(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

hey, i m back, this thread is really active, hard to catch up!
my girl's name is magdalene. thanks for all the advice mummies, but mag is still constipated. been 3 days without poo. she will push till her face is all red but still nothing. currently on 2 porridge a day and TBF. give her fruits n vege with 2 meals, can't be a lack of fibre. think maybe its coz she doesnt take much water =(
tried prune juice, nectarines, and everything else that i know but still no effect. so vexed =(

Starfruit,

I'm also going to the Kindermusik class. You can pass to me direct. Hee hee.

Why do you need to wake up early to prepare breakfast? Something simple will do. And it doesn't have to be first meal of the day. Today, YT's timetable looks something like that.

730 am Wake up

740 am Tried to feed her 150ml milk. She drank only 70 ml.

750 am Change her diapers and pour her milk into a bowl, feed her the milk using spoon plus around one cheerio per spoonful. (table spoon) She still left 30ml milk plus a few cheerios.

830 am Breakfast is served. 1 scoop similac + 1 scoop gain IQ + 1 scoop Karihome goat milk + 2 scoops Heinz apple Muesli + a tablespoon banana + water

925 am - 1010 am nap

1 pm lunch some blended porridge of potato, rice, fish, veg, one of the shi shen, babybel cheese, 1 scoop gain IQ, 3 quarters of an egg yolk etc. etc. (not sure exact igredients as MIL prepare porridge, I just add cheese and FM)

She pukes up after 20 mins of feeding (about 1/3 bowl). We suspect due to banana. This is 2nd day we feed. Yesterday she also pukes up at dinner after being fed banana at 4pm. Feed her the rest of the meal after cleaning her up.

3 - 450 pm Nap

530 pm Dinner is served. Same as lunch just minus cheese and egg yolk. Her dinner is always same as lunch as MIL prepares enuff for two meals at one go to save time.

9 plus Sleep

Tried to feed her milk at night but only managed to get her to drink 30 ml.

welcome new mummies! p(^o^)q

aiyo. took me 1 whole day to catch up on archives. jia lat.

yvonne: u got my msn message on goat's milk? if doctor says no need to change dun change lo. since bel has been doing well on the current fm. dun worry over soft stools la. i think soft is good lo. it's constipation that we should be worried about. last time 1 doctor told me, long as got a bit of lumps in stool, no matter how soft, not considered lao sai. lao sai is totally liquid wan!

magsmum: haa... the ppl here know me as the goat's milk supporter. whenever my boy neva poo in the morning, i'll feed him full goat's milk (karihome) and he'll poo in the afternoon. if otherwise, i will jus mix half goat's milk and half fm to his usual feeds. always works. other stuff to try besides the 5 Ps, are papaya, yogurt and lots of fresh apples. =)

re: oats
i've been giving seth organic baby oats for lunch everyday. i'll mix it with meat and veggie cubes with 2 oz of milk. fast and yummy! the oats are instant ones and turns really soft once added to warm milk/water.

re: tomatoes
some books recommend to intro tomatoes at 10 months. some 1 yr old. i took the risk. but i used cherry tomatoes as they are sweeter and less sour. (i suppose the sour taste in tomatoes is too acidic for bbs' tummies thus not recommended for young ones.) as i chose to feed the skin as well, i got organic ones to be safe. if mummies wanna remove skins from tomatoes, it is taught that we should first soak the tomatoes thoroughly in hot water and cover for a while, next pour into cold water and the skin is supposed to peel of easily. anyway, i cooked the tomatoes with salmon. jus lay them over the salmon slices, add some herbs and dash of olive oil, and bake in the oven for 45 mins. yummy! seth loves it as much as his mango salmon! =p~~ oh..another note, i realised that the fish is less 'fishy' when i removed the skin before cooking. sigh. i always thought the skin gives the best fatty oils aka omega3 so always cook with them. but this time i had to remove cos it was full of scales! end up, no fishy smell! yay!

magsmum: Give consecutively (at 2 meals) for least 4 days in a row, in any of this combo, guaranteee mag's poo will be shui shui and soft - must be fresh ok -peach/nectarine/plums.. becareful cos over-consumpion might lead to mild LS.

