(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

carol,
GD = Gestational Diabetes

michelle,
douglas is nice hor.. i like him. i only brought YE there once, when she was few weeks old. she cried the house down. after that, we make sure she doesn't appear there anymore

aey, adult lasagne v v giam leh. what recipe book you looking at?

carol,
ok. depends on how fussy we are bah... about the salt. is babybel organic?

menses

my menses first came last month. I'm still tbf...or rather, tbf(ebm).
This month came late...>2 weeks...so instead of a typical 28 day cycle, mine was 45 days!!!!
And I've been "bleeding" heavily for more than a week liao!..had a "bloody" xmas and now prob a "bloody" new year too...

I think my hormones all hay wire liao..

carol,
they can digest the beans?

talking about adult food, mil fed bb a few mouthfuls of ADULT baked potatoes with cheese and bacon and ham. not v happy. but lucky only a few mouth, i try not to be so ngiao1 just pretend "Oh, YE, you ate lunch already. don't be so greedy"

SQ,
douglas hor carried keira while we wait for a nurse to be free, even got time to post for photo as well. wahahaha...
b4 going in, husb kept telling me, gotta get douglas to take pix with Keira

michelle,
ya. rem you at the brink. haha... lucky ok.
i put on 7kg in a month. and that was only when 3 mths preggie or sth. stupid me.

traz,
you have a "bloody" unique sense of humor. initially it's lidat one.

carol
one of the apr mummies have been feeding bb the jap peas...can feed liao..but must blend/mash lan lan lah...

carol,
french bean = or gui dao..:p

traz, my mil also commented why puree all the things and freeze and dun cook fresh...sigh..can't be bothered to answer her too...

i give baby cauliflower, xiao bai cai, french bean, brocolli...for xi yang cai, think astro/autumn mention very windy for baby..

michelle,
show me the pic!

carol,
ok. is it really true that pork liver really bu xue? i already forgotten if it's hearsay or really true

michelle,
ya, mil v ang moh. she gee la one. buddhist but celebrate xmas.

carol,
i eat cos i dun mind. used to hate it.

but hor, i ate so much initially during confinement. then suddenly someone said it'll suppress the flow of BM. sian. that's why struggling with supply throughout maybe? but dunno true or not lah. tired of all these hearsay liao

Autum: just saw ur post, duno why miss it earlier. Yeah 1.5L just nice.. the pot is very compact for carrying as well.
If i am not wrong, can keep in the pot for at least 8 hrs. Dun think porridge will over cook lah. Think porridge will def still be warm and not turn cold so fast in the thermal pot.

Traz: Eggplant and bringal is the same family but they look different. Eggplant is round and fat while brinjal is thin and long. Eggplant usually is a rich purple in colour, much tastier than brinjal leh.
How u cook the eggplant? why diff to handle, When cook, its mushy, no need to blend liao, can mash with fork and serve direct. Roast would be tastier but i add to Rae's porridge too.
As for fresh apples, if diff to blend, add in a bit of water, then u will find that u ca belnd it very easily.

Traz: i already gave Rae cai xin, xiao bai cai, cabbage, and all chinese veggie available in sg. MY MIL will do her weekly veggie shopping and i will ask her to portion out some for Rae, so Rae tasted almost all liao exp for bittergourd. I even gave her old cucumber (lao wang gua)and lotus roots too.
I dun think zucchini = cucumber leh. cucumber very liang, better dun give our bb yet till i think at least 1.
innfact, i still dun dare to give tomatoes, since now Rae 10mths, maybe i can start intro her tomatoes.
Our BB can eat bread liao, Rae loves those soft plain bread rolls esp from japanese style bakery..heheh.

star
i oso have the tiger food jar but i've tried cooking porridge in it...unsuccessful!

wanted to tried "cooking" blended brown rice (since blended, so very easy to cook) by pouring boiling water into the jar together with the rice powder...result= failed!

SQ: i also intro asparagus liao.. 1st time i try, i steam, then i just add into her porridge the 2d time, lazy lah.

Traz: nectarine and peaches are the same family. the diff is that peach is fuzzy and nectarine is not, smooth skin. I think nectarine closer to peach than plums but if i am not wrong, all same family lah.

talking abt pureeing

so difficult to puree broccoli/cauliflower florets!
I think i must be more adventous like starfruit in trying out local vegetables...

Traz,
zucchini and cucumber different texture.
Z is more crunchy and the skin got bumps, wherelse C smoother, color for Z also darker then C. Z also more "watery" compared to C.

think tian also eats bread liao, coz i remb QQ said she nibble some bread for her to eat during roadtrip.

Traz: i dun puree liao, i chop, much faster and i can control the texture ad consistency of the veggie.

As for lotus root, i will give it to her straight from our soup, just mash and give. Rae likes to suck on it, i think she prefers lotus root as teether than bellamy! (I will ask MIL dun add any salt and seasoning when cooking, after that, potion out for her before we add salt to our portion. But now that Rae is taking our soup, we have stop adding salt and surprsingly, the soup very tasty liao (cos use pork to cook mah).
If u have ay problem pureering any food item, just add a bit of water/stock etc, with the liquid, its much easier to blend.

star: i also chop my vege now. but juz worried tt some vege other than spinach is not as soft after cooking and i dun want to cook till soft n yellow leh. u got no problems huh? roughly how many mins u cook your chopped xiao bai cai?

Traz: i think our bb can take almost all local veggie liao, just becareful of the more liang type, give in moderation, it should be fine.
NTUC selling those baby asparagus now, very tender can let bb try leh.

Traz: how u cook ur eggplat? i find tat peeling it first before cooking is easier to handle. choose those smaller in size ones, those usually do not have so many seed, infact, some of the samller egg plants has no seeds at all.

SQ: u just wash ur eggplant under the tap, when its still wet, put in a microwavable container, cover and microwave. The water on the eggplant will create a steaming effect, this way to cook also very tasty. u can try.

Carol: to make sure veggie dun turn yellow, i only cook for max 10mins.. like porridge, i only add her veggie (spinach, xiao bai cai) in the last 10mis of cooking. and then remove from pot once 10mins is up. this way veggie won't turn yellow.

traz,
me same same loh, also hv 1st menses on 19 dec, flowing like tap water... aiyo, very xin ku man!!!

carol,
you say the same as my hubby leh... but i dun eat pork liver!!!

Carol: wha, u know how to cook frog legs?? very impressive leh.
Hey i passed ur shoo shoo to pink's MIL liao. i think pink will get the shoes tonight.