(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Hhaha QQ I am not hardcore fan lah.. I chin cai buy only.. Din analyze so much like u guys :p I am ok with any title.. If not ordering anymore I am ok too..

for the Unfazed Club mummies,
how about transfering reading to a game? And hor using the 1st 100 words from P & J series (from the link i posted earlier), throw in a few simple words, the kid and you can enjoy of good learning fun! Don't even have to buy the readers! haha!

How do we do that? See the case in the videos demonstrated by our in-house model Teng.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgObQaiSTMw

a second one.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zWfqvbpoqAM

Towards the end, the Mama ran out of permutations for the sentence. haha!

Ash: i can show u the first 5 books since we would be meeting tomorrow.. u dun rush ah.. :p

I went with teng to Popular to take a look at the Lady bird series 3.. wah!! freaking many words.. :S. erm.. i think i will pass for the lady bird series..

QQ: so same price for the 'Read it yourself' series too?

ladies.. actully hor.. if u go this link.. i tink suffice for sight words recognition liao..
http://www.ladybird.co.uk/ladybirdworldwide/resources.html
look at the free downloads.. the first 250. print it out POSTER size.. hoo-woo.. if teng can read half of the list.. i am HAPPY liao man.. ha..

Astro: I like the method u used!
I was trying to do similar, but I didn t limit the number of cards, and she gave up! :p Will limit the number of cards used..

well done mommies! u gals nvr fail to amaze me. like Kelley, Germaine, i can only drool on what i read here. my mom asked me if Jo knows her math, i told her that i dun expect her to be as bright as M.. vv bad hor me?!

QQ
i wan read-it-yourself series! SGD3+ is cheap! it cost SGD4.95 at Borders!

AA: yes. important to be focused for each lesson.. and u keep a logbook of the words which you have already introduced.. and u keep building up each lesson.. adding on to the current sentence structure/sentences which you have already introduced.. i think that is more active than reading readers. and for kids this age.. they enjoy it more.. coz tactile and the cards are a form of manipulatives..

actually i have been thinking how to teach teng to read.. and i have sort of decided.. i will have to go by sight words.. and leave the phonic rules to ICR since i am paying so much for them.. so they should do the job for me.. :p

today we were discussing on the P & J series.. and i chanced about that first 100 words.. so i thought i could try. to form meaningful sentences which is close to the boy's heart and sentences he would use.. he speaks in more complex sentences than that. but i think a good start..

today he chirped out 'to' on the way back coz in my school. many banners with that word.. and then this morning i heard the teacher teacing the word 'and'.. so i was quite happy to try.. and the boy did me proud

i showed miser that.. and asked him to do the same thing for chinese..

hmm.. let's see if this method will be covered in the montessori workshop tomorrow. heh..

well done teng!! and well done mummy astro!!! i am very impressed! astro, u jus started teaching teng to recognise these words today? and he can form a sentence already??

on a side note.. teng is very handsome!!!! i gena electrocuted by his mesmerizing eyes liao *.*

me getting confused with so many series of P & J! now got.. i-can-read series! and also read-it-yourself series.. and keywords series.. wah. haha..
but got the I-can-read series meh? can someone point me to the link? i dun see that series leh!

QQ: how to design the form? :p the orders are getting increasingly complex :p

PAx: electrocute u no use :p he needs to electrocute Joanne :p.. remember? we used to say he is horrid gross motor wise.. so.. erm.. can we use lingistics abilty to charm the girl? :pP

yes. i just started teaching.. BUT i think he has some words which he can recognise already.. so it was easy for him.. hence i said i am cheered by what i saw..

he doesn't know noun, what ever. but he can recite and put words in order from memory.. and that is good enough, i think, at this age..

astro
me wrong lah... i amended my previous post liao.. it's read-it-yourself series ..
my girl nt charmed har? ahaha... i dunno leh.. Teng nvr go talk to her? or Teng has his eyes on EV and Tian?

Pax: I say the same thing if Ayden all the time.. :p #2 syndrome? And I enjoy learning with Anna that I neglect Ayden..

Astro: I ended up writing down sentences with the sight words, and getting her to read them.. Haha.. Your method is def more fun and will be a hit with the kids!
Thanks for sharing..

Astro, I am using that method for tian, in Chinese learning. Tian likes it v much.

Well done teng.

Oh what series? I can read of read it yourself, should be referring to the same thing bah,
How many books per level? In total, u know?
Yes, the distributor told me same price,
But I wonder if I told him the right series la. Blur....

Due to complex in ordering, I need astro to create the order form ma.

QQ
when will u be returning to KL and bringing the books over?

