(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Each book is RM RM7 after discount.
which is equivalent to around ~2.90-3.10 SGD (depending on exchange rate)

e.g.
1. QQ, full set of 36 bks
2. AAA ??
3. Star - full set of 36 bks
4. Kelley - Series A (12 bks)
5. edde , full set of 36 books
6. RR - series A (12 bks)
7. ECMOM - full set (36 bks)

QQ,
$2.90-$3.10 sounds cheap but when it's 3 sets, it's $100+. I better keep to one set 1st. My house has enough of white elephants. :p

joelle,
mine can't leh. the irony is, my wisd are actually ok. it's the molar next to the wisd that decay. but my wisd grow in a slanted manner, so in order to do anything to my molar, i need to take out the wisd! so dumb dumb right.

RR,
How do u decide on set A, B or C huh? I dun even know how the books look like.. chaam..

for our own info

5139704.jpg

There s no need to get full set wor.. Have you all seen the books? I ll go check out more details tom..

From what I remember, I think series A, B and C shd be in increasing order of difficulty. But within each series, each book is on its own, so there s no need to get all 12 books in the series... And bear in mind, the story line really CMI de.. It s really like a textbook, than story books..

AAA, pls report tomorrow. I have not seen the books ABC.
arigato.... many many.

autum, we wait for AAA's report.

Another stupid question: Is it must read series A, then proceed to read series B, then series C?

If I anyhow buy one book from B, one book from C then one book from A, means no effect le?

maybe the next outing early march we meet at popular and study the books first. wahahah!! jialat

kaexin, u are wanted. pls elaborate and answer autum if you have the answer. thanks

QQ,
books are very heavy stuff. I guess one full set of 36books will be around 2-3kg? also depends on how they pack.

AAA / QQ,
Hahah
I come here to look for gift for Elisha friend so xin bian check the book lor

Have a feel of some P&J book, guess it worth to get esp those with more then one kid

QQ, Autum: I edited my post above.. I think can share within the series.. Problem is this could become difficult to share.. So the mums must not be too yim jim abt the titles.. Anyway, we also don t know all the titles..

found the weight from amazon.
6 books are 670g
so 12 books around 1.3kg
36 books 3.9kg!!!!
autum, u are right

shall we press the brake and reconsider?
actually, from what u can see, i am a bit dilemma also la. haha! but buying is not an issue here.. how many to buy..
hm....

ecmom,
then can you help to answer? Do we need to buy whole sets - A, B & C? For effective learning.

Or able to get a few from A, a few from B and a few from C?

RR,
in order not to zuo4 luan4, it is v hard for me to get the loose titles. i guess the distributor also dun expect me to order loosely.
unless follow what AAA said, share sets.

then possible.

ecmom, can u comment?

Need to check HN also.. Esther has this series..

And I also shared I read one book with Anna when we were there.. After the first few pages, she could continue reading ler.. Cos the same words keep repeating themselves, and new words are added very slowly.. We didn t go all the way to page 44 lah, but she could pick up the repeated words lor..

For eg.. It could be something like this.. (even pages are the pics)

Page 1 Peter loves to read.
Page 3 Jane loves to read.
Page 5 Peter and Jane love to read.
Page 7 Both Peter and Jane love to read.
Page 9 Peter goes to the beach.
Page 11 Jane goes to the beach.
Page 13 Peter and Jane go to the beach.
Page 15 They like to play ball at the beach.
Page 17 They build sand castles at the beach.
Etc etc...

QQ,
no lah, I don't mean get loose titles each. You'll faint from the coordination. :p

I'm thinking for those who get only a set now then if in future wants to get other titles (from Popular) in other series, would it be ok?

Star,
yes u v persistent and systematic, i like.

SQ, think about it. if we buy whole set dun like, then sell away, also wont rugi much. many ppl wanna buy these books woh.
whole set somemore. right? cause it is cheaper mah.
*i am not sure if i am right la*

RR, thanks for sparing my life.
haha!!
from what i hear from star, popular dun carry the whole list de.
very troublesome.

QQ
We must take full sets of same series?
Can we get like set A book 1-5?

I have randomly browsed some book (coz here really not whole sets)
Ok let me let me try to explain
The book 1-5 is more simple word
6 onward will we in story form which I find it for older kids

E.g for 2a (1a can't fin here)
Here is Peter
And here is Jane
Here is pat, the dog
New word pat

More simple

But

For 6a start us in story form

QQ,
ya, I read that too. That's why I'm asking if anyone knows if we only get a few titles in each series, will it still work?

