(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

QQ: Sounds like you're describing a tribal dance leh.. Hahaha.. Very funny..
Looks like they have their own way to express dancing..
Nite nite to you..

Michelle: I think you got Astro's red packet.

Red packets: Don't you put down your name behind the red packets? Then the receiver will know who it's from liao mah. I put down hubby's and my name on all the red packets we distributed.

<font color="aa00aa"><u>GUG -- how I feel</u></font>

hmmm.. i quite like it.. and i really understand now why they can proudly proclaim and patent their zoo-phonics success. it is certainly very refreshing and shows evidence of planning in the creating of the zoo-phonic system..that to me.. was the highlight, and by far the most impressive part, for the day..

<u>First half of lesson</u>
- small wonder audrey's son has superior pronunciation compared to kids their age. and again small wonder GUG can so yaya-ly say their zoo phonics is that good.. coz they really repeat it again and again for the first half of the lesson! and i must say they did it well. Though some animals they chose to represent the animals a bit unconmoon for our babies.. like Yak for Y, ..and irish worm (??) for I.. ehh. can't remember.. but still good attempt to increase vocabulary for our bbs lah.

thouugh the primary approach here is using flash cards.. but they brought it one level higher.. to include ryhmes, emphasis (on starting letters and sounds), animal association and matching/identification of animals on the wall by bbs.. was there some actions ah? ya. i think have right? i recalled the action for the elephant.. ya.. have actions.. so aside from just flashing the cards and that is.. they killed 4 birds with one stone! in one activity!! wah,.. impressed. ..:p

- first 15 mins used to explore the toys they have.. ehh. nothing much there.. maybe is just to wait for all to come.. and settle down. but maybe because we all very familiar with one another. i felt the environment was very conducive.. and indeed they have their house rules set and implemented very clearly. heehee.. poor daddies/mummies not in the room can only peep from a narrow glass slit .. haha

- movement and gross motor was a bit lacking.. maybe their emphasis was not that.. so only have tunnel play.. and teaching the mummies the creative use of tunnels vertically (playing peek-a-boo, never thought of that.. hahaha. not bad lah. quite creative).. and of course crawling thru it.. then allow bbs to crawl or play peek-a-boo. quite similar to gymboree PLAY classes.. nothing much there...

- reading of boardbook. i was distracted by teng.. and i really never pay attnetion to that. can't remember the story.. and draw any possible assoications.. hmm. but was good try.. need to teach our bbs to sit thru story telling.. will be useful when they go higher up.. kindergarten or nusery.. sure have this kind of storytelling. in primary school.. they stilldo that? i not sure.. but not bad training..

- numeracy, teaching bbs to count.. with an activity. i forgot liao.. coz i was busy prising teng's pudgy fingers open to count.. !! again a lot of repetition.. haha.. but good lah..got some banging of mat, wave byebye, what else? forgot.. but i think all these included to develop the coordination of our bbs..

- then intro the animal of the day.. i was like wondering how come introduce gorilla? .. SO that was the letter of the day , 'G'. .so Gregro the Gorilla..the peeling of the banana (grrrr..) [but how come peeling of banana will get grrrr sound ah?:p], Green flavouring.. (and when cornflour mixed with green solution)--> Goo.. wah. not bad. again empahsis and repetittion.

- then exprimential play using the green solution and cornflour.. i like it a lot . it introduced physic.. (but still tied to 'G' theme for the day).. powdery cornflour, diffusion of green colouring in water (showing to the bbs, teng was STARING at the water turn colour.. i think all bbs were staring at it?:p} , green solution, then goo (cornflour mixture.. -- did they choose cornflour for a purpose? to produce the gluey goo? coz corn flour can do that.. other flour not as gluey goo?).. then let the bbs play. as thought it was VERY messy. they still inisit on letting the bbs do that.. i think it is good attempt. coz many educators/orgs often shy from implementating things which are too messy.. i think teng was fascinated with the cornflour mixture.. Rae and YT both 'no manners liao'.. haha. keep splashing me the mixture.. teng like boss. (star commented). dipped one pudgy hand test test onli.. then SUCK! so. he was the only bb who tasted the cornflour! haha. taste.. another lesson which he learned.. whahahaa. but he very cute with the cornflour stains around his mouth. i think YT wanted to bathe in it liao!!! right mejo??.. whahaha..