Mejo: why u mix so many things into the porridge? FM, Cheese? Shi Shen? Could it be the taste too weird liao thats why she puke?
or alternatively, she might be eating too much or too fast, thus the puking as well?

ok i need to go to bed now.. nite everyone.

joelle....
my mum makes kaylyn's porridge wif tomato every other day. She uses the normal ones. But what she do is remove the seeds b4 cooking. Coz she says the seed will harden more when you boil it. For the fish...i bot some organic sesame oil for her. She puts a little and steams the fish. Scoops it and add to porridge which is flavoured wif tasty no-salt soup that grandma boils everyday.

This is probably why she does not eat my plain porridge with pumpkin/sweet potato. Too plain.... sianz....

thanks, i just got some nectarines today, will give mag tmr, hope it helps!
yeap, my girl loves her porridge made with yummy saltless soup as a base, so much more work! keke

hello mummies, no time to log cos bz in office during daytime then go hm no access to log in

Realli feels so handicapped w/o my lappy...

How's everyone doing? preparing for CNY to come? I havent go shop for new clothes for ah bien and myself. Gotto find time to go next wk. Having a new hse realli has alot of stuffs to do.

Re: ON Spree #1
I shld be receiving the items by next wk. Will update once i received them.

Re: ON Spree #2
Sorrie mummies that i hv to cancel the spree cos no time to chk and update. By the time i plc order, many items alrdy OOS and some not on sale anymore. Pai seh Pai seh...

QQ, kindermusik called me up on monday saying there is a slot for free trial this sunday but i cant make it. Maybe u can call them to chk if its taken. By the time, hows tian's hives problem? Ah bien's condition not much improvement. MIL bringing him to see the same doc again todae..this time asking for cream to apply. MIL dun prefer to give oral med.

mash/moon, your shoo shoo shoes are wif me. Can we meet next wk? I mostly back in bt panjang on wed,thurs & fri.

Anyone gg to Jay Chou's concert tmr??

QQ,
talking about facebook, my stupid com actually banned this website, so i can only login at home
....can add me in? my email add is posted above.......me in need of new recipe....btw, who is Seth?

aiyo, yvonne, my hb's point kena deducted. next time i know who to call liao. He KENA at the junction near my house too. that camera is too sensitive, i think.
michelle, write appeal letter also NO USE one. since u are at ubi, go there and tell them story better, immediately waived but its very hard.. got to see how. hope no film la.. its just small junction, no big deal bah.

BB< this sunday i am not around. tian's hive subsided one day after the incident. her problem is only ONE time thingy. i heard about bien. i told your sil that it might be too cold in the night, then cold=hot-cold-hot make him feel itchy. or you want to consider changing his detergent? sometimes it might be due to clothes. do u use dryer to dry the clothes or just sun dry? sun dry might be NOT enough cause recently not much sun leh.

cutie. invited liao.
seth is Joelle's xin1 gan1 bao3 bei4.

magsmum, give fresh apple also can. make her drink more water, or soup.

pink, i tot your previous job is to fly... haha!

MEjo, YT eating lots of variety of food? very complex leh her menu. since she pukes, you want to simplified her menu a bit to find out the cause? it might be due to a mixture of many things.
also, sometimes if she cannot swallow well, then will also puke.

audrey, porridge with pumpkins or sweet potato already very sweet and nice liao. your mum really added hao liao into K's food, good.. sometimes i am lazy, tian will have more plain porridge.

cutie, i tried this healthy time oatmeal before. its ok la, very fine texture but i still prefer those quaker oat style one. cause our bb big liao, can chew a bit. this one is too fine for me.
I'm still giving healthy times barley cereal for breakfast once in a while.

