(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

re traditional costumes for kinder tomorrow?!
hey. let's let our bbs weart their traditional costumes to class tomorrow and we snap snap snap.. just like how we did it in the trial class?! haha.. so cute!!!

star: too big for her? u always make Rae sound so tiny leh.. i think she is just right leh!

ya. drama lah. exploded.. not the contents. but the contact pt between the container and the point on the motor.. wah. so scary. got sound one. then the hard plastic ( i think is plastic).. broke and flew around (coz of the speed)wah.. i think got enough momentum to scar if hit the face leh! Miser lor. always take cheap stuff.. that one is hand me down from my Father in law (equally misery :p).. so now spoilt liao. and i went and bought my philips one after tat.. that evening to be more precise..

veryberry: i am just wondering.. if u agree with me that.. 'YY' is a very good name.. haha.. i still cannot come round to the fact that the yy here refers to yang yang and not me! :p:p

star
u very hardworking ley. will even buy pork back to mince?!! eh i heard last x from my mummy some hawkers use the fat skin n mix in some 'unwanted' pork to do mince pork, so if u really want the 'good' one u buy one good pc like astro n ask them to mince lor...

Astro
how come your hawker uncle so complain king le u buy from him still not happy arrr 'waste' his pork? geez..i buy the auntie dun ask , i didnt bring my bb but she knows n ask me : FOR BB HAR?

belle: yalor.. he hor. pretend mah.. cannot waste his pork. :p he asked the same thing.. for bb har? then said waste of this cut of meat to be minced leh.. meaning he feels that bb dun desreve this pork waist ..(the part).. ??

wah adventurous mummies le...SPICE GIRLS & SPICE BOYS in the making :p but come to think of it chilli got Vit C hor..so 'good' for bb skin la wahhaha...if too heaty will pop baby pimples or not? whahaha...my bb nephew duno why ctr of forehead got 3 pimples ley! wah this boy 'pre mature '

magsmum: u give mag tofu also.. ok.. i ask u ah. which type u buy? i used to buy the one meant for steaming and soup. but i realised.. coz i prepare two days worth in one go.. when i reheat . the tofu become rubbery and sponge like leh.. so now i use the one meant for steamboat.. coz i think for steamboat.. must endure continued boiling and reboiling mah. hmm.. so should still be soft.. which type u use for mag?

hmm according to GF food bible.. the amount of solids that bbs take.. is roughly 1 tablspoon per month of age.. so 6 mths should be around 6 tablespoons.. for teng.. his lunch is already 11 tablespns.. so i add in one more tablspn of food to his lunch. to make twelve?!.. wah.. seems like a lot leh.. but dinner still stick to max 8 onli else cannot finish his 180ml milk liao. i hope i am doing the right thing leh.. hmm..

astro
hee ya mah maybe those mummies are SPICE MUMS so hor will have SPICE KIDS lolz...

yeah lor got pus some more ley the pimples alamak, my nephew only 3 mths old !

magsmum
yaya give tofu! i also want Chloe to hv smooth silky skin :p eh i normally mix tofu with cheese or tofu with cereal. Last wk Chloe even hv tofu from the zi cha stall :p but mil says cannot give her the waterchestnut inside la.

miser says avoid giving teng so much tofu. coz got limestone in it to make tofu lor.. think veryberry hubby also said the same thing last time..

belle: how to mix tofu with cheese? :p teach me..:p tofu with cereal?! won't it taste very bland? :p:p

alamak pus ah? 3 mths?! i think not pimples liao lah. should be one of those very chim skin conditions .. chim as in different kinds but all look alike one.. that still relatively newborns bbs have ..

eh...astro u ask me arrh u should be more creative than me ley... just mix la..rojak la..her cube cheese will melt when mix with hot suff mah..i just mix till creamy lor. No ley the cereal is plain rice cereal, notti girl no complains..mabye she glutton la..like i said watever i put near her mouth she will OPEN SESAME :p
i dun really give her salt ley..so should be quite 'natural' taste hahaha

i used the one for soup. for me, i don't prep tofu in advance as i find that they go hard easily and also don't keep well, will go bad. hence i will just boil the tofu quickly in water or just use hot water to soak for a while. tofu can be eaten without cooking actually. also if i bring tofu out for her meal, i don't put into the porridge but in a separate container as they tend to turn "sour".

when i feed mag, i hardly following the books keke! usually i will give her 3/4 bowl, if she finishes ok, if not, fine too, sometimes they take more, sometimes less, so i m not very concerned. i top up with somw fruits or cheese during tea time if mag seems hungry or taken less for lunch. less for dinner is a wise choice as their digestive systems slows down at night

Astro, Starfruit,
EJ diarrhea stopped since we switched to the soy-based milk. Hmm, but anyway, now no time to make puree cos CNY and travelling etc. Over here, we just cook porridge for him every day.. add fish and a bit of veg.

Astro,
erm, i always see u write that Teng can gum very well.. so i thot EJ very lousy in chewing leh.. so in fact he is considered can chew la..kekekek.. actually we haven't really given him chicken. Usually is fish porridge or mince meat porridge.

Star,
I like the usual mince pork leh. cos I want EJ to be fatter.. he very thin..i hope he can grow fatter! haha..