<u>second half of lesson</u>
mood spoilt by the bimbo..

but nonetheless.. quite fun..
star pointed out got live music accompaint. not pre-recorded..not bad.. but the action and stuff very similar to kindermusik lah..

ceiling got dangling stars. teng kept wanting to pluck them down.. and keep lifting his head to see them..huge mirror to reflect.. let bbs see their reflections..--good stimulation..

<u>quality of faciilatators</u>
i think they were relatively enthu without sounding fake.. def very well rehearsed.. and also firm.. had to tell the mummies to show good examples .. and focus on the teachers.. :p.. aiya. we all so naughty. SQ will scold us, never pay attention to teachers.. hhaaa.. so in a way, they were not afraid to be firm to deliver the lesson. i find that commendable. they could also control the class well. and appeared composed.. quite good..
we had teacher fairuz (she has ABRSM theory and is the head of music) to play the keyboard for us.. the other teacher has also a cert in preschool education.. so there was quality in the faciliators..

all in all. i like the class. i find that it is very coherent.. and def. very strong evidence in planning and the thought behind the design of the curriculum.. the deans.. (with their masters in education) reallhy know the pysche of pre-schoolers to involve so much repeition.. i had reservations abt the 1.5 hour. i thought it was too long iniatially but was actually quite fast paced. teng despite badly deprived of sleep did enjoy himself and didn't have time to fuss..too much.. :p and i think almost all the bbs had their eyes glued to gregro the gorilla when he made his appearance..
think GUG is not bad..

my two cents worth

Astro: Wah! Your summary is very detailed leh. By the way, the trial you attended, which class is it for? Is it the weekend class or the weekday gifted babes class?

YY,
wah! very impressed with ur review, can i share wit april mummies ur 2cents worth ?

whey, u still havent answer my Q on your packet.

bbgal,
i did write on the angpow ;p

GX GX angpow
so to the lil boy/gal who got mine, paiseh if ur mummy gave a bgger one. next time we coordinate beta

michelle/bbmouse: ya. i think K got mine.. michelle iszit more than $15? then it is mine :p.. haha. miser opened teng's and was like "wah.. ehh. u give so much for what ah?!" and showed me $8.. hahaa. nvm lah.. chinese new year.. once a year onli.. ok.. ..next time.. K must smile at me more! :p

mejo: but YT is very cute leh. to lick the mirror. and she does it with such professionaism! keep licking, check, not clean, lick again! whahahah!!. wah. good. teng very intense kind, if bumped him onli, he sure tell u loudloud and long long. difficult to distract unless he wants to stop by himself.. haiz.

SQ: me wasn't at Starbucks lah. i saw u drinking from the starbucks cup at the taxi stand mah
ehh. during Kinder.. u dun look veyr happy.. already bad mood from then?..

QQ/SQ: miser aslo.. ask him to voice out certain thing. he says and summarise it in less than 10 words! wah lau..*faint*

QQ: Tian smiled at me so many times.. and u say she seldom smile. so conclusion . she likes me.. haha. yalor. tian loves to feed.. and teng likes to eat.. good match lor.. whhaahaa. but then again. i have bribed michelle' K to be my future daughter in law?! whahaha..

I am glad that ellie could help.. i think she loves the bbs there.. she commented.. only teng, one boy?? haha.. then EJ and kaiser came..:p

me not angry with the servicelah. just keep rolling my eyes lor.. i think audrey saw me doing that also. audrey , right? :p and ah. they asked me, after placing just ONE spoon on my table, what other utensils i need? ????? wah. three adults.. one pizza, one stew and one pasta.. use only one spoon.. ???? tell me how not to roll eyeballs? :p

Goodnite QQ
forgot to tell u, i had fun playing hi-5 with Tian, she's very happy playing with me too!

kkekeke no need to thank me pls...just want to have fun. i would really love to have the kids interacting with each other in the next one. in classes, we have to 'force' them to concentrate. in our past gatherings, we makan most of the time, more like adult gatherings, chitchatting, leaving the babies little time to mingle.

oh ya let your hubby talk to your ILs better...dun worry, i dun find it cruel at all. everyone is entitled to their own choice and I believe you make the choice for the best of your family.