Cos AAA mentioned each book is on its own, don't have to get whole series.

ecmom,
i dunno how to answer u woh.
cause i tot easier to buy set, jus coordinate in terms of set, rather than loose titles.
the sources is from distributors, i think they dont sell single books de.
the quantity come in set.
however, he said can order oni set A, or set B or set C

SQ,
I dun even have book shelf for the kids. :p I use the baby cot to put their books and stuff. Actually i have been thinking about getting rid of the cot, and get a proper shelf. Aye, a small ikea bookshelf can put MANY books wor.. u got so much books for YE??

Sq,i no book shelf too.
i put tian books on the top of her toys shelve. i plan to buy a small book rack, wher to find? i cannot find la.

QQ,
Get ikea de? Actually my house got book shelves.. but all MY books :p wahahah.. maybe i should throw my books away and let them put their books.. haiz.. such is the life of a parent! Everything also must sacrifice, even book shelves! :p

RR,
hmm, if u want, maybe we can share titles? But then dunno if it's "shareable" cos Ecmom says got different levels in difficulty within the series.

RR: Can I chop to share each series with you first? Like we take 6 books in each series.. I don t mind whichever 6 books within the series, and i think you don t too, we can let QQ split for us if we share.. Haha.. Let me go take a closer look tom... What I ve shared is from memory..

QQ
Can go ikea

Autum
I hv book shelf x 1
N two drawers
Squeezed to the brim with books
Include those books she has outgrown though
I dun clear cos I keep them for meimei
V messy
Mayb I shd clear?
*faint*

let me be kiasu n put my order first ;p

Each book is RM RM7 after discount.
which is equivalent to around ~2.90-3.10 SGD (depending on exchange rate)

e.g.
1. QQ, full set of 36 bks
2. AAA ??
3. Star - full set of 36 bks
4. Kelley - Series A (12 bks)
5. edde , full set of 36 books
6. RR - series A (12 bks)
7. ECMOM - full set (36 bks)
8. Ash - Series A

QQ
Cos I m v ngiao n attitude seller
I dun like pple bargaining like the fish market
N I feel I give v gd price le
Then I v sim Tia pple can't appreciate the quality
I rather give away to someone who can appreciate than sell cheaply to someone who doesn't
So I feel v pek cek
Cmi

P and J books
I have mostly A and B, only C some books.
A, B series more words than A series. I think i only have till book 4.
Then i send Esther to ICR and she can read liao.

I have seen 1a and 3b(cant rem) is quite vast diff. Cos 1a is really simple.
1st page: Peter
2nd page: Jane
3rd page: Peter and Jane
4rd page: Here is Peter, here is Jane
etc

Not getting cos 1a is already making me puke blood, cannot afford to puke 36 times. hahaha

SQ, i see..
aiya, just close your eyes and sell. dun let the small matter make your mood turn bad.

ya lets wait for huingee to come and comment.
huingee, the series must b systematic one?
good?

Ok here the first page

2A
Here is Peter
And here is Jane
Here us pat, the dog

New word: dog

2B
I like the dog
You like the dog
You and I like the dog

2C
After reading book 2a and 2b the learner should copy out and complete the following pages in an exercise book. Answer are given on pages 46-51 for correcting, revision and testing

Jane can write

Peter c_ _ write
I c _ _ write

To me It seems like not link, U can buy only A series if u want the kid to learn words only

SQ,
Till now i still can't sell away Dylan's car seat. Like not much people like to buy car seat unless it's very very cheap.
But their Little tikes kitchen sell like hot cakes. Posted one day, got 12 enquiries and sold the next day.

kaexin, did u puke blood ??

this is getting v v funny.
i am worried that i also puke blood la.
i think series A and B also similar.

The series is not link.
Just more and more words as go higher.
A series, introduce the new words. B series more words than A series, emphasis the words more.
C series like fill in the blanks.
Better go popular see the series.

Aiyo my earlier post missing

Here the explain of the 3 series

Series A
Gradually introduce ad repeat new words

Series B
Provides further practice of these same words, but in a different context and with different illustrations

Series C
Uses familiar words to teach phonics in a methodical way, enabling children to read increasingly difficult words. It also provides a link to writing

Peter and Jane are considered readers.There is a progression intended for the child. so you cannot take a book from each series randomly because the vocabulary is built on from the previos book.

QQ: i am not sure what differientates Series B and Series C. Can i take a look at Series C and let you know? when do you need to confirm?

coz i dun like the beginning series but i think i heard some mummies here comment that SEries C is quite diffierent.. so i think teng can just have that as story books.. erm.. let me get back to you again.

let me add on.. so if we split the books up and buy randomly.. then in a way it defeats the purpose.. of gradual built up.

I have this feeling.. we wld all end up with series C eventually. :p