YAYA recently MIL also read from some chinese papers that spinach cant be eaten 'BOILED' urm sthing like cant be cooked directly in water n eat the soup in it cos it's 'poisonous' i very bad DIL la...MIL teaching me one side i one side out :p

aiyo i feel so shoik at home w/o bb now i lazy to go gym :pP

belle
yeah, after cooking spinach, discard the hot water and soak in cold water for a while then eat.

having a real holiday without the bb ah!

belle, magsmum,
oh no, why cannot give spinach to bb huh? i always give spinach to EJ leh.. like every week. i used to make spinach puree for the school to add to his porridge everyday.. now i stop making puree so we add directly to his porridge. why cannot eat huh?

autumn
can give spinach to bb, its is good, just be carful how you prepare it. blanch the spinach and discard the cooking water. then soak in cold water, drain, then use the spinach. if not the oxalic acid present will intefere with calcium and iron absorption in the body...

autum
CAN EAT SPINACH..is the way they cook it, i m not exactly sure ley..hmm like mag said i think its the water u cook in..u can give bb the spinach but dun drink the water u cook in. wont die la..just got 'poison' they said.

magsmum
hanor..i m redoing my blog, hands itchy go do Chloe's PS pics into a scrapblog haha.

oxalic acid in spinach will react with the calcium in toufu to give stones, so cannot give spinach and toufu together, not just to bb but adults too!

magsmum: ops! cannot go with spinach..ah.. ok.. i always add spinach to tofu.. coz iv ery lazy.. got to stop..!!!

autum: aiya.. i say teng gums very well.. coz dun forget he has been taking these kind of textured/minced food sice 7 mths plus.. and he has only recently start teething (1 year 2 weeks plus) leh.. so dun u think he does gum very well considering the fact that he was totally absolutely bo-gay?! EJ needs time to accustom to these kind of texture food.. in fact i think it is time for him to move on to finely chopped food given that he has so many teeth liao. but of course.. gradual.. coz now my view, he can't hanlde chopped food yet coz he not used to it will reject.. got to slowly accustomed him to it..

ehh.. the fat in meat not very healthy right? i guilty of it.. coz i lazy. but if u want EJ to be fatter but still healthy.. then i think need more full fat milk in his cooking, yogurt , cheese and such.. i think these are all healthier than the fats in mince meat..

Magsmum, Belle,
thanks for info on spinach.. for a moment i thot i have been poisoning my son!

Astro,
now must stay away from diary products for a while cos of his diarrhea and lactose intolerance. so cannot give cheese leh. if not i sure give.. mince meat fats ok la.. he so skinny now.. i think give full fats also ok leh.. kekekek..

keke, how abt a trivial

the Empress Ci Xi favourite food is toufu with spinach... maybe she died from it? =)

beans- si4 ji4 dou4, need to remove the two ends too when cooking, some kind of toxic too. some people like to cook them lightly and eat it crunchy, thats not good, gotta make sure it is cooked thoroughly and soft, at least 15-20 mins of heating...

i hvnt given salmon to bb yet, my auntie says 'too young' , i intend to give Chloe cod liver oil after she turns one.

magsmum can can i resize smaller first :p

autum
dun worry EJ will be fine dun let us scare u! eh...dun wanna give u additional STRESS ah! u gotta enjoy your pregnancy now hehehe..reminds me during my pregnancy, actually quite smooth ley with the exception of the 1st 2 wks of my 2nd tri, duno why i have nitemare almost every day for 2 wks! one night i even ask my hubby to on the light cos i dare not sleep n i crazy, started to imagine there's a pair of hands coming in from the window

Magsmum,
i got give salmon.. cod fish so far never tried. salmon we give like alternate days! but i think i don't give big portion.. so it's still ok. Sometimes in school, they will cook porridge with salmon.. then at nite the porridge we cook we also add salmon.. or add threadfin.. or mince pork. So it's alternate.. either a fish or pork. But that's all for his dinner porridge.. no other veg or meat.. cos we lazy. We just boil porridge and throw in some fish before feeding him. At times we will add an egg yolk for him.

autumn

vege is not hard to prep, can use anything in the market, xiao bai cai, cai xin etc... just peel off the leaves, throw into boiling water for a min, take out, use a scissors to cut into very fine bits... voila, 5 mins is all you need. thats how i prep for mag... =)

Magsmum,
hee, that's how lazy we are.. cos last time i used to make veg puree every day for his lunch.. so all his veg and fruits intake will all be accounted for during lunch..

autumn

you need more rest now! if you are not feeling tired, can prep a batch of vege stock and keep in fridge. when cooking porridge, just pop a portion of the frozen stock, and boil it with the grains for porridge.
you can boil onions, carrots, potatoes etc, the stock will make the porridge yummy

i also lazy mummy le, for egg yolk i add to cheese (again :p) for her breakfast. I give Chloe bread with cheese too.

wow tks for the quick tip! SCISSORS!! i lazy to puree le...ok will buy veg n CUT for Chloe!

1240551.jpg

Belle,
the headband u make one ah? or buy? very nice and big.. looks like what Audrey will make leh.. cos she also likes big flowers type of headband.

magsmum
i love it too but dun think will get for her la..she wont wear it!

last one :p

Autum
i find digital scrapbooking fun too :p easier :p
1240562.jpg

Nitemares: Is this also a by-effec of being pregnant? I have been having very vivid and graphic nitemares since 2 days ago. The kind with people mass killing each other with the captain hook's hook, and someone jumping to his death cos he thought he was going for a dive! *paiseh to share the horric details liddat*
I woke up with my heart beating very fast, said a prayer for the "victime" in my sleep, and dare not go back to sleep again.
Aiyooh I hope the nightmares will stop.

Astro: I'm funnier? Really? In what way? Sorry lah, just now was on blackberry, the tiing of the post is a bit weird. You answered liao then I ask the question. Hahaha..

bb girl
i duno abt nitemares..my nitemares made me scream in my sleep n wake up. I ever dreamt of travelling n enjoying the scenery & sudd a funny kangaroo will hop n chase me till i fall. Sounds funny but i was scared! it's very livelike n the kangaroo is like 3-D!