speaking of funny name, think i mentioned before, my mum keeps making fun of anthea's. her chinese name is 陈晋轩(the middle word actually got a 王 side but the whole is not found in common dictionary), but her english name is Anthea Tan Jin Xuan.. so my mum says "Auntie dan3 jin3 sian3" (auntie wait until very sian)... and my students call her "antenna" &*%^^$%^&^
edde,
wahahaha... i remember u mentioned before... wahaha...
mommies,
i need to asked, if bel's chinese name in birth cert is in tradional chinese, den next time in sch, also have to write the same? but her simplified hor, really look ugly...lol...
SQ,
heee... this yu long zi hor... veri clever... i think he purposly set it this way... he said this is the best combination... also most difficult to write, also nices... the rest he gave, cannot make it... either too boyish... or not good for her...
very cina looking right? miser lor.. haiz. but given my horrible chinese cannot make it. i better leave it to him.. actually hor.. i dun have a say in teng's name at all!! evn the english one.. anything i propose. miser can alwys come out with funny interpretation.. first time he so insistent to have his way.. haiz.. i thinking of girl next time.. name her zi3 ting.. or something like that.. sound very nice with jiang.. dunno which zi and which ting though. that's miser's job to go count the strokes and see if ok.. then report to me..
jiang can be very easy to make fun of.. actually hor any children of miser.. can qualify as 'ikan bilis'.. jiang yu zhai.. haha ops. those with surname kong.. take note. i just making fun of miser onli. not u gals hor
and hor. my maternal side, is 韩... so hor any kids can be named 'hamburgers'. .. haha!
Yvonne: dun need to pay others to come up with good chinese names.. i got book and know how to.. pay me, i do it for u... haha
yvonne: think bel's name win hands down. the throne of 'most complicated and difficult to write'.. now dun let bel slim down first.. coz she needs all the reserves to write her name in future.. so siong to write her name! can u imagine ah..?i say onli.. if she punished to write her name.. chinese name.. just write ten times.. she 'hair hair cuan' liao (breatheless)..heehee
angel.. either u download chinese star.. or ehh. go control panel.. find someting language tools. add the option of chinese (simplied).. then when u type. need to alternate .. and use hanyu pinyin compose and chose the right character.. and after that switch back to english when no need..
edde,
don't worry. Jin Xuan is a beautiful name. and i've come to accept the fact that whatever name, we give, pple will have ways and means to make fun of it.
my friend name her son: Xing4 Yao4.
Xing4 as in trust or sth
Yao4 as in glory kind
beautiful meaning.
but xing yao xing yao becomes "viagra" in mandarin. for the same purpose
yvonne: i counted. .it took me TWO MINUTES to write bel's chinese names.. and i can't even write it properly without refering the screen! i dunno how to write those charcacters!!
oh mygoodness.
tian's surname can also make fun of. i hate this surname but bobian.
Lai niao xia (crayfish?)
Lai si (poo poo)
Lai niu (pee pee)
lai si bu zhou..
lai here lai there.
I'm mrs lai.. have to admit it.
giolyn, yes. Lets meet Clyde at hua4 shan1 and we fight!
Edde
Gee...kumseah...My son's name is Peng1 Yu1 Zhen4
Peng is the one with 3 stroke at right side
Yu is from Yuzhou = universe
Zhen is from DiZhen = earthquake
SQ: YE's chinese name sounds very nice.. very filial like that.. and hor. goes well with jiang also.. what is YE's surname?
Jiang is very difficul to match.. that time match untill veyr fed up. tell miser. name teng.. jiang shi (zombie)/jiang bian (ginger slice)/jiang shan1/jiang jun1.. easier!
today is fun. i like to see ppl's names. looks like this generation's bb have nice names, but lots of strokes for some of them. alamak, poor bel, i hope her teacher won't ask her to write her name for thousand times.
QQ! screw lose liao! i lol when i saw that.. colleagues looked at me..!
wah.. angel. kaiser name very 'heavy sounding'.. got a lot of 'impact' kind. and english name 'kaiser' means king in german right?.. wah very very very 'heavy'.. King of Universe ..ehh.. dunno how to fit the earth quake part in..
QQ: i dun like jiang hu yi qi leh. i like si wen names.. and profound kinds.. but hor . we tried the profound names.. all cann't match or got 'problems' one. haiz.. stick to this cina name liao.. nonetheless. i hope teng with indeed 'soar with boundless aspirations'..haha. that is my ang mo explanation of his chinese name..
SQ, wah... yr frens son will gena in army man... y'know army guys.. all yellow yellow one...
QQ, here's my contribution
陈依丽 nice rite? dialect is Tan Jit Liap (gena boxed)
陈顾顾 Tan Gu Gu (wait long long)
陈蕾 Tan Lui (thunder strike / Taiwanese Hokkien singer)
Christian name?
Rambo -> Rambutan
Nelson -> Nelson Tan 鸟生蛋 (birds laying eggs)
last time pple put a "子" or "夫子" in front of the teacher's surname like 孔子 or 孔夫子,so if the teacher's surname is 侯 then become 猴子 monkey,if surname is 老,then become 老夫子 Master Q. dun luff, really got 老 this surname. whoever marries the guy with this surname damn suay, coz she instantly becomes 老太太!
aiya. carol.. u know how my hanyupinyin sucks right? .. ahaha.. ok. jiang pian. haha
ya. so naming teng is a headache.. miser's dad name very cool.. si4 jie2. something like hero of the world.. and easy to writ also.. but hor miser's sisters name very funny.. one is yew hong, the other one is yew qing.. so put together.. yew hong yew qing! shhh.. dun say i say one
carol! stylo. ! toonigt i go tell miser.. let him have a good laugh also! .. and his youngest sis. is yew er.. (infant ???) his father a bit weird hor?.. lucky miser's name quite ok.. yong ming.
pink,
so Germaine & pax's hubbies also Huang. My hubby's also.
I see all the bb's surnames like Peng, Jiang, Zhong, Hong, Lai, Xie & etc, all the not so common ones. Surprisingly we don't have many of the more common ones like Chen, Huang, Lee, Lin here.
Talking about names, one of my Taiwan friend named his gal "Duan1 Duan1 - 端端". Nice & special name for gal, right? But his surname is Wu so it's Wu Duan Duan. He purposely named his daughter that cos it's a "shotgun" baby. Poor gal ...
Pink: not 睿薰.. what u posted is "Rui4 Xun1".. this xun means lavender right.. aiya her rui already so diffcult to write, so i choose a simple 2nd character for her instead. Her name is 睿珣 Rui4 Xun2(2nd sound).. her xun2 is a name of a jade, so the meaning of her name is for her to be as beautiful and unique as a piece of jade and with foresight..hehe..nice hor..hehe
QQ: rae's surname also damn diff to write (in traditional form) but i like the traditional form better., so use that in her bcert.. but she can write the simplified form if its too much for her to handle.
庞睿珣