mejo: how come u add fm to ur porridge? n breakfast so many diff types of milk. sounds complicated to me

jyun: yeah, A will hv new jeans for cny!

magsmum, forgot to say this.

astro mentioned before.
rice, potato dun give too much if constipating cause these are stool binding food. increase the portions of vege/fruits. last time Rae and tian constipated too. then Rae's problem solved liao cause star kept feeding nectarine, peaches.. tian's also solved, i changed FM, feed more water. We use the INSERTS(what is it call ah? forgot) to get the bb's stools out due to desperation.

cutie_jace,
the oats i cook for so long still lumpy lumpy. i can't imagine how hard it will be to eat if i just add hot water wor...

anyway, the CS i went to machiam running out of cowhead oats liao. they have the "Out of Stock" sign when i went. then i can't find ReadyBrek leh... aiyo..

QQ,
that Healthy Times too fine? ok lah, then i dun buy. i want YE to have lumpier food. else real jialat if only puree kind, she doesn't learn how to chew

i'm always in a dilemma between buying ready cereals. cos i read that it's more nutritious to make our own using brown rice leh. so sometimes i buy, sometimes i cook. but super duper mafan to cook only a bit for the am. always rushing

QQ,
so can we order more ON stuff and email you or what?

baby girl,
i dun like companies where everyone work OT just to clock the hours and look good. if they really need to work so long, then i think they are understaffed and need more people. or they need to really know how to manage their time leh. either of these lah... that's my mentality. we need a life leh, esp now we have kids. i think it's a conscious choice

SQ, if you want to order anything from ON, send to me, i consolidate and order. but lots of things seem OOS liao. haha!!

some companies just very dynamic. i also feel that its a choice that we want to work late or not. we can always IMPROVE and do more to achieve better outcome, results, but we might choose a more simple way to complete the task, maybe without additional elements in it. different line will have differnt culture bah.. for my work, i can work 24 hours nonstop still got lots of thing to do. i can also go back on the dot, just to finish up my task in the simplest way.
so, my life here is good, i still itchy butt feel like going somewhere else.

pinkpink-wat telco? u mean starhub, singnet, M1 izzit?. corp sales, dealing with sales not easy hor? esp when it involves $$$.

Oh few days no come in liao coz my new job reli very busy.

Welcome new mummies!

BB,
hoho... luckily i come in today if not i will miss ur post again. Nowadays i dun come in often so u sms me @98421699 k in case i miss ur post.
Check wiv u hor is my ON in order 1 or 2?

QQ,

Item 1
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=38745&amp;pid=533680
Item Name: Heart-Print Hoodies for Baby
Item Number: #533680
Size: 2T
Color: Red Hearts
If OSS: Drop
Price (USD): 14.50

Item 2
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=38745&amp;pid=533655&amp;scid=533655022
Item Name: Button-Flap Pocket Cardigans for Baby
Item Number: #533655
Size: 2T
Color: Dragon Fruit Pink
If OSS: Sunbeam
Price (USD): 12.00

Item 3
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=37493&amp;pid=533657&amp;scid=533657022
Item Name: Puff-Stitch Hoodies for Baby
Item Number: #533657
Size: 3T
Color: Pink Stripe
If OSS: Yellow Stripe
Price (USD): 12.00

Item 4
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=6269&amp;pid=516877
Item Name: "Pretty in Pink" One-Pieces for Baby
Item Number: #516877
Size: 18-24m
Color: Elephant Grey
Price (USD): 12.50

Item 5
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=6269&amp;pid=516870&amp;scid=516870012
Item Name: Striped Embroidered One-Pieces for Baby
Item Number: #516870
Size: 18-24m
Color: Pink Strip
Price (USD): 12.50

let me know when to pay. thanks

Starfruit, QQ,

Everyday her porridge is very complicated one, haha. But taste is surprisingly bland. Only when I add FM then can taste that it is a bit sweet and powdery. But we are quite sure that it is fruits causing the problem. Since young she has a problem with fruits. Remember I said she seems to be allergic to apples? If no fruits = no puke, any fruits = puke, she is allergic to fruits?!!!??