Astro
wah... stylo! i like ur style of teaching him the words!!

ok u all dun confuse me ah.. NO i-can-read.. only 'read-it yourself' :p

aiya.. i speed read.. ops.. edde got charmed.. not pax.. ahhh.. *ponders*.. in itself might not be a bad thing.. because.. edde got TWO daughters! one for each of my son.. lalala :p

Pax: opsy. i thought my boy charmed u.. aiya. shucks.. wasted.. hahaha. hmm. i think teng quite fixated on tian. he keeps asking abt tian. i think he remembers holding tian hands when they were younger.. whahahaha :p

AA: no problem.. i am also experimenting..

Pax: joanne was more interested in play at ToTT then looking at Teng :S.. same goes for Teng.. wah liew..

QQ/titu: tomorrow we pick up more tricks at the workshop (i hope).. then we can improvise.. and hey.. we shd capitalise and teach a few kids a the same time!

QQ: Miser is 'hopeless'.. he saw my clips.. HALFWAY.. and told me he got it liao. :S.. hey.. let's combine leh. u teach chinese i teach english. then we put teng and tian together. since we stay near one another!!

AA: the structure is actually in that se4t of assessment books i posted to RR that time back..in the high frequency words series.. nothing new.. but it is a chore to keep writing.. so play with cards better..

already i think next lesson can teach teng the word.. 'that, this.. ' basically the P&J series. the second box.. second line.. i am trying not to spill over to the words which can be sounded by phonics too much..

QQ: the ladybird website never show me one level how many books in total! have to count myself.. wah liew.. :S

Titu: u buy the box level 1 and 2 for $32? in english pounds translated ot singapore $.. is about 29 plus.. inclusive shipping becomes $32 ah?

Joelle,
I am going back end march, i m thinking wwe should post the books back here rather than carrying because my car boot is never enough in space. Haha.
So hor, I want to place order before that, so that I can collect during end march and I will pack and send back here.
Then I come back sg and receive also, ideal?
If after end march then I dun go back le, if ask other ppl , my cousin help me collect then will be more complicated. I can check goods ma.

Astro, we yak tomorrow, haha,

Adtro: I wasn t as systematic either.. I have shown her both "this" and "that" today.. Haha!! Haha!! Then I went into who, where, what, when, why... Haha!! Haha!! Must learn from you..

Going for a walk with hubby. Back later..

QQ
oh..nvm la... cos i thinking of goodie bags for seth's sch celebration... dun think can be in time for mar 12! :p

astro
no woh..i paid 32+ fr popular. that time no membership card... now i can get it cheaper. :D

titu: readers for seth's sch celebration??? can teng be seth's classmate?

oh.. cheaper huh? any idea how much cheaper? if cheaper than what the malaysis distributor offering. then dun have to ask poor QQ to lug so many back!

AA: that ' who, where, what, when, why... ' might be too similar looking to be taught together.. best to seperate..

so let's say.. teng knows '...is a boy'/'... is the boy' phrases .. then i can add in 'where'... to make 'where is the boy?'.. or 'who is the boy?' i will try on friday.. tomorrow going for the montessori workshop! i am quite excited about it.. i pray it doesn't let me down!

titu/QQ/ash: have u read the e-books? i haven't :p

Joelle, next year bah. Year cannot le. Too rush....

Astro, I dun lug all back, I ONI post them back here.
So how many books we also dunno now. Then all also wanna buy. Power!

wah!!!! so many pages today!!!
u know wat, since i started working, i MISS U GUYS :p

RR,
thanks for the collage :D

i reached office at 8.40 this morning. ad i wasnt the last one. the accident was actually juz at the entrance at lentor going up to SLE ! and the road near neeson camp was also crowded! the bus trip of 10mins ended up 25mins

the P&J series, A is actually an introduction, then B is the same words but different storyline. i only bought 1a - 1b. didnt get 1c coz that is for writing.

kelley,
ashlyn shld be able to read , right ?? coz shirley told me ning also in LW since last year.

star,

your nephew shld have akido every monday too... seem akido & gym are in-house program, hence the cc fees increased this year :S plus their CC is using the rogby rocket readers. so actually, K is already exposed to so many books. she really likes Step into REading books that my cousin got for her from the US. she likes the princess series
http://www.randomhouse.com/kids/books/step/books/books_step1/

QQ,
the P&J book aft popular disc is 50cents - $4.82.

QQ/astro
32+ is for 8 books only la... works out to abt $4.30 per book oso. and popular card oni entitles to 10% off... so QQ's offer is still better.

verdict for p&j
seth jus finished reading 1a twice! i would say cos of the repetitive-ness, the kids tend to have higher morale and enjoys reading woh. he kept wanting to go on to the second book but we refused so end up he wanted to read it over again. and at the end of it he says he loves it!

