(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

AA: the bird is so pretty! looks like pigeon of some sort.. the plumage on the neck is lovely.. think it is some kind of breeding plumage..

SQ: i think two reasons why u are mistakened for a PRC.. one .. u are fair.. and ur eyes. u have very pretty oriental eyes.. features also very oriental.. that's why.

Kelley and titu: huh? melayu and philipina.. cannot be lah.. :S

QQ: welcome back

Bbmar
Can write
It's for 2 way communication mah
Nt one way

Haha Astro
Tks

SQ,
I purposely place nicely to take pix for you de. haha!!

5273878.jpg

I had Italian dressing for the veg and sprinkled some Dill herbs and garlic powder on the french beans. The prawn and avocado 绝配, yummy. :p

Astro,
I don't like avocado on its own too but it goes very well with prawn. You know Sakae sushi has the avocado prawn maki, very nice.

Autum,
I like meat or seafood in salad, I cannot eat veg plain lah, haha!

Actually I wanted to make thai salad with prawn and sotong but the sotong takes long time to thaw.

QQ: Welcome back!

Mejo, Astro: My maid at first thought it was a pigeon.. Not sure if it's someone's pet, it flew very quickly away when we let it go.. I'm always visited by birds..

RR: You won't believe this! I asked hubby to drive me to CS to buy ingredients so I can make my own salad! : Wahahhaa.. In the end I got some romaine leaves, a green apple, salad dressing and some cheese.. I am having the salad now, while my maid is boiling me an egg and cutting up the ham and geen apple for me..
I'm such a glutton..

Astro: For avocado, you need to eat it with a little condensed milk.. It's super yummy!

AAA,
I don't like milk so will usually eat avocado plain or with prawns. :D

Oh, I just remember I have ham in the fridge too! Aiyah, should have cut some and add in just now. :p

CK,
you mean I "placed" de very nicely ah? Otherwise, it's just all raw or boiled stuff. But the combi goes well lah, hehe.

Ya, take the pix and show us leh!
I don't like green apples and cheese though. But the best thing about salads is you can throw in anything you like. :D

RR: In the Phillippines, my maid said they eat with coconut milk and brown sugar, the exact ingredients for our avocado milk shake.

Ham is easy to slice up.. Was looking hard for the grilled chickecn replacement, but can't find any.. Hey, ask you, how to make our own croutons? I like croutons coated with salad dressing v much..

AAA,
you can cut plain bread into cubes, coat it with butter and bake in oven. Simple to make.

But I wonder if can use wholemeal bread to make instead. I don't have plain bread at home.

Ya, my maid used to be the "expert" in choosing avocadoes. They eat lots of avocadoes back in Phil.

QQ,
I wanted to look for the same veg, same dressing and same feel that I had from the salad few weeks ago from a caterer but couldn't find. Then I ended up getting more and more stuff, venturing into more and more different kind of salads, haha!!

I forgot to add in the raisins!!! Never mind, will do that tom..

RR: If you don't like green apples, can use red apples.. Sweeter..
But got to choose those crunchy ones..

AAA,
Wah, your salad looks more appetising wor.

The cheese you eat raw? I don't dare to eat mozarella cheese like that. I like it melted. Hmmm ... maybe I should go get some parmesan cheese for my salad toppings.

What dressing you use for this?

SQ: Wrong.. It is not a healthy salad.. :p I take pics of my heels for you tom.. They're downstairs, I'm lazy.. :p

RR: I use a mixture of caesar sauce (just a little bit left) and loads of Heinz Salad cream.
I love cheese and really don't mind eating them anyhow - raw or otherwise..

Here's a pic of the mixed up salad..
SQ, you can see the amount of dressing I use. :p
5273948.jpg

wah. so many salads now!
oh. i went TCC the other day and had salad also! ha.. not becoz i in this craze too but more of just eaten breakfast :p
they have the smoked salmon salad. super nice..
and also the prawn salad..

