...... OPEN YOUR MOUTH! ARH.... ARH....." until i told him he can only feed in food court! cos he would sia suay us ALL in a restaurant! so damn loud!

joelle
my cousin is a kindergarten teacher. she said there was 1 pt of time the homework and teaching became more and more tough..then it came to a point when they were suddenly told to go slow..my cousin was in childcare too, i remember she brought me to her class for fun when i was really young at 7yrs old. i dun mind PAP too.

SQ
will monitor, if i want another bb how...back already so bad at this age..
sob sob , dun wink at me lah , im so embarassed

bbmar
i thinking of sending leia for weekend playgroup - once a week when she turns 18mths. considering GUG weekend - i can drive her there. If Im still putting new maid at aunt's place and if there's a playgroup nearby...i dun mind letting maid bring her there during weekday..maybe once a week too...faith good?

pink,
weekend playgroup? i also want.

back v impt when carrying bb. easier said than done lah. i also anyhow bend and carry YE. we must all be more conscious of that

star,
how old is the bb? so poor thing. sounds like a major op? your friend must be worried sick

ok, i'm going to serangoon tonite to bai4 nian2. since YE was sick last week, today must hurry up go before the CNY is over!

while i'm there, i might as well have dinner. quick quick! mummies who knows that area. where should i go to eat?! hopefully child friendly

i have the next 10 mins to read your suggestions

By the way, I want to recommend the UOB High Yield Account. Even though they call it by this chim and not-so-pleasant name now, this works just like a current account with no added risk. Interest rate is higher then normal deposit rates. Starts with a min of 250k. Interest rate increases with larger amts. For above 1mio, the rate is 2%. No lock-in period and no monthly fees as long as balance is above $250k.

baby Girl:thanks for ur contact. will pass to her.

SQ: the Baby is only abt 5mths.
U can go to Kovan heartland mall for pizza hut or there is thislittle restaurant at Serangoon central that serves western food snadwiches stuff, quite a nice place but i have not tried.

star,
thks. i shall go kovan heartland mall. i seldom get a chance to go. i won't know which restaurant at serangoon central anyway

aiyo, poor bb. at 5mths our bbs were so cute! now still cute of course. but i mean they're still so small and we feel protective over them!