To explain the different kind of FM she has in the morning: 1)I always add Karihome goat milk to first milk feed to prevent constipation 2)Hubby opened a can of GainIQ instead of Similac so I'm trying to use it up

Carol,

I add FM to her porridge because she drinks very little. She hates milk...

re: stock
i'm v cheapskate. i find it such a waste to cook the pork and veg stock, just to use the soup. so i always blend everything tog and feed bb. else no one will eat the ingredients

SQ: Bingo! We are understaffed. The team is extremely lean. The cost per headcount is damn high, they work each one of us to death. You may have heard this. They pay us well, but if we work out the average per hour, may not be so high afterall..

re: Oats
Joelle, what oats brand u use? has been looking for instant one.....

SQ, the cowhead brand in ntuc @ amk hub still has stock, got 2 diff packaging &amp; sizes, right? it says 'family' and 'baby'. need to blend first before cook ?

me too, unable to find the readybrek mention by astro.

mejo,
then can you feed fruits by itself a few hours after meal? so the moment you see the puking face you stop feeding? then dun have to suffer and puke out the whole feed

baby girl,
yes. per hour rate we always joke that mcdonalds and the factories pay beta. got OT somemore

cutie_jace,
i din blend. cos i think the oats v light. dunno if they'll just be flying around in my blender. know what i mean?

Pink: Your hours not long. Mine worse.. I reach office at 8am (some of my colleagues are already there). I leave at ard 7pm (they are all still working)! See why I feel the peer pressure?

baby girl,
most importantly:
1. does your boss understand? he should right? he just got a new bb himself. he should be able to imagine his wife in your shoes?
2. what are your colleagues doing? actual work or have they been productive during office hours?
3. what time does your boss leave himself?
4. are you producing results. if yes, i dun see why you need to join the crowd

i think i'm a v jialat employee. i will tell my boss exactly what my expectations are, and as long as i'm producing results, i dun expect any nonsense from them.

else, it's time we go our separate ways.

luckily so far i've been blessed with good bosses. i thank my lucky stars.

my hubby says my bosses are nice too. think else they won't be able to stand me

magsmum,
may b u can try yoghurt? i gave Jace the Yoplait brand yoghurt 2-3 times a week, she nvr has constipation too, &amp; she loves it!

bb girl
Me think the same as SQ, as long as i giving results, don't bug me ! hehee....i start work 7:30 - 8, and leave on the dot at 5-5:30 ...guess my com has healthy culture, as most ppl dont work late.....also, my boss is German, so dont practice OT...
u working in jap com huh? usually japs work late...

SQ: My boss is great and leads by example. The difficulty is most of my colleagues are in HK, incl my boss. And HK has the culture of very long working hours. It's internally driven and I get very sensitive when people make the slightest remark hinting that I leave office early. I'm quite a senior member in the team and therefore feel pressurised. And my colleagues stay around to get real work done - no one stays there for fun or to look good.

baby girl,
i know what you mean. tat's what comes with seniority. but most importantly, as long as your boss understands, you get results, and you are aptly rewarded.

cutie_jace,
i dun blend. just argar argar cook till not hard can liao. but i cook quite long leh. dunno if it's the brand or it's supposed to be lidat. but so far ok, YE eats

michelle
let's just say i'm v blessed. with the people around me. there's no way i can meet so many nice people otherwise. as you would already know, i'm not an easy person to get along with. wahaha.... btw, which part of japan you going in april? how you intend to settle K's meals?

baby girl,
dun stress yourself up by too much thinking.
i'm sure you're balancing things well, sometimes it's the expectations we have of ourselves. lucky for you, you know that your family won't need to starve if you decide to sack the boss. not many people have that luxury. they need to bring food to the table (gosh! how come now i sound like i'm consoling myself?!!)