QQ
u and me same, we are not 'green hands' - is this wat they call pple who are good wif plants?

Mejo
leia licks sometime, but its the way YT licks that's very funny, she really stick out her tongue all the way out to lick the mirror...kekke..she may be a good french kiss kisser next time :p

today is the first time i saw Leia walking so many steps! maid told me she started walking a bit but i didnt get to see, quite surprised bcos she didnt get to cruise a lot in aunt's place due to limited space but they do bring her to the playground to cruise and play a bit.

I think she got bolder in the class, esp after seeing andrew..aiya the 2 of them very cute lah, kept getting 'hinted' by the instructress to stop their lovy-doviness

Astro
i was still whispering to Star 'see see' then Star replied " yes yes im looking"...HHAHAH it was then that i realised she was indeed staring...alamak cannot help it...i want to laugh and roll now

ok GUG...i cant compare to Kinder, but definitely better than gymboree trial class which is mostly physical activities.

The story-telling part - i couldnt catch the story and i find it a bit too advance for the kids ??? beats me.
they have 2 instructress, wonder whether it'll be the same in the real class..can see that both of them make a lt of efforts in coordination?

the gorilla 'puppet' part...err...the gorilla looks a bit scary..didnt seem to capture the kids' attention? oh the names of animals, a bit tough rite?

guess they enjoyed the flour session most...i find it quite interesting...

other than that, its the usual single and carrying baby up and down which im terribly afraid of...tiring and bad for back kekkee

wah astro ur summary very attractive
make me wanna go try...

hmmm going take MC tomolo sian no mood to work i can;t get to sleep yakking anyone >>???

Hihi mummies, We celebrated ah bien's 1st birthday bash yday. It was fun and memorable. I took leave on fri, bought the party stuffs + party packs for the kids + decorate up the house. Will try to upload the pic asap. As usual, alot of leftover food from the buffet as well as the 2kg cake. faintz...think my bfast for this wk will be ah bien's bdae cake. When it was time for ah bien to cut the cake, he was v sleepy so we hurrily snapped the pics and done wif everything. Phew...was telling HB now even bdae celebration we hv to arrange to suit our bb's nap timing.

Re: Crawford Lane
i got my elcairs, swiss rolls there. The name of the shop is Party Time. Blk 465 Crawford Lane #01-18. T: 63963138. The stuffs they are selling is same as Asmoco cos both are getting from main supplier.

SQ: have u gone for the GUG trial? if u inerested, maybe we should try to organise a private class together.. coz YE and Teng's scheudle veyr similar.. the only slot i can go.. without rushing like mad woman.. sat (as of now).. 3/330 - 430/5pm..

michelle: i can't remember the hongbao i put in.. rush rush mah.. eh, if K got $20, it is mine.. :p
share review? ..eehh. ok.. but seriously nothing much

bbmouse: that was what i managed to observe. some parts i forgotten.. and coz i ws distracted by teng.. so one part of the lesson, i wasn't there.. not sure what theydid..

other mums still there, what did u all do when i went out with teng ah? can share?

bbmouse: think this is trial class for the weekend class..(right, <font color="aa00aa">pink?</font>) regarding ur qn on smiliarity/difference between Gifted bbs and weekedn mums and bbs class. i think the difference is the depth and intensity?.. coz gifted bbs more time..somore scope/activities can be covered.. ? .. while for the weekend class. website did say it was meant to be more exciting to stimulate the bbs.. hmm.. that's was all they say leh. i think similar lah. can't be TOO different..

astro
like wat u said they were teaching words like
Gregro the Gorilla..the peeling of the banana (grrrr..) Green flavouring.. (and when cornflour mixed with green solution)--> Goo.. do u find it a bit too tough for infants less than 18mths?

i was saying
The story-telling part - i couldnt catch the story and i find it a bit too advance for the kids ??? but leia actually sat thru this particular session, watch and listen. beats me.

you have already signed up with kinder rite? u want to sign up for GUG too? i find tat Leia cant concentrate in class, she's disturbing other kids most of the time
i wonder whether she will benefit from the course

kiddo: ha.. go try lor. not bad lah. hey.. i found many boxes of cheerios in united sq cold storage.. cwp that time i go. dun have liao. so go untied sq.. confirm have..

