(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

SQ,
i din put in any fruits for her, me lazy mum, feed straight out from the cup

carol,
i dunno whether can add to yogurt and then freeze. it'll be the blind leading the blind if i anyhow say.

what i do is to freeze the fruit purees in cubes. as per normal.
when i want them, i just make sure i defroze it in the chiller compartment the night before, then add it to my yogurt and serve

so far so good

SQ,
heng, my MIL prepare food for her daily so dun need to puree and cubed. on wkends i will prepare fresh.

btw, wat fruits u prepare har.

michelle,
i anyhow hum2 tam1 lah. anything that she can eat. i just buy as fancy and puree and put in the freezer. when happy, then take out whatever i fancy at that moment and serve. haha......

i try to give her a variety so she doesn't eat the same thing for consecutive meals lah...

oh your mil takes care of k. you stay close together?

SQ,
their plc in yishun, 10mins away from my plc, every morning, we drop her off, then every nite picked her up again.
this morning, MIL said "wah, so fast see you again" FIL ever suggested that we only brg her back on fridays. but we dun like the idea

err...yogurt u all give cold cold? Mil will sure scream if she sees me feeding hippo that...

even frozen veg/fruits cubes..she oso objects..says got 'wind' and no good...must cook fresh ones.

Where got time?

JUst tried pureeing EGGPLANT this morning. Never handled an eggplant before. In fact, never eaten one before too. Got so many seeds inside...macham guava! Eggplant=brinjal??????
tasted a bit...and it's yucky..hopefully bb doesn't feel the same way.

Where to find parsnips huh?

carol,
you got maid. get the maid to do it.

michelle,
at least it shows they're happie taking care of k. mine also. when we pick her up after jap class on tue nights, at about 10+pm. my mil will always tell me to let her zzz there. i always say cannot

traz,
i give cold leh. scared hot got more bacteria or sth. aiya, i auntie, anyhow hum2 tam1 one lah. i know what you mean. when my mil and mother comes over, i got to hide my stash of puree and frozen food from them. so i hide in my FTG in the fridge. hahaa... machiam prisoner in my own house

hope,
ok, next time i'll go see. thks

oh traz,
star and astro has this v profound knowledge about eggplant and peppers. they roast and do this and that. sounds v yummy. i drool only, don't know how to do it in my microwave

I know now no need to steam fruits liao but i still find steaming makes the fruit soft and easy to puree.

How do u all feed bb raw apples/pears...very difficult to blend leh.

VEGETABLES
All the ang mo books only talk abt ang mo veg like bnut squash/eggplant/zucchini...

Can we give bb chai sim / cabbage / xiao bai cai / xi yang cai / lettuce ?? Dunno wat leafy veg to give besides spinach.

oh yes...beans...besides french beans, can give other beans like long beans and bb beans?

zucchini=cucumber? Can give our local cucumber? Cheaper mah..

Fish...besides threadfin and cod fish..i've just tried giving bb salmon. Can give promfet?

When can bb eat bread huh?

Running out of ideas...getting bired with bb's food..every morning he'll eat oat+fruit, then noon & night porridge+veg...sian...

SQ,

peppers?? the yellow and red kind huh? Wah...can give bb liao ah...

Our bbs here very fortunate hor...get to taste all sorts of food...i remember last time when MIL took care of gorgor, all he got was white porridge+threadfin+(sometimes only)carrot....

MIL saw me buying those veg and always asks "BB can eat meh? Nice meh? bb know how to eat meh?...."

traz,
based on my limited knowledge, i think those groups of veg you listed are similar. i'm a junkie and mac-kid. so now this is already v good for me liao

ya, the old folks always got things to say. if bb rely solely on them for diet, sure eat the same things lah. that's why i try to cook for bb during weekends, or when they come to my place to bbsit her. cos partly also i dun want them to dirty my kitchen!

i havent given beans yet though. cos i read that must pass through sieve right? too lazy to do so

SQ,
french beans surprisingly smells very nice! Go try. JUst snip off the ends, cut into small pieces and steam. Then blend..i oso never pass thru sieve lah..our bb old enough liao.
Beans are rich in plant proteins..good for bb!

traz,
ok. thks

cos hor, when i stand in front of the grocery department, i saw long beans, french beans, and dunno what other beans. then suddenly blur as to which one to buy!!

SQ/traz,
i also into beans this week.

traz,
plum is not = nectarine leh
same goes for brinjal & eggplant
in my limited knowledge.

i'm the one who prepare the ingredients. she jus cook watever i give her.

o forgot once in a while got lentils, carrots, brocoli, cauliflower, salmon(i think he dun like), macaroni w cheese(dun like this too. not an ang mo kia), potato.

but still boring leh

i gave pumpkin to Keira every week. this is 1 constant veggie that i give.
tomorrow going to steam sweet potato. bought 1 early this week, too lazy to steam.
usually morning, when i wake up, i cut the pumpkin and throw into the slow cooker.

haha traz,
you beta believe michelle than me. cos i blur. to me, same group lah. but michelle say not the same. haha... i just anyhow substitute wan

aiyo, my freezer full liao. cannot afford space for beans. but tempted to buy still. haha..

yes yes... french beans = or gui dao

ho land dou = those green peas, flat flat ones

sweet peas = sugar peas = tian2 dou4

heehee...flaunting my limited knowledge here!!
can see astro/star/qq/pax/put up thier hands and say "chey!"

pumpkin eat too much will go yellow right? like carrot. i try not to give, cos scared my mil give it to her during the week, then eat too much liao.

so i give the funnie things like zucchini, asparagus. lidat sure won't lang2 gar1

carol,
how to prepare macaroni & cheese har ?

SQ,
my husb was telling me the other day, 1 of the reason K so chubby is bcoz when i preggy, i always drink full cream milk.
thats Y she loves to drink milk and can take a gd qty of it

carol
wat cheese can we give huh?
btw lentils can give green ones?
ASTRO
Why u reccommend the red ones only leh?

carol,
same family grp but nt the same leh, i remb reading somewhre. i remb wrongly meh ??

SQ, i din say wrong, i only say not the same thing. same family yes

babybel cheese under laughing cow brand.

i cook macaroni till soft then stir in shredded pcs of cheese while hot. they melt easily. then can add any other things like pumpkin puree, pork etc

but i ever gave he zucchini b4 and ya, brocolli too. just started last week
traz,
cheese, can use baby bel, same brand with laughing cow. pax showed me when we were at cold storage

michelle,
lucky you. milk was a luxury to me.
in fact, every thing is a luxury to me cos i had GD. then land up my bb still so thin. usually GD bb bui bui wan...

so i prefer now than preg. cos now i can eat anything! preg everything also cannot eat

traz,
ok lah. same family good enuf for me liao. haha.. no need same thing.
asparagus can go with:
Carrots
White Potato
Squash (Summer)
Brown Rice
Lentils
Pasta
Chicken
Beef
Yogurt

so....

if can give zucchini means can give cucumber?

can give eggplant means can give brinjal?

can give plums means can give nectarines?

Saw fresh apricots at cold storage the other day...can give????

michelle: red
sq: wat is GD? ya, cheese is slightly salty. but like wat some mommies say, all cheese will hv slight salt wan

traz,
after i read your post, i laugh ! kekekeke...
if i din remb wronglt fruits that starts with P like peaches, plum are Ok.

SQ,
nope, i mean lasagne for adults, but i was also thinking if babies can eat macaroni w/cheese, why nt lasagne ?
ok, tonight, i goot lah abit, will check my recipe book