RR: i prefer those vinegrette kind.. then ithink avocado with this kind of vinegarette wld be funny liao ? :S
hey.. u go try experiment with the thai salad kind leh.. as in those sweet yet a bit tangy kind of dressing with shallots (?) or do u called them onioins? not spicy kind.. sweet and crunchy! YUMMY!

oh.. the TCC salads has this uber ripe cherry tomatoes.. i dun usually take tomatoes and i can still find it nice..

SQ: i think ye will love the tomato salad

RR: i dun like that purplish vege leh. in fact i prefer lecttures.. got a kind of spiky kind of veg salad.... wah liew super bitter..

AA: i think u wld be super full aft drownnig that entire salad.. :p
avocafo with condensed milk... hmmm.. till now i havent taste avocafo milk shake so i cannot imagine the taste :p

SQ: Go make yourself one tom.. It's really easy..
I think it'll taste better with some corns and raisins.. If YE likes, can throw in cherry tomatoes.. I think I'll get my maid to make for the kids one of these days..

Add apricot? I like apricot... Does it sound weird??

RR, so now everyone is into salad. Healthy also...
When we talk about food, I think it is v v influential.
I think maybe many salad ingredients will be sold out v soon.

teng is in this very strange eating phase. he luvs carbohydrates. and keeps requesting to eat pasta.. and rice and porridge all day long! :S
meat he doesn't want to eat at all. veg he is okay if i ask him to eat..
then i got to coax him .. spin a lie or whatever.. i told him.. he must eat the meat so that the carbohydrate can say hello to proteins in his stomach..
then he will happily eat..and tell me that the carbohydrate is saying hello to the protein in his stomach now...:S
then i also tell him eat veg will make him a strong boy.. then he will pause and try to flex his muscles v hard and say ' i am aaaaa......stroooooooooooong boy....'.. then he take another piece of veg and repeat that series of actions..
somemore how i think my boy not v bright.. :S

Astro,
ya, avocadoes will taste funny with the dressing therefore I didn't mix. The Italian dressing was for the veg nia.

I like all kind of veg, the crunchy crunchy feel. :p

SQ: I've already had one portion before my maid brought up the extra ingredients..

QQ: Apricot - the dried ones right? I think can add in small slices.. Nice!
Adds texture.

SQ: from which rest ah? ahh. rememebred liao.. bakerz inn.. ha. last time i first tri dun dare to eat that when i saw u eating.. now i shd go and whallop :p

i luv eggs in salad too!

actually salad. u all consider them savoury or sweet ah?

Astro,
actually got both sweet and savoury lor but I like the savoury salads so I must add chicken, beef or seafood in my salad de.

SQ,
salads can have meat too mah. RR like my grilled chicken salad but they eat for the chicken, egg and cucumber nia.

Wha salad!! Lookz great n healthy alternative for supper but go easy on the sauce lah.
Iove the red wine vinegar + olive oil combi. Making me crave to do salad too. I like to add roasted peppers or egg plant super yummy but lots of work leh.

SQ: I think they're on par wor..
Except for the grilled tender chicken.. Even so, I have eggs and green apples and ham, so I think they're on par.

Astro: Is it a boy thing? Ayden likes carbo too.. He doesn't like meat though.. Vege, he's quite selective.. Potatoes and carrots being the primary..

SQ: ur post came after mine on teng's strange eating habit.. and then u mentioend u want ye eat more meat.. then dunno why i imagined both ye and teng sitting there refusing meat.. ha. lame i know :p

RR: there is one kind of veg. which is really super bitter.. hmm the thorny spiky one.. u know which one..? off hand the name slips me!

miser last time we in europe.. then he saw the french eat the raw raw salads.. he made a comment 'europe so advanced yet pple like a cow eating grass...' :p
then on another occasion he said 'chinese culinary history is amazing.. (some chinese phrasae he use. i forgot).. see how we cooked our stuff.. europeans dunno hw to use all the seasoning.. still eat grass'.....oh gosh. he is quite horrid hor? hahaha.. :p

Star: Yah!!! I saw the blue cheese dressing and was so tempted to buy!! And I love sundried tomatoes too.. I eat them on its own..
Reminds me of Melbourn Victoria Mart.. Hubby and I will choose our cheese, get some sundried tomatoes, dried apricots, biscuits, red wine and head back to the hotel to snack..