SQ: there also got ur apple cinnamon..:p.

i didn't mange to get my multigrain cheerios. haiz. teng for these few days eat weetabiz lah

kiddo,
no time and date yet, trying to form 12 names.
can incd ur name first ?? then i update u ?

yvonne,
b4 i forget, aquaduck postpones to mar liao.
paiseh, kept forgetting to update you.

YY,
coz i told them, mar mummies attending trial mah, so they want to have feedback and which other feedback beta than ur review ?? hahahaha....

angpow, deft urs ! kekekeke

Astro, Pink: I'm confused now. If sign-up for the weekend class, does this mean you won't be sending your child to the weekday classes when he/she is 18mth old? I'm more keen on the playgroup lessons. But the cirriculum described sounds very interesting, I don't mind joining in the meantime - of course I think I'll get my maid to attend most of the time, cos I think quite siong leh.

YY,

Agreed with you that the GUG is quite structured. Then hor the teachers also more strict with the rules then the ones in Kindermusik. At first, I look at the toys which some were quite dirty and the floormat, also not very clean, I'm like "the interior is quite different from the exterior leh". Then YT also not very attentive to the 2 teachers. Maybe because she is either cranky because not enuff sleep or there is no singing at the beginning. But I think after a while she warmed up liao and can pay more attention though she liked to crawl to the middle right in front of the teacher and sit there instead! Amazingly the 1.5 hours passed quite fast although I'm quite tired and starting to have a headache building up. Will there always be two teachers in class?

Yes, YT is about to bath in the goo already. She plays like that with her bath water at home. Splash splash splash!

Yvonne,

Please post the photos of bel's and YT's dirty faces! I din have my cam with me so your hb took some pics.

pink: hmmm. i think they wanted to expose the bbs to a greater variety of sounds and words.. and bbs learn the fastest in the first three years.. so i think that was why they tried to intro such words.. in any case,, when bbs take in words and such. they dun take it in progressively. as in from the easiest to the hardest.. they take it in when they are exposed to it repeatedly.. because bbs learn by association.. i think.. still manageable

story telling. i dunno. i can't remember hte story at all.. see? u still say leia cannot sit still. she sat thru the whole story telling ah! :p

i nt very sure.. got to think abt it.. and maybe do some research. attend more trial. i am very certain that i want to send teng to a playgroup.. gug is quite good. there might be better ones.. so still thinking..

leia where got keep distracting other bbs.. i think she ok lah. active.. is good.. and concentration needs to be taught and trained..
she WILL benefit from the course lah. see? she can sit thru the most 'boring' part leh :p-- story telling.. :p:p.. wah.. u should be very proud of her ah! :p:p

Pinkpink, YY,

Story telling is about three billy goats named Gruff crossing a bridge and a greedy troll. All still with the G theme.

Cheerios
Try the cold storage at Cluny Court. There got plenty choices of cheerios. Bought the nestle cheerios there. Even myself oso eating it for bfast now. Taste yummy...

kiddo,
i put in ur name first then, if timing not gd, then shld be ok bah, get another 1 to replace nia.

YY,
my aunt was saying if we start reading bedtime story now, by the time our bb are 2, they wld be able to read themselves.

BBmar: Did you get the original one with no added flavours? How come you say they taste yummy. I'll only say they taste ok.

Michelle: Can put down my name for the trial as well? I also need to depend on the actual day and time to confirm, if you don't mind.

i tried the one Yy passed to K to try today, wah very plain leh
i grown up on kellogs from young, i prefers sweeties
hope K dun learn from me on this.

Pinkpink, YY,

Yar lor. Last time she tried to lick the metal railings when we dragged her away, can still see her sticking out her tongue to try to reach! Terrible ah. Her tongue really dexterous though, can twist 360 degrees one. From young already she thinks her tongue very power, last time when she still can't lift her head, she thinks can use tongue to lift cuz she sticks it out and try to lift her head with her tongue!

Mejo: YT's tongue can fight with Anna. Not that Anna licks the mirrors and other things, but they all say her tongue is very long.

bbgal,
thanks ! hahaha... autum, how ???
add u in too ?

btw, the mummy organising is not me, its DLim.
she came in last time as well to ask u abt schinda if i din rem wrongly.

Mejo
i know the story is about 3 silly goats but i cant remember the story content...kekkee boring rite? but if leia can be sit and listen, like wat astro said, maybe its good afterall.

bbmouse
im keen to send leia for playgroup or class during weekend, as for weekday classes, no intention at the moment, i've nobody to send her to class during weekday anyway.

Michelle: Oh isit?? I don't remember. But these days I keep forgeting things, or I call them wrongly. Like I wanted my hubby to bring me Ribena just now, I said vitamins.

mejo: wha.. thanks for the story telling part.. wah. i am very impressed liao. G again! wah.. they write their own stories?!.. difficult to crack head to think of related to letter theme story leh! wah. stylo. no wonder the deans have masters in education. haha. ok. i go get masters. and join their team :p
i didn't notice the cleanliness.. but ya. apron.. a bit dirty :p ur girl super cute. her face.. all covered with white pokka dots!! hahaa..i think Rae also washing her face with the goo.. my teng the cleanest.. he only put one hand in touch touch.. and SUCK (!!! "().. that's it.. :p but his mama ah. wah gena!!!
whey miser said one mummy told him must bring a change of clothings one leh.. got meh?! pink!!! got meh??? :p:p hey i thick skin.. everywhere i go.. everyone looked at me ah!!! sigh :p

michelle: ehh. i dunno how to reply liao.. shhh.. dun make yaya astro even more yaya.. :p:p.. anyway.. ya.. def mine lor. next time K must kiss me ah.. REMEMBER :p.. ya. cwp cs not more cheerios liao.. haha. u complained.. ehh. i meant... feedback before? :p

jyun: where is cluny court? nestle cheerios? wah.. ehh. they have multigrains there?

bbmouse: i not too sure. ideally i want to send him to the gifted bb which is held on weekdays. then weekends can go gymboree/kindermusik.. but my mother.. english cannot make it.. need to train ellie up leh.. dunno can or not.. haiz. should have sent teng there earlier.. at least i could be there.. haiz. so i think. might just stick to weekends.. if u plan to join.. u intend to let ur maid bring anna there and attend?

Pinkpink,

Hmm, oh it is about them crossing a bridge guarded by a troll to eat some nice juicy grass on a hill. The troll threatened to eat the goat but each one kept saying the other one coming up behind is bigger and a better feast but by the time the last goat came, it is a big billy goat which rushed the troll with its horns. The troll fell off the bridge and the billy goats were never troubled by it again. I noticed that they were not exactly reading word for word from the book though and they did try to add in sound effects for the story telling.

BabY Girl: Rae also rock back and forth while dancing..she loves to dance "violently" backa nd forth while standing in her cot holding the cot bars.
Rae first word is "Bear"..she loves to look at bear.. i think the B sound/words are easiler for our baby.

Let me finish archive and i will be give MY feedback on GUG.

Astro: I think I read this story abt 3 goats crossing the bridge and the giant troll before leh. They didn't make it up lah. If they did, it's a copycat version.

btw i wanted to go for GUG trial cos of good feedback from my 3 galfrens - they sent their kids to GUG when they were like 18mths old...

Before i cont with the archive.. i think Rae over stimulated liao. She woke up and cried so badly at 10pm just now.. kept on crying and crying and finally puke all her dinner and last milk feed out. so terible...i had to clean her up and change the bed sheets and she kept crying non stop. Now finally asleep. I think she is exhausted. Def cannot arrange for 2 clasess in a day for her.

YY,

I dun think they wrote their own story. That story sounds familiar. Maybe the goats were not named Gruff but certainly I have heard/read this before.