Astro,
thanks for sharing your method. I like! I think this is more doable for me.. ie.. provided i can move my butt to do it! wahahahah :pP

Actually recently i just took out my chinese flashcards. Those we bot eons ago in the spree. And I realised i have english cards too! So maybe i can go there and see if there is already those keywords there?? :p My hb just started one time of showing the chinese words (7 cards only) to EJ on sunday. Then today, he did "revision" of that same 7 cards, and EJ could remember like 5 out of the 7. Not bad I feel :p But hb just show and read the cards only. No sentence formation or story-telling etc. That is supposed to be my job but I haven't start my engine yet.

Honestly speaking, I am more worried about chinese than english for my kids. Scared they jiak gan dang. Then I die next time! :pP

Mich,
U no need to worry about K's chinese wor. I thought your FIL is doing a good job of teaching her chinese? Or he stop teaching le?

after watching Teng's demonstration, i took out some small memo paper and wrote Joanne, a, girl, I, am. i started w "I am Joanne", "I am a girl". Jo put the words together for me. then i add in Matthew, boy. there's where the confusion came. she confused "is" and "a".
Jo's feedback - it's fun. i wan to play game.
this method can be done, no need to buy cards etc. jus those square memo paper. or can get those cut-out stars or hearts or circles from popular. normal 70g/80g paper mat'l. no need cardboard mat'l. cheap and fun.

Autum
those flashcards we bot that time, dun hv the keywords or sightwords. those are all nouns.

Mich
i tell u hor, i hv so many different types of readers till i blur.
i also hv books fr randomhouse, scholastic. readers fr CCC... lost count!

Mummies... So many just realize how smart our children are!! They really love to learn.. So we must not be lazy, just for them..
Jia you!!

Joelle, Autum, Pax:
Well done to Seth, EJ and Jo! And to you !

Nite nite..

Morning ...

Astro,
your method looks fun. But I wanna ask how do you all know the kids have not learn those in school?

I was going thru some simple books (given by the school) with them. I realised they have those key words that was in the link you gave. Like this, it, is, and, for, a, she, he & etc ... Plus some additional words like bed, time, dog, cat & etc ...
And they can read most of them. They told me they learnt those in school liao so we still go thru with them on those or go thru new words?

After few rounds of getting them to make up some sentences using those words, Reyden told me "It", "is", "time", "for", "bed"!! :S

Your suggestion of using Power Ranger should work for him. Let me find another not-so-tired day to try. :p

Its been a while since our thread got so active.. haha'

so what is the conclusion har?

Astro/QQ, astro, i also using this method to teach rae chinese.. haha but mine from the han zi foundation books lah.. hahah

A joke between my mum & Reyes that day:

Reyes: Ah Mah, 老师今天教我们新的字 - "one". 你会写吗?
My mum: (not paying attention to her) 会... O.. N.. E.. lor
Reyes: 不是
My mum: Oh ... then 就是 W.. A.. N.. T..
Reyes: (Getting irritated!!) Ah Mah, 不是啦!是华语字啦!

She got fed up, went off and wrote a big 万 to show my mum. hahaha!!!

I "told my mum off", so gei kiang showing off her English. Reyes wasn't even speaking to her in English. :p

Astro, thanks for sharing. Very smart of Teng. ya maybe i will try to do the same for chinese cos like Autumn scared they go kan dang.

kaexin, i am more into chinese actually. so i dont really care about english, except showing her the phonics cards. she is still quite buey zai in those cards cause jay any how show her and all mixed up liao.
nevermind.
so the game i play with tian is oni in chinese, english one we never play before.

RR, reyes' joke is so so funny. haha!!

Joelle,
so i can get it cheaper after the discount. seems like this deal is not a bad deal.
yeah!!

still nobody knows how many books of this read by yourself series.
maybe 4 books... level 1-4 mah.

RR: wha reyes also impressive leh.. can write already i dun think rae can even write yet. reyes damn steady lah. u should explore and see if they can write more words.

Morning...

RR: Yes, if the school has an English cirriculum, the kids would have seen (just becos these are high frequency sight words) and should recognize these words. Nonetheless, every little thing we do with them will reinforce their learning, and will help them to read on their own sooner..
BUT we need to stop once the child is bored..
Good joke on the wan..

Chinese: I m quite thankful they learn Chinese in school. Agree it is much tougher to be systematic in teaching Chinese.. At one point, I was wondering if we shd have let them stay in the cc, where they get both Eng and Chinese exposure.. Hmm... Even with this Chinese exposure, there is still the resistance to use, speak it.. :p

Starfruit,
not only Reyes. Both can write quite a number of chinese words. They learnt all these in school. I heard from last year's N2 parents that they are expected to know how to write their chinese names by 2nd half of the year.

Maybe that's why we are half-hearted to let them do learning out of school time cos they are already doing alot in school.

AAA,
ya, Reyden will get bored if we go thru the things he already knows. Reyes is still ok, she's